Harddisk
post May 8 2012, 02:16 PM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 8 2012, 02:12 PM)
SGS3 aperture size = f/2.65

HOX aperture size = f/2.00

N8 aperture size = f/1.80

Smaller f-stop = larger camera sensor = faster lens = lower ISO possible = lesser noise = better image quality
WHAAAAAT???

Aperture size is not in directly relevant to sensor size.
farscope
post May 8 2012, 02:18 PM

3,427 posts

Smaller f-stop = larger camera sensor = faster lens = lower ISO possible = lesser noise = better image quality
yr "equation" is not entirely true

smaller f-stop = larger aperture size = faster lens = faster shutter speed achievable for same exposure

while

larger camera sensor = more light = lesser noise = shallower DOF

while image quality depends on lens the most, followed by sensor + image processor (including noise filtering for high ISO)

the aperture has nth to do with the sensor.
XeactorZ
post May 8 2012, 02:18 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

so the aperture size the smaller the better right ??

QUOTE(farscope @ May 8 2012, 02:15 PM)
sensor and aperture is different. however, for sensor and aperture, the bigger the better.

the aperture size is denoted by the f-number. the smaller the number, the bigger the size.

sensor is similar to a film, but in digital form.
LOL i though the aperture / sensor size the smaller the better the camera ???
confuse rclxub.gif
I know that either aperture / sensor size (1 of them) the smaller the better @@

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: May 8 2012, 02:20 PM
farscope
post May 8 2012, 02:20 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2012, 02:18 PM)
no.. the bigger the better.. dont get it wrong..

the smaller u mean is the f number.

i.e. f1.8, f2.0 etc etc..

the smaller the f, the bigger the aperture size bcz it's inverse of it. just don't get confuse with f-number with aperture size.
XeactorZ
post May 8 2012, 02:24 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 8 2012, 02:20 PM)
no.. the bigger the better.. dont get it wrong..

the smaller u mean is the f number.

i.e. f1.8, f2.0 etc etc..

the smaller the f, the bigger the aperture size bcz it's inverse of it. just don't get confuse with f-number with aperture size.
o.O, so just know the the f/x (X = number) to smaller the better @@
finally understand about it
but can I know what the mean for the f ???
Hunakadoo
post May 8 2012, 02:25 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

Hox user , no need to come and bash S3 interested buyer here .
There's a lot point still S3 features is > than Hox
People here don't want to mention only .
If you not happy with S3 , just go back your Hox discussion by not lepak at here . smile.gif
Sky.Live
post May 8 2012, 02:28 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

aperture only tell half of the story la.. not much at all, probably last thing you wanna compare as a capable camera.. sensor, user interface, end jpeg quality plays an equally important role
MPIK
post May 8 2012, 02:29 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ May 8 2012, 02:25 PM)
Hox user , no need to come and bash S3 interested buyer here .
There's a lot point still S3 features is > than Hox
People here don't want to mention only .
If you not happy with S3 , just go back your Hox discussion by not lepak at here . smile.gif
I am just doing a comparison here. Which sentence you see I bashing?

I am just sharing what I know and dont take my comments as 100% correct. This is a discussion forum and not accusing forum. Get your substance right.
farscope
post May 8 2012, 02:30 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2012, 02:24 PM)
o.O, so just know the the f/x (X = number) to smaller the better @@
finally understand about it
but can I know what the mean for the f ???
if u learn optics in physics or u learn about photograph. the f number means the focal ratio.

it's actually the focal length over the diameter of the entrance pupil. go google up if u wanna know more. hope this clears up your doubts about the aperture and f-number relation.

it's getting out of topic with this aperture talk here ady.
MPIK
post May 8 2012, 02:33 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 8 2012, 02:18 PM)
confuse rclxub.gif
I know that either aperture / sensor size (1 of them) the smaller the better @@
Usually smaller aperture size is better because can capture more "bokeh" for your photos.

Smaller aperture can result in using lower ISO because more volume of light is capable of entering the lens for low light capture especially indoor shots or birthday shots in a dark room.

This is why small aperture lens is so expensive.

Go to Canon shop and compare the quality of picture taken from a 50mm f/1.2 lens against a 50mm f/1.8 lens.
Hico
post May 8 2012, 02:34 PM

4,709 posts

nokia n8 is using f2.8

This post has been edited by Hico: May 8 2012, 02:37 PM
garytey
post May 8 2012, 02:38 PM

948 posts

there is a BSI(Back Illuminated Sensor), what is it used for?
Hunakadoo
post May 8 2012, 02:38 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 8 2012, 02:29 PM)
I am just doing a comparison here. Which sentence you see I bashing?

I am just sharing what I know and dont take my comments as 100% correct. This is a discussion forum and not accusing forum. Get your substance right.
just get read your previous comment at this thread ,
obviously you are hox user and u're just trying to bashing out at here .
you don't like s3 , get out from here and go back your hox .
nothing to show here that how good is your hox , nobody wish to know while you may post it at hox discussion thread.

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 7 2012, 05:35 PM)
Definitely choose One X la... still need to think wat???  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(MPIK @ May 7 2012, 05:37 PM)
For Custom ROM, I beg HOX will have more custom ROM than S3.

Just look at Sensation vs S2 in xda forum, there are tons of custom ROMs and Mods for Sensation which also explains why Sensation got 21 pages vs S2 of 16 pages.
QUOTE(MPIK @ May 7 2012, 09:45 PM)
U never know if iphone5 comes out with this screen, then straight away all the phones in this world can sau pei liao.
You convince people get HOX , then why are you still here ?
People here discuss what's the feature and new thingy things from s3 , nobody concern about comparism between HOX here , you want share how good is HOX , just show it at your HOX discussion but not here .

Don't stay here if you're not support this product .
Same things like you take Mcdonald food and eat at KFC
Hico
post May 8 2012, 02:41 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ May 8 2012, 02:38 PM)
just get read your previous comment at this thread ,
obviously you are hox user and u're just trying to bashing out at here .
you don't like s3 , get out from here and go back your hox .
nothing to show here that how good is your hox , nobody wish to know while you may post it at hox discussion thread.
You convince people get HOX , then why are you still here ?
People here discuss what's the feature and new thingy things from s3 , nobody concern about comparism between HOX here , you want share how good is HOX , just show it at your HOX discussion but not here .

Don't stay here if you're not support this product .
Same things like you take Mcdonald food and eat at KFC
Your statement above make me laugh.. but kinda true.. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
farscope
post May 8 2012, 02:42 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 8 2012, 02:33 PM)
Usually smaller aperture size is better because can capture more "bokeh" for your photos.

Smaller aperture can result in using lower ISO because more volume of light is capable of entering the lens for low light capture especially indoor shots or birthday shots in a dark room.

Go to Canon shop and compare the quality of picture taken from a 50mm f/1.2 lens against a 50mm f/1.8 lens.
your statement also half correct only. the ones highlighted in red shows that you are confused between aperture size and f-number

yes, bigger aperture size (smaller f-number) gives u narrower DOF (i.e. bokeh) but it doesn't matter if your sensor size is small. Everything will be focused.

DOF is contributed by a few factors, not only the aperture. the focal length, the sensor size, and the subject distance plays equally important role. with the small sensor and short focal length of a smartphone camera, it's unlikely to have a bokeh-ed picture even with a big aperture. The main reason for a small f-number will be only for the low light capability, which is mentioned in your second statement.

the last statement comparing the 50mm F1.2L and a 50mm F1.8 picture quality based on the aperture size is wrong. this shows u have little knowledge about photography. the picture quality has a big difference is because of the glass and the build of both lenses. not because of the aperture size. in fact, the sharpest aperture is always at a higher f-number, usually at f8.0.

i suggest that, if u r not well verse about some topic, then better don't confuse ppl by posting it.

This post has been edited by farscope: May 8 2012, 02:45 PM
Sky.Live
post May 8 2012, 02:45 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Yes it's smaller aperture lens is expensive, but there's other thing to look after too,

leica f1.8 and canon f1.8 lens for example it's not always better.
Also we would not want to use large aperture lens to shoot scenery as less DOF meaning some part would be blurred out..

In a camera phone, where the sensor is puny tiny small, there's not much use of having a big aperture.
btw sensor is sensor, aperture is aperture.. then there's shuttle speed and ISO, which is the triangle rules of determining how good your photographs with turn out.. skill and composition ..
ellimist
post May 8 2012, 02:46 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Sorry guys not to be anal, but isn't it "larger" aperture, but lower "f-stop number" (technically f-stop number is the denominator, so after division, you still end up with a larger number i.e. larger opening i.e. larger aperture).

Larger opening, so the other variable of shutter speed can be reduced to receive equal light/exposure.

And yeah, would agree "aperture size" in itself does not affect quality of picture whatsoever. But it is also true that indirectly, assuming shutter speed is constant, given the same exposure target, you would get lower ISO usage, which in turn is suppose to give you less noise.
river.sand
post May 8 2012, 02:48 PM

3,806 posts

Actually, it is smaller f-number, but bigger aperture.

But I doubt we can capture bokeh using the camera of the phone, except probably for macro shots. This is because sensors used in phones are generally too small compared to those used in DSLR.

As for Canon lenses, your comparison is flawed:
Canon EF 50mm f1.2L (let's call it L lens)
Canon EF 50mm f1.8 (let's call it non-L lens)

Now, the f1.2 of the L lens is maximum aperture. When you take picture, you can set the aperture to smaller value, e.g. f1.8. OTOH, you can set the non-L lens to f1.2.

Let's say you set both lenses to f1.8. You'll still get better pictures with the L lens. This is because the L lens is constructed of high quality 'elements' as well as better coating.

farscope
post May 8 2012, 02:50 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ May 8 2012, 02:38 PM)
there is a BSI(Back Illuminated Sensor), what is it used for?
it's a technology to increase the capturing of light, hence improving low light shootings.
garytey
post May 8 2012, 02:52 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 8 2012, 02:50 PM)
it's a technology to increase the capturing of light, hence improving low light shootings.
so does it helps when the S3 bigger F-number aperture not collecting more light during low light capture?

125 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:45 PM