°°Official LYN Toyota Prius C Owners/Fans V1°°

NEbulaSurfer
post Apr 27 2012, 06:16 PM

29 posts

Hi all,

I'm waiting for my prius c as well. booked end of feb super red v.

Still havnt got the car yet...waiting for plate number smile.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post May 7 2012, 03:05 PM

29 posts

Checked with my SA just now bout the status of my car...initially was told mid - end of May can get...

However was told now that mid June only will get >.<! aduh...

was told this months batch is pearl white O.o!
NEbulaSurfer
post May 7 2012, 08:54 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Salamander @ May 7 2012, 03:21 PM)
Sorry to hear that, I know how much these waits can suck, especially when they get unexpectedly extended. Hopefully my wait will soon be over but I have about a week and a bit until things are settled. I hate when things get dragged out, anxiety naik hahah. What colour will you be getting?
Ya... like machine gun... even faster when see a prius c on the road...
summore next month will need to travel outstation a lot...

I'm getting super red biggrin.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post May 29 2012, 06:58 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Salamander @ May 29 2012, 11:54 AM)
Hmm, did any of you guys ever receive an sms from UMW Toyota that says something like, "Greetings from UMW Toyota: Thank you for placing your order for Prius C. We appreciate & value your support in choosing Toyota as your preferred brand.". Just received the sms yesterday (and no I still haven't got the car yet *sadface*). Also this hot weather lately is driving me insane - but it finally rained lots last night.
I received the same SMS yesterday.. I booked my car 1 week post launch... SA told me May can get car...
then told me June...called again July...

After I complain wanna talk to his senior then June again...
NEbulaSurfer
post May 30 2012, 12:56 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Salamander @ May 29 2012, 10:24 PM)
I've finally received my car today, sorry for the late reply cos I was driving it around since earlier  rclxm9.gif
Also I found out the toyota tinting takes something like 60 days to cure and you shouldn't roll the windows down for a week or whatever it was. (I still gotta re-read everything).
Another thing I found out was that the dvd-avn used malsing map dated from 2010 year.
I found the tow screw in thingy on the passenger side floor.
I had to pump the tires as for some reason the front left tire was quite deflated.
I think I have to remind the SA about the tinting warranty as it was not fully filled out/signed.
There was quite a bit of dirt on my car? Like grimey dried water on the right side of the windshield heh, not sure what that was about, not to mention the car itself was slightly dusty. I will be taking it for coating soon (gzox).

@NEbulaSurfer, @chrymnd
You should keep up with your SA because when I waited for a month for mine to contact me they didn't, and I had a feeling soon enough that I was going to end up on the 2nd shipment (which I did) but finally it came in. My SA said they had their hands full too so I think they had other stuff to contend with, but each time I would ask they seemed a little blur at times about the arrival date so I would keep inquiring persistently. I have a feeling I got pushed down the queue or something (I ordered beginning of March) because apparently there are already around 30 here in kk? I have only seen one though. chrymnd what color did you order? NEbulaSurfer wow, quite a long time, where are you and what color did you choose? I do seriously say even with the excrutiatingly painful waiting time that feels like someone slowly pricking away at fresh scab nerve endings with a needle it was worth it. I finally felt the release of tension and drove around for an hour or two immediately after getting the car off the lot, ate some delicious bakuteh, bought some jackpot tickets, and finished off with ice cream hehe. Try asking your SA where in the waiting list or shipment you are in, not sure if it would work but it's worth a try just to ask. I think kk people are going to love this car.

@mkhor7
Thanks buddy!
I booked super red at PJ, SS19 showroom...
NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 10 2012, 11:55 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 10 2012, 04:17 AM)

Perhaps you should shout to your SA & the manager.

Probably the SA show room have too many orders. This the reason I don't like to goto those big fancy showroom which they have plenty of customers & SA there won't pay so much attention to customers.
Strongly agree to this statement.. booked end of feb and was told end of June now...

when i call dunno wat other excuses he's gonna give me.
NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 18 2012, 02:53 PM

29 posts

there were 2 posts in priuschat on the safety of the C.

One of the forumer was rear-ended by a 4X4 at bout 40+mph and he did not sustain any serious injuries.

the second was a collision with a dear at 70+mph. all air bags deployed, driver escaped serious injuries but totalled his PC. the dear died though.

A point to note on safety is that accidents occur (not an "if" but "when") not necessarily due to us as drivers but other drivers on the road... so the PC safety tests results and airbags are a big bonus. On the road I trust my driving skills but its other drivers that I worry about...

remember the US kid who killed someone recently? he was SMSing while driving, crossed the center line and head on another car... killed the driver and paralysed the other car occupant.

reading the priuschat experiences really sealed the deal for me in getting the C.

btw, if things work out, i'll be getting my red C mid of this week smile.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 21 2012, 03:14 PM

29 posts

Hi everyone,

Just got back from the dealer at PJ with my new super red Prius C smile.gif

NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 22 2012, 06:40 PM

29 posts

got home from work at jln universiti, stuck in the jam at LDP heading to sg. buloh at round 5pm just now.

my fuel econ is 23.4km/l smile.gif

hope to get better fuel consumption after few more KMs in the car.

NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 25 2012, 08:56 PM

29 posts

Thought I'd get the ball rolling..

Sunway to Sg. Buloh via LDP - Jln. K. Slgr - Bkt Rahman Putra
Normal Mode, Full gas tank, no hypermiling technique.

Hope to get better mileage as the car is more broken in...wonder if i can hit 30km/l brows.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 26 2012, 04:02 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(engah @ Jun 26 2012, 10:16 AM)

FC for this morning trip from Kota Damansara (7.20am) to Shah Alam (7.50am)
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif very nice FC... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jun 25 2012, 09:34 PM)
Nice FC you getting. My average still 22-24km/l, due to so many hills in Cheras, must rev to climb up.

I always feel the car very slow until I realise the speed already reach 80-100km/h. Maybe because the eCVT & nice sound proof. You will rarely feel the accelerate, engine rev & wind sound.
QUOTE(Cheese918 @ Jun 26 2012, 07:33 AM)
My FC also about 22 to24... And I also feel the same as you...
keep 'em coming everyone... at least we can share our techniques or the circumstances allowing us to get those beautiful FC rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by NEbulaSurfer: Jun 26 2012, 04:06 PM
NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 26 2012, 09:10 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(engah @ Jun 26 2012, 08:31 PM)

FC from Shah Alam to Kota Damansara via Federal HW and NKVE, in the evening today
nice FC...I noticed that on fuelly from 154 cars in the DB, the avg FC is 22.3km/l so we are not doing too shabby thumbup.gif

On my way home today I realised that if I maintain my speed at 66km/h I can stay in the EV zone... any faster even without pressing on the accelerator and the ICE will kick in and pull me out of EV... So I find my self pulling off the accelerator or tapping on the brake to get back into EV...is it the same for everyone? I mean if we take road gradient out of the equation...

NEbulaSurfer
post Jun 27 2012, 11:22 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(timeonce @ Jun 27 2012, 09:34 PM)
hi all. submitted ur hypermile in first page d.. ^^
thanks bro... but 33.5 km/l is from engah..

mine only 28.6km/l nia biggrin.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 1 2012, 04:19 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jul 1 2012, 03:29 PM)
if u heard of it, it MUST be true!

and summore umw use 10w30 instead of 0w20 that all other country using

and the later servis so expensive 1000+. other county servis every 10K we must servis 1k, 5k also

so many doubts!
i also heard FC better than petrol cars... too good to be true.. must be fake...
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 1 2012, 05:20 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jul 1 2012, 04:32 PM)
Most said 1 full tank RM 70 can go up to 800-1000KM. Do you think that possible for normal petrol car?  hmm.gif

All because it use a simple battery motor?? Sound funny.. lol  thumbup.gif
sounds too fishy... cannot buy.. too much uncertainty rclxub.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 2 2012, 07:45 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Jul 2 2012, 12:39 AM)
sorry and apologize for the harsh word also .. react mainly because love PC so much .. and yes you are right if so afraid of this and that Pc is not their type ..

1 thing is driving PC you can feel that we are driving the real TOYOTA car . it is truly like toyota said HUMAN TOUCH

once again sorry guys..
haha... no prob man.. no hard feelings.. i have the same feelings as you last time when the first thing every1 ask was "how much was the battery replacement"

kinda wish i can record my answer on my phone and jst let them listen to it doh.gif

but now i just casually tell them i can go 210km on RM20 and see their eyes go shocking.gif

but sarcasm aside... the soundproofing, handling and power to keep up with traffic will really surprise the non-believers... provided they don't compare to luxury cars like mercs or BMWs la...

If they still have doubts about the car then don't commit to it... read this forum and then make the decision.. all the contributors to this forums are either future C owners if not owners of 1 already. We do not put a gun to their heads to make the doubters believe our experiences...

At the end of the day, WE decided to buy the C and WE are the ones enjoying the great FC biggrin.gif

NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 2 2012, 10:50 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Mclaren @ Jul 2 2012, 08:57 AM)
battery issue agn?why noone ever concern gearbox or engine?tat's oso 3yrs warranty right? biggrin.gif .I've no doubt that Rm20 able to go 210km.Soundproofing? thumbup.gif ,Handling (Low Speed), thumbup.gif ,but in HIgh Speed,still dunknow.Any comments?let's say around 80-90km/hrs
I think ppl kept asking bout battery cause their only experience is with the AA or AAA batteries for their remote controller or the 12V in their regular car. Based on their "experience" both types of batteries will die quickly and hence their worry about battery longevity. They fail to realise however that the onboard comp regulates the rate the hybrid car charges and discharges the battery pack... hence the 20% min - 80% max charge which will increase the lifespan substantially. Prius taxis going 200k KM in new york and 500k km in Australia says a lot about the onboard computer's ability in regulating the battery charges and thus battery longevity..some might argue that the battery is different but if the tech behind the software is the same, doesn't it mean the longevity of the battery life may be extrapolated from the prius to the C? hmm.gif
maybe they dont ask bout engine and gearbox cause too "low tech" tongue.gif They know a lot a bout it already to ask... hehe...

I personally tried going at bout 80-90 km/h on the North-South last weekend ( not sure a gd idea or not before 1st service). I must say that the C came to speed effortlessly.. didnt even noticed I was skirting 100km/h. soundproofing at that speed was ok to me personally(drove MyVi, kelisa and vios prior to the C). Car felt stable with little to no body roll when I came off the highway at the Sg. Buloh exit at round 60-70 km/h (not exact)

Do take my comment with a grain of salt as I am by no means an expert in the C, lots more si fus in this thread with more experience in their Cs. But this is as much as I could share from enjoying my ride biggrin.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 2 2012, 03:55 PM

29 posts

There will definitely be maintenance costs for all vehicles... it is unfair that the masses are jumping to a single (ignorant) conclusion (on the battery only) and then trying to condemn other people for it (buying hybrids)...

it really bums me out when ppl trying to troll an enthusiastic discussion on the C (or any hybrid for that matter)..

But with all that said, i'm proud that the members of this thread are mature enough to not turn it into an out right flame-fest.. Bravo to all for keeping ur composure and this really reminds me of the civilised discussions on priuschat smile.gif
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 3 2012, 07:58 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jul 3 2012, 06:55 PM)
i book last month, next week can get car already. red color.
book from a dealer in johor.

no need to wait for so long as other claimed.

and also, if you are not picky about color, some color you can get it immediately.

Also this car is not for those that can't afford battery.

a lot of friends ask me, battery problem la, battery cost la...battery rosak how la...

my standard reply (not to be lansi)- if you gotta ask about how much battery cost, this car is not for you...TQ

few thousand more than vios, you get hell a lot of technology what you expect la...
or u can reply them "i'm not worried about something that 'might' happen... i'm more worried about forgetting where the petrol station is when i need to refill my tank" tongue.gif

sorry cant help with the sarcasm...
NEbulaSurfer
post Jul 3 2012, 08:28 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(engah @ Jul 3 2012, 08:09 PM)

I was experimenting to see how good FC could be for a long distance journey. So, it took me nearly 3 hours to reach Melaka from PJ. I best I have ever seen was 35+km/l. On everage, this is what I got. Quite disappointing. May be my driving technique was not effective?
very nice FC.. if converted to US mpg then ur getting 80.2 mpg ... which is way better then the C's rate 50 mpg...

0.0507sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:08 AM