Jailbreak and Unlock Discussion v4, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY
budblely
May 29 2012, 01:03 PM

hi Sifu Sifi sekalian.... currently i ady successful JailBreak my iphone 4S 5.1.1(9B206) with Absinthe 2.0.1. so my question is IF let say Apple release another update IOS and i want back to Original (no jailbreaking), can i just Update & Install the New IOS?
Mr Cola
May 29 2012, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(budblely @ May 29 2012, 01:03 PM) hi Sifu Sifi sekalian.... currently i ady successful JailBreak my iphone 4S 5.1.1(9B206) with Absinthe 2.0.1. so my question is IF let say Apple release another update IOS and i want back to Original (no jailbreaking), can i just Update & Install the New IOS?  Shouldn't be a prob, if let say Apple release 5.2 firmware but u failed to update/restore the new firmware, sooner or later most probably thy will release new redsn0w version, then u can cr8 custom 5.2 firmware via redsn0w n restore the NO_BB version as what I did on my iP4.. whereby my iP4 can't update/restore from 5.0.1 to 5.1.1. So far for 4S from 5.0.1 to 5.1.1 no prob.. (tested 1 4S - ok)  I presume no prob for newer firmware.. upgrading to new version on jailbr0k3n iDevice always has a fix.. from 1st gen till now, no probs.. This post has been edited by Mr Cola: May 29 2012, 01:08 PM
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(budblely @ May 29 2012, 08:03 AM) hi Sifu Sifi sekalian.... currently i ady successful JailBreak my iphone 4S 5.1.1(9B206) with Absinthe 2.0.1. so my question is IF let say Apple release another update IOS and i want back to Original (no jailbreaking), can i just Update & Install the New IOS?  Shouldn't be a problem at all. If you just need to upgrade to Apple Stock firmware, just download the firmware file from Apple server and do a shift restore and you'll be good to go. All the jailbreak will be wiped clean and you get your warranty back.
frozzbyte
May 29 2012, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 29 2012, 12:32 PM) yeah, got it. i emailed biteSMS earlier when the forum was down. got the same reply  nevertheless, thank you  hmm but i can't find biteSMS on the notification part ? It hooks to stock Apple Messaging app.
dinozilla
May 29 2012, 03:36 PM
sigh.... from 2.0 - 2.0.1 - 2.0.2 My ip4s still hit with lockdownd issue all the reset content settings thingy not working...
sounds cool to try later with the redsn0w for fallback restore, but using 5.1.1 for 5.1.1... if it still don work...then i give up n use redsn0w to fall back 5.0.1 then...
dragon9
May 29 2012, 04:39 PM

hmm, yesterday i tried jb my 4s using absinthe 2.0 but failed. then i used 2.0.2, get successful. Anyone like me?
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(dinozilla @ May 29 2012, 10:36 AM) sigh.... from 2.0 - 2.0.1 - 2.0.2 My ip4s still hit with lockdownd issue all the reset content settings thingy not working... sounds cool to try later with the redsn0w for fallback restore, but using 5.1.1 for 5.1.1... if it still don work...then i give up n use redsn0w to fall back 5.0.1 then... After erase and reset did you re-download absinthe?
rhoyo
May 29 2012, 05:03 PM
Hello guys . can you guys help me . i already jailbreak my previous iphone 4s with 5.01 and now i wanna update to 5.1.1 . is there any simple method . thanks . inb4 depan page ada instruction bro ..
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 05:10 PM
Follow first post.
1. Download 5.1.1 firmware (link in post #1) 2. Upgrade iPhone 4s via iTunes using the Shift + Restore method. 3. Download Absinthe 2.0.2 (link in post #1) 4. Follow the guide in post #1
This post has been edited by azraeil: May 29 2012, 05:11 PM
rhoyo
May 29 2012, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 29 2012, 05:10 PM) Follow first post. 1. Download 5.1.1 firmware (link in post #1) 2. Upgrade iPhone 4s via iTunes using the Shift + Restore method. 3. Download Absinthe 2.0.2 (link in post #1) 4. Follow the guide in post #1 thanks bro .. got one question thou . if i do this . it will FORMAT my games etc ? .
joonwei23
May 29 2012, 05:24 PM
Bro azraeil, I have a UK set iP4s locked to a carrier. Currently on iOS5.1 If I were to update OTA or through iTunes, will it make the phone start as a new phone ? Because I don't have the sim card to activate the phone and would like to jailbreak it. Thanks.
This post has been edited by joonwei23: May 29 2012, 05:26 PM
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 29 2012, 12:24 PM) Bro azraeil, I have a UK set iP4s locked to a carrier. Currently on iOS5.1 If I were to update OTA or through iTunes, will it make the phone start as a new phone ? Because I don't have the sim card to activate the phone and would like to jailbreak it. Thanks. Don't mess with the phone. If you update to 5.1.1 it may upgrade the baseband and your Gevey or R-Sim may not work Absinthe requires activation and unless you have the original simcard, you will be stuck at the activation screen. I'm not sure if there is a possibility of custom firmware or hacktivation for the 4s. So my suggestion is for you to stay where you are now.
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(rhoyo @ May 29 2012, 12:12 PM) thanks bro .. got one question thou . if i do this . it will FORMAT my games etc ? . Yes, it will wipe the phone clean. That is why you need to backup your iPhone to iTunes. Once everything is done, restore the backup and you should get all your game save back.
joonwei23
May 29 2012, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 29 2012, 05:45 PM) Don't mess with the phone. If you update to 5.1.1 it may upgrade the baseband and your Gevey or R-Sim may not work Absinthe requires activation and unless you have the original simcard, you will be stuck at the activation screen. I'm not sure if there is a possibility of custom firmware or hacktivation for the 4s. So my suggestion is for you to stay where you are now. I see but the phone is currently activated so is it still safe to jb ? I'm not in a rush to use the phone for calls, etc.
dinozilla
May 29 2012, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 29 2012, 04:54 PM) After erase and reset did you re-download absinthe? already 2.0.2...apa mau lagi... 2.0 same error 2.0.1 same agian 2.0.2 nothing changed... i gonna give up 5.1.1 soon...lol
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 06:50 PM
Idownload blog specifically mentioned that after you do the erase & reset all content you have to re-download the absinthe program which indicate to me that if you ran absinthe 2.0.2 and you have the lockdown problem, the you need to do the erase content & reset and THEN re-download absinthe 2.0.2 AGAIN. Maybe the program has some sort of memory and the problem can be resetted by downloading a fresh executable file. I don't know. Worth a try.
This post has been edited by azraeil: May 29 2012, 06:51 PM
KingArthurVI
May 29 2012, 07:10 PM
Guys my 4S battery drains significantly faster after I jailbroke on 5.1.1. I'm thinking of doing a clean restore and jailbreak, then after that restore from backup, is it the same as just jailbreak over my OTA-ed 5.1.1? Most people are reporting significant increase in batt performance but mine is the opposite so obviously I have some faulty settings or files in my backup, so how do I eliminate this problem? Thanks.
jedi_dc
May 29 2012, 07:35 PM
i've had a good increase in battery life compared to 5.0.1 I restored a clean 5.1.1 , then restored my backup via itunes
TSazraeil
May 29 2012, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ May 29 2012, 12:49 PM) I see but the phone is currently activated so is it still safe to jb ? I'm not in a rush to use the phone for calls, etc. I am not sure. If you are already on 5.1, I am not sure if it will ask for activation.
nicregi
May 29 2012, 08:03 PM
I did a new JB today. This time with 2.0.2 First time got lockdown error. Second try after plug and plugin back, went through  Just sharing..good luck!