♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V4♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 09:37 PM

20 posts

This is my personal review of the Preve. I'm a Vios E spec owner and was a Accord SM4 owner. First of all, i
am quite satisfied with it. Proton has really improved a lot in this car. A definite value for money. Nothing much to complain in terms of overall performance of the car...handling is years ahead of city,vios,altis (Not duall VVTI) n to a huge extent , the civic...anyone who says otherwise about the handling is talking bull (unless you're comparing to completely modded suspension system).the car was really composed when i switched lanes suddenly without slowing down...I expected the car to be huge but it didn't turn out to be so...it's similar in size to the forte but with better legroom ...I dislike the spot welding finishing though but the test drive n display unit had different finishing... Acceleration is good enough (so much better than a pre-dual vvti altis) but cannot match a proper Vtec ...1.8/2.0 Civic/Lancer would smoke it at real high speed but how many of us drive at 180kmh all the time right? Built quality of the interior is more or less the same as Vios,City n Forte but i do notice that the forte has better fitting...in short, worth the money you're paying and yes, i've booked the car
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 09:48 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:39 PM)
How do you rate the CVT over the 4AT in Vios?
it's quite smooth compared to a normal AT ... it's what i've expected of a rubber band transmission ... i felt that in terms of acceleration, a 4AT vios would be able to match a Preve but it's just a feeling(vios is a lighter car) ... need to really test it to know

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Apr 20 2012, 09:40 PM)
hai.. did u get to use lagg or lazzy accelerate during stationary? because u wont bother of it since u drive Accord and Vios
Hmm...i think i would need to get use to that lag but honestly, i don't think that the accelerator was that lazy in D mode .. just slightly sluggish below 2000rpm ..i can live with it. Preve is better in many ways compared to my Vios ..the Accord was a 1990 5speed manual (sold it off for the Vios)
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 09:49 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(hatemaster @ Apr 20 2012, 09:46 PM)
different spot weld finishing on another Preve thumbup.gif
[attachmentid=2801614]
i noticed the same thing as well!! rclxms.gif smile.gif
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 09:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(maxwell91 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:48 PM)
if 1/3 mile race again civic 1.8 auto..sapa menang?hehehe
probably the 1.8 civic ... it has a better power:weight i think...a SOHC engine reduces the overall weight of the car
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 09:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(mutt @ Apr 20 2012, 09:51 PM)
thats becos u driving vios. Dats why u dont mind thr lag biggrin.gif im driving waja cps manual so the lag quite annoy me sweat.gif
initially, the lag was really bothering me because i was so used to the pull that a B16B engine delivers but after realising that Preve is a completely different car, it didn't seem too bad...the lag is there, just a matter of whether can you live with it or not tongue.gif biggrin.gif manual users would suffer the most

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Apr 20 2012, 09:51 PM)
my testdrive exp. the car feel lazy to move bellow 1.5k RPM but after reach 2k i didn't realized the car accelerate much faster than i imagine with good NVH. yes maybe some people need get use to it first
i agree with you, especially in D mode but in shifter mode, the car seems more eager to move and as you said, after 2k rpm, the car is just so smooth...really smooth ... good NVH ... just need to get used to the CVT... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

BTW, the CVT feeling is quite similar to the Inspira 2.0

This post has been edited by happyhappyjony: Apr 20 2012, 09:57 PM
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 10:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(alan1123 @ Apr 20 2012, 09:56 PM)
you say the legroom quite good? how about the head room?

when i sit inside, my head just got 4cm to the roof, i am 174cm

to me, it is quite small inside on the front driver and side passenger sit, kinda like hard to breath feeling
head room was okay for me...am about 171cm..the space between driver n side passenger is slightly narrower than a civic

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Apr 20 2012, 10:03 PM)
actually even in D mode also u can use the shifter!! but D mode seems more relax and pleasure driving, S mode more for aggressiveness style, instantly can hear the engine roar  smile.gif

I Drive LancerGT2.0 before and the car CVT feel ruberband when accelerate but unlike preve, can inspira owner confirm this?  hmm.gif
haha...i didn't know that!! ...
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 10:31 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 20 2012, 10:27 PM)
Another piece of crap from Proton
what is crap from proton? Preve? or the fact that it met with an accident?

It really surprises me as to why we can't have more constructive comments in this forum.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif . so many bashers are here...our comments will help those who are planning to get the car...or at the very least, help to share some light on how does the new car perform...no point bashing proton for nothing ... n to state a fact to you bashers..IM A CURRENT TOYOTA OWNER WHO HAS JUST BOOKED A PREVE!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 10:35 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 20 2012, 10:31 PM)
Dint ask you to read
Well,just telling the truth.Proton is really crap lah.Duno why you all can still support ...  doh.gif
You posted something in a public forum and yet you are asking people not to read? WTF?! Get a life man.. If proton cars are really crappy as you said, then tell me why does a persona handle better than a vios/city? or let's take the Preve as an example... how can a "crappy" car handle better than a Toyota Altis & Vios? are toyotas crappy as well? whistling.gif
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 10:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 20 2012, 10:40 PM)
U think CRAPPY is all about handling? Wake up and smell the coffee lah small kid.If crappy is all about handling,toyota ,perodua all would be closing down soon.

Crappy means the quality of the parts fitted onto your lousy proton.The technology used to build ur lousy proton.

Please have a open mind and learn how to accept criticism for you to improve.No wonder lousy proton can never ever improve.
I have an open mind and that's why i'm selling of my vios for a Preve...is that open minded enough for you? I don't think anyone here is saying that Preve or other protons are perfect...so why the fuss about proton being crappy? Vios belting became f***ing noisy after a month!! how about that? Wasting time arguing with you
happyhappyjony
post Apr 20 2012, 10:47 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(huzaifa136 @ Apr 20 2012, 10:45 PM)
let's not bash each others ride la guys
each people hv their own preference, not all people hv same taste
perhaps u can investigate, with credible evidence and create a campaign to show the public not to buy proton.

this national car project (proton, perodua and few other 'national' car assembler) exist because gov want Malaysian to afford a car, that's it, simple as that. let aside the insider/political issues. at first we all bought because cheap la, what else.. then sadly proton & vendor hv moral issues resulting bad product. of course cannot blame buyer. but now proton improved a lot, and offer a better car. that's why we, i, and others' support.

unless you're 1% of the country, but u should try proton, their handling is top of the class for their price  rclxms.gif
i agree with you...we get a car based on our own affordability... no point condemning
happyhappyjony
post Apr 21 2012, 04:36 PM

20 posts

To all those who are wondering about the presence of a gearbox cooler, don't worry about it. it's there just in front of the radiator...peep into the right side of the front grill...you'll see something that resembles a smaller radiator with the label cvt cooler at the top of it... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
happyhappyjony
post Apr 21 2012, 04:39 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 21 2012, 04:37 PM)
Just back from signing agreement, settle dp and everything.

Got my chassis code, engine code. Next two week is the target delivery date biggrin.gif
so fast? which area bro? did you book the car much earlier?

happyhappyjony
post Apr 21 2012, 04:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(NoobSaibot @ Apr 21 2012, 04:40 PM)

is the one in the red circle the cvt cooler?

Please enlighten us smile.gif
i don't think so...probably the intercooler cz it's on the left side of the engine(and from the fact that the Exora has it on the left)...the cvt cooler looks as if it's on the top right front part of the radiator...

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 21 2012, 04:41 PM)
P.indah branch, I book it on end of March. Sa said I should be inside the first 100 preve-ians  laugh.gif
wah lucky you...i have to wait 2 months lo...cannot sleep...dreaming about the car cry.gif cry.gif

happyhappyjony
post Apr 21 2012, 05:02 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Junn @ Apr 21 2012, 04:57 PM)
Why so long? It shouldn't be this long unless you're getting hot colors  smile.gif
i don't know lo...i booked a white preve...two different show rooms in kedah said that waiting time is 1-2 months... booked it anyway... hehe ... too lazy to go hunt in other places..

0.0452sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:07 AM