Sound become extremely low after 30mins, Solved

TSk3v_84
post May 1 2012, 07:18 PM, updated 14y ago

69 posts

Hi, am currently using Sony X-Plod HU (think it is considered low cost, bought new RM600+- last time), Boss RT-745 4channel 1000w amp, Epsilon 6" component set(front), unknown brand 6x9(rear - it is bought by my dad last time... Guess is cap ayam) and sub woofer is Epsilon 12" x 1 (that guy told me is dual coil, don't confirm coz I didn't see the whole speaker, the time I bough is already installed into a box)

1) Problem is, I have once open volume very loud for 30mins-45mins them suddenly all sound gone, left very tiny vocal sound only... (only tried once coz usually I max the volume also for 10-20mins only). FIY, I always set.HU at "loud" mode coz I think it sounds nicer.. When I off and on my HU, everything back to normal... (Then I adjust back to normal volume coz I scare will blow something off)

Is it sign that my amp is not strong enough? Have consult to shop and they ask me to add a monoblock to power the woofer then ok already... So is it true?

2) If I am getting a monoblock, which brand that is averaged? (between good and cheap) and if I am getting a cheap amp, will it effect the woofer sound quality? Coz my fren told me my current amp is not cap ayam brand. ( I'm noob I'm ice and the brands)

3) Am planning to change my rear speaker as well coz recently I try to seat at my car's rear seat and I found out the speaker produce very low and bad quality sound... Is 6x9" better, or 6" better?

P/S - I'm not looking to upgrade to monster sound, just that wanted to enhance it a little coz current set up is already the max my Wira can tahan I think... Car already can shake and and car will have some sound (sounds like something loose) when I max the volume... thx smile.gif

This post has been edited by k3v_84: Aug 11 2012, 04:39 PM
howiechoo
post May 2 2012, 06:29 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

most probably ur previous installer are connecting the dual coil to bridge mode on ur 4ch amp which it cant support, thus u get a protection mode after the amp is heat up......

2. getting amp must see whether it's pairable with ur sub or not, then only think about the quality of the amp.

3. since u got sub, get 6"

joefbi
post May 3 2012, 03:21 PM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

ur amp got heated and distorted the sound. put 120mm 12v fan to the amp heatsink...usually the whole amp body is heat sink, just put the fan at the suitable place u can fit it and connect the power cable;

black fan wire to ground.
red fan wire to remote.

0.0179sec    3.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:42 PM