PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V22 - Live or Die

jerrymouse
post Apr 18 2012, 05:56 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 18 2012, 05:33 PM)
Also probably your drumbrake will make noise, which is more of an annoyance than serious problem.

I got this problem recently, the sound I think comes from the rear drum brake whereby every time when I release the pedal brake slowwwlllyyyyy..the sound grukkk grekkkkkk will be very obvious. The sound can be heard even louder during morning when the car just started to move from standstill.

May I know how to solve this issue? Is it drum brake spoiled d? sad.gif
jerrymouse
post Apr 18 2012, 06:14 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:06 PM)
No spoil la.u guys being spoilt by continental car ady la. Its normal to have "gruk,grek" sound when release/engage brake pedal. It means your brake cylinder is pulling back the brake shoes, or the brake shoe is attaching the drum hub surface. You don't hear that often on other cars because most cars soundproof very well(GAGA not included) laugh.gif next time get the mechanic to open your brake hub, ask him blow dust, then u get to know how it works. It pushes the brake shoes out when u press the brake pedal, when u release, the brake cylinder will pull back the brake shoe, that's the "gruk,grek" sound you hear. What I worry is dares's "tak,tak,tak" sound. No reply from my magician yet, guess he oso dunno. Coz all cars he mod also disable ABS geh blink.gif
hmm.gif the drum brake sound is not there when I first drove the car (Saga FL) wo..now more than 1 year old, the sound is getting louder, I feel like the drum pad is too dry that causes the surface to have those sound when I release the pedal brake.

I understand from your explanation but why the brake cylinder does not produce such noise when it is new ? it is time to change? due to wear and tear?

Sent to COE meaning I need to leave my car there for like half a day >< need to schedule my time liao. Can I sent my car for similar inspection to ..lets say Proton Edar Puchong SC ? It is FOC ?

Thanks in advance
jerrymouse
post Apr 18 2012, 09:06 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2012, 07:04 PM)

The brake pad was soft initially, now its harden after a year. If it's within warranty, go komplen Plotong so they change you a new set. After sometime, it will come back again. Go back komplen again. Keep komplening until you finish your warranty. After that when you start forking out money from your pocket, then you'll decide to get use to the sound instead of changing brake pad every month smile.gif All my drum brake cars rear brake pad can easily last 1.5 years to 2 years(include time to time go tauke at Genting) I'm not saying go back warranty is wrong, I just hope this doesn't bother you in the future(after the warranty), just get real and accept the fact that drum brake will have this problem.

I didn't know that drum brake will have this common issue blush.gif because I am comparing it with my 15 years old iswara which till now never encounter such sound from the rear tyre.

since a normal brake pad will last around 1.5years to 2, is there any branded brake pad which does not cause this kind of brake sound?

Just trying to find a solution to resolve this minor problem, if nothing can be done then I will just change the brake pad every 1 ~ 2 years ba because it kinda annoyed me tongue.gif

jerrymouse
post Apr 18 2012, 10:01 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:30 PM)
Guess what, I'm currently driving a 16 years old ISWAGA also. Let me explain why you heard NOTHING from your ISWAGA drumbrake! Because your father's old school mechanic already tighten the brake bank range(if you notice you pull less handbrake to stop your ISWAGA compare to your FL). There is a series of gears at the opposite site of your drumbrake hub, to adjust the brake bank distance. To adjust the brake shoe closer to the brake hub can MINIMIZE such "grek/gruk" sound. How to check whether your drum shoe have enough free space... well... blush.gif  sorry only olskool knowledge available(consider my age and driving/fixing/racing/fishing experience). Jack up your car, release your hand brake and spin your wheels with bear hand. If you feel no resistance besides of the tire weight, meaning your brake shoes are totally off the hub, your wheel will continue spinning for a very long time until the momentum gone. Normally an old school mechanic will adjust the brake until you spin it, only it move. If you take stop spinning, it will stop in a shortwhile, normally within 1 round cycle(2 round is GOOD, but seldom mechanic spend so much time to adjust until so accurate for you). Get what I mean so far? icon_idea.gif

Again, another olskol stuff to try out. Now, get your girlfriend(*can be anyone la, but will look embarrassing) to bring a mob, go to your rim and start poking the hub whilst you're INSIDE the car with all windows closed. You'll probably hear muffled metal pinging OUTSIDE the vehicle. But if you do the same thing to your BLM/FL/FLX, it felt like somebody is using a metal stick smashing your car!  doh.gif So, I guess now you have pretty much idea on how tough ISWAGA is.

You may try to get somebody to slam your brake whilst you're outside at the backwheel listen to the drum beat, again I doubt you can hear much from your ISWAGA because the brakepad already lekat at the drum. So, I guess its very safe to said(if we're talking about the same sound created by the same stuff), the brake engage/release sound is very normal.

Hope this help icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s: 1 more thing, you dont hear it much in the afternoon because the brake pad already heated up  thumbup.gif
Great information !!!! thumbup.gif so as a conclusion, can I send my FL to Proton SC and ask the mechanic to adjust the brake bank range? i mean it is better to reduce the grek/gruk sound than leaving it like that laugh.gif For the 2 stuff you mentioned, I will find one day to try it out hehehe

Yeah..normally after driving awhile for example after speeding on MAX highway, the grek/grund sound is very very minimal..only during morning when I want to go to work, trying to reach the 1st traffic light at my house area by slowing down my car,that is the time when the brake sound come it loudly:sweat:
jerrymouse
post May 2 2012, 02:43 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ May 2 2012, 02:13 PM)
FL is softer thn FLX~! FLX stiffer~!
I would like to know the difference too as my FL always "sink" at the rear when there are 3 adult sit behind. Is there any thing that can be changed to overcome this problem (without affecting the comfort of the ride) ?

THank you.

0.0209sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:21 AM