V2 Kia Optima K5 club

ken7908
post Apr 18 2012, 11:15 AM

78 posts

i guess taiko K5White meant given all the spec, why bother the least important?

i have the same thinking, glove box flimsy feel is just a very very minor issue. It might make u feel less 'shiok' with that price tag with a flimsy glovebox, but what the heck......other spec u don't even get at that price tag! And my car is coming this week!!! yeah! tongue.gif
ken7908
post Apr 19 2012, 12:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 19 2012, 10:34 AM)
Congrats, bro. Yam cha with me in Klang when u got ur car. LG color right? I want to see.

kawan, mine is PG too, sama sama like u. LG belum ada mah....and i prefer PG. Seen the LG color in Korea for the hybrid model......not my cup of tea wo....
ken7908
post Apr 19 2012, 05:47 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(PGK5 @ Apr 19 2012, 03:37 PM)
Welcome to the K5 family. when you are playing games from your smart phone, the sound can also be blasted from the infinity system. Meaning playing games with surround sound in K5 smile.gif
wahahaha.....so kancheong meh? play game pun mau to turn on the infinity system? rclxms.gif

Added on April 19, 2012, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Apr 19 2012, 05:06 PM)
hand very very itchy lar..cannot tahan..
this weekend going to klang search for best price for rims and tyres !!

only thing holding me back is the trade in value
below 2k for complete stock rim and tyres..need to add ard 4k for asy2 tyres and replica sparco rims inc cone and all
haha, i oredi start thinking changing rim even before car mari....hehe.....buntut gatai drool.gif

trade in won't be great bro even in Klang unless u know someone here. Perhaps u might pay lesser lo using the replica.

This post has been edited by ken7908: Apr 19 2012, 05:49 PM
ken7908
post Apr 19 2012, 06:44 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Apr 19 2012, 05:58 PM)
play angry bird on Infinity a bit wasted rite? haahaha...

RM4k is on replica lioaw...dunno tahan like the stock set bo..but definitely lighter than stock..
don't take those sparco replice or other branded replica one, then will be cheaper lo. come come klang.....i'm very nearby to those tyre shops but never check the price yet as I not yet get my kereta .

don't la play angry bird in the car....play a bit kancheong punye game la.....angry bird no need such sound system...kekeke rclxms.gif
ken7908
post Apr 20 2012, 08:04 AM

78 posts

Guys, just wanna check on the security tinting film. Do u think it is sufficient to only stick on 3mil film on the side windows?

One of my friend whom is in tinting business told me not to use any film more than 4mil as it potentially causing mechanism jam over the power window after few years, especially if u use a lot of power window. Any input here based on experience?
ken7908
post Apr 20 2012, 05:25 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 20 2012, 02:10 PM)
Guys,

Did you get your sunroof insured? If so, how much? Would it be separate from the other windows?
same like what others mentioned before, i just insured my windscreen/windows/sunroof on the normal standard 15% insurance premium from the total sum insured. In my case, i paid rm450 for rm3k coverage.
ken7908
post Apr 20 2012, 05:54 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 20 2012, 05:50 PM)
Cant wait to own K5 next week when my number reach - WWR 1xxx  rclxms.gif
wa lazy to wait, ended up taken WWQ6xxx. but then still the car need to wait till next week baru keluar due to slow processing itu cukai....... cry.gif no K5 for me this weekend. No rim hunting liao this weekend with bro irangan..... shakehead.gif
ken7908
post Apr 23 2012, 10:39 PM

78 posts

Guys,
Do u think it is necessary to install alarm?

And I was considering the front sensor too as the car is more for my wife. Any input of opinion?
ken7908
post Apr 24 2012, 07:13 PM

78 posts

Not all are skillful and have tow truck. At least the alarm will keep those being chase away. This is just a mentality thingy....depends on how u value the existence of alarm.
ken7908
post Apr 28 2012, 05:38 PM

78 posts

yeh yeh yeh....baru dapat my baby K5 in PG color which has been sitting in the HQ for quite few days. The car wait me to get them, not i waiting for the car....hahaha tongue.gif paiseh.....

ken7908
post Apr 30 2012, 03:18 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(joonnyx @ Apr 30 2012, 11:32 AM)
Hi Guys,

I just placed a booking for a K5 and should be getting the car within the next 2 - 3 weeks. I was wondering how is the power like of the 2.0 in a body such as this. I managed to test the car during the roadshow in BU a month back. the accelaration from slow speed seems ok but i didnt really manage to go above 90 so was wondering after this speed, would the acceleration be still acceptable? My wife has a Forte 2.0 wit the single cvvt engine and on that car, its fast and responsive though engine sounds very unrefined, just not too sure how would it perform on the K5's body.

Any inputs will be appreciated.

Added on April 30, 2012, 11:32 am

I think he meant circus as a roundabout...
generally, u can't expect a 2.0 car without turbo to have a great acceleration. For me, the car is good enough as I have set my expectation to be within the normal D segment range. Btw, my car is pretty new clocking 400km only and many says it would be better after 1st service at 1000km.

Well, make it simpler if u have tested a similar 2.0 category of D segment:
- camry 2.0 is much less responsive
- about the same like accord 2.0, K5 plus point is you can play around with the paddle shift to make it much more responsive
- heavy footed during normal driving will cause a quick gear change to low and causing sudden high rev. Best play with paddle shift when overtaking to avoid this happening.
- don't ever compare with passat, a4, mondeo, 508 which all carrying a turbo. You are then comparing apple and durian. tongue.gif

ken7908
post May 3 2012, 10:19 AM

78 posts

hey all the K5 owner!

to those whom changed the nexen tyres, mind to share share the best offer you got for trade-in nexen and the tyre changed? I will do my tyre hunting tomorrow in Klang (am a Klang guy btw)....lets do some comparison.

i find it pretty noisy with mine at 240 pressure, especially after my ride yesterday in NKVE with heavy rain......not really good with wet condition too.

Arigato!
ken7908
post May 4 2012, 10:39 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(greenapple7 @ May 4 2012, 10:26 AM)
Hi all k5 owners,what the best offer/discount n interest loan rate u got for this beau?
Thanks in advance for sharing...soon or later will grab this beau ,hoho...
Maybank 2.5% for tenure of 5years

Added on May 4, 2012, 10:41 am
QUOTE(feng yun @ May 4 2012, 09:54 AM)
Going for my first ~1000km service tomorrow  rclxms.gif
I'm going for mine today....got the "nyek" sound at the back and rattling noise over the left passenger belt. Other than that everything ok....

This post has been edited by ken7908: May 4 2012, 10:41 AM
ken7908
post May 4 2012, 06:16 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ May 4 2012, 02:12 PM)
the item reached me today lioaw...going to install it tonite and going for long journey
Bro, kasi update the outcome oh. Considering also......
ken7908
post May 5 2012, 08:00 PM

78 posts

Mine is a PG color, arigato
ken7908
post May 6 2012, 03:27 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(jimz97 @ May 6 2012, 03:21 PM)
Me too PG @ WWQ
Sama sama kawan, WWQ color PG. cheers
ken7908
post May 7 2012, 09:16 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(Andy72 @ May 7 2012, 09:10 AM)
Any audio warning if the footbrake not released?
Yuppie, that is confirmed it does come with buzzer if not released
ken7908
post May 9 2012, 08:38 PM

78 posts

Kia charging some rm150 for the wheel balancing alignment.
ken7908
post May 10 2012, 12:30 PM

78 posts

Eco mode only make sense during city drive. With or without Eco mode I guess somehow not making much difference on the fc. Twice I fill up rm120 and manage only 600km with 80% city drive.

Somehow I felt smoother drive with the Eco mode. It prevent sudden jerk when heavy footed and over rev. U can say more uncle style but it helps for me coz 50% time I'm carrying my small boy with me.
ken7908
post May 13 2012, 12:25 AM

78 posts

I just done driving a Camry 2.0g from klang to kuchai lama both ways via npe. All I can comment would be Camry is much sluggish compared with k5, handling is totally disastrous if cruising more than 70KM/h over curvy or corners over the npe stretch.

Noise level is pretty similar with k5, maybe a little lesser due to the 16" rim. Perhaps the passenger would feel a bit more comfort, but for me the driver feels a bit more jumpy over the uneven road.

One thing I really surprised is the FC, it was showing average of 12.1km/liter which close to 8.3liter/100km! That I would say wow. Other than that, it was a poor driving experience compared with k5. Imho, accord 2.0 would also best Camry anytime.

0.0432sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:55 AM