♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V4♠ ♠ ♠, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 05:17 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 18 2012, 05:12 PM)
I tried S towards the end of my test drive. paddle shifters more fun. Summore the clicking of the paddles feel like playing racing game with a gaming wheel hahahaha  icon_question.gif
I prefer S for me. Pedal shifter mode for me very hard to predict the computer. Since it auto-upshifts once it hits it's rev limits, sometimes the gear upshift edi then i pulak upshift it myself doh.gif

btw just now while i was in Ara Damansara stopped at a red light, after the light turned green i noticed a cute Vios trying to chase up with me but in the end kena tinggal especially once it came to the sweeping curves laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 05:21 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Apr 18 2012, 05:18 PM)
I agree. If I get this car, my pedal will always be in S  laugh.gif

Cute Vios got cute driver or not?
no idea. too far behind tongue.gif

but cute driver in BMW almost bang me when she changed lane without looking at the mirror. force me to activate ABS doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 05:24 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Apr 18 2012, 05:22 PM)
laugh.gif Victor's face got change color ar?
you ask him la. I was looking at the road bro laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 05:37 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 18 2012, 05:26 PM)
You mean if you have a hot chick beside you, you won't be able to stare at her legs while you fishtail?

You have much to learn, young padawan  tongue.gif
learn this one better tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Apr 18 2012, 05:38 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 05:57 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(sct @ Apr 18 2012, 05:52 PM)
P1 is consider cbu or ckd in the maa chart?
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Apr 18 2012, 05:53 PM)
ckd
i thought no import tax since it isn't an import anyway? sweat.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:00 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Apr 18 2012, 05:58 PM)
elantra also wannabe ckd with changing the logo from hyundai to innokom but their 1.6 prices still  doh.gif
meaning this website isn't logic at all...
the only logic is "standard accessories prices approved by govt"...
bro, fyi the dealer have an 80k profit margin per unit for a Hyundai Sonata. Its all down to the dealer how wide they wanna set their profit margin.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:04 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 18 2012, 05:56 PM)
it's a male driver inside the Vios.. lol
Yes, from solid white to blue lagoon and almost puke inside the car. hahaha... the car made me feel more confident, so no worries lah. Personally hantam the car before everyone does, brake, handling, power is awesome.
really ar? I never noticed. he also tangan gatal see new car on the road then wanna play liao laugh.gif

you got try top speed in it? or was i the first to try? laugh.gif

QUOTE(tkaira @ Apr 18 2012, 06:00 PM)
ckd is completely knocked down means locally assembled .. cbu completely built up meaning import.. which sos u wan? cili ah? tongue.gif
but then Proton isn't even an import car, so i doubt the import tax applies.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:08 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(assange @ Apr 18 2012, 06:05 PM)
I could not accept such quality with this price....
so you rather have a Vios J with 1 airbag which might get your passenger killed in an accident which could be prevent by the ESP? whistling.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:30 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:19 PM)
You're the first. I never try because scare kena summon.  laugh.gif
well, i literally drive that road everyday to college and with my Waja i also managed to hit 190kmh max but thats with only me inside. Just now with 3 adults i think can touch 200 if not for traffic in front. Now you know where not to bring test drivers to then whistling.gif

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:19 PM)
about the weld, malas nk terang, just google about type of car manufacturing weld. Other things pandai google, this thing cannot google maa...

Added on April 18, 2012, 6:20 pmabout the weld, malas nk terang, just google about type of car manufacturing weld. Other things pandai google, this thing cannot google maa...
googled, its called spot weld.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spot_welding

Spot welding (RSW)[1] is a process in which contacting metal surfaces are joined by the heat obtained from resistance to electric current flow. Work-pieces are held together under pressure exerted by electrodes. Typically the sheets are in the 0.5 to 3 mm (0.020 to 0.12 in) thickness range. The process uses two shaped copper alloy electrodes to concentrate welding current into a small "spot" and to simultaneously clamp the sheets together. Forcing a large current through the spot will melt the metal and form the weld. The attractive feature of spot welding is a lot of energy can be delivered to the spot in a very short time (approximately ten milliseconds).[2] That permits the welding to occur without excessive heating to the rest of the sheet.

bla bla bla

Applications

Perhaps the most common application of spot welding is in the automobile manufacturing industry, where it is used almost universally to weld the sheet metal to form a car. Spot welders can also be completely automated, and many of the industrial robots found on assembly lines are spot welders (the other major use for robots being painting).
and for those not familiar with the automotive scene, spot welding your chasis is a way to increase chasis rigidity.

last 2 pics taken by me personally when viewing a proton satria on sale which the owner spent 1~2k to spot weld the whole chassis himself. Looks like shit, but its alot stronger than you think.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:32 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 18 2012, 06:31 PM)
The issue imo is why the welding is not 'neat'. If its hidden, no problem, but when exposed  sweat.gif
its called spot weld bro. its not meant to be neat. its meant to be strong.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:34 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

lolz my post about the weld got ignored.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 06:40 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Apr 18 2012, 06:38 PM)
perodua mybi also doesn have the esc, abs all other things offered in Preve. This is not a big trade off compare to what offered by the car.
ESC they don't have. Myvi only got EBD, Electronic Brake Distribution but don't have ESP(Electronic Stability Program). ESP prevents your car from understeer/oversteer.

and about the welding issue guys, its called spot welding and its strong, just that it don't look good. like that also want bising ar? doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 07:29 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Apr 18 2012, 07:23 PM)
FC? proton claimed it to be average of 8.4l/100km
Average of 2.0l NA is 7.5-7.8l/100km.

Added on April 18, 2012, 7:24 pmIts not a spot weld but a tack weld as told by engineer fren.
i don't think its tack weld

The tack weld is a little small weld, that is not designed to be of any structural value.

http://www.learn-how-to-weld.com/tack-welding.html
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 18 2012, 07:53 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(maxwell91 @ Apr 18 2012, 07:49 PM)
wanna ask here...preve iafm cvt or persona elegance h line better in terms of acceleration? tq...
Persona would be faster since its lighter but for me I'll still take the Preve. The persona elegance is out of production anyway.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 02:31 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 18 2012, 09:48 PM)
this is on a RM132K car, can almost buy 2 preve already...

this is on a toyota altis.
see what i mean. cakap pasal toyota bad qc, nobody talks about it doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 02:53 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 19 2012, 02:41 AM)
Just in case there are any confusion why use the handbrake as opposed to the footbrake, as recommended by mat79, that is because the wet clutch opens (disengages the cvt from the engine) when...

1. The gear is in N or P
2. The brake pedal is pressed (my understanding is it will not be opened as wide as in condition 1, therefore still creating drag.)

So, from Kristof's explanation, my understanding is that, when you are pressing the brakes, and release it to press the gas pedal, the clutch needs time to close, hence the lag experienced. If you dont want to feel this throttle lag, you either...

1. Wait a moment before pressing the gas pedal, by when the clutch will be completely closed, or
2. use the handbrake to stop the car from moving, but keep you gear in D. This way the clutch never opens, and once you relase the handbrake the car is ready to go right away.

Mat79,pls correct me if I am mistaken.
I have several question regarding CVT for exora bold(CVT3) and saga flx (CVT2):

1) I notice that exora bold still roll back on even slight /gradual slope(not-too-steep slope). Normal auto gear vehicle only will roll back when the slope is too steep, if it is not steep enough, it's will lock at there. Is there anyway to make CVT lock it when reach slight/gradual slope? It is kinda dangerous esp for new driver.
You are correct. This is a know "issue", but is a design feature actually. Two things contribute to this:
First thing is what we call idle neutral, unlike all regular older AT's that have a constantly dragging torque converter or clutch, we open our clutch (a wet clutch, more pressure = more drag, even more pressure closes it) almost completely when you are pressing the brake and standing still. this way fuel is saved. If you release the brake a little time is needed to apply pressure to our clutch again. that is when you roll back a little, rollback only occurs on hills steeper than 10%.
secondly the engine cannot deliver a lot of power idling, when aircon is on, heavy car, on a hill, we can start closing the clutch in order not to roll back, but that will cause the engine to stall. When you apply trottle you will notice first the clutch opens a little bit so engine revs up, than we start closing the clutch, during revving up, you can encounter rollback.

What to do? use handbrake in stead of brake, this way we not shift to neutral (we only read regular brake signal not handbrake), use enough trottle, this way the engine produces engough power to close the clutch in one move.

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?sh...pic=103354&st=0

post #3
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 02:53 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Apr 19 2012, 02:53 AM)
i feel like going to those thread to comment but i don't think so it is appropriate as i'm a thread started for preve some more, so i better stay mutual to avoid more unnecessary fights.

hey guys, wanna create a TT for Preve?
I no drive Preve, but i test-drive before. Boleh? tongue.gif laugh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 02:57 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Apr 19 2012, 02:55 AM)
lai lai no problem, we can have some TT about preve also, maybe brainwash you then you go buy straight away ;D
sorry bro, already spent more than 10k on my Waja in 6 months time in modifications. Don't think i'll change anytime soon tongue.gif laugh.gif

Added on April 19, 2012, 2:58 am
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 19 2012, 02:56 AM)
So i got it right, right?
Oh ya sori. Hehe, thanks for correcting.
you just missed the part where the CVT only detects input from the main brakes and not the handbrake. Thats why when you pull the handbrake, the clutch is still slightly engaged compared to when you press the brakes it is fully open smile.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Apr 19 2012, 02:58 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 02:59 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Apr 19 2012, 02:58 AM)
wahhhh  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

come discuss make friends, it is about the communities ma, maybe can share share experience in automotive industries or driving experience and also learn something, i very noob in automotive industries one but now learning a lot from this thread.
Thanks to DSZ mat79 in the thread thumbup.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 19 2012, 03:11 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 19 2012, 03:08 AM)
Bile? lepas u ambik keta? I nak duduk sambil tengok nightstalker bawa your keta 190kmh  tongue.gif

Set a date first la
if me bawa 2nd round i bawa penuh until rev cut bro tongue.gif laugh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0502sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:19 AM