Unifi Unifi Limit Bandwidth, What router can do it ?

TSEponine
post May 5 2012, 11:26 PM, updated 14y ago

132 posts

Hi, I have unifi at home and there is some selfish housemates who are dlling like mad and make the others all lag like hell..

i would like to limit their bandwidth but not blocking them ( that would be too cruel) which cannot be done with the free router that TM give us.

So i would like to buy a new modem / router with such function but i got no idea which one. SO can any pro around here kindly give me some recommendations ? don't too expensive pls ^^

XL2K
post May 5 2012, 11:29 PM

99 posts

correct me if i'm wrong....can block port... for some programs .......
takizo
post May 5 2012, 11:31 PM

248 posts

No rate limit on bandwidth on normal router sad.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post May 5 2012, 11:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Well u can just use the "Advanced -> filter rules" to block his IP & MAC from even downloading tongue.gif

Anyway limiting also wont help if he/she will make noise later.. Best method just talk to him/her or exclude him/her from sharing/paying the broadband
cannavaro
post May 6 2012, 08:01 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Eponine @ May 5 2012, 11:26 PM)
Hi, I have unifi at home and there is some selfish housemates who are dlling like mad and make the others all lag like hell..

i would like to limit their bandwidth but not blocking them ( that would be too cruel) which cannot be done with the free router that TM give us.

So i would like to buy a new modem / router with such function but i got no idea which one. SO can any pro around here kindly give me some recommendations ? don't too expensive pls ^^

TPLINK WR841ND. The price is around RM80. This router is value for money. thumbup.gif

Added on May 6, 2012, 8:02 am
QUOTE(takizo @ May 5 2012, 11:31 PM)
No rate limit on bandwidth on normal router sad.gif
Nope that was back in the old days. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by cannavaro: May 6 2012, 08:02 AM
TSEponine
post May 6 2012, 04:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 5 2012, 11:48 PM)
Well u can just use the "Advanced -> filter rules" to block his IP & MAC from even downloading tongue.gif

Anyway limiting also wont help if he/she will make noise later.. Best method just talk to him/her or exclude him/her from sharing/paying the broadband
i tried that, but that will totally block them from everything which i dn want.. i tried p2pover.. wasnt helping...
CloudComputer
post May 6 2012, 06:45 PM

257 posts

If you are ready to get your hand dirty, Mikrotik allows you to limit the bandwidth and manage the network to great extent biggrin.gif
TSEponine
post May 6 2012, 08:21 PM

132 posts

my hands ald dirty.. hahhaha
matthewctj
post May 9 2012, 05:39 PM

1,304 posts

If you are one of the housemates, why did you apply for internet without asking everyone to chip in for the monthly payment? That way, those paying ones can use it as they wish.

If you are the sole payee for the internet, then change password and don't share. Tell them you need the bandwith for your use. Or turn security on when you are at home and off when you leave so that they can use.

You should be selfish at times. In fact, secretly blocking or limiting is already selfish. Why not try plain honesty and be upfront with them? You think they won't notice when their download speed suddenly drop so much? Making them suspect you will be even worse.
hard2k
post May 10 2012, 02:46 PM

ლ(ಠ益ಠლ) y u no shine!!
2,681 posts

If u use dlink dir516d u can use custom firmware of dd-wrt
i use dd-wrt custom firmware to managed my housemate bandwitch usage
4G92 Mivec
post May 14 2012, 08:37 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(Eponine @ May 5 2012, 11:26 PM)

u can actually use the Asus RTN13U which have known to to fully support UniFi and good news to you,u can adjust priority for users or the QOS too...best of all its cheap..hope it helps...aha the web link
http://my.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN13U/

defaultname365
post May 14 2012, 10:51 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

This is the simplest solution, download and use NetLimiter, but it is an internet speed limiter :
http://www.netlimiter.com/download.php

Free version is available, but if you want the full version you have to look elsewhere(!).

Basically it has to be installed on the computer that you want to limit the speed, you can choose what application you want to limit the speed (so for the entire computer it would be explorer.exe) and set the download speed. I have done this before. If you don't want the person to know this program is running just hide the taskbar icon. This is really a basic method but you might find useful.

grey_m45k
post May 15 2012, 01:49 PM

219 posts

block port of the site where ur friend download at.

think that will do..
fawked
post May 21 2012, 09:54 AM

49 posts

Best would be to throttle his MAC address. Better yet, kick him off your wifi. Some people dont understand what sharing means. Either way, any solution will cost you some money.
zeronehza
post May 30 2012, 03:08 PM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 5 2012, 11:48 PM)

THIS rclxms.gif

even u limit .. after that he/she will complain and ask others why suddenly speed not normal? and will ask to call unifi centre.. what to do? so be honest each others will do, unless u running a company or cybercafe, it shud be a policy to do the cap.
aqblood
post May 30 2012, 05:23 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ May 30 2012, 03:08 PM)
THIS  rclxms.gif

even u limit .. after that he/she will complain and ask others why suddenly speed not normal? and will ask to call unifi centre.. what to do? so be honest each others will do, unless u running a company or cybercafe, it shud be a policy to do the cap.
rclxms.gif

Ask them apply for their own line.
johnlth93
post May 30 2012, 07:50 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

if router can't support bandwidth limit you can use software
winpcap is one of the socket that can do that
for windows ofcuz
kamenrider14
post May 30 2012, 10:27 PM

170 posts

i oso having same problem and still cant find solution... sad.gif
aqblood
post May 30 2012, 10:30 PM

704 posts

Make the WiFi signal weaker. LOL
feedo
post Aug 10 2012, 10:23 PM

53 posts

What router TM give to u?
sagenaruto
post Aug 11 2012, 06:44 AM

I use last time but I can't recall what brand was that. You can set limit bandwith by setting and mac address. It was simple plain vanilla. Easy. Aztech if I'm not mistaken. Other high-end router should have one.
johnlth93
post Aug 11 2012, 05:17 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

get a tp link with auto balancer
arimii
post Aug 24 2012, 04:48 AM

use Qos la ..
AmpBuster
post Aug 29 2012, 03:35 PM

145 posts

Best solution: Priority-based QoS.

Assuming total available bandwidth is 1 mbps.

Here is an example of what could happen without QoS:

I am happily playing my MMORPG which takes ~100 kbps
Little brother starts downloading at 1 mbps
I start to experience lag and disconnects
Frustrated, I turn off the wireless connection (Evil, I know) tongue.gif
He comes to me whining about the internet

Here is an example of what could happen with hard caps on bandwidth:

Little brother starts downloading at 800 kbps (Capped at 800 kbps)
My gameplay is unaffected
However, this method causes that remaining ~100 kbps of bandwidth to be wasted.

Here is an example of what could happen with priority-based QoS:

Router will give priority to packets that I send
My gameplay is unaffected and little brother’s download speed varies according to how much bandwidth I require at that time.
This method is much more efficient than the other two. I highly recommend it to anyone who shares their internet connection.

I’m using the Gargoyle Router Management Utility – which I find is much more user-friendly compared to OpenWRT that I was using previously. Gargoyle is available here: http://www.gargoyle-router.com/download.php.

This post has been edited by AmpBuster: Aug 29 2012, 03:36 PM
andrew9292
post Aug 29 2012, 07:33 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Since this is for unifi, just sharing smile.gif

If you know how to do it, flash the router to DD-WRT firmware.
I'm not using TM's router but i'm using DD-WRT, i dont have a problem with torrent because i'm the only one torrenting plus i only do it at night when my family is sleeping. The problem I have is Youtube HD sucking the line, hence mine is set up to give priority to web browsing and throttle streaming vid/music. But,

Here you add torrent protocols to the filter...
[attachmentid=3023485]

Also, if you want to be really unfair you can priority by MAC address (their computer's hardware address)
[attachmentid=3023494]

Which you can easily get from here
[attachmentid=3023496]

You can also bring down their speed and possibility to connect to seeds/peers during their torrent session by limiting the total connections and the duration of the connections that the router can open.
[attachmentid=3023500]

There's a guide here for dd-wrt on TM's router: http://unifi.athena.my
But i have to warn you, you'll have to be very careful and fully focused when flashing and configuring the new firmware. There's a possibility that the router wont start again if you're doing it wrongly. Eg. Through WIRELESS which is a big no. Got balls? tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 29 2012, 07:41 PM
buyoq
post Aug 31 2012, 04:13 PM

hat ni sebulan...........
1,305 posts

stock TM DIR-615 can do it, but of course you have to flashed it to DDWRT first. smile.gif
Isa
post Apr 9 2013, 01:40 AM

14 posts

OMG everyone giving social advice. poor person just want to limit the other user cause they can't understand fair share and talking obviously didn't work so this is a must. i have a room mate who is r-ping my 20mgb unifi to a point where i can't use. so stop with the social advice and please let the community use your expertise on this topic. social advice would be elsewhere.
tangzi
post Apr 9 2013, 09:37 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Isa @ Apr 9 2013, 01:40 AM)
OMG everyone giving social advice. poor person just want to limit the other user cause they can't understand fair share and talking obviously didn't work so this is a must. i have a room mate who is r-ping my 20mgb unifi to a point where i can't use. so stop with the social advice and please let the community use your expertise on this topic. social advice would be elsewhere.
+1
Noysan
post Apr 9 2013, 10:08 AM

156 posts

i got tp-link 1043nd. Can perform bandwidth limit by ip address. Just set how much bandwidth you want to allocate to each ip address. I have two housemate who are sharing with my 5mbps UNIFI so I set 1.5mbps up/down to each of us. They can torrent all day long for all I care since the only bandwidth they are hogging is the bandwidth allocated to them.
tangzi
post Apr 9 2013, 12:21 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Apr 9 2013, 10:08 AM)
i got tp-link 1043nd. Can perform bandwidth limit by ip address. Just set how much bandwidth you want to allocate to each ip address. I have two housemate who are sharing with my 5mbps UNIFI so I set 1.5mbps up/down to each of us. They can torrent all day long for all I care since the only bandwidth they are hogging is the bandwidth allocated to them.
How much for this wireless router? Is this router performed good? e.g wifi will drop 1-2 times per day (according to some user review)

Can you share your review?
Noysan
post Apr 9 2013, 01:33 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(tangzi @ Apr 9 2013, 12:21 PM)
How much for this wireless router? Is this router performed good? e.g wifi will drop 1-2 times per day (according to some user review)

Can you share your review?
I bought it around RM150.. I have a wifi drop too but not per day. 1 or none per month.It seldom occurs for me. Keep in mind that my UNIFI is turned on 24/7. I never powered off since I bought it.

Bandwidth limiting is also good. This is the main reason why I like this router. I have two housemate who abused torrent. And sometimes internet browsing is a pain in a s s but now it's never a problem because my UNIFI bandwidth is equally divided between us. They can still torrent but at the expense of their own dedicated bandwidth.

The only bad experience I have is the ethernet cable connection. When I turned on my PS3, it always says LAN cable is not connected. I takes 2-3 mins to stabilized the connection between the router and my PS3. After that its all good. I believe this is the problem of firmware. I haven't upgraded mine yet.

tangzi
post Apr 9 2013, 01:48 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Apr 9 2013, 01:33 PM)
I bought it around RM150.. I have a wifi drop too but not per day. 1 or none per month.It seldom occurs for me. Keep in mind that my UNIFI is turned on 24/7. I never powered off since I bought it.

Bandwidth limiting is also good. This is the main reason why I like this router. I have two housemate who abused torrent. And sometimes internet browsing is a pain in a s s but now it's never a problem because my UNIFI bandwidth is equally divided between us. They can still torrent but at the expense of their own dedicated bandwidth.

The only bad experience I have is the ethernet cable connection. When I turned on my PS3, it always says LAN cable is not connected. I takes 2-3 mins to stabilized the connection between the router and my PS3. After that its all good. I believe this is the problem of firmware. I haven't upgraded mine yet.
I think this is good for TS. I will get 1 too for myself. smile.gif
Thanks for sharing.
Zhao
post Apr 9 2013, 01:58 PM

1,267 posts

i am using tp link router TL-WR841N (rm78)

there is bandwidth control rules list , you can set ingress/outgress bandwidth based on port range by individual ip .

vipervr
post Jun 28 2013, 12:56 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(AmpBuster @ Aug 29 2012, 03:35 PM)
Best solution: Priority-based QoS.

Assuming total available bandwidth is 1 mbps.
Here is an example of what could happen without QoS:

I start to experience lag and disconnects
Frustrated, I turn off the wireless connection (Evil, I know) tongue.gif
He comes to me whining about the internet
Here is an example of what could happen with hard caps on bandwidth:

Little brother starts downloading at 800 kbps (Capped at 800 kbps)
My gameplay is unaffected
However, this method causes that remaining ~100 kbps of bandwidth to be wasted.
Here is an example of what could happen with priority-based QoS:

Router will give priority to packets that I send
My gameplay is unaffected and little brother’s download speed varies according to how much bandwidth I require at that time.
This method is much more efficient than the other two. I highly recommend it to anyone who shares their internet connection.
I’m using the Gargoyle Router Management Utility – which I find is much more user-friendly compared to OpenWRT that I was using previously. Gargoyle is available here: http://www.gargoyle-router.com/download.php.
Does Gargoyle work with Unifi? I don't see the VLAN settings option in the router management utility.

0.3204sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:30 AM