SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V12, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

Baronic
post Apr 26 2012, 04:15 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

how come noone use criskelo rom?

tried stunner before havent tried alba. then i went to criskelo's ICS. love it incredibly

installed the Snote patch and all the long press hold screenshot patch, and all other Smemo stuff all works.

so crashes with cam, video recording etc also

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1609252
Baronic
post Apr 26 2012, 04:23 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Apr 26 2012, 04:17 PM)
I think because uncle Benny mentioned before its full of bugs.. So no one touched it.. I personally wanted to try, but i trust uncle benny when he says its buggy :B LOL

Added on April 26, 2012, 4:18 pm
YUP! But dont go yum cha when im still busy ya hahahahah! Wait for me to be free on a weekend first please XD
erh i been using it for 4 days d. no bugs at all leh. matter of fact i had less force close when compared to other ICS (i tried midnote)

Only thing is for one of my game for some reason after a while my softkeys dont respond. (must off on screen again then it works) i dont have problem with other update so i'm not sure if rom problem or latest game update issue
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 03:19 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

is anyone using mercury casing on their phones. in particular white? on the black in some pics i see some glitter 0.0 on the thing. white also got? does it look....gaudy? some advertisements pics cant see the glitter so hard to tell from these promotional pics so if someone can give me some candid pics will be much appreciated ^.^

Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 06:15 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Apr 28 2012, 04:00 PM)
I am currently using the blue mercury casing and the glitter like texture on the case helps making scratches become visible.
yo bro could u share the pic showing it? cuz i'm thinking of getting the white one cuz i think it looks the device look unibody-ish. like HTC one X haha.

my concern was the glitter (wanna see what u mean more visible scratches) and second is cuz i'm using expensive headphones and wondering if the headphone port big enuf or not lol

Added on April 28, 2012, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(naimadam @ Apr 28 2012, 06:11 PM)
Anyone successfully claim their free 3GB dropbox space from here http://blog.dropbox.com/?p=1165 ?
I can't seem too make it work with my galaxy note.
i got 2.5GB onli. no idea how i got it cuz i started wth 500mb onli. :/ for each referral u get 500mb.

i use dropbox to share music between myself and my gf who is overseas. i think its faster and easier especially auto photo upload and music sharing. biggrin.gif cuz she cant torrent also

This post has been edited by Baronic: Apr 28 2012, 06:20 PM
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 06:33 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ Apr 28 2012, 06:23 PM)
My galaxy note doesn't seem to be on the device list of my computer, which preventing me to change the autoplay setting. Anybody know why ?

Added on April 28, 2012, 6:28 pm
you can get up to 3GB more extra storage for free, if you test the experimental feature https://www.dropbox.com/help/287
which what im trying to do right now.
ah. that must be how i got my 2.5GB so far then lol. cuz thats what ive been using all the while.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 07:09 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

no referrals. shows i completed steps 5 of 7 for getting started (no intentions of creatings shared and noone to refer) and 500 mb from camera upload so far. so means i shud have 1GB. but now have 2.8 lol. i suspect all from camera upload since u said can get extra up to 3GB.

@rickysay, do u mean the glitter helps PREVENT scratches from being more visible or MAKES scratches more visible. Your previous post said the first, your post above me said the second bro.

also is it very slipper when oily? (like any other glossy case, or is it a bit better?)

Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 08:12 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Apr 28 2012, 07:18 PM)
Sorry, it helps prevent scratches.  Come to think of it, it's never slippery whenever my hands are sweating.
awesome. what about oily lol not sweaty. lets say u eat keropok. keropok lekor. er. then u touch phone. sure oily right? so will like wiping it with maybe a cloth and water be enough or u still have that dirty oily feel and must wash thoroughly.
basically ever had that dirty oily feel lol. for comparison purposes i couldnt stand SGP neo hybrid where the plastic bumper always had that dirty oily feel.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 08:44 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Apr 28 2012, 08:20 PM)
mine still can get oily feel after eat keropok lekor, but easily wiped out...so no worries..

Added on April 28, 2012, 8:22 pm
u can use s-pen, hold the button on ur s-pen, tap it on screen till get the effect of print screen...
awesome looks like i'm gonna give it a shot. ever since had GF been banned from changing phone once every 3 months. so now i change accessories. biggrin.gif
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:03 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Apr 28 2012, 08:26 PM)
dunno what more casing can satisfy my need..haha

Added on April 28, 2012, 8:35 pmuncle benny, i believe u already root ur one x rite, so can share the wallpaper?
my fav now (gonna get the mercury probably now, i'm trying to imitate HTC one X unibody white on black screen design) is a modded Tridea case. Its actually a flip case but i've cut out the flip carefully with a blade to make a open face cover. It has a beautiful back and the case is not paper thin but thick and goes all around to protect every part of the phone from knocks.

Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:13 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

mine the flip came out from under that silver band u see on my case. so was pretty easy to cut it and wasnt ugly. had to cut it anyway. i cleverly tried to use cellophane tape to remove lint from the inside of the flip. instead the glue all came off and got stuck and totally ruined the flip even after slowly removing the glue. so cut it out and now looks really pretty and offers a lot of protection.

btw i notice that the mercury the case lip goes over and onto the screen a lot. means cant use with SGP Glas T? cuz i ordered that and its incoming too.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:17 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ Apr 28 2012, 06:23 PM)
My galaxy note doesn't seem to be on the device list of my computer, which preventing me to change the autoplay setting. Anybody know why ?

Added on April 28, 2012, 6:28 pm
you can get up to 3GB more extra storage for free, if you test the experimental feature https://www.dropbox.com/help/287
which what im trying to do right now.
try enable/disable usb debugging? under settings > development
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:19 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Apr 28 2012, 09:17 PM)
how gud is sgp glass...?
it better be better than SGP ultra crystal. had micro scratches on it pretty fast. i dun wan XO cuz of the rubbery feel and id like very much the clear if possible actual glass so gonna give it a shot. some people complain about bubbles reappearing near volume button after a few days in XDA hope it doesnt happen to me or i'lll be pissed. RM140 pissed to be exact.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:25 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ Apr 28 2012, 09:22 PM)
done that. still the same. i tried uninstall the install the driver still the same.
and just realize i can get extra space from dropbox, just by upload through android app.
so no need to setup through computer.
wait the problem is u wanna connect phone to PC rite. after USB debugging is enabled, if u are on gingerbread, u gotta drag down the taskbar and then click : connect usb storage.

for my ICS doent have this its just using MTP now tho (dun like MTP. cuz office laptop dun think can run pprefer to run as USB thumbdrive mode)

Added on April 28, 2012, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Apr 28 2012, 09:23 PM)
juz google it, does it surface as smooth as matte sp....how come ur sp already got scratch, mine still dun have it...been 4 month using it...
no its more like a naked screen like that. which is what i want lol.

i heavy duty user maybe. i write a lot with my pen, taking down notes during meetings etc. probably some small mineral like sand got stuck to the stylus and when i swipe on screen = scratch the screen protector,

This post has been edited by Baronic: Apr 28 2012, 09:27 PM
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 09:36 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ Apr 28 2012, 09:31 PM)
I can connect the phone to the pc, both USB Storage mode and MTP mode work(i can transfer file without problem) on my ICS GNote.
The problem is my device dosent show up under device in Autoplay setting in Windows Control Panel.
i see. dont know much about that. cant help u there.

ah i just noticed mercury case covers the secondary microphone on the top of the phone T.T so no go for me
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 10:10 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

I believe its mostly when u use loudspeaker. two microphones would help distill out the noise and better clarity for the listener. also could be used when under "driving" mode for the note

Added on April 28, 2012, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(eddmecha @ Apr 28 2012, 09:42 PM)
guys i just bought a new sd card..my question is can i just copy paste EVERYTHING from my old sd card to my new one?or is there any specific folder that i dont need to copy?
just copy what u need. i notice androids create a LOST.dir and some other files so better just copy only what is relevant to your interests instead of lasso all and dump in.

This post has been edited by Baronic: Apr 28 2012, 10:11 PM
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 10:24 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Apr 28 2012, 10:17 PM)
ok thanx...i tried copy .android secure but it dont let me...so i guess its not important
android secure is (taken from XDA)

This is where the operating system stores a portion of the apps. Anytime you install a new app and choose to install it to the SD card, it puts a large portion of the app into this folder. Deleting the contents would delete your apps.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 10:32 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Apr 28 2012, 10:28 PM)
but it doesnt want to give me copy the folder...i am on MTP mode coz am on Alba v3..so no native usb...
shudnt copy anyway. cuz u shud reinstall those apps. use titanium backup works fine.
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 11:18 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(negisf @ Apr 28 2012, 11:02 PM)
Guy, how do we check the galaxy note if it's an ap set or sme set? Secondly and idea how to check the warranty status? Like is it registered, how many months left, etc.

I plans to get a second hand note from other forumer. Just asking on ways how to check the phone originality
To check ur warranty status with samsung, sms this:

<PC>SPACE<IMEI> to 33802 <celcom line> or 62002 <digi / Maxis line>
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 11:39 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

nothing. just type "PC" lol
Baronic
post Apr 28 2012, 11:51 PM

Problem?