75 posts

Congrats!
lowyatben
post May 3 2012, 02:39 PM

75 posts

Hey, guys. Take a look at the following image:

The Hulk is definitely much taller, even when compared with Thor. I'm sticking to my decision to get the Marvel Select Hulk to assemble my team smile.gif

Just wish the toys that they make have the Hulk all hunched up like he did in the film, though.
lowyatben
post May 3 2012, 05:07 PM

75 posts

So... the "Squeeze the leg" Hulk is still the right size?
lowyatben
post Jun 14 2012, 03:35 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Malvo @ Jun 14 2012, 01:20 PM)
drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

WHere's Beast?

So sick of all these constant chasing after figures, then incomplete team due to exclusivity or mail-order or all that kinda gimmick (eg Dark Avengers, FF)... That's why I gave up on MU...

Besides that Apoc doesn't wear THAT costume at that time, did he? Who's Hasbro trying to fool?

This post has been edited by lowyatben: Jun 14 2012, 03:37 PM
lowyatben
post Jun 14 2012, 04:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(FunkyMonkiBaby @ Jun 14 2012, 04:02 PM)
The X-factor pack has MC label...oreldi in Msia? Or another TRU China exclusive?

The Apoc from X-Factor was tall but not fat.

another peg warmer like that Uncanny X-Men pack.
Didn't see that earlier. Anyway, that MC label is the same one that comes with those so-called TRU exclusive GI Joe, MU comic packs, etc. In other words, should be EXPENSIVE!
lowyatben
post Jun 14 2012, 04:42 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Jun 14 2012, 04:27 PM)
direct from ToysLiFung? hmm.gif
That's the same MC label.

Anyway, only Malvo can tell us the truth smile.gif
lowyatben
post Jun 14 2012, 05:29 PM

75 posts

In that case, from the MC sticker, I would assume that LiFung will bring these in to M'sia as "TRU exclusive items" priced at one and a half times to double the RRP.

Definite PASS due to the factors listed earlier.

Might as well buy Lego Avengers sets from S'pore.
lowyatben
post Jun 24 2012, 09:27 PM

75 posts

Cool haul there, FindingScreemo. Nom comes with Maul sticker. US mali leh? Local stores are pathetic.

Anyway, an earlier image of the ultraposeable movie Spidey poisoned me. I came across this in an unexpected manner on Friday and got him and concept Spidey and movie Lizard.
lowyatben
post Jun 25 2012, 12:02 PM

75 posts

Here's the... proof smile.gif

lowyatben
post Jun 26 2012, 11:37 AM

75 posts

Guys, what's all this talk about Hasbro ending the Marvel line?

Previously, there were talks that Mattel could lose the DC license. But an announcement was subsequently made that they have an "incredibly successful partnership" and that they were "very excited about taking the relationship to new levels."

Not long after the announcement of their licensing extension came the shocking news that Mattel cancelled the Young Justice 4-inch and 6-inch line.

We were also informed that DC is now selling all its DC Direct stuff online direct to consumers.

If all these news have sunk in nicely for you, let's remember that Disney, which now owns Marvel, "likes licensing its toys to Mattel."

Oh, and for those who're still reading ( tongue.gif ), Lucasfilm Ltd has recently renewed its Star Wars deal with the Lego group. Lego also has the Marvel and DC licenses.

Interesting times ahead, guys.

Developing...
lowyatben
post Jun 26 2012, 04:31 PM

75 posts

By the way, here's the original post about the demise of the MU line.

FYI, Mr Curto is actually Dan Curto of Rebelscum.com

Could this other line that's in danger of cancellation... Star Wars???!!! OMG!!!

Or Transformers???!!! [TF fans, please insert reactions followed by exclamation marks]

Originally Posted by Mr Curto

Someone on Twitter told me to check out this thread....funny how times have changed.

It's not a rumor...dark days are coming.

Since it's pretty well known that I'm a HUGE fan of this line, I don't think it will come as a big shocker when I say that I'm very disappointed by this (yes, technically still unofficial) news. I've actually known some things for quite awhile now, but when someone tells you something in confidence, you well, keep it confidential.

There are still plenty of great figures planned in the MU line (you may recall a really big sneak peek that came out from SDCC)...but with all the changes over at Hasbro this year, who knows if these will ever actually come out? Most of the Hasbro team responsible for bringing the line out are no longer even around.
Dave Vonner? gone (but now started up Kasual Friday).
Scott George? gone (but now started up Kasual Friday).
Jerry Jivoin? now over on Transformers.

Other factors that are playing into this are situation with the Chinese factories, the higher expense of pretty much EVERYTHING involved with creating action figures. And of course the elephant in the room...the terrible distribution Hasbro has had in 2012 (and in 2011 (and in 2010 (and in 2009 (and in 2008))))

The pattern of the past few years is pretty obvious: the spring focuses solely on whatever spring big-screen movie line is coming (hoping to attract the kids), then the fall sees the return of the collector-focused lines (Star Wars, Marvel Universe). This then carries over through the holidays.

Furthering complicating matters, nearly every single movie line pegwarms and ends up on clearance. Yes, the case assortments are bizarre, and the character selection is very heavy on "A" list characters, but I give Vonner major credit for going as deep as they were able to go. The line evolved over time and saw many improvements since the beginning. Having a Fans' Choice early in the line was a great way to get fans involved with the character selection ever since (you HAVE noticed that there's been a lot of these characters made from that poll? I wish that Vance Astro would finally get made, but it seems unlikely now)

This sounds pretty bleak, but I don't really mean it to be. There are some great new figures planned, that new Hulk? awesome. I got a huge smile when I first heard about Beta Ray Bill and Beast, plus there were some other surprises coming that well, who knows if they'll even get made?

There are a LOT of kit-bashes and repaints coming, and although that's been an aspect of the line since the beginning, they could do a lot more for years to come with the parts they now have in their library.

Another thing...this is not limited to just Marvel Universe, either. But that's something that should probably stay confidential...

Oh, and as for Mattel doing a DC line in this scale...never say never, but I wouldn't hold out hopes that it will be as good as MU. They've had years to do something, and they just can't seem to get it right. But that's because there's a different philosophy on what action figures actually ARE over at Mattel. DCIH was an interesting attempt, but that line was always treated as a "good enough" toy line, and Green Lantern and Dark Knight followed the trend.

lowyatben
post Jul 2 2012, 11:07 AM

75 posts

The Lizard with invisible hands and legs!

This post has been edited by lowyatben: Jul 2 2012, 11:09 AM
lowyatben
post Jul 5 2012, 10:20 AM

75 posts

Just got these!

lowyatben
post Jul 5 2012, 10:30 AM

75 posts

Screemo, your intel and insider should be better than mine, right?

Anyway, these are from not in the market yet. Dun bother cari2. I'm not sending you guys on a wild goose chase.

Figures courtesy of an anonymous "let go-er".

By the way, anyone knows if the Spidey is a variant? The card shows the traditional Spidey costume but the figure is the Ultimate Comics Miles Morales version? I didn't know what I was getting until I received them. I thought it was another ultraposeable Spidey. LOL!

I passed on Beta Ray Bill, Prof X, Beast, Kraven, Jubilee, Nick Fury, Chitauri, ultraposeable Iron Man Mach VII, etc.
lowyatben
post Jul 5 2012, 10:39 AM

75 posts

Two at retail price. One was just slightly above retail. Didn't break the bank. Vault still protected by Iron Man and the Avengers. Even Loki and Red Skull are playing nice.

Why, you think I'd pay RM50 or RM100 or more? I might as well fund the next Avengers movie.
lowyatben
post Jul 5 2012, 10:53 AM

75 posts

Neither online nor local, bro.
lowyatben
post Jul 9 2012, 12:55 PM

75 posts

You guys are awesome!

Anyway, shall we boycott these?

lowyatben
post Jul 9 2012, 03:04 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(FunkyMonkiBaby @ Jul 9 2012, 02:49 PM)
Summore Cyclops giving me the two fingers...WTF!!?
The V sign, when the palm is facing toward the person giving the sign, has long been an insulting gesture in England, and later in the rest of the United Kingdom.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V_sign

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/comm...azzi_V_sign.jpg
lowyatben
post Jul 11 2012, 08:27 AM

75 posts

Guys, are you ready for these?

The Hobbit action figures!!!
http://toynewsi.com/news.php?catid=317&itemid=18907

DC!!!
http://www.actionfigureinsider.com/main/wp...n_exclusive.jpg

More to be revealed this week. SDCC preview night tonight!
lowyatben
post Aug 3 2012, 03:12 PM

75 posts

KLCC had Black Widow and Hawkeye wave. Was there 12 noon.

0.0208sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:50 AM