16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Club V6, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts

kaysa
post Jun 24 2012, 01:40 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 24 2012, 01:20 PM)
I'd say don't sell it. You'll regret it.

I got the Topre silent first, and it was wonderful. Then my HHKB came, and I felt it was a bit...meh.
Few months down the road though, the HHKB became one of my favourite keyboard
I know what you mean, the layout and the tactile feel of the HHKB is just so great! rclxms.gif

But I need to refill my saving a bit if possible, the 10th anniversary topre just blown a big hole in my saving account. cry.gif

sweat.gif I hope that I will get used to the silent version in the future and feel better of it in time. doh.gif
kaysa
post Jun 24 2012, 06:14 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(rao2100 @ Jun 24 2012, 03:36 PM)
Thank You for the recommendation smile.gif, found that epiguru is also selling.

Added on June 24, 2012, 3:37 pm
Thanks for recommendation, already contacted him smile.gif

Added on June 24, 2012, 3:37 pm
Thanks for recommendation, already contacted him smile.gif
Let me know if you had a deal, I will ask him to pay me introduction fee brows.gif
jkjk. wink.gif
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 12:08 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(epiguru @ Jun 25 2012, 03:51 PM)
@kaysa - About your dilemma, I would suggest you hang on to both keyboards and test them out "side-by-side", e.g. 2 days on one, another 2 days on the other,..., then figure out which one you prefer and keep it. Sell the one you like less to make up the funds. Both boards will keep their resale value for at least another 1 or 2 months, easy. You don't want to do something you regret later. Just my 2 cents.

The one that you sell is not necessarily any "worse" or "better". It's just the one you like less but may be something that someone else really wants and would enjoy.

BTW, I think a lot of collectors, including myself, have to make these types of decisions - which keyboards to keep and which to let go. Otherwise, the hobby becomes too expensive and cluttered.
I think I wil try this, use them for a few day each, then really find out which one really suit me best and then decide which one to sell.

There is higher chance that I will be selling my HHKB, since I have a red switch Leopold, which has similar touch to the silent realforce,
I always have problem switching between switches that is very different...

Epiguru, you were temped by HHKB too right?
if you are still interested by the time I decided to sell it, I will give you a special price wink.gif
and btw I don't think the HHKB value can go any much lower, since its 6 years old. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kaysa: Jun 26 2012, 12:09 AM
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 12:43 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 26 2012, 12:20 AM)
special price  brows.gif oh so red switch oso similar to those topre silent? so interesting...one leopold pls  doh.gif
I owe Epiguru some favor before, thus special price.

Similar to Topre...
zzz I m saying this myself now,
and not long ago I m calling people ignorant for saying that topre are similar to a membrane keyboars...

Truth to be told, there is similarity, as I say, you need to try them yourself to be sure of all the touches
of different switches, but the durability and built quality, you need proof from old user of the product to
testify them.
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 05:59 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(epiguru @ Jun 26 2012, 05:19 PM)
I'm not sure whether you were kidding, but I have sent you a PM about a possible sale.

Added on June 26, 2012, 5:21 pm

I didn't know it is 6 years old... thanks, but I don't think I can get used to the ultra-compact layout, and the letters on the black keys will definitely trouble me.
Most ppl will run away when saw the 6years old huh?
and its black blank, no letters on the black keys,
but I have changed a set of white+gray keys on it.

just for your reference, not really decided to sell which yet.
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 06:03 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 26 2012, 10:05 AM)
this is on hell keyboard! Sparkling blue  wub.gif I love the keys...
LoL, you fell in love in alot of different stuffs in first sight huh?
do some research first man!

You almost got the HHKB from me before knowing the age of items,
You know how old is that Wild Cat?

2KRO? really? like Blackwidow?
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 06:07 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(epiguru @ Jun 26 2012, 06:03 PM)
@kaysa - Thanks! The white/gray keycaps make the keyboard sooo much more attractive to me. smile.gif
the plus side for the one I own is that its black body,
normally the black one have black inks, or black blank, which hard to see, or no legend at all.

only the whites one with print can be seen clear and easily,
but I saw a Youtube video, the white body, which is ABS are turning yellowish,
while the PBT keycaps stay fresh white......

so the one I have is ABS black body + the white PBT keycaps,
no worry about the yellowing problem of the ABS body,
nor the yellowing of the PBT keycaps!
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 06:32 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 26 2012, 06:08 PM)
best of both worlds

Added on June 26, 2012, 6:11 pm
lets say if im interested on your hhkb, what price u offering?
Since I m not selling it openly yet, whistling.gif
The price I will pm to you.

PMed.
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 07:45 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 26 2012, 07:16 PM)
no la bro, i juz felt tat the keys coloration really nice..ya sure i know tat keyboard ady old but i know how BS keboard perform..btw i juz ask my parents  bout IBM keyboard, n my father say yes we ever had it before, bout 10++ IBM keyboard, all was used during my fathers 80s period, fyi my father was a programmer before. but sad news all ady trashed up  cry.gif during my childhood i ever play wif one of the keyboard n pull out all the springs inside it haha

Added on June 26, 2012, 7:21 pm
coz of too many type ady exist I dont think topre shud lowered their price even next 10 or 20 years...most patented things sure freakinly expensive n ppl behind it sure will non-stop making money from it..unless there is a genius tat come out wif sumtin more superior..lets do the research  nod.gif
We don't know to appreciate the old things when they are new, like alot of ppl around me,
I own a IBM model M or model F more than 10 years ago,
by that time the window comes out, everyone getting rid of those keyboards without "Window" key,
so we got ourself a microsoft naural keyboard and get rid of the IMB keyboard.

......lol when sumtin more superior come out, you will try to buy the more superior thing,
and that is sure more expensive than the Topre at that time la sweat.gif

There is no point to go after the "best" thing, just find one that suit you best. thumbup.gif

Like....... if Angelina Jolie wub.gif wan to marry you, you want?
just find a wife that suit you.
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 11:13 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Jun 26 2012, 08:40 PM)
I have just gotten myself a Leopold FC200RT/ABN Brown switches from elitekeyboards.com. I have been using it for a couple of weeks now and I'm loving it. The typing experience is sensational however I needed to adjust my typing style a bit after moving to this keyboard, but it's no big deal. I gotten the tenkeyless version and ones with a blank keycap - although I may regret buying the blank keycaps version as my typing is not as good yet..  blush.gif
Are you interested in getting a set of printed keycaps?
I have a set of 87 keys PBT for Filco, icon_rolleyes.gif
I wonder the spacebar will fit or not thou... hmm.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 26 2012, 10:05 PM)
ok sifu, topre it is  sweat.gif I will not turning back  nod.gif
What's your budget now? hmm.gif

...... I strongly suggest that you try the keyboard before you buy, but there is not many people own a Topre, unsure.gif
even less that are willing to let you try. Especially if you are not buying from them... hmm.gif

I m one of those people that will not allow people to touch my Topre(s) if they are not interested in buying from me. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kaysa: Jun 26 2012, 11:17 PM
kaysa
post Jun 26 2012, 11:38 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jun 26 2012, 11:23 PM)
Come to think of it.. I think it was much longer back =.=. Maybe 15+ years
Yeah I guess its not possible to get a new one. But maybe a used one, and i can make a project to restore it back =D
Anyone with experience in getting from Taobao before? =D

Thanks all!
did I not told you about buying from taobao with agent?
I got quite some things from there, more than 10 times if I m not wrong.
most of them went smooth after you paid the full amount to the agent.

only once that doesn't went right all the way...

I contacted the seller myself, since i can speak and type Chinese,
so I ask the seller about the keycaps, does it fit on to Leopold,
I specifically mention that the Leopold's spacebar is different he say can.
so I ask the agent to palce the order and she does, after the payment, every thing went smooth,
the keycaps arrived soon, but when I pop open the box and take out the keycaps, I found that the spacebar couldn't fit.
so I ask the agent to ask for refund, the agent contacted the seller. the seller agreed to refund, but I need to pay the shipment from
Malaysia to the base of the agent in China....

so I think I will just keep the keycaps.... and ask my agent to give bad review to the seller in Taobao,

But the agent say the seller agree to accept the return, its my own decision not to return it, so she cannot leave bad review,
she say did that once before, and got a warning from the admins.

so there is some risks, I would say. if the seller is not a pro of the item they are selling,
they will misled the agent and endup selling the wrong thing.

But if you get from the pro-seller, then things will be fine.
like when I deal with spanthor, I bargain with him, and ask him to take out some of the keys from the package,
104 keys which I only need the 87 keys, he did as I said and took out the keys and give me discount.
after I bargain with him, I ask the agent to contact him, he give the correct item to the agent and correct price too.

I'll say the agent all will do their best to protect the intrest of our side,
so long as not risking their own reputation in taobao...
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 12:03 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 26 2012, 11:47 PM)
my budget now below 1k bro, but more less more good right, but who do expect can get topre with less price. Btw I really love to have HHKB coz of its compactness n key layout made it kinda sophisticated yet still classic...but for my first mecha i think i shud grab new one..
My first mecha keyboard is 2nd hand one, SS7G,
My thought about this is that since its the first one, I don't want to sepnd too much on it,
and only way to spend less on them, is a 2nd hand one.....
I sold it out recently, almost at the price I brought it.

The 2nd one is a new Filco yellow blue switch,
it's sold before the SS7G. But when I sell it I lose more than RM100.
since the price drop suddenly after I buy it shocking.gif

===================================================================================
At first I was aiming for 3 element:
new! cheap! good! drool.gif

but I figured out the rule of the world! icon_idea.gif

new and good, wont be cheap, brows.gif
good and cheap, wont be new, ohmy.gif
cheap and new, wont be good. shakehead.gif

Think about it.

And for your information: I don't think there is any way you can get a HHKB for less than 1k into Malaysia, especially new one.
unless you have a friend who live in Japan, and he/she is coming to Malaysia
or you yourself are travelling to Japan and grab it on your way.

piece of advice,
If you decide to get one only, then get a new one, you do not have to sell it, and do not attempt to try others.
If you want to try different one and compare them before you decide one that you will be keeping,
then get cheap old one instead of new one, you can sell them again later, almost at the price you are buying.

That's my experience, I paid a lot of money to get the conclusions.

This post has been edited by kaysa: Jun 27 2012, 12:14 AM
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 12:11 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 27 2012, 12:07 AM)
Got the HHKB at RM800 from Amazon before the price raised  whistling.gif
For HHKB, since it is 6 years, the friction can be reduced by RO-59ing the sliders. But that means the sliders will be slightly damaged since you need to take them out. But I think it is worth the trouble.
RM800 with shipment? How long was that ago?
I think by that time I haven't even heard the term Mechanical Keyboard rclxub.gif
I started to come in contact with Mech KB not more than 1 years ago.

Huh what slider? the one I m using is fine I think.... RO-59? what's that?
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 12:46 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 27 2012, 12:18 AM)
great advice from u bro, really2 appreciate tat  notworthy.gif ya it suck, new HHKB only available thru overseas, but nvm I now juz know what i want to buy. I think i will consider what epiguru offer me juz now nod.gif even tho i mostly play games yet im oso a typing enthusiast smile.gif

Added on June 27, 2012, 12:20 ambtw bro, ur 10th anniversary is variable weight force one?
the one I own is a variable weight forfce one.
But when I type, I cant really feel the different of it.

Now actually I m typing faster on the 10th anniversary even faster than the HHKB's previous few months record. brows.gif
but that's still very slow, compare to other users here I think.

mind telling what epiguru are offereing you?
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 01:09 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 27 2012, 12:52 AM)
epiguru offer me reAlforce 87U uniform 45g..oh I hope its black huhu
ohmy.gif the one his student gave him?

Epiguru: sweat.gif you sell your gift?

So you decided to get a 2nd hand one after all...
2nd hand is good if you are not sure which one to get yet.
use it, and if you feel you want to change,
you can almost sell it the price you get it.
if you can use the keyboard carefully and protect the keyboard well.

IMO white is good, black is hard to see the lettering...
share your thought after you get it smile.gif
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 02:19 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(epiguru @ Jun 27 2012, 02:15 AM)
LOL. Yes, I offered to sell my 99% brand new Topre Realforce 87UW 45g. It was the one given to me as a"gift" by one of my students, in return for something special I did for them - you may like to read the PM I sent you on May 2, 2012. That something special cost me more than RM25K in services provided, the fee for which I waived. My student knew that... the rest is a private matter between me and the person. Not everything is what people might assume. So did I pay for the keyboard? My student and I know the answer to that one.

Is the keyboard authentic and 99% brand new? Yes.

Was it paid in full? Yes

Is it offered at a great price? Yes. (dragorc got a fantastic deal)

And as I said to dragorc, I felt like offering a Realforce to someone this month. This is going to be his first mechanical keyboard, so it better be a good one. I can easily pick  up another RF, and I'm quite likely to do so. The same student offered to get me a few more RFs... as I said, not everything is what people assume. smile.gif
Right, thumbup.gif
let me know when you get more, and if you want to sell them,
I might wan to pick up one from you, hoping to get a "fanstatic deal" too. drool.gif
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 02:40 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 27 2012, 02:27 AM)
oh, other than tat model u offer me what else u got? I hope there will be black topre keycaps so i can buy sweat.gif but i love the 10th anniversary keycaps, it look different n much solid...does cyclcone really doesnt take the preorder animore for the 10th anniversary n normal realforce?
Cyclone got new normal one, but not the 10th anniversary one,
that's what he told me, you can ask him.

I really recommend you to get from Epiguru,
Epiguru have it right now, for Cyclone he need to order from Japan, usually take some time.
the white one are better than then black one for clear view.

@Epiguru, if you really come across another one and thinking of selling it, let me know. thumbup.gif
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 11:49 PM

1,289 posts

Kinda out of the blue, I decide to change the keycaps to Orange today.

The Topre switch's Plunger are in Purple color......
wonder how other Topre look like.....icon_question.gif
plunger for my HHKB Pro2 is Black.

with the orange keys on, it doesn't look like a 10th anniversary edition anymore hmm.gif

I m still not very satisfied with the Ctrl and CapsLock key arrangement...

I m quite used to the HHKB layout for the Ctrl key, so I switch the CapsLock to the left bottom corner,
and the Ctrl to the left side of the middle row....
but the key they provided is not a CapsLock in Ctrl Size, But just a Ctrl with a LED hole on the key......
and the Ctrl on the lefet side of middle row, that is not a Ctrl in CapsLock size..... but just a CapsLock with no LED hole....
..... What are they thinking. doh.gif
kaysa
post Jun 27 2012, 11:57 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 27 2012, 11:51 PM)
a design error? how come ctrl have led but caps lock dun have.. hmm.gif
I can change the CapsLock to the Ctrl key position,
so the Ctrl with the LED is now CapsLock.....
and the CapsLock with no LED is the Ctrl now.

..... that's what I m saying. they provided in the package with 2 Ctrl(s) with no hole, in the ctrl size.
and a Ctrl with LED hole, in Ctrl size,
and 1 CapsLock with LED hole, and 1 CapsLock without LED Hole.......

they should have a Ctrl in CapsLock size without hole,
and 2 Ctrl(s) without LED hole.
and a CapsLock in Ctrl size with a LED hole.

not sure what to make of this..... doh.gif

Added on June 28, 2012, 12:02 am
QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 27 2012, 11:55 PM)
When you turn on caps lock, the led at the ctrl will light up instead of the caps lock led.
that's the problem, the Ctrl should be Lettered as CapsLock doh.gif

This post has been edited by kaysa: Jun 28 2012, 12:02 AM
kaysa
post Jun 28 2012, 09:44 AM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jun 28 2012, 12:57 AM)
the last picture juz exactly looks like Filco TKL yellow keycaps edition  doh.gif
sweat.gif yellow is different from orange!
and the LED is in the keys,
the LED in Filco is on below the Printscreen Pause ScrollLock cluster.
The LED light is red for this one, and the LED for Filco is Yellow.
Filco TKL doesn't have the NumLcok.

And the biggest different is that there is a REALFORCE logo at top left thumbup.gif

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:12 AM