Ivy Bridge Overclocking V1 | 3770K/3570K | Z77, Torture Your CPU, Post It Here!

CyntrixTech
post Apr 20 2012, 03:51 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

Clocking a 3570k here. It's very hot.

In a 21C ambient room
-2500k, 1.48Vcore @ 4.7ghz with 18C to TJ Max
-3570k, 1.45Vcore @ 4.6ghz with 0 to TJ Max (yup, too much for the same cooler to handle)
CyntrixTech
post Apr 20 2012, 11:32 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

4.5ghz @ 1.395 with 17C to TJ Max. 8 hours stable.

Edit #1: Cooler Master 212 Evo + 2 X Scythe Gentle Typhoon cannot handle 1.45V (under load 1.46) @ 21C ambient. At 1.44 there is till over 10C+ before hitting TJ Max. It seems like once you go pass 1.45 it cooks up real quickly.

Edit #2: 4.7ghz not possible no matter what settings with the Asus P8Z77-M (RM300+ mobo) maybe with serious cooling and higher vcore it might work fine but it has hit the wall

Edit #3: 4.6ghz stable for 3 hours now. @ 9C-15C to TJ MAX.

Some thought about the temperature:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=50717372

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 20 2012, 04:51 PM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 20 2012, 05:26 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

3570k doesn't have HT. It's 2500k's replacement. The cpu cannot possibly be 90-100C under load. While I couldn't place the sensor probe under the CPU now to check it, the temperature is showing as 33C with the sensor under the heatpipe of the 212 Evo.

The air coming out of the cooler also doesn't seem to be anywhere near as hot as the air blown out of a 7970 at 60-70C.

I believe the motherboards need a bios update to reflect the proper CPU temperature, something must be wrong somewhere.

-P
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 12:54 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 20 2012, 11:59 PM)
Totally agreed with you. It is not hot at all when i touch my rad & TEC block.
TEC controller still showing 33C during LinX.   hmm.gif rclxub.gif 
Don't know what's happening but i think we will wait for explanation from Intel or mobo manufacturer
Could be false sensor readings, bad IHS contact, etc...

3570K @ 4.5GHz
M5G
Team 2600C10 2x4GB @ 2666
The first rig we built can do 4.6ghz @ 1.44V. Anything more than that is a fail. Since it can't take more vcore, we'd call it a day at this speed.

Next in line:

This time we used 212's bigger brother. The tower is really thick so we used 2 x GT 1850. The static pressure is required to pierce through the thick walls.

Will be OCing it tomorrow

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 21 2012, 12:55 AM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 09:27 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

i5 3570k @ 4.6GHZ on Air with Asus P8Z77-M (RM3xx mobo)

Prime and CPU-Z

WEI

Added on April 21, 2012, 9:30 amNoticed that CPU-Z shows 1.2V but mobo shows 1.44V? Something is just wrong and a bios update must be coming

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 21 2012, 09:30 AM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 10:47 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Apr 21 2012, 10:04 AM)
About the CPU-Z voltage reading, I think it is the CPU-Z problem instead of the mobo bios.
Newer version CPU-Z might be able to pick up the right voltage.
Yup.

@Kevin,
Go cook your CPU @ 120C biggrin.gif Don't dare to try it on customer's PC brows.gif Btw, is this running on the XSPC RS240 or RX240?

XSPC stuck in custom, going for a dual 355 setup with 2 x RX360 just to cool the CPU (extreme overkill, but whatever)

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 21 2012, 10:48 AM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 11:05 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

So you are gonna use 2 x RX360 + 1 x RX240 on the bench? Thought I was overkill (had to, it'd be a showcase bench table) but surely you are still the king brows.gif

I am going 2 x 355 with XSPC dual top instead of the D5.

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 21 2012, 11:06 AM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 01:30 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

My v4 bench setup will consist of the following:

-RX 360 x 2, 6 x GT (another alternative is 2 x EX360 x 12X GT...)
-2 x 355
-1 x XSPC Laing Dual Top - Acrylic (hope it doesn't crack and leak, common issue)
-XSPC 5.25" dual bay res
-Lamptron FC9 Fan controller
-Enzotech Silver fittings, 5/8", 3/8" (got sick of 1/2", too difficult to manage)
-XSPC Raystorm / EK Supreme HF (waiting for PPTEK to order in an Acrylic top for me)

When Alphacool comes in, the res will be replaced by this:

CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 03:19 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

This is being tested now:

The OC wall on Air is 4.5ghz with the CoolerMaster 212 Evo + F12 x 2. 4.6-4.7ghz with Gentle Typhoons. IB is definitely too hot for most Air cooler to handle now.

EDIT #1: Cannot handle 4.5ghz heatload. Casing traps too much heat

EDIT #2: 13-15C headroom with 4.4ghz @ 1.4V

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 21 2012, 05:29 PM
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 05:28 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

QUOTE(nickyclp @ Apr 21 2012, 04:46 PM)
how about on water? how high can ivy 3570k go?
Only Kevin is on water now. Maybe on Tuesday we will get our water cooling bench ready for some testing.
CyntrixTech
post Apr 21 2012, 10:39 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

QUOTE(fucziAvA @ Apr 21 2012, 07:46 PM)
Hi all... Can someone recommend me stable voltage setting. I just want to OC to 4.5ghz only. I5 3570k and im using asrock z68. unsure.gif
At least two of the processors we tested required 1.44Vcore for 4.5ghz. The temperature rapidly rises as soon as you hit over 1.4V. At 1.4V, it is still very manageable but you can only clock it at 4.3ghz
CyntrixTech
post Apr 23 2012, 08:02 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

i5 3570k @ 4.8ghz, on Air smile.gif Stressing

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Apr 23 2012, 01:30 AM)
3770k at original setting @ WC set

Fresh windows just download diabo3 nia... lol  biggrin.gif

Send us a box of it (5 units), don't want EE edition. brows.gif There's already a line up in our system.

CyntrixTech
post Apr 24 2012, 01:00 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Apr 24 2012, 12:32 AM)
Haha... But the stupid asus p8p67 cant unlock the core la... sad.gif
Cyntrix:- sure 5 unit? Lol
Peanuts. You don't want to know how many 3570K we have here tongue.gif
CyntrixTech
post Apr 30 2012, 12:18 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

Almost done with our LDPV V4 bench table. Didn't have enough tube to complete the loop. Once it is ready we'd see what IB can do on our setup biggrin.gif
CyntrixTech
post Apr 30 2012, 10:38 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

Dimastech paint job is garbage compared to LDPC. There are also some sharp edges here and there.

This post has been edited by CyntrixTech: Apr 30 2012, 10:39 AM
CyntrixTech
post Jun 16 2012, 01:31 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

Didn't get a chance to clock this yet. When customer returns it for photoshoot, we will see how well it clocks. This thing uses dual MCP355 and delta is only about 4-6C.

IB is a lost cause for serious over-clockers (non LN2). I still much prefer SB for overclocking. Recently acquired a huge batch of Costa Rica 2500k. Also got a few Costa Rica 3770k but noticed that just about all IB still get stuck around 4.6-4.7 on 2 x 120mm rad. Even with serious watercooling system, without a really good chip, it's still going to be stuck around this clock speed. The chances of hitting over 5ghz is better on SB.
CyntrixTech
post Jul 6 2012, 01:36 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

When are you taking out your secret weapon?
CyntrixTech
post Jul 6 2012, 11:23 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

He has AiSuite installed, that should tell you if it would OC iGPU. tongue.gif
CyntrixTech
post Jul 16 2012, 10:56 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

There's a new revision? Did they ever resolve the packed cores temperature?
CyntrixTech
post Jul 17 2012, 12:24 AM

Distributor
2,583 posts

It's only possible to hit 5ghz on TEC/Phase change sad.gif About 95% of the chips we have ever encountered only runs around 4.6-4.7ghz on Air/Water. Do you have a dual D5/355 single loop setup where you can test to find out if it's possible to keep up with the temp on IB?

0.0436sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:54 AM