Interview, What to prepare...

sweet_pez
post Aug 4 2009, 01:42 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Don't worry bout it. Blazers and whatnot isn't necessary (unless you're going for the interview in the managerial line). Anything that goes along the line of formality should be fine. If you're in doubt (of the blazer), just wear it. Better be armed than not.

One more thing to point out that I often forget to say:

Men: Please DO NOT wear TORN SOCKS!

Ladies: Please DO NOT wear TORN STOCKINGS!

You may think it's fine because you're wearing a shoe on the outside... but what if the company requires you to take off your shoes before going in to the office? I have personally been to a number of such companies (and good thing I took precautions by wearing new stockings) and it's no laughing matter. Imagine the embarrassment you'll feel due to the stockings =__=|| so pls take note on this one.

sweet_pez
post Aug 5 2009, 10:25 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Hi Joey! No prob on that one XD

Guys with cartoon ties are no-no? I see... but if they're gonna work in entertainment/ media/ design/ fashion related industry I think it's okay?

Advises here mostly apply for the average industries. I always seem to think those who work in design/ fashion industry should wear flaunting clothes for interview laugh.gif just my assumption/ POV, could be wrong!

Ladies shouldn't wear shoes that's difficult to take off coz if you do, it'll take you minutes trying to take it off and putting it back afterwards (in companies that requires taking off shoes). Wouldn't want the staff/ interviewer to wait for you (for a long time) before you can take them off or put it back. It'll cause an awkward silence at times.

sweet_pez
post Aug 7 2009, 11:16 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Aug 6 2009, 03:38 PM)
yeah, i think i'll beat around the bush and try asking them. if they don't wanna pay also no prob.

thanks for the input
Well... you can do it in a way that... makes it look like you're 'informing' them beforehand on the existent of such bond you have with your current company. It wouldn't be nice if they found out on later part and you'd like to come clean of your ties.

Don't say anything more unless they asked you further/ offer to pay the bond for you. Don't beat around the bush, employers do not like (future) employees who drops such hint.

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Aug 7 2009, 02:07 AM)
after graduate, student who get bachelor in education must go to interview b4 posting to school..
Sounds good wink.gif all the best!

sweet_pez
post Sep 15 2009, 03:32 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(alex13 @ Sep 7 2009, 11:38 AM)
I got an interview before that keep drilling you on other jobs you are applying.

Not sure why they keep asking that?
I guess they are curious about it. for one, they could be wondering whether you're aiming to apply for which specific industry/ line/ position etc. Some interviewers can be really persistent. If you're uncomfortable bout it, simply tell them you'd rather keep it confidential.
sweet_pez
post Sep 29 2009, 11:22 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Bizmind @ Sep 27 2009, 11:27 PM)
They are just like that. Don't care for other people. Because in their mind, there are plenty more works to do. So you just be patience and keep on trying. But if it take too much time, maybe you can go on and try another opportunity. It's they who are lose the chances to get you to work for them. Pity on them.
It's pretty obvious that they do not care but on the other hand, why should they? Look at it this way: they have thousands of applicants every month lining up to get in and it is unfortunate that she did not pick up the call. Even if she picked up the call, there's no guarantee she'll get the interview (she could be interviewed on the phone as 1st stage and might or might not make it). Again, we won't know.

An applause to ahmoi tho because at the very least she made an effort to contact them. Don't worry too much, bygones are bygones. Keep looking for other opportunities. Things like this do happen at times randomly .

QUOTE(oyama @ Sep 29 2009, 01:23 AM)
hopefully..because all of my fren also have a good feedback..cant say anything

hope for the best..prepare for the worse~ that's what i'm thinking now~
Wow u mean you and several friends actually went for the same company? How many openings are available? I really do not like 'competing' with ppl I know for same position... kinda makes me down sad.gif say, I don't get it but my friend did - I'll feel sad. If I got it and my friend don't, I'll feel sad as well. Sigh either way it won't be good news for me~
sweet_pez
post Oct 7 2009, 11:30 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Oct 6 2009, 09:31 PM)
agree on that..yes we sad about we did not get it..but into some point..think further..see for you mistakes..ask them how do they answer..so u might somehow know what are your mistakes..

btw..got another interview..from O&G company as well..

think of my first interview...just want to know all of your answer..if asked like below:

1-What is your hobby??
--->Do we need to relate it with the job? such as if field engineer need to travel..then we said something like that? or honestly answer? I like to play chess..bla..bla..bla..??

2-If in your team, u find a person that is not trustable.. how are going to manage it?
--->just want to know the best answer from all of you~ happy.gif

Thanks~
1) In my case, I would not relate my hobby to job. When I was asked that question, I answer 1)them honestly that I enjoy going out with my friends, travelling and jungle trekking. I also enjoy reading books from time to time. Usually from thereon interviewers evaluate what sort of person you are as your hobby reveals things about you. Those who enjoys chess are usually a thinker and stuffs like that.

I prefer to give a short and simple answer. Unless the interviewer asks further, I'd keep to that. Usually they would go, "What sort of places have you travelled before?" or "What type of books do you read?"

2) My reply would go:

I will observe what part of him/ her is not trustable (as in highly possible that this person might steal comp info? sabotage a colleague?) and to what extent. I would not mention them to the others, but if anything suspicious arose, I will report it to my superior.

- for one, we're not detectives, it's not up to us to collect evidence and such unless being told to. So in times where something suspicious happens, it's in our responsibility to alert our superior about it. That's what I think tho...

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 7 2009, 11:41 AM
sweet_pez
post Oct 14 2009, 09:54 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(monochrome @ Oct 10 2009, 05:14 PM)
HELP everyone!!!

i'm about to attend an interview soon..what did the above mean?
do i really have to put a photo & state salary on my resume itself or just in cover letter?? coz i dont usually do that. some said no need, just state in cover letter.
Softcopy means e-copy. And it mentions "Resume" so why do you say Cover Letter? Whether you usually do that or not, just act according to instructions. When they say softcopy I assume they want an e-copy of resume with photo. I suggest you burn your resume on a disc and bring along the hardcopy.
sweet_pez
post Oct 21 2009, 09:47 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(samteng @ Oct 17 2009, 10:18 AM)
For those who have got extensive experiences in attending interviews, do you think it is a good idea to ask your prospective employer why the management is opening up a particular position? Just as you are asked why you intend to resign or have left your ex-company and you have to give a solid reason for that.

Although chances are you will not get a truthful answer from your interviewer especially when the truth is embarassing, at least you can judge for yourself how plausible his/her explanation is. At most, the interviewer would only give you the PULL factors instead of the PUSH factors.

The types of answer I am expecting are something like this.

1) Someone resigned because s/he was offered a better deal somewhere else.
2) Someone has been promoted, transferred to another department or moved on to another area of expertise
3) We are in the midst of expansion because there are new projects being rolled out and stuff
4) We are experiencing high volumes of transactions and for this we need to increase our headcounts.
5) Bizzare but possible to happen, someone has been fired... laugh.gif

The purpose of asking this question is to know if the turnover rate for that particular position is high or low. If the turnover is high, then something has got to be very wrong somewhere and you should think thrice before accepting the offer. It could be due to the poor management style, little or no increment or a paycut, or the politics in the company is very intense. Is there anyway you can gauge the real reason by asking this question?
Seriously, I never thought of asking that question. It can be asked but... like you said, there'a high chance we won't get the 'true' answer. then once you fill in that vacancy, you'll know why the previous person left laugh.gif

QUOTE(poosk @ Oct 20 2009, 03:31 PM)
hey guys...can i bluff on my working experience? let say i work 1.5 years but i bluff to 2years... biggrin.gif
...and is there a good reason for you to say that? You shouldn't lie in an interview, you could risk being blacklisted by the company.

sweet_pez
post Oct 30 2009, 10:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DaViDcHiN @ Oct 29 2009, 02:00 AM)
Anyone can tell me how to answer this question?

"Do you apply for any other company also?"

I answered "Yes", TS din't get the job because he said yes, I am worry about it now, but I just wanted to be honest. I don't want to lie.
No, it's fine to answer "Yes" that you applied for other companies. It's only natural that you did... If I'm an interviewer and you replied me "No" I would think you're lying. How many ppl would only apply for ONE job when they are job hunting?

Answering "yes" is fine in my opinion. If the interviewer proceed to question you on 'which company' you don't have to answer. Just give them a vague idea like... "it's from xxx industry" and stop there. If he/ she prompt you further, just tell him/ her that you would rather not reveal too much and that you're waiting for them to call you up for an interview.

For one, that shows that you (might) have a demand in the market and that this current company (that you're being interviewed) should not take too long to get back to you otherwise you'll be 'taken' by another company.

If you were rejected by other companies (that you applied), just don't mention in the interview. Talk about those you managed to secure an offer or still awaiting reply.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 30 2009, 10:41 AM
sweet_pez
post Nov 5 2009, 03:20 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:49 AM)
Always a two edged sword. If you end up with a pariah interviewer, they gonna put you secondary.
However, if you are already not too savvy to the job, ask them back
"Are you interviewing other candidates???"
Possible. But if the interviewer already so pariah I don't think the comp's any better laugh.gif

Companies who value talents will certainly not let a small issue like this stop them from hiring.

QUOTE(thedarknight @ Nov 5 2009, 11:52 AM)
i remember my first interview, the interviewer asked 'what if you got offer at another company?'

how to answer that 1 lah??? haha
What do you think?

Just say you will consider ler!
sweet_pez
post Dec 9 2009, 04:16 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Sigh I went for an interview today. I wasn't THAT interested at first coz the job descrip was kinda short and there wasn't much info. When I went there for today and after talking to the interviewer on job scope, I was really really into it.

She was honest and frank. She told me her concerns. It's a risk to take me in because I don't have relevant knowledge/ experience in the (vacancy's) area and that I will need extensive training for 3 months (if they do take me in). Partially, the expected salary was also a little high in her opinion.

Anyway she said she liked my attitude and might call me again if I'm shortlisted. According to her, the 2nd interview will involve an 'assignment' and I'm already worried. it's to be completed in their office and might take an hour or two. I wonder what sort of assignment is it? Anyone encountered this before?

She told me it's related to marketing as well and that I should make some preparations. Kinda nerve-wrecking and I'll have to do some revision these few days. I don't think I stand much chance (as per what she said, there's also 2-3 shortlisted candidates) since her concern is part of the main criteria (relevant knowledge/ exp).
sweet_pez
post Dec 15 2009, 02:20 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Bboy Dora>> Doesn't matter. Bring new copy and tell them that this is the updated version.

Something was wrong with JobStreet. I obviously uploaded the new resume but somehow when other ppl download it, they'll see the old version. What happened was - in one of my interview last week - I saw the old version of my resume in front of both the interviewers (2 guys - each had a copy). Then they had to share the updated version I passed to them. You know, actually I had another copy in my file but the scene was so funny (for some reason, which I don't know why), I forgot to gave it to them.

...and I really had to keep a straight face from laughing.
sweet_pez
post Dec 15 2009, 02:43 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Hmmm usually interviewers take that as something that's required from us. I bring extra copies but I only pass 1 copy to the interviewer (along with photocopy certs, transcripts etc).
sweet_pez
post Jan 5 2010, 08:59 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Jan 4 2010, 03:25 PM)
what if currently I'm unemployed (resigned on last month), and the interviewer ask "why did u resigned before you has yet to find the next job?" and "what did you do so far after u resigned"...

thanks in advance.
No idea why you resigned before getting another job and what you've been doing... how to offer advice?
sweet_pez
post Jan 18 2010, 10:42 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Jan 17 2010, 08:05 AM)
is it appropriate for guys to wear earrings to an interview?
Hi booby, it will have to depend on the INDUSTRY/ JOB that you're interviewing for. Eg. if you're a fashion designer or in the fashion industry, I don't see any harm. As a matter of fact, you'll need to dress 'different' to impress the interviewer because action speak louder than words under these circumstances.

On the other hand, in any other industries or white collar positions, it's advisable for you to restrain from doing so. Dress smartly to impress and show your professionalism.
sweet_pez
post Jan 18 2010, 12:54 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

booby>> can just say that you have piercings and you do wear earrings~

It's alright to be honest. Thing is, not wearing them to interview shows some sort of respect towards the company and interviewer.
sweet_pez
post Jan 20 2010, 10:29 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

You can always say that you're looking forward to new challenges. Also mention that you do not want to limit yourself etc~
sweet_pez
post Jan 27 2010, 01:48 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(nizadi @ Jan 26 2010, 04:40 PM)
Unemployed for 3 mths already. Have been applying for a lots of job, didnt get it n not even a single call from the HR asking me to go for an interview.

Kinda weird coz I have 1 year working experience and just finish my postgraduate. Maybe I need to lower my expected salary (but I already stated can nego there) or maybe try to apply from a small2 company. or maybe because of the financial crisis??
First of all, is the job you apply relevant to the industry/ experience/ certificate you had in your previous job?

Secondly, if you don't mind - do tell us what is your expected salary.

Third, is your resume/ CV comprehensive enough? Is the formatting right? Easy to read?

Fourth, did you attach/ insert a photo in your resume?

Fifth, where did you apply your jobs? Eg. which job recruitment agency/ site did you go to?
sweet_pez
post Jan 28 2010, 10:33 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

vey99 is right.

RM 3k++ with 1 year experience? Yes, I think could be the main problem. It's best if you lower it further.

Other than jobstreet you can try JenJobs and JobsDB.
sweet_pez
post Feb 8 2010, 08:50 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Feb 7 2010, 11:28 PM)
y interviewers like to ask "when did your course finishes" and so on ... i said my graduation ceremony was in december and the whole of january im was having my holiday. So do i get a bad image that i never do anything productive after my graduation because i enjoy too much?
No, it's normal. The graduation and course end thingy varies with universities/ colleges. My Uni for example - have people who finish their course in either December or June. The graduation ceremony in Australia is only once a year - in April. So some of them who graduated in June waited around 10 months for graduation then only job hunt... and no, it's not a joke - I have several friends who did just that.

Therefore it's absolutely normal for them to ask this question IMO.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0592sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:40 AM