Headphones Superlux club V2, updated 19/5/13 with pad seller

HeartRoxas
post Dec 22 2012, 03:49 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

Hi Superlux fans,

I have a question you guys would love to answer. Which Superlux should I get?

Let me start off by saying I'm not an Audiophile AT ALL. I don't understand speakers or headphones and whatnot but my RM45 AVF just died on me after serving for more than 3-4 years so here am I looking for a decent one to replace it. Besides, who doesn't want a good product with a cheap price? That's when I came to Superlux.

Now my usage are mainly Gaming. My song formats/choices are well, MP3 mostly and genre range from PoP (I know, shit), Rock, Punk, Heavy Metal. Budget? Let's just say I'm ok with 130-180 Range. Almost covering all Superlux right?

So there's the problem. WHICH ONE. So HD668B has tons of review and are highly rated, no doubt I should go for it. And it's cheap too. But what I wanna know is what's the difference between 668B and say, 661? or some other that are more expensive than 668B? Am I getting as much worthiness as if I buy 668B?

So there you have it. Appreciate any help from gurus around here. Thanks!

TL;DR : Which Superlux has the best Price-Performance ratio?

Even shorter : WHICH SUPERLUX WORTH IT?!

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Dec 22 2012, 03:51 AM
HeartRoxas
post Dec 24 2012, 02:08 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Dec 22 2012, 08:44 AM)

Hey, thanks for the heads up. May I know what kind of music you listen to? Because I hear a lot of different opinions about the 669. But uncomfortable being the main complain for most so I guess it's true then.
People have been recommending 660 for Rock or Metal so I've been eyeing on that as well. I personally doesn't wanna get the 668B anymore I think. I know it's highly rated and all but it's old enough and many latest ones already surpass it. I don't know for sure though because like I said, I'm not an audiophile.

I'm going to buy one for Desktop usage only, not getting one for portable.

Anyone else has recommendation?

Currently my list of what I might get are, but not limited to :
HD330, 440, 660, 661, 669
HeartRoxas
post Dec 24 2012, 03:59 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Skidd Chung @ Dec 24 2012, 03:52 PM)
Mainly to rock but also a lot of jazz, classical, hip-hop the occasional club music.

The main thing about comfort is that it will strike you immediately after you wear the headphones. While music is more subjective and unless you have a lot of headphones to compare to, you will not notice the difference in musicality.
Yup, comfort top priority for me, the non-audiophiles.
HeartRoxas
post Dec 31 2012, 02:18 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(animechuu @ Dec 31 2012, 10:37 AM)
ohh that whats it means ^^.. I'll just use it normally then ^^, thanks for the info ^^
Yo Tsuki.

Good of you! I also planning to buy my own entry level headphones and eyeing the 660 but NO STOCK ANYWHERE. fml =/

HeartRoxas
post Jan 14 2013, 03:04 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

Hey superlux fans, guess you can call me one now as well. Just got my 660 not long ago.

So I've been reading a lot of forums and articles about superlux products and it worries me a lil on their lifespan. I'm sure some of you here are long time users so how long did your superlux last before it was totally useless? See, I had some cap ayam AVF brand WITH MIC and lasted me a good 3 years before I start looking for good headphones. And I've read that superlux lasted only a year for some people. Is it that bad in average?

QUOTE(animechuu @ Dec 31 2012, 05:25 PM)
Yo! haha its been a while XD

I'm liking it XD, oh.. even here?
Hisashiburi desu! Got it already. Now really start to learn more on audiophile stuff, gonna lose a lot of money soon. =/

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Jan 14 2013, 03:30 PM
HeartRoxas
post Jan 14 2013, 05:09 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Aku_Lugua @ Jan 14 2013, 04:53 PM)
Got mine about two years ago. My HD668B still alive and kicking!

Now using it with bravo v2..... this tube amp had tamed down the harshness of the treble a lot. Though the bass impact was reduced slightly but the sweetness of the midrange really make me enjoy my music collection.
FHM. It's good news for men.

Thanks bro.
HeartRoxas
post Jan 17 2013, 04:48 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

He means it's too sharp/hard for treble? Burn it a good 100 hours and you'll find it smoother. Superlux wants to focus on clarity so it's only normal it feels sharper.
HeartRoxas
post Feb 27 2013, 05:43 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(flare66 @ Feb 4 2013, 10:45 AM)
Agnaem

thank you for your feedback, I've read those two pages and I think I'll buy the 661 because of it's flexibility but  , but is a fiio e6 able to drive the headphones?
Rock I will suggest closed type which is 660 or 440. Especially on train you wouldn't want others to hear you. But those cans are never meant to be portable. So 661, good choice. I myself using a 660, listening mostly to metal. Planning to get T-Muso and then Fiio E6.
HeartRoxas
post Feb 28 2013, 02:05 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(flare66 @ Feb 28 2013, 12:15 PM)
I now have a fiio e7 but to make the dac work android is not very supportive.(currently just amp). getting those 661's by mid of march. currently using sennheiser hd238, the sound is good but the noise leakage and isolation is horrible. on the + side is just portability. I've tested those hd 668b they are really good. why don't people actually own this kinds of good stuff?, instead of those crappy beats.
Trend, rich, don't know shit, you name it.

661 is best for portable if you ask me. Many colours to choose from too!
HeartRoxas
post Mar 3 2013, 02:40 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(xormu @ Mar 1 2013, 10:10 PM)
Hi, beginner here. Looking to get either a 660 or 330. Can I know what are the major differences between the two? And also if they are better than the famous 668b?

And if I use a 330 or 660 with a Fiio E6 will it be good enough? Or are there any other good portable amps within that price range?

Thanks a bunch in advance sifus.
660 closed, means smaller soundstage. 330 semi-open, caters for more songs more of an all rounder.

Closed means people outside can't hear what you playing, better in quieter places, you also wont be able to hear anything if needed.

Semi-open/Open people can hear you if the room's quiet enough or you played too loudly, and you can prolly hear what other's are saying as well.

Better or not than the 668B is very subjective. At least consider these factors, what genre you listen to? what environment? Portable or not? Any need of the 3m extension and removable cable?

I have a 660, tested 668b as well. They serve different genre really. 668B is a good overall and the safest way to invest into Superlux. I opted for 660 because I wanted a closed type because I listen to metal, heavy metal, trash metal. 668B was said to have clearer vocals. 660 will not give you the omph omph sound from raze or dubstep or whatever pop songs have now. But drums and bases are actually clear, tight, not as punchy.

After having listened to it for 2 months now, I find 660 very fun to listen to. I do play around with equalizer a little to have better bass. I'm planning to buy Fiio E6 combine with a T-Muso DAC and see how thing will turn out. I'm sure an amp will drive these cans better and make up for whatever they are "weak" at.

There you have it. Do note though, I'm not at all anywhere near audiophile, so you might not wanna take all of what I said as true. You'll have to listen, get used to it a.k.a burn-in, then fell in love. I just started and not really good at telling how each cans' high mid and lows are better or something more pro-like stuff. But to me, and my friend that has the 668b, we both like my 660 better.

P/S: E6 is the best bang for the buck for that price. Rule of thumb, buy amps about 75% monetary value your cans will be enough. Happy choosing!
HeartRoxas
post Apr 3 2013, 02:33 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Apr 2 2013, 11:59 PM)
hi guys, currently i owned hd668b. tot of getting d hd661 for its closedback characteristic. what do u guys think?
Portable?

No? - 660/440/669
Yes? - 661

Also, sellers, any news for HMC series and Evo series?

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Apr 3 2013, 02:34 PM
HeartRoxas
post Apr 15 2013, 09:26 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Apr 15 2013, 05:19 PM)
wad about 330? how portable is it?

which one wud u recommend? HD661, HD669 or the HD330....?
recommend for? 330-440-660 are all not meant for portable. 330 is like 660 except it's semi open.
The only portable i see fit now will be 661 and 661 alone tbh.

HeartRoxas
post Nov 9 2013, 09:12 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(spufireken @ Oct 5 2013, 10:15 AM)
Can recommend me a Superlux headphone? Mainly use for gaming, occasional use for music/movie.

Requirement: good all-rounder, wide soundstage

The new 681 Evo is a good all-rounder. Or just go back to the famous 668B, won't go wrong with that.

Superlux are mostly monitoring headphones, not the best for gaming but I don't find any problem gaming with it.
HeartRoxas
post Dec 23 2013, 05:45 PM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Dec 23 2013, 08:36 AM)
I intend to buy Superlux HD 681 EVO, anyone can point to me which should I get. currently using Klipsch IEM and I'm not used to use it for a long time listening to music because of ear fatigue. how about soundstage and bass and clarity?
Music Genre?

681 Evo is good. Bought one for my gf, liked it better than my 660. Doesn't require an AMP to drive.

Soundstage is okay, as expected of semi-open. Bass is good. Clarity is okay as well. Mids and highs is okay.

This post has been edited by HeartRoxas: Dec 23 2013, 05:45 PM
HeartRoxas
post Dec 24 2013, 03:22 AM

aka Xyreon
1,258 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Dec 23 2013, 10:34 PM)
genre from metal to jazz to pop. Mostly hard rock.
681 Evo is a very good all rounder.

Metal/Rock - closed should still be better but since you have jazz and pop as well semi-open is best.

0.0316sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:08 PM