Headphones Superlux club V2, updated 19/5/13 with pad seller

hypermax
post Mar 25 2014, 02:27 PM

2,524 posts

Just bought a pair of HD660. Was going to buy Grado SR225i but after reading review on Headfonia, i went with a pair of HD660 instead. To my surprise, this headphone sounds really good, especially for fast paced music. When pairing with my JDS Labs ODAC+O2 combo, it has tight bass, sweet mids, and more forgiving trebles than my ATH-M50. Even though instrument separation is not as great as my ATH-M50, but it sounds really fun and lively. I am sure it will sound even better after fully burnt in.

But man, the ear pad sucks big time (can't really complain due to its cheap price and amazing sound quality). Gonna change to third party velour pad soon.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Mar 25 2014, 04:39 PM
hypermax
post Apr 4 2014, 10:19 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 4 2014, 01:07 PM)
just received my HD660 with the replacement velour pads from trio, great seller although sometimes slow with reply. do not worry, he's not running away with your moneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gif, he's just busy getting more stocks for u.

my verdict on the HD660 the bass is tight, the mids are warm but the treble is slightly disappointing, too piercing for me. sound clarity and noise isolation are awesome though. the non-removable but replaceable coiled cable is too short. and the stock earpads is the biggest deal breaker, so after testing for 5minutes I immediately change them with the velour pads.
Dun you feel that the sound quality changes after replacing the stock pad? I have tried velour pad from trio also, but i find it less bassy and the mid is recessed if compared to the stock pad.
hypermax
post Apr 4 2014, 11:28 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 4 2014, 10:35 PM)
i didnt really try out the sound in the pleather pads because they are too uncomfortable. in the velour pads the HD660 still sound very good to me. but i guess there is a slight difference because of the material in the velour pads that dampens the bass
Yeah, the bass is markedly reduced if paired with the velour pad. I prefer the original pad albeit it's super uncomfortable

0.0238sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:27 AM