Jailbreak and Unlock Discussion v4, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

rathian_mhfu
post Jan 29 2013, 04:41 PM

Rioreia Kishou Shu
2,302 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Jan 29 2013, 04:29 PM)
so what I need to do right now, is upgrade my 6.1 from my 6.0.1 and wait for it to be available for jailbreak? thanks
u r absolutely right bro
gengstapo
post Jan 29 2013, 04:42 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

brows.gif brows.gif laugh.gif

milky
post Jan 29 2013, 04:49 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 04:02 PM)
If you do not wish to take any risk, wait for the jailbreak to be released. If you think that Apple will be able to patch the hole really fast, then update to 6.1 now.

Your choice.
what u mean by patching the hole? in what sense?
aleluya
post Jan 29 2013, 04:57 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

I've successfully jailbreak my 3GS and unlock it, but then it randomly reboots and sometimes the signal seems having issue.

iOS 5.0.1 here, anyone suffers the same?
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:08 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jan 29 2013, 11:49 AM)
what u mean by patching the hole? in what sense?
once the jailbreak is out, Apple will be able to know which vulnerable area was exploited by the jailbreak and they can then patch it.
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Jan 29 2013, 11:37 AM)
@ azrael .. Can i just update ios 6.1 using iphone..?  Or i must i tunes at computer??
need to download full firmware file and then use iTunes to do a full restore. Do not update via your iPhone.
Porie
post Jan 29 2013, 05:14 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:09 PM)
need to download full firmware file and then use iTunes to do a full restore. Do not update via your iPhone.
why cant I download it via phone, I just did it. if I update via phone then I cant JB later on?
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:19 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Jan 29 2013, 12:14 PM)
why cant I download it via phone, I just did it. if I update via phone then I cant JB later on?
Musclenerd has twitted that iPhone on 6.1 via OTA updates may not be jailbreak able. So that's why.

check the link I posted in the previous page.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 29 2013, 05:20 PM
milky
post Jan 29 2013, 05:20 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:19 PM)
Musclenerd has twitted that iPhone on 6.1 via OTA updates may not be jailbreak able. So that's why.
LOL
now i'm in dilemma.. should i go JB & wait for Sunday release or not.. scare later JB will not come..... btw where can i see 6.1 changelog?
syzwn
post Jan 29 2013, 05:23 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jan 29 2013, 05:20 PM)
LOL
now i'm in dilemma.. should i go JB & wait for Sunday release or not.. scare later JB will not come..... btw where can i see 6.1 changelog?
Better wait smile.gif
Porie
post Jan 29 2013, 05:26 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:19 PM)

check the link I posted in the previous page.
can I still update it to 6.1 with my pc eventhough I already updated to 6.1 via OTA ?
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:38 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Not sure. You can always try while apple is still signing the firmware
XeactorZ
post Jan 29 2013, 05:46 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(syzwn @ Jan 29 2013, 07:45 AM)
So sunday is funday ! Cant wait for it!
not saturday meh ?
or you means our time is sunday, their time is saturday ?
jesseblue
post Jan 29 2013, 05:57 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:09 PM)
Can we update the firmware with iTunes rather than doing a full restore?
If restore need to resync all the apps again rclxub.gif
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:57 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Jan 29 2013, 11:21 AM)
Hav u update ur ios to ios 6.1?
Will do it tonight. Still worktime here in the middle east.
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 05:58 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Jan 29 2013, 12:57 PM)
Can we update the firmware with iTunes rather than doing a full restore?
If restore need to resync all the apps again rclxub.gif
This one I am not sure. Based on my experience in jailbreaking, it is always better to start from a fresh restore.
jesseblue
post Jan 29 2013, 06:00 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:58 PM)
This one I am not sure. Based on my experience in jailbreaking, it is always better to start from a fresh restore.
Coz from iClarified, the title did say
"Jailbreakers Should Update to iOS 6.1 Using iTunes, Not Using Software Update"

tongue.gif
Porie
post Jan 29 2013, 06:13 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 29 2013, 05:38 PM)
Not sure. You can always try while apple is still signing the firmware
somehow I tried you using itunes to update it to 6.1, eventhough I used OTA earlier.

the apple logo and the white loading bar comes out, quite awhile to let it finish.

but when is restarts, it doesn't go to the usual setup screen where you need to configure the iphone, setup wifi connection and what not.

so basiclly, my friend is updated via OTA or itunes now? how to check? rclxub.gif

btw, im using iphone4s
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 06:13 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Jan 29 2013, 01:00 PM)
Coz from iClarified, the title did say
"Jailbreakers Should Update to iOS 6.1 Using iTunes, Not Using Software Update"

tongue.gif
Yes, but the actual tweet from pimskeks says

If you people plan to upgrade to iOS 6.1 please don't do an OTA upgrade. Please make a full restore using iTunes.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 29 2013, 06:14 PM
TSazraeil
post Jan 29 2013, 06:30 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Jan 29 2013, 01:13 PM)
somehow I tried you using itunes to update it to 6.1, eventhough I used OTA earlier.

the apple logo and the white loading bar comes out, quite awhile to let it finish.

but when is restarts, it doesn't go to the usual setup screen where you need to configure the iphone, setup wifi connection and what not.

so basiclly, my friend is updated via OTA or itunes now? how to check?  rclxub.gif

btw, im using iphone4s
If you use the "Update" option in iTunes, obviously it will not update an already updated firmware.

You need to download the 6.1 firmware (I posted the link in my post in the previous page I think) and then do a Full Restore (which will wipe the iPhone clean). For the guide to do a full restore follow my previous posts.

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:52 PM