5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V32, A year on, still the perfect phone.

ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 08:11 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Yay new thread laugh.gif

Erm anyone do "high end gaming" on their s2 like gameloft games or dead space etc?

Feels like I've dropped a tad of performance when coming to GB. Ever slightly so less frames. Nenamark seems to agree with me, I generally get a score of about 46-48. On CR6 highest I got was 54 on lulz NEAK, and generally at least above 40.

Could be placebo effect gaming wise, but always felt aosp ROM is heavier than samsung ROM, which could be affecting it.
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 08:31 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Apr 23 2012, 08:24 PM)
Apa tu jtag? sweat.gif thank god i didnt flash it, but those that got hard bricked, kelian them sad.gif
Maybe cuz AOSP rom now got more fancy effects compare to Samsung GB rom tongue.gif
Lol but animations shouldn't affect the nenamark test gua. Quadrant is decent on voku, but nenamark is just not the same as it was on CR6 tongue.gif

jtag is this canggih manggih way to recover hardbrick devices. Uses some riffbox nonsense. If you youtube it you can see how it's done. Think need to solder the wire to certain part of the phone to do one, then unsolder once done, lol
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 10:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Apr 23 2012, 08:51 PM)
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s_i...e-news-4137.php
so it seems the i9300 or widely rumoured to be the s3 beats the iphone4s in terms of performance, going at 92.2 frames per second using

GLBenchmark2.1 with Egypt off-screen 720p

now i went and check it out myself, by downloading the app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...k.glbenchmark21

and selecting Egypt offscreen, details about it shows that it will force a 720p(1280x720) display no matter wut resolution your phone is, my setup is ondemand 200mhz-1.2ghz and gpu with 3 steps up 160mhz, 247mhz to 400mhz . and my score is 83 frames per second
while iphone 4s's graphics is at a merely 72.7 frames per second, awesome graphics my ass  laugh.gif
For a moment I didn't notice your GPU OC, then realised it must have been due to that. laugh.gif

But yeah, the rumour one I posted in previous page I think, basically Mali-400 @ 400mhz is the rumour. Meh. Kinda like Nexus, old graphics card but cranked up. Was saying also might as well we OC our Mali to produce same results. Looks almost there. Proly if you crank to 1.4ghz cpu can achieve same score oredi

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 23 2012, 10:15 PM)
Siyah RC6 is out. Same as Final 3.1 just with old mount points to match aokp.
Cool thanks. Time to read thread laugh.gif

QUOTE(madlocke @ Apr 23 2012, 10:18 PM)
my nenamark2 score is 51fps.. omega v11 + siyah 3.1rc6..
wah.. what voltage you put to overclock to 400mhz?? I tried 1050 but hang..  cry.gif

my current score is egypt 62fps, pro 87fps.. both offscreen..  blush.gif
Ah nice, similar to CR6 one. Omega 11 is aosp rom?

QUOTE(madlocke @ Apr 23 2012, 10:25 PM)
was using checkrom v6 (2.3.6) previously.. then hydrog3n (4.0.4 i think), then omega v11 (4.0.3)..

imho.. in terms of smoothness..

hydrog3n > checkrom v6 > omega v11..

dunno lah.. just my personal opinion.. changed to omega to test some hdmi out cause hydrog3n does not support it..  tongue.gif
Hmm interesting hmm.gif

I do think hydrogen is smoother than CR6, but it's slower. To me at least

ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 10:43 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(madlocke @ Apr 23 2012, 10:40 PM)
omega v11 is based on stock ICS XWLP8..
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1489197

one thing I noticed in GB vs ICS (for my S2 anyway)..
in GB, when first time access app drawer or go to manage apps, the app list comes out laggy (cause I have quite a number of apps installed)..
but in ICS, it's much smoother..
not sure if my explanation is clear enough..  blush.gif
Ah which explains. My friend gets similar nenamark to me on CM9.

Only sammy ROMs give better graphics score it seems hmm.gif

Yeah true, did notice app manager on first load is smooth on ICS smile.gif
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 10:45 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Apr 23 2012, 10:44 PM)
i can see you typing from phone  laugh.gif 
hmm i see, i thought wipe then flash will remove the pin/passcode not ah? android so secure?  blink.gif
yep note lag i cannot tahan the jerkiness, others ok juz the desktop there scroll will lag lag  sweat.gif

hmm the oc of the cpu doesnt affect the glbenchmark scores

my eqypt is at 86fps
pro at 110fps
more or less the same
Ah, thanks for the feedback.

Then could be due to aosp ROMs producing lower graphics performance. You on hydrogenics?

Hmm new Siyah...maybe gonna hang on to it for a while, let Voku run abit and see good or not laugh.gif
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 10:52 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Apr 23 2012, 10:47 PM)
no i'm on ics wanamp 11.1 + siyah 3.1  laugh.gif so the missing 6fps is a mystery unless the i9300 is clocked at 1.8Ghz then it might explain
Eh. Then yeah the 6fps mana hilang laugh.gif

Suspecting the highest it would be clocked is 1.5ghz. Quad core proly. But shouldn't make a diff

This post has been edited by ellimist: Apr 23 2012, 10:52 PM
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 11:16 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

K tangan gatal I'm on new rc6 now sweat.gif

Hmm can't remember but think as smooth as 3.1 (since it's suppose to be 3.1 with diff mount points). Proly homescreen at least slightly less smooth than Voku.

What else, hmm, quadrant score suspiciously went up laugh.gif
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 11:42 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Apr 23 2012, 11:35 PM)
scared myself silly just now. accidentally click reboot system after doing a system format. stuck at siyah bootlogo. Thought I was done for. Lucky can still boot recovery and nandroid restore. Phew.. sweat.gif
Luckily ok now thumbup.gif

Recovery action all, do slow slow, don't tersilap tongue.gif
ellimist
post Apr 23 2012, 11:47 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 23 2012, 11:46 PM)
I thought there's fps cap lock at 60, why can get higher than 60?
Benchmark ones not capped perhaps
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 12:41 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Apr 23 2012, 11:54 PM)
with all the brick issue automatic go panic mode sweat.gif
Haha yeah. Now flash or use recovery oso panic mode abit tongue.gif

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Apr 23 2012, 11:56 PM)
hmm, since flashing through cwm apps is safer, which file we extract to get the zimage? is it the odin one or cwm recovery one?
zimage is in the cwm zip. zip contains zimage + scripts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 24 2012, 12:21 AM)
For chrome beta, anyway to scroll to top of the page fast?
Hmm not too sure. Like for lyn there's a "top" and "bottom" button at the respective places. If you find out a way do let me know laugh.gif

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Apr 24 2012, 12:26 AM)
aikh..
NEAK updated to 2.0.3 liao..
gonna try it..
- http://code.google.com/p/neak-kernel-sgs2/downloads/list

2.0.2 runs good on my Turkbey ICS.. cause Siyah wont play nice with Turkbey on my device..
hopefully this 2.0.3 is better!
Let us know feedback on how it is smile.gif
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 08:11 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Number92 @ Apr 24 2012, 08:08 AM)
hi guys , i got something wanna ask , is the official ICS for G version roll out in malaysia yet ?
Not yet
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 10:26 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 24 2012, 09:02 AM)
Yeah voku bad on battery. Back to siyah RC6.  whistling.gif
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Apr 24 2012, 09:14 AM)
ok going back to rc6 too
but i do hope that siyah does revert back the storage setting so that it won't mess up my app data

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:24 amvoku with data on getting worst on my device
within 1.5 hour, already drop more than 10% (wifi is on for like 30 minute but i'm not near to any acceess point) previously on other kernel also did not suck up so much of juice
Guess all that performance came at a price sad.gif

QUOTE(desmondk @ Apr 24 2012, 09:38 AM)
guys, i want to ask~~ the new rc6 and the old rc6 got what diff?
is it safe to use the new one now?
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Apr 24 2012, 09:45 AM)
NEW RC6 with camera FC issue huge chances of hard brick your phone (usb jig is useless)
old rc6 still safe to use

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:46 am
currently i'm using on lp7
better than previous modem i used on ics
RC6 got berlambak issue. First 1-2 versions was ok, then one on the 20th+april one based on korean sources could brick your phone. Latest one is fine.
Easy way to check, open your camera app. The bad version had FC just by opening camera app.

If you're on that version, do no wipes. Flash kernel from CWM app (ideally, extract zimage like antt00 advised and flash that).

LATEST rc6 if you download from his page now is fine.

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Apr 24 2012, 10:17 AM)
No one on sammy base rom using siyah? sad.gif
Hmm should be ok gua, since all in one kernel. But think most of us here on aosp gua
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 10:41 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(madlocke @ Apr 24 2012, 10:33 AM)
i'm on sammy based custom rom + siyah 3.1.1..  icon_idea.gif
Nice. No issue with the emmc/sdcard directories mixup ke
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 11:40 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 24 2012, 11:37 AM)
abit blur now on siyah....

if me now using hydrogen aokp rom, i do nothing, settle with the laetst rc6...am i correct?
Yup, download and use latest rc6.

To be safe, if you're on previous Siyah and want to upgrade to latest one, DO NOT PERFORM ANY WIPE

Settle laugh.gif
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 01:39 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Apr 24 2012, 11:45 AM)
Latest siyah now no more hard brick izit? Just wanna make sure sweat.gif
QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Apr 24 2012, 11:58 AM)
okok....so just enjoy the phone...do nothing...haha

wait for report from lowyat better....read xda till blur kao kao
Yup latest one ok. Just download from website when want to flash, don't use stuff in ur device previously if in doubt
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 02:40 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

antt00 so fast bored of hydrogen ka.

Aduh u go dy nowan test aosp kernels tongue.gif
ellimist
post Apr 24 2012, 03:23 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 24 2012, 03:09 PM)
You can test mah...  tongue.gif

Added on April 24, 2012, 3:10 pm
Astronomy class.
You lagi kuat xda/flash, usually rely on you to find new stuff one. Like voku laugh.gif
ellimist
post Apr 25 2012, 07:11 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(dinco @ Apr 25 2012, 05:28 AM)
I just flashed Siyah 3.1.2 on HyDrOG3N and everythings fine!!!  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
Does it reverse your internal and external sd card?

Edit : nvm flashed it myself, all seems good. And smooth like 3.1. nice

This post has been edited by ellimist: Apr 25 2012, 08:13 AM
ellimist
post Apr 25 2012, 02:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 25 2012, 01:40 PM)
So far no problem encountered.  It is not OC by default.
Oh nooo you've gone to the dark side. How's it compared to Hydrogenics? Performance wise etc tongue.gif
ellimist
post Apr 25 2012, 03:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Apr 25 2012, 02:32 PM)
Getting very good battery life from Speedmod. No wifi wakelocks and nearly 3 hours of display time with 30 huors without charging.
Hmm maybe I should try speedmod hmm.gif

Performance wise? Speed/smoothness

QUOTE(antt00 @ Apr 25 2012, 03:23 PM)
Oh wait found a problem. My bluetooth headphone connects but no sound.  sad.gif

Added on April 25, 2012, 3:24 pm
Performance wise definitely AOSP/AOKP better.  biggrin.gif  I move back cos missing some functions.  tongue.gif
Eh really? Always felt aosp roms are heavier, slower than stock tongue.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:26 PM