PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V22 - Live or Die
davidke20
May 13 2012, 02:17 PM
Strut bar thing:
Just thought u guys might be interested to knw, strut bar isn't meant for LIFE SAVING intentionally, but to reduce chassis bent during hard corner that provide precise cornering that saves life(when 1 pushing the limits).
I've seen many cases of accident car with strut bar that DOES NOT go total loss. Normaly front impact, if your engine & chassis affected area reaches the strut tower, there is a very good chance your face already punch through the steering wheel(or the other way round). With/without the strut bar, your car(most probably both driver & vehicle) will declare total loss jor.
For side impact, normally impact point is right at the centre of the wheel. Strong force pushes lower arm, absorber in, at the same time absorber tower will compress towards engine direction. WITHOUT strut bar, damages are mostly limited to impact site. WITH good quality 2 POINT strut bar, impact for will be transfered to the other side of the strut. Normally it bent the otherside of the strut tower, and if the impact site is repairable, the otherside should have no problem to pull back to the original shape. For a cheaplug 2 POINT strut, impact force transfered to the bar, the useless bar bent and punch on the bonet/firewall/engine,pick your lucky number.
More than 2 point strut bar generally have better tensile strength, not easy to break/bend. Most 3 point strut connect both strut tower, in the middle triangular connect to the firewall. During heavy side impact, normally the 1st affected area will be tearing the firewall a big hole before the force transfer to the otherside of strut.
This serve to inform you, if your car meant to be total loss, be it with/without the strut bar, total loss is unavoidable. My auntie's BiBA has a strut bar, her Gancil has a strut bar for the past 16 years also.
Wuakaka
May 13 2012, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 02:40 PM) I remember someone posted an Inspira bang til the boot also missing dy (completely severed), Kurnia approves RM12k to fix it:lol:  You think so easy declare total loss hahahahahaha  total loss normally when it comes to ur front and rear mirror is broken,which is hardly can be seen on saga at least.....if is oni rear mirror broken,total loss of declaration cannot be done too......
dares
May 13 2012, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Wuakaka @ May 13 2012, 02:42 PM) total loss normally when it comes to ur front and rear mirror is broken,which is hardly can be seen on saga at least.....if is oni rear mirror broken,total loss of declaration cannot be done too...... How about this one, the inspira i was talking about  12k can fix? This post has been edited by dares: May 13 2012, 02:58 PM
SiuYi
May 13 2012, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 02:57 PM) How about this one, the inspira i was talking about  12k can fix?  then kurnia should be a 'gooding' insurance company. lick lick~
V12Kompressor
May 13 2012, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 02:40 PM) I remember someone posted an Inspira bang til the boot also missing dy (completely severed), Kurnia approves RM12k to fix it  You think so easy declare total loss hahahahahaha  Kurnia mah... lol BTW, Kurnia Insurance gonna lingkup soon.
Wuakaka
May 13 2012, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 02:57 PM) How about this one, the inspira i was talking about  12k can fix?  anything can be fixed,then sell it for extremely low price.......even bank also doing it.....dats just a piece of cake for welding shop.....
dares
May 13 2012, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Wuakaka @ May 13 2012, 03:26 PM) anything can be fixed,then sell it for extremely low price.......even bank also doing it.....dats just a piece of cake for welding shop..... Mane boleh lepas puspakom nih  sudah jadi keta potong
Wuakaka
May 13 2012, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 03:32 PM) Mane boleh lepas puspakom nih  sudah jadi keta potong even myself have the way to do it,u tink bank kenot do it????lelong car by bank???lols.....
SiuYi
May 13 2012, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 03:32 PM) Mane boleh lepas puspakom nih  sudah jadi keta potong puspakom? ada wang semua jadi mar...u tot that car cannot pass puspakom meh? this is maresiah..anything can happen here~
davidke20
May 13 2012, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 02:57 PM) How about this one, the inspira i was talking about  12k can fix?  According to my experience, the above car should declare total loss already. Regardless of how it repair, the structural integrity has definitely affected, and the NEXT accident is going to be nasty. I'm not allowed to say anything about "K" company because my "A" company is merging with them NOW. However, your friend should report this to PIAM, at the same time file a record with Bank Negara Malaysia. Before anything, please go and inform PKR(or MCA if you trust them) regarding your report, so it wont go missing. Good luck to your friend, and he/she should never accept this offer by any chance if the above photo indeed insured by "K" company and IF the 12k thing is real.
mieza
May 13 2012, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 13 2012, 04:33 PM) According to my experience, the above car should declare total loss already. Regardless of how it repair, the structural integrity has definitely affected, and the NEXT accident is going to be nasty. I'm not allowed to say anything about "K" company because my "A" company is merging with them NOW. However, your friend should report this to PIAM, at the same time file a record with Bank Negara Malaysia. Before anything, please go and inform PKR(or MCA if you trust them) regarding your report, so it wont go missing. Good luck to your friend, and he/she should never accept this offer by any chance if the above photo indeed insured by "K" company and IF the 12k thing is real.
TSr3apers
May 13 2012, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(dares @ May 13 2012, 03:57 PM)  Added on May 13, 2012, 4:17 pmBtw, I just notice r3apers did not copy over the second post in the first page of previous versions.  wat i miss??? wat stuff i forget to copy?
dares
May 13 2012, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ May 13 2012, 04:33 PM) According to my experience, the above car should declare total loss already. Regardless of how it repair, the structural integrity has definitely affected, and the NEXT accident is going to be nasty. I'm not allowed to say anything about "K" company because my "A" company is merging with them NOW. However, your friend should report this to PIAM, at the same time file a record with Bank Negara Malaysia. Before anything, please go and inform PKR(or MCA if you trust them) regarding your report, so it wont go missing. Good luck to your friend, and he/she should never accept this offer by any chance if the above photo indeed insured by "K" company and IF the 12k thing is real. Not my friend, I copy this from the Inspira thread some time ago, together with the 12k story. A useful piece of advise nevertheless Still a fun anecdote though. And thanks for the bit about what is going on in the insurance industry QUOTE(r3apers @ May 13 2012, 05:23 PM) wat i miss??? wat stuff i forget to copy? you go check the previous version, the first page second post. This post has been edited by dares: May 13 2012, 05:35 PM
TSr3apers
May 13 2012, 06:01 PM

updated on 1st post...haha didnt notice that~!
zeone
May 13 2012, 08:57 PM
Lap 35/66 now! F1 fever in Catalunya Circuit is ON!! Maldonado is leading....a First?  Added on May 13, 2012, 8:59 pmUpdate: Lap 37/66 now!!! Me slow la in posting....  Added on May 13, 2012, 9:26 pmUPDATE #2: Maldonado still leading @55/66...Alonso trying hard to overtake!!! This post has been edited by zeone: May 13 2012, 09:26 PM
davidke20
May 13 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(zeone @ May 13 2012, 08:57 PM) Lap 35/66 now! F1 fever in Catalunya Circuit is ON!! Maldonado is leading....a First?  Added on May 13, 2012, 8:59 pmUpdate: Lap 37/66 now!!! Me slow la in posting....  Added on May 13, 2012, 9:26 pmUPDATE #2: Maldonado still leading @55/66...Alonso trying hard to overtake!!! Entire F1 chassis structure is lightweight carbon fibre bars  total loss
coolkwc
May 13 2012, 09:33 PM
Happen in JB Eastern Dispersal Link. I always took that road, newly built and straight... NewsThis post has been edited by coolkwc: May 13 2012, 11:02 PM