QUOTE(m3red1th @ Jan 12 2009, 08:26 PM)
I just had a phone interview today. Overall, I think I did okay in the interview.
The interviewer said that someone from HR will call me soon to inform whether my application is successful or not, and if it was successful, they're going to arrange for 2nd interview face to face.
I'm a bit worried about my chances (this is my first interview for my first job).
During the interview, they did ask whether I'm willing to work at night shifts (it's a rotating shift work) and asked me to choose my preferred work schedule (they have 3 shifts). They also asked me whether I will be able to start immediately if I was hired.
They then spend quite some time to properly explain the position's responsibilities and what they expected out of me.
So are these hints that they're going to choose me?
There is a possibility. For one, if they are not interested in you, they wouldn't even call you for an interview... and for two, they will need to know what you think about the job - about the rotation of the shifts, responsibilities etc... whether u have any disagreement or dislike abt them.The interviewer said that someone from HR will call me soon to inform whether my application is successful or not, and if it was successful, they're going to arrange for 2nd interview face to face.
I'm a bit worried about my chances (this is my first interview for my first job).
During the interview, they did ask whether I'm willing to work at night shifts (it's a rotating shift work) and asked me to choose my preferred work schedule (they have 3 shifts). They also asked me whether I will be able to start immediately if I was hired.
They then spend quite some time to properly explain the position's responsibilities and what they expected out of me.
So are these hints that they're going to choose me?
But looking it on a diff perspective, those could be standard questions they ask every interviewee. And the choice of whether you will be chosen lies in the answers you reply to those questions. For example, it is part of the company requirement to work on shifts but your reply showed some sort reluctance - that signifies you might have a problem with it.
Interviewers are sharp. They can often notice changes or hidden msgs in your tone/ body language. Therefore it's not the questions that they asked that shows whether you have a chance, but more so in the answer you reply them.
QUOTE(Jason180 @ Jan 13 2009, 03:54 PM)
Hi.. I have a question to ask.. I have received a confirmation email from one of the companies that asked me to go for interview. But the interview date they gave was wrong. I said that I would prefer the interview to be on Thursday but the mail they sent me stated Wednesday. I replied back their mail and stated that the interview date was wrong and I wanted it to be on Thursday.
I am worried that they did not see the mail and hence think that my interview is tomorrow. Am I supposed to expect a reply from them or should I call them directly and ask them to change the date?
YES, CALL THEM. E-mails are often unreliable for many reason. Unsent mails, internet connection etc poses a problem. And usually the sender expects the receiver to open, read and reply their mail almost instantly.I am worried that they did not see the mail and hence think that my interview is tomorrow. Am I supposed to expect a reply from them or should I call them directly and ask them to change the date?
See, there is a confusion because of mis-communication. In times like these, it's best to speak to the HR directly and confirm the date you are able to attend. It doesn't matter anymore whether who makes the mistake (and please try to refrain from saying THEY make the mistake... just say there's been a miscommunication and that the day you'd like to attend is on a Thursday).
Since it's already late, they may be off work liao. So call them up tomorrow first thing in the morning and inform them about it. If you only sent them email and hope the HR will take notice, that's too much risk to bear. Imagine they are waiting and expecting for you to turn up but noticed there's miscomm later on, it'll be bad. Yes, it is not your fault, but the whole thing had been messed up and nobody's in the mood already.
Jan 13 2009, 06:57 PM
0.0321sec