16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Club V6, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts

kaysa
post Jul 30 2012, 09:58 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 30 2012, 09:40 AM)
keycaps are random, only blue as this is what ducky made for a limited time, not a lot left

Added on July 30, 2012, 9:41 am
consider this also ma, the bottom acrylic got ancient chinese writing one de oh~
That word is rabbit on the bottom of the key....
meaning it is the year of the rabbit,
so you are getting the Dragon one for this year?
kaysa
post Jul 30 2012, 10:08 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 30 2012, 10:03 AM)
I'll be heading down to some stationary shop to find some short lanyard phone straps, if i can find some, i will make some switch based keychain, will be around half the price i think
post some photo of what you made, I will consider it too!
kaysa
post Jul 30 2012, 10:16 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 30 2012, 10:10 AM)
i think will be something like this

but better in terms that can pick from 4 types of switches
sweat, the bottom doesn't have a cover?
the switch wire might scratch the inside of the pant,
and the cellphone.
kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 09:33 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 30 2012, 01:20 PM)
it has to depend how detail i able to make first biggrin.gif

but shouldn't be too pricy la.

Ini macam can buat tak?
(for Topres.)
kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 11:35 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 31 2012, 10:28 AM)
er... two method to do this:
1. Mold injection
2. cnc milled.

First one will cost me quite high. a 2 x 1" thick alu sheet cost me rm1xx already...
so ii only can try the second option
Apa tu CNC Milled? your 3D printer can do or not?
how much is the price? to make each key?

and the mold injection....
RM1xx is how much?
if each key can sell RM10....
you need only to sell 1X to earn back the cost of the Alu sheet right?
is there other costs?
one same mold you can make many different color also right?
kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 01:18 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 31 2012, 11:58 AM)
er...

My 3D printer can print, but not sure if it able to do such high detail level or not.

it's time to do some "lesson" tongue.gif
Option 1- Mold Injected
The price for metal sheets is not fix one. Its estimate around RM100 +/-

Most keycap (99.9%) in the market is hot plastic mold injected. Hot plastic is injected into a mold form by two or more pieces of Alu/Steel base, which already been engraved. (For this case i see it needs only two, top and bottom)

So the hot plastic inside the mold will be cooled and the mold will be crank up, then there you'll get your product. (the keycap)

For mold injection, of course the higher number it able to produce from the mold, the cost will be even up easier. The most expensive part is the mold itself. The more precision a mold is being crafted, the higher the price is. For the plastic? Bla, it's dirt cheap. I can get a 5kg PBT resin with hundred ringgit plus only. The number? you can count smile.gif

Yes, basicly you can put any color of material into a same mold, also maybe other material like PBT or POM. But not really advisable as the shrinkage of ABS, PBT & POM totally diff

option 2- CNC milled
For example like the one you given, i can take a red color keycap and add a layer of hot red abs plastic on top of it, to thicken the base which will be milled off later. Then wait for it to cool off.

When it's cool up, cnc machine will engrave the shape and then you'll get your keycap.

Basicly, Cnc milled normally is meant to do small quantity job only.
for molding, other than the alu or steel mold,
do you have the equipments to heat up and melt the plastics/ inject the plastic to the mold?

and CNC milling, I m not sure I understand what you mean by thickening a keycap,
you are adding a layer of ABS to a keycap and drill off part of the added part?
but you are not drilling a keycap out of a solid cube of plastic?
kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 01:50 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 31 2012, 01:32 PM)
For the mold injecting, i always pass to other ppl to do it one

and for CNC, yes, i'm addon a layer and engrave it.

No, i'm not mill from a solid cube.
CNC onto a ABS added onto a keycaps?
so we need a completed functional keycap first?
and the ABS will cover the whole key or just the top of it?
if the original key color are different from the added part,
that would seem awkward right?

and is it possible to add PBT on top of a PBT keycap instead?

kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 06:58 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jul 31 2012, 04:05 PM)
not possible, as PBT will have shrink condition when it cooldown.

Additional info for you, the thing that you mention about a keycap on top of another keycap is close to something called Doubleshot.

By the way, Mold Injection is mostly use for ABS, PBT or POM. the most important thing you need is this

as well as other parts.

As for CNC Machine Mill, you'll need to own a CNC Machine. design your own 3D blueprint of the keycap or Casing, purchasing a block of aluminium, and start drilling the parts out.

CNC milled has alot of room for error, which is why China makes it out of a huge metal, and not per keycap swap engraving, because it cost you alot of time on swapping the keycaps out, but if you place all the item in a line, there's still be alot of room for error, due to our placing is not as accurate as the machine, so things might get messy.

Why time is a matter?
because in milling operation, time = money,
if in short time, produce good quantity = good price.
if in long time, produce very very low quantity = you guess the price.(if this happen, don't blame the manufacturer for the high price, because they spend too much time in your keycap and sacrificing other people's production, so you pay for their lost)
Think might be better just get from those seller,
instead of making my own mold and bugging those manufacturer to
produce small numbers of custom keycaps...

kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 07:16 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(zandara @ Jul 31 2012, 07:13 PM)
Why don't we just get it from taobao? smile.gif
Although it is cheap one

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=18306668203
if can chose the keycaps design and the switches,
I don't mind getting this one.
kaysa
post Jul 31 2012, 11:00 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(kid.itech @ Jul 31 2012, 07:42 PM)
Are these too good to be true? PBT37 selling at only 68RMB.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=15485618522

@kaysa from your artistic point of view, does grey keycaps match black body  hmm.gif
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&id=17432896137 <extra poison  brows.gif
lol I was thinking of getting those too, the PBT and POM,
the PBT is always poison for me,
and the POM, I never have them... think of getting some for my Leopold
deciding on side print or front print... I never have side print keys before too.

if you are getting, please let me know, I want to tag along.

If only Gray keys on Black keyboards will be abit boring la IMO,
but if you only apply 37keys on Keycool, or other, there is other black keys too,
will be fine I think. can get some colored modifiers like enter ctrls shifts and etc.
to match together too.

Added on July 31, 2012, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jul 31 2012, 08:50 PM)
ERm..

Mind i ask why you want to apply a layer on top of PBT keycap?

i have quite alot red color keycaps left, applying a layer on top of them will save me time. smile.gif
But. I cannot simply "Stick" on the caps but i must reheat the base and let the molecule melt and only by that the new ABS layer able to applied on top of it. before reheating the top, i had to sand off the printed material too!

I not sure of the ABS red match the keycap i have or not. Let's pray they match perfectly  laugh.gif

Applying PBT plastic on PBT is possible, provided you have the skill to control the shrinkage ratio.
But PBT has much higher melting temperature point and crystallization behavior, imo it'll be much difficult compare to applying a layer on top of ABS caps.
I tot you said that to drill the keys, you need to apply a layer on top of it?
I was thinking to ask you to drill a PBT keycaps for my Topre, or HHKB,
that's why I want to know is that possible to stick another layer on PBT....

or is there ABS keycaps for Topres?

anyway, if you do, let me know how much it cost for you to CNC a keycaps that fit to Topre, ok?

Added on July 31, 2012, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(dragorc @ Jul 31 2012, 10:27 PM)
So sad the order for ducky YOTD hve been cancel  cry.gif

NVM tkl filco shall cheers me up  sweat.gif
y cancelled?

This post has been edited by kaysa: Jul 31 2012, 11:20 PM
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 02:29 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(rao2100 @ Aug 1 2012, 12:15 PM)
Just bought some keycaps from geekhack.

Got the:
Billiards set
Pi keys
Hammer and Sickle
Paws
Alien
Flash
Yin Yang

Will post pics once I get em. smile.gif
these are the left-overs?
can you get a extra paws, flash and paw for me?
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 04:16 PM

1,289 posts

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&_u=1pi3inca154
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=17639492401

I m getting these 2 items, anyone interested to tag along?
At least we can save the shipment from China seller to our agent,
RM12 for 1 KG air express, if we split it, you save RM6....
then I poslaju to you need RM5.......
at the end you can save RM1.00, not bad huh?
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 04:20 PM

1,289 posts

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&_u=1pi3inca49c

suddenly found this one!!
PBT half transparent???
is that possible???

The one reason I don't like backlit keyboard is that it cannot use PBT!
because I tot it is not light transparent at all!!??
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 04:27 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 1 2012, 04:21 PM)
holy~ stop making me want tag along with you la please

Added on August 1, 2012, 4:22 pm
when are you buying the keycaps? i might want modifiers blue
now struggling, thinking to get those POM and PBTs and modifier....
but found those Rainbow PBT half transparent@@ and found this one :

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=13810003122

RED backlit KEYCOOL!!!!
OMG..

might as well get this one and the semi-transparent rainbow PBT with it.....
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 04:38 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 1 2012, 04:31 PM)
I read red become so rare coz ppl actually dislike it, true?
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....&_u=1pi3incddc0

for your ducky YOTD in Taobao, I asked one of the seller, he said that they will get stock on
3rd August, the price are RMB990.00, not inclusive of postage in China to China Agent,
and not included the shipment from China Agent to you.

you can just log in to Taobao 2 days later and find one,
and let your agent know the light color and the switch color,
they will make the arrangement and calculation for you.

Added on August 1, 2012, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 1 2012, 04:29 PM)
are you buying soon? i may need some time, sell some victoria secret to some ladies so that i can get the money to buy LOL
I won't be buying soon la, now waiting for PsVita also,
the limited edition Hatsune Miku bundle.... will come out at 30th August....

This post has been edited by kaysa: Aug 1 2012, 04:44 PM
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 10:08 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Aug 1 2012, 09:45 PM)
erm, last time if not mistaken, FILCO is gonna release a Majestouch with cherry reds soon, dunno about the news now...

Well, yea, Camo is more expensive, now in dilemma whether or not to get the AI blue brown switch...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Oh.... you buying that? Is that also available locally? the price? if not mistaken, is around RM200 more than normal vita....
i m getting it from PbbSeller,
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2122002
he told me around RM1xxx.....
it's Singapore set he say, 3G+Wifi set,
he said he will let me know when he know the exact price.
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 11:20 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 1 2012, 10:47 PM)
out of topic ' only will buy ps vita when monster hunter come out ^^ otherwise juz wait for slim version'
there is a slim version coming out???
I m not gonna buy any more keyboard stuffs before I got the PsVita anyway....

only the sanctuary or the cream cheese and green....
and ......

I think I still want to buy keyboard stuffs even I m getting the Vita @@ sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kaysa: Aug 1 2012, 11:21 PM
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 11:37 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(kid.itech @ Aug 1 2012, 11:20 PM)
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16892336779&
What is the size all about? i'm using KC87 MX red smile.gif
the size is about the thickness of the rings,
the bigger it is, it shorten the bottoming distance more,
smaller it is, it shorten the bottoming out distance less.

are you getting this?
add 5 packs for me please,
it won't change the shipment weight much for 5 packs.
kaysa
post Aug 1 2012, 11:50 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(kid.itech @ Aug 1 2012, 11:43 PM)
What's the estimated weight for keycaps 37? im getting 2 sets of PBT and 2 packs of O-rings. If its under 1KG i'll get the 5 packs for ya  icon_rolleyes.gif
ask the seller please....
if included my o-rings still lower than 1Kg,
I want a set of PBT side print and a set of POM side print too sweat.gif
kaysa
post Aug 2 2012, 11:26 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(zongeva @ Aug 2 2012, 12:18 AM)
If possible I also want to tumpang with you guys lol tongue.gif
Not much, only 2 set keycaps and 2 pack o-ringsĀ  sweat.gif
Sweat, I m organizing the group buy for this,
let me know which keycaps and which O-rings you want.

Since I think it will be over 1Kg, we will split the RM24 shipment to 3 part.

Added on August 2, 2012, 11:27 am
QUOTE(ainuddin @ Aug 2 2012, 06:37 AM)
bro, r u getting this one? im interested to join. can we choose which keys we want to purchase and what colour?
I m not getting those yet....
and they all comes in sets,
one of them are 37, another 2 sets comes in 104 keys.

if you interested to get those....
you will need to pay more if you get 104 keys,
more weight, more pay!

This post has been edited by kaysa: Aug 2 2012, 11:29 AM

16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:28 PM