> Singapore vs Brunei - 50 Years Economy Progress

empyreal
post May 5 2012, 08:12 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ May 5 2012, 08:02 PM)
Singapore managed to grow its economy that can rival HK, Malaysia despite having no natural resources and no large market.

HK even during British days, has mainland China as economy support, but not Singapore.
it doesnt matter. what matters is the concentration of people and urbanisation. the more people in a city, the more vibrant its economy, and this vibrancy is what leads to national economic growth. that's why underpopulated brunei lags behind singapore. even in the 1960s, brunei was better only in terms of 'living standards' - having more space, less congestion, etc. likewise, malaysia too is underpopulated, even discounting the rural areas, kl is small.

if you look at it in a macro view, why would kl and penang (or even new york, london or any large cities today) exist, since none of the cities have any mining, drilling or forestry industries within it?

empyreal
post May 5 2012, 08:22 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ May 5 2012, 08:14 PM)
That does not explain why gap between Malaysia and South Korea became much pronounced in 1980's.
basing on the established theory that cities are connectors i.e. they connect resources to the world market and people with other peole, some theorised that malaysia and singapore retard each other's growth. malaya basically had one port, singapore. even after 65, malaysian companies continue to utilise the sg port instead of say, port klang.

if there was no singapore (like it suddenly disappears), trade would flow through the johor, penang and klang ports, encouraging growth in these areas. likewise, if malaysia had no ports, singapore wouldve been a larger city.

also, since malaysia had more natural resources, more people need to be relatively low-skilled - if you have a mine, you will need miners. if you have no mines, you can allocate more people to higher value jobs (through incentivisation, etc. you dont need to tell people to what work they need to do - if there's a mining job, someone will take it. if there's none, there's a natural incentive for people to work harder and become more kiasu, for example).
empyreal
post May 5 2012, 08:28 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(liverpool2020 @ May 5 2012, 08:25 PM)
real or not ?

why I feel that most of the australia r lazy.. they really good at enjoying their life

while most asian work like no tomorrow
it doesnt necessarily have to be that they work 6X as fast, its that an hour of their work results in 6X the average value of malaysian production. its either they really do work 6X faster, one worker does the job of 6 men (through mechanisation) or that they produce goods 6X the value of our goods.
empyreal
post May 5 2012, 08:42 PM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ May 5 2012, 08:30 PM)
Similarly, government must develop a policy that ensures the continued demand for higher tech equipments, through comprehensive development policy, such as public transit.

Hehe, if at least 4 to 5 cities in Malaysia has metro, our local company such as Scomi will have enough demand and at the same time, boosting its portfolio, so that Scomi will be even more marketable.
also, ive been reading a book i just bought last week: triumph of the city

it talks about cities, and how it shapes a country. and it also talks about how public transport in turn shapes a city. when i read the part about how pedestrian cities result in cramped close-quarter buildings (like india), and cities with transit systems result in concentrated grids (like ny), and how car-cities have gently curving roads and a more dispersed growth pattern (like kl), i thought that you'd enjoy the book.
empyreal
post May 6 2012, 01:26 AM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ May 5 2012, 09:55 PM)
I don't think the issue is about capitalist vs socialism or goodies and handouts by the government.

Remember, the PAP is socialist party. Though in reality they are pragmatists in administration. The HDB is an example of socialist policies. They know how to blend both capitalist and socialist policies properly.

The real issue here is meritocracy, governance, planning and foresight. And a sense of constantly being feeling an existential threat as a nation by the bigger nations around you thus removing complacency that afflict all other governments in SEA.
pap a socialist party? not really. their opponent, the workers' party, is socialist - which resulted in them getting pretty much gagged and oppressed.

and it's because of this lack of opponents that the government was free to enact non-populist measures. if they had, likeus now, both sides will outbid each other trying to push for which party can give more unsustainable subsidies to the people. if you're the only kid on the block, you dont need to do that.

and of course, having a natural port and infrastructure that was built up by the brits and an already present concentration of educated workforce prior to independence helps too.
empyreal
post May 6 2012, 10:19 AM

2,036 posts

QUOTE(tat3179 @ May 6 2012, 10:05 AM)
If you read LKY's memoirs, LKY always claimed that PAP is a socialist party and a member of Socialist International.

The Worker's Party on the other hand, is actually communist, not socialist.

In any event, PAP launched many socialist policies, like setting up co-op stores which is government run, and the HDB which is also govt run and many more. They know however, where to step back, and where to intervene effectively.
You could also argue that Temasek, one of the largest sovereign wealth fund is socialist because it is government run and not a private fund.
lky can say that, and he can also say that it was a monarchy if he likes.

i think you're classifying something on the small portion of what they do, instead of what their main business is. establishing pro-business policies, clamping down on unions and relatively low taxes for the rich, are all more fundamentally against socialist principles than erecting subsidised housing and sovereign funds. sovereign funds isnt even socialist since they partake and support a capitalistic economic system or unless this is used to work towards controlling a significant or all the productive capacity of the economy - the anti-thesis of fdi.

if you're old, got a degree, are already working with a family and kids, you dont call yourself a high school student just because you've put on a high school uniform. trivial things dont count if the fundamentals are not achieved.

besides, workers' party really want to appropriate all the capital in singapore, turn all businesses to government-run businesses and impose a flat wage for all, if theyre commie?

0.0486sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:51 PM