89 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Interview, What to prepare...

ahmoi
post Sep 25 2009, 05:14 PM

92 posts

hi all, not sure where should I post my ques.. I received a call from a company the other day but I didnt notice there was a call (yes stupid me) ... I think they wanted to call me up for an interview since I applied for a job with them...by the time I realized, there was this miss call already. I tried to call back the number but it went straight into their answering machine.. sigh. Now im wondering whether they will call me back or not already T_T
Bizmind
post Sep 26 2009, 12:17 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(ahmoi @ Sep 25 2009, 05:14 PM)
hi all, not sure where should I post my ques.. I received a call from a company the other day but I didnt notice there was a call (yes stupid me) ... I think they wanted to call me up for an interview since I applied for a job with them...by the time I realized, there was this miss call already. I tried to call back the number but it went straight into their answering machine.. sigh. Now im wondering whether they will call me back or not already T_T
Everybody will have the chances to get into your situation.
I am also experienced it before. No one knows when will the company that they applied for job will call.
Try another method to contact them. Maybe you can send your email to them. And keep on trying to call.
If possible, go and find their other contact numbers. Some companies have more than one contact number.
So maybe the one you try calling is for calling out and not calling in.
Keep on trying and stop blaming yourself. All the best in your job hunting. As long as you never give, better things will come to you.
ahmoi
post Sep 26 2009, 02:10 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 26 2009, 12:17 AM)
Everybody will have the chances to get into your situation.
I am also experienced it before. No one knows when will the company that they applied for job will call.
Try another method to contact them. Maybe you can send your email to them. And keep on trying to call.
If possible, go and find their other contact numbers. Some companies have more than one contact number.
So maybe the one you try calling is for calling out and not calling in.
Keep on trying and stop blaming yourself. All the best in your job hunting. As long as you never give, better things will come to you.
oh hi..thanks for ur reply. Dont know why Im so careless..darn it. I tried countless times to call that number again but they didn't want to answer the phone and just put it to their answering machine.first thing that the answering machine said was that the messages for the person is full..then bla bla..n then said that will transfer me to another person..but each n every time also unsuccessful. Actually the company is IBM haha. big company perhaps.. I applied the job from jobstreet. lols. I even called the main office and told them about it. They say that I have to wait n they will call me back. I tried to ask them to redirect me to the HR but they didnt want to. And since the number was from cyberjaya..I asked for their number (main number) n they didnt wan to give me too.... T_T

Bizmind
post Sep 27 2009, 11:27 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(ahmoi @ Sep 26 2009, 02:10 PM)
oh hi..thanks for ur reply. Dont know why Im so careless..darn it. I tried countless times to call that number again but they didn't want to answer the phone and just put it to their answering machine.first thing that the answering machine said was that the messages for the person is full..then bla bla..n then said that will transfer me to another person..but each n every time also unsuccessful. Actually the company is IBM haha. big company perhaps.. I applied the job from jobstreet. lols. I even called the main office and told them about it. They say that I have to wait n they will call me back. I tried to ask them to redirect me to the HR but they didnt want to. And since the number was from cyberjaya..I asked for their number (main number) n they didnt wan to give me too....  T_T
They are just like that. Don't care for other people. Because in their mind, there are plenty more works to do. So you just be patience and keep on trying. But if it take too much time, maybe you can go on and try another opportunity. It's they who are lose the chances to get you to work for them. Pity on them.
oyama
post Sep 28 2009, 07:02 PM

925 posts

Great Notes!

Today i got interview by Baker Hughes..

1st stage is IQ test with time constraint..who can answer in the fastest time..

2nd stage Panel interview..got 3 person interview me alone..however seems all the interview went pretty good..for me..

waiting for result on friday or monday for the 3rd stage..pray for me~ btw..TS helps me alot with the note on 1st post~ thanks!

This post has been edited by oyama: Sep 28 2009, 07:02 PM
Bizmind
post Sep 29 2009, 12:01 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Sep 28 2009, 07:02 PM)
Great Notes!

Today i got interview by Baker Hughes..

1st stage is IQ test with time constraint..who can answer in the fastest time..

2nd stage Panel interview..got 3 person interview me alone..however seems all the interview went pretty good..for me..

waiting for result on friday or monday for the 3rd stage..pray for me~ btw..TS helps me alot with the note on 1st post~ thanks!
Congratulation. All the best to you. We are happy for you. smile.gif
oyama
post Sep 29 2009, 01:23 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 29 2009, 01:01 AM)
Congratulation. All the best to you. We are happy for you. smile.gif
hopefully..because all of my fren also have a good feedback..cant say anything

hope for the best..prepare for the worse~ that's what i'm thinking now~
sweet_pez
post Sep 29 2009, 11:22 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 27 2009, 11:27 PM)
They are just like that. Don't care for other people. Because in their mind, there are plenty more works to do. So you just be patience and keep on trying. But if it take too much time, maybe you can go on and try another opportunity. It's they who are lose the chances to get you to work for them. Pity on them.
It's pretty obvious that they do not care but on the other hand, why should they? Look at it this way: they have thousands of applicants every month lining up to get in and it is unfortunate that she did not pick up the call. Even if she picked up the call, there's no guarantee she'll get the interview (she could be interviewed on the phone as 1st stage and might or might not make it). Again, we won't know.

An applause to ahmoi tho because at the very least she made an effort to contact them. Don't worry too much, bygones are bygones. Keep looking for other opportunities. Things like this do happen at times randomly .

QUOTE(oyama @ Sep 29 2009, 01:23 AM)
hopefully..because all of my fren also have a good feedback..cant say anything

hope for the best..prepare for the worse~ that's what i'm thinking now~
Wow u mean you and several friends actually went for the same company? How many openings are available? I really do not like 'competing' with ppl I know for same position... kinda makes me down sad.gif say, I don't get it but my friend did - I'll feel sad. If I got it and my friend don't, I'll feel sad as well. Sigh either way it won't be good news for me~
Bizmind
post Sep 30 2009, 11:16 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 29 2009, 11:22 AM)
It's pretty obvious that they do not care but on the other hand, why should they? Look at it this way: they have thousands of applicants every month lining up to get in and it is unfortunate that she did not pick up the call. Even if she picked up the call, there's no guarantee she'll get the interview (she could be interviewed on the phone as 1st stage and might or might not make it). Again, we won't know.

An applause to ahmoi tho because at the very least she made an effort to contact them. Don't worry too much, bygones are bygones. Keep looking for other opportunities. Things like this do happen at times randomly .
Wow u mean you and several friends actually went for the same company? How many openings are available? I really do not like 'competing' with ppl I know for same position... kinda makes me down sad.gif say, I don't get it but my friend did - I'll feel sad. If I got it and my friend don't, I'll feel sad as well. Sigh either way it won't be good news for me~
For me, when you are competing with your friends, all that I can do is try to see things from positive POV. If I get the job, I will be happy for myself and encourage my friends to keep on trying. If my friend got the job, I will be happy for him/her and encourage myself to keep on trying. Same situation with different point of view.
oyama
post Oct 6 2009, 09:31 PM

925 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 30 2009, 12:16 PM)
For me, when you are competing with your friends, all that I can do is try to see things from positive POV. If I get the job, I will be happy for myself and encourage my friends to keep on trying. If my friend got the job, I will be happy for him/her and encourage myself to keep on trying. Same situation with different point of view.
agree on that..yes we sad about we did not get it..but into some point..think further..see for you mistakes..ask them how do they answer..so u might somehow know what are your mistakes..

btw..got another interview..from O&G company as well..

think of my first interview...just want to know all of your answer..if asked like below:

1-What is your hobby??
--->Do we need to relate it with the job? such as if field engineer need to travel..then we said something like that? or honestly answer? I like to play chess..bla..bla..bla..??

2-If in your team, u find a person that is not trustable.. how are going to manage it?
--->just want to know the best answer from all of you~ happy.gif

Thanks~

debbieyss
post Oct 7 2009, 12:28 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Oct 6 2009, 09:31 PM)
agree on that..yes we sad about we did not get it..but into some point..think further..see for you mistakes..ask them how do they answer..so u might somehow know what are your mistakes..

think of my first interview...just want to know all of your answer..if asked like below:

1-What is your hobby??
--->Do we need to relate it with the job? such as if field engineer need to travel..then we said something like that? or honestly answer? I like to play chess..bla..bla..bla..??

2-If in your team, u find a person that is not trustable.. how are going to manage it?

Thanks~
Let me have some fun by trying it:

1-What is your hobby??
My line is actually PR/Communications. So i will answer this way:
My hobby is actually socialising, simply because my personalities are outgoing and people oriented and I just feel comfortable and exciting to meet up new people. Therefore, I do actively attend various of events such as seminar talks, exhibitions, having official and unofficial meet up sessions with internal parties such as colleagues from different departments, external parties such as media friends, suppliers, business partners etc, build up good rapport with everyone I newly know or known for long time.

I will keep this thought to myself and I think it's not the best time to open discussion with my superiors for further action, I will also keep up working relationship with him as usual as I know it's not fair to suspect him without any provens on hand. Secondly, for every and any opportunities that come to me to investigate this person, I will grab it and from there accumulate convincing evidence such as signed documents, emails etc. Once obtained enough evidence, I will only make record to my superiors.

Like this can or not? laugh.gif
oyama
post Oct 7 2009, 07:08 AM

925 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 7 2009, 01:28 AM)
Let me have some fun by trying it:

1-What is your hobby??
My line is actually PR/Communications. So i will answer this way:
My hobby is actually socialising, simply because my personalities are outgoing and people oriented and I just feel comfortable and exciting to meet up new people. Therefore, I do actively attend various of events such as seminar talks, exhibitions, having official and unofficial meet up sessions with internal parties such as colleagues from different departments, external parties such as media friends, suppliers, business partners etc, build up good rapport with everyone I newly know or known for long time.

I will keep this thought to myself and I think it's not the best time to open discussion with my superiors for further action, I will also keep up working relationship with him as usual as I know it's not fair to suspect him without any provens on hand. Secondly, for every and any opportunities that come to me to investigate this person, I will grab it and from there accumulate convincing evidence such as signed documents, emails etc. Once obtained enough evidence, I will only make record to my superiors.

Like this can or not?  laugh.gif
nice2! notworthy.gif Thanks~

i'm so honest when answer the 2nd question..haha..
sweet_pez
post Oct 7 2009, 11:30 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Oct 6 2009, 09:31 PM)

1-What is your hobby??

Thanks~
1) In my case, I would not relate my hobby to job. When I was asked that question, I answer 1)them honestly that I enjoy going out with my friends, travelling and jungle trekking. I also enjoy reading books from time to time. Usually from thereon interviewers evaluate what sort of person you are as your hobby reveals things about you. Those who enjoys chess are usually a thinker and stuffs like that.

I prefer to give a short and simple answer. Unless the interviewer asks further, I'd keep to that. Usually they would go, "What sort of places have you travelled before?" or "What type of books do you read?"

2) My reply would go:

I will observe what part of him/ her is not trustable (as in highly possible that this person might steal comp info? sabotage a colleague?) and to what extent. I would not mention them to the others, but if anything suspicious arose, I will report it to my superior.

- for one, we're not detectives, it's not up to us to collect evidence and such unless being told to. So in times where something suspicious happens, it's in our responsibility to alert our superior about it. That's what I think tho...

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 7 2009, 11:41 AM
ankiesiau
post Oct 7 2009, 10:50 PM

104 posts

i applying at bpc solutions for internship and then i got reply that the company ask me for a short interview. After that, i reply that i will be there at xxx time and ask when attachments to bring along with the interview. Then, i got no reply. This means the company still want me to be interview or not? Any advice?
monochrome
post Oct 10 2009, 05:14 PM

169 posts

softcopy photograph to be attached on the resume with your expected salary

HELP everyone!!!

i'm about to attend an interview soon..what did the above mean?
do i really have to put a photo & state salary on my resume itself or just in cover letter?? coz i dont usually do that. some said no need, just state in cover letter.
sweet_pez
post Oct 14 2009, 09:54 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Oct 10 2009, 05:14 PM)
HELP everyone!!!

i'm about to attend an interview soon..what did the above mean?
do i really have to put a photo & state salary on my resume itself or just in cover letter?? coz i dont usually do that. some said no need, just state in cover letter.
Softcopy means e-copy. And it mentions "Resume" so why do you say Cover Letter? Whether you usually do that or not, just act according to instructions. When they say softcopy I assume they want an e-copy of resume with photo. I suggest you burn your resume on a disc and bring along the hardcopy.
SUSsamteng
post Oct 17 2009, 10:18 AM

1,458 posts

For those who have got extensive experiences in attending interviews, do you think it is a good idea to ask your prospective employer why the management is opening up a particular position? Just as you are asked why you intend to resign or have left your ex-company and you have to give a solid reason for that.

Although chances are you will not get a truthful answer from your interviewer especially when the truth is embarassing, at least you can judge for yourself how plausible his/her explanation is. At most, the interviewer would only give you the PULL factors instead of the PUSH factors.

The types of answer I am expecting are something like this.

1) Someone resigned because s/he was offered a better deal somewhere else.
2) Someone has been promoted, transferred to another department or moved on to another area of expertise
3) We are in the midst of expansion because there are new projects being rolled out and stuff
4) We are experiencing high volumes of transactions and for this we need to increase our headcounts.
5) Bizzare but possible to happen, someone has been fired... laugh.gif

The purpose of asking this question is to know if the turnover rate for that particular position is high or low. If the turnover is high, then something has got to be very wrong somewhere and you should think thrice before accepting the offer. It could be due to the poor management style, little or no increment or a paycut, or the politics in the company is very intense. Is there anyway you can gauge the real reason by asking this question?
Vervain
post Oct 17 2009, 08:31 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Normally I wouldn't ask this question. This shows you're not actually interested on the job. Employees might think you're just hunting down a job which is easy going, stable and $$. Furthermore, they will also perceive that you're not competitive & not being able to adopt to sudden change. However, asking question related to the company & jobscope would be the inverse.
dummydam
post Oct 18 2009, 07:29 PM

hey there,
Im an MBA, and really struggling to get a job anywhere.....I missed out on several jobs due to Interview, i really enjoyed reading this thread loads of good experiences....
bytheway, here is my beloved sunderland defeating mighty liverpool

Soccer Highlights
poosk
post Oct 20 2009, 03:31 PM

113 posts

hey guys...can i bluff on my working experience? let say i work 1.5 years but i bluff to 2years... biggrin.gif

89 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:08 PM