V2 Kia Optima K5 club

shah mad
post Jun 11 2012, 05:41 PM

H guys, I m a new guy here. Hope we can share more info bout K5. I got my bright sillver K5 last month 11 May 2012.
shah mad
post Jun 12 2012, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 11 2012, 06:29 PM)
Welcome! Uve made a wise decision. Now spread the news around so that more ppl can enjoy the Optima. I got my silver Optima on 29 April.
Yep..U 2 have made the right choice. Everything is superb especially the design. Only one thing bout the suspension. My brother tested the car one night. He really pushed the car to the limit. His comment was that the car suspension is a bit soft when it corners the road and when he brake the car is not stable. Any comment guys?

Added on June 12, 2012, 4:03 pmsuperb bro...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 12 2012, 04:03 PM
shah mad
post Jun 13 2012, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Jun 13 2012, 01:15 AM)
Mazda CX5 launched but delivery time is half year  rclxub.gif

Added on June 13, 2012, 1:20 amHope all the new owners getting the car soon...

Added on June 13, 2012, 1:21 am

Congratulation , shah mad .. Same color as mine..  rclxms.gif
Yes DJSoo, same colour. Easy to handle. It won t look dirty even after 2 or 3 week you did not wash the car...
Anyway, anybody there test the top speed. My K5 touch 220 on the way to Muar right before reaching Jejantas Melaka. But I think it still can go more...
shah mad
post Jun 14 2012, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 13 2012, 05:29 PM)
My max was 210 cuz the jumpy steering doesnt give me much confidence to go faster than that. Im not sure if Kia can do something about it.
Actualy it was down the hill chasing subaru forester and I think the K5 can clock 240 or maybe 250 the top speed. I will try next time. Will let you all know. At the moment i am not going outstation.
What happened was right after hand over the K5 fr the Bangsar Dealer, me and my brother took the car straight to Penang. Start the journey bout 4pm Friday 11 May 2012 and reach Penang bout 8pm. We pekena Nasi Kandar Line Clear then after that cruise the journey and reached Alor Star at 10pm. After tapau 16 bungkus keteow Iman at Mergong we headed back to KL. We reached KL bout 3.30am saturday and the mileage was 1050km already. Sat mrng at 8.30am send the car just to do alignment 1st. In the afternoon bout 4pm, took my family to Muar. On the way, there i met the Subaru Forester. Coming back form Muar the mileage is already 1700km. Then I send for my 1st srvis. Complaint to the service manager (Mr Robert - Red Cube) bout 1 or 2 things
It is good for the car to "Running the Engine" long distance rather than start - stop - start all the way b4 1000km - advised fr the head of mechanic fr the mercedes benz group...for me the K5 is superb...when the meter clock 180 and above (200 - 220) u can feel it is very stable on the straight road...

Added on June 14, 2012, 12:24 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 13 2012, 05:29 PM)
My max was 210 cuz the jumpy steering doesnt give me much confidence to go faster than that. Im not sure if Kia can do something about it.
Actualy it was down the hill chasing subaru forester and I think the K5 can clock 240 or maybe 250 the top speed. I will try next time. Will let you all know. At the moment i am not going outstation.
What happened was right after hand over the K5 fr the Bangsar Dealer, me and my brother took the car straight to Penang. Start the journey bout 4pm Friday 11 May 2012 and reach Penang bout 8pm. We pekena Nasi Kandar Line Clear then after that cruise the journey and reached Alor Star at 10pm. After tapau 16 bungkus keteow Iman at Mergong we headed back to KL. We reached KL bout 3.30am saturday and the mileage was 1050km already. Sat mrng at 8.30am send the car just to do alignment 1st. In the afternoon bout 4pm, took my family to Muar. On the way, there i met the Subaru Forester. Coming back form Muar the mileage is already 1700km. Then I send for my 1st srvis. Complaint to the service manager (Mr Robert - Red Cube) bout 1 or 2 things
It is good for the car to "Running the Engine" long distance rather than start - stop - start all the way b4 1000km - advised fr the head of mechanic fr the mercedes benz group...for me the K5 is superb...when the meter clock 180 and above (200 - 220) u can feel it is very stable on the straight road...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 14 2012, 12:24 PM
shah mad
post Jun 15 2012, 11:23 AM

Hei Guys, received a call form one SA (Kia Dealer Bangsar) saying that he have one unit K5 colour Platinum Graphite Model 2011 under promotion. Only ONE UNIT left...Hurry....Discount at RM3000, Free Tinted worth RM1000, Free Cyristal Plate, Free Full Tank Petrol, Free Smart Tag. Ready Stock. Please call Mr Khairul at 019 2569231 for more info...
shah mad
post Jun 18 2012, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 17 2012, 05:42 PM)
My Optima is the Silver. In my opinion, the silver looks the most classy. It also has this great shade of color at night under street lights. But the biggest advantage is the maintenance. U can easily go without washing your car for 1 month and it will still look clean from afar. Just do a Sierra Glow and cleaning will be an ease and it will always shine.

White is great too but only when its clean. Plus, ive seen many faded white cars (after about 3-5 yrs) and it really looks dull. Platinum graphite doesnt really bring out the best in the car. I saw 2 of those colors today and it didnt have that 'wow' look like the silver and white have. PLus when its dirty, it looks really bad.

My advice is to go for the silver. U wont regret and it always looks great and makes the sport rims stand out. Silver also brings out the best in the overall car design and gives it an overwhelming demeanor on the road. I still keep getting stares/looks at traffic light stops, restaurants and even on the highway.

Besides, anybody here has a silver Optima WWK 772? He had quite a good run on the highway on Sat evening doing about 200kmph.  rclxms.gif
Yep! I vote for Silver too.
shah mad
post Jun 19 2012, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Jun 18 2012, 10:16 PM)
hmm.gif

ipoh greentown just call me want to book it or not.
honestly, still consider it.
but what he told was 200 units AP application only.
Just go for it. You won't regret...

Added on June 19, 2012, 11:23 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 18 2012, 08:48 PM)
Guys, can some adjustment be done to correct the floaty steering wheel when driving >90kmph?
You need to send the car outside and not to Kia sevrce centre. Kia don't have the equipment. You need to do " Balancing On Wheel"....Not all the shop have this equipment (the machine). Maybe 1 or 2 shop can do it without the machine...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 19 2012, 11:23 AM
shah mad
post Jun 20 2012, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:36 AM)
But that is balancing. The problem is not due to tyre balancing. This is a steering issue.
If this is the steering issue then u need to send the car to Kia Service. Let me know if the problem is solve.

Added on June 20, 2012, 10:15 am
QUOTE(John Cheng1234 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:46 AM)
Check out this work shop to fix your car.

http://www.korean.com.my/
Hi John, If we send our car to this workshop, what happen to our 5 years warranty?

Added on June 20, 2012, 10:20 am
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 01:49 AM)
Soma is working on my problem.
Yes! let us know bro...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 20 2012, 10:20 AM
shah mad
post Jun 20 2012, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:21 AM)
Bro, every car has issues. If u google, ull find problems with most of the car models in the market now. So if ure looking for a car without problems, ure probably better off with public transport.  biggrin.gif

http://www.chron.com/business/article/Feds...tos-3642030.php
You are right, man...
shah mad
post Jun 21 2012, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:20 PM)
Guys, just to update you on my car. Kia have not really been able to identify the problem but they have agreed to change both the rear shock absorbers FOC under warranty. Ive also complained about the front driver's power window having a 'rough' sound when in motion. They have also agreed to change the entire motor assembly FOC. But the parts have been ordered and will arrive next week. My front foglamps were replaced yesterday. That too FOC.

Not sure if the problem will be resolved but they want to replace the shock absorbers as part of an elimination process. If that doesnt solve the problem, they will take a closer look at the steering assembly. This is the instruction from Naza Kia HQ.

I must say that i am quite impressed with Kia's response to my problems. They acted fast and had no hessitation to make replacements even though it wasnt cheap. If it was Toyota, they would have fought tooth and nail to defend themselves before admitting to any faults. Its good that Kia have a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty program. Surely a plus point.
Cybermaster...that is a good news Let us know after you change the absober if the steering problem solve or not..

shah mad
post Jun 22 2012, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 21 2012, 06:27 PM)
Doesnt matter if u puchased cash or otherwise. The very fact that Naza Kia can deliver CBU cars fast is a clear statement that they are serious about customer service. U find me another car manufacturer that can deliver newly launched CBU cars within 2 weeks. Even Toyota cant do that. So lets cut them some slack. This problem is not caused by Naza in any way. If u wanna blame anybody then blame the Gov.

Delivery time is not important in my opinion. Whats more important is the car itself. The fact that ure getting a value for money car at such a price together with an excellent design is more important. Doesnt matter if its delayed even a few months. SA's can always promise the world and we all know that Kia is in the process of rebranding so that involves front end improvements. This change cannot happen overnight so lets all be patient and give Naza Kia the support they need.

I collected my car today and im very impressed with their warranty support. Even though they couldnt locate the problem but they still agreed to change both rear shock absorbers to 'give me peace of mind'. I doubt u will ever get this kind of treatment at any other car manufacturer. Plus after all the testing, they even gave my car a wash. Resolvement of the problem was followed up by an email confirming what they had done in addition to many phone calls to keep me updated since 2 days ago.

This is something to be proud of so appreciate it. Vehicle warranty is the most important factor not delivery time.
cm98, how bad is yr steering float problem? Kia have to give you a new rear absorbers cause of that steering floating problem? The steering shaking very bad or what?
shah mad
post Jun 25 2012, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Jun 23 2012, 04:02 PM)
Sorry bro, I have keep copy & paste  tongue.gif  thanks for correcting me

Added on June 23, 2012, 4:09 pm

I like to speed up too sometimes, but only in highway and safe condition ..( less car & etc)
Me too, but only at the right place and at the right moment....
shah mad
post Jun 26 2012, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jun 25 2012, 02:04 AM)
since my SA is giving me the voucher for tinting, I will go ahead to use the voucher. The voucher is only to be use at Solar Tint. They have branches at Setapak, Ampang, Subang USJ, Sri Gombank and Damansara. Below is the promotion/brouchure I found on solartint.com.my
Im using autoguard. Foc from dealer. Cost about RM1,200 if I am not mistaken. tinted at SS2 PJ. Excel Cool Enterprise.

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:28 AM)
I too was planning to change to Michelin but then after driving for some time i feel that the Nexen tyre noise is not as bad as i expected. Surely u cant compare with a Michelin but do keep in mind that changing all 4 tyres to something like Michelin would cost you about 3-4K. As far as braking efficiency and road grip is concerned, its quite ok. Not the best for sure but not bad either. You dont need to worry too much as the car's safety features are also good.

So in short, i didnt think that spending 3-4K to change tyres now was a good decision. Ill change when the tyres wear off in a year or two.
You are right la cm98. the nexen tyre is not that bad. As long as it can grip the tyre is fine. We don't have to spend 3-4k to change to a new tyre. We will wiat until the tyre wear off then we should discuss bout which tyre brand to change...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 26 2012, 12:40 PM
shah mad
post Jun 26 2012, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2012, 03:23 PM)
The better tyre would be the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 2. I heard the PS4 is already in the making.

Added on June 26, 2012, 3:28 pm

Yes new tyre models are coming out every few months. So im not gonna change the Nexen now unless i have good reason for it. Ive driven at high speeds on the highway during heavy rain and the tyres did not disappoint. No loss of grip and braking distance is quite ok. Maybe cuz its still new but ill see in about 6 months time.

Added on June 26, 2012, 3:32 pm

It depends against which tyre he is comparing. If he compares against a NCT 5 tyre, the Nexen would be super quiet.  biggrin.gif

Anyway, i wont really trust tyre shops about tyre ratings. Most tyre shops will talk very positively about tyres which they wanna push off fast or tyres which are their backbone. Best way to know is to go online and read independent reviews. Many good websites out there. But dont just go for brand. A Michelin may not always be the best. Go for value for money.

Many think the Michelin PS3 is the best out there for this range of cars but in actual fact its the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assy 2 which comes out top.
How much is Nexen8000, NCT 5, Michelin PS 3 and Goodyear Eagle F1? Do you know CM98?
shah mad
post Jun 26 2012, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2012, 03:51 PM)
The PS3 and Assy 2 are top of the range tyres while the NCT is just entry level. Nexen 8000 is somewhere in between. Both PS3 and Assy 2 is about RM900 or less a piece depending on the shop.
You mean Nexen8000 is around RM600 - RM700 or less?
shah mad
post Jun 27 2012, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 26 2012, 05:24 PM)
Not sure. Could be. But why bother going for another Nexen tyre if your intent is to change?
I just want to check and to compare the price only. When the time come then will decide which brand to choose. Anyway thanks for the info bro...btw, where r you located?

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Jun 27 2012, 11:38 AM)
it is a stat that tells u the speedometer going to be different..speedometer measure rev/min from wheel then translate to km/hr..meaning if u change tire to a different circumference, u will get distorted measurement of speedometer, like mentioned in the table

besides that, it will also affect other parameters like done mileage, fc and so forth, but as long as u know it, u jsut do your own calculation...besides, it is 1~3% difference only

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:41 am

i know, but my point is, why the item is not available in jayong or ebay or so...
Guys...try here...
Naza Auto Solutions (Asia) Sdn Bhd
Lot 8245, Jalan 225 Off Jalan Templer
46000 PJ Selangor
Tel: 03 7960 5875.

Hope this will help...

This post has been edited by shah mad: Jun 27 2012, 02:10 PM
shah mad
post Jun 28 2012, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jun 27 2012, 09:26 PM)
bro... got lah... u have to tear off the black sticker  tongue.gif
ha ha ha...joker la u all biggrin.gif
shah mad
post Jun 28 2012, 02:57 PM

QUOTE(hitokirizero @ Jun 28 2012, 02:00 PM)
SA called...my car will be available tomorrow or Saturday...plate no WWY ####
hopefully things will go smoothly.. sweat.gif
Good for you...Welcome to the K5 club Hitokirizero... nod.gif
shah mad
post Jun 28 2012, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(delaneau @ Jun 28 2012, 02:23 PM)
whose bright silver K5 always park at ara damansara, near NZ Cool and the Perodua showroom...always make me drive slow to have a glance at it...^^
Mine i guess... nod.gif
shah mad
post Jun 28 2012, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(joonnyx @ Jun 28 2012, 03:46 PM)
Bro, you have been asking quite a number of us to wait for WXA, do you know something we dont? wink.gif
Yela...anything to do with Fen Shui...?

0.0261sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:56 PM