V2 Kia Optima K5 club

kenso77
post May 14 2012, 09:14 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ May 14 2012, 09:13 AM)
printing fault ?!! are u sure abt this ? there are website already publishing abt this price drop already
Yup, pretty sure coz immediately after seeing it, I called Peugeot directly and asked. You can verify for yourself by downloading the pricelist from their official site:

http://www.peugeot.com.my/pricing--specification/

Look for 508
kenso77
post May 14 2012, 09:58 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ May 14 2012, 09:19 AM)
the website has not been updated with new CKD price...current price is still with CBU or not mentioned at all...

and yeah, i dont think they will drop so much for CKD unless lower specs or some features taken out..not kiasu, but judging from previous CKD units like passat tsi
Simple, bro .... website updated or not, it IS a printing error. You are always welcome to call Peugeot directly and ask them (1800 88 6292)

From a business point of view:-

1) The CBU and CKD price of the 3008 is the same. In fact, many are not even aware that the 3008 CBU has been changed to CKD
2) it makes no sense to market BOTH 3008 and 508 at the same price. Though they cater to 2 different crowds, the specifications on the 508 far outweighs the 3008 (and that's considering the 3008 is ALSO a CKD now)

kenso77
post May 14 2012, 02:11 PM

179 posts

Sigh, in 1 hour's time, no more K5 for me cry.gif
kenso77
post May 14 2012, 05:32 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Landy @ May 14 2012, 03:52 PM)
Go buy 1 and welcome to the club.... rclxms.gif
Hahah, if only I had not bought that property, I'd have gone for the K5 without a second thought.

Here's another angle of the new Graphite Blue that was seen in front of PJ Red Cube:

I looked purplish to me but some of my friends whom I forwarded the picture to says it's bluish to them. What do you think?
kenso77
post May 15 2012, 08:23 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 15 2012, 01:10 AM)
gearbox issues? I got no problem driving up to 190km/hr. Look for SC and try it out with him in highway.
I also managed to hit 190kph at one time ... something wrong if the car can't go beyond 150kph .... at that speed, even a MyVi can smoke it
kenso77
post May 16 2012, 12:12 PM

179 posts

Just saw a white K5 with the K5 emblem instead of the Kia logo at Citta Mall .... nice
kenso77
post May 17 2012, 08:37 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ May 17 2012, 07:54 AM)
First see if u really need the tint or not. The glass in the Optima is UV cut glass. Ive left the car in the heat and ive found it quite ok. Im not installing any tint as i plan to change the front windscreen every year or two (insurance).
I find the stock UV cut glass to be ok too; heat rejection is good but HM still finds it glaring. If I tint, it's more to do with reducing glare than heat rejection
kenso77
post May 18 2012, 09:36 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(septrain @ May 18 2012, 09:31 AM)
Yest I saw a white K5 behind me with a PG no plate. So nice. Now I don't know whether to get the white or silver
Eh? No more 508? brows.gif
kenso77
post May 20 2012, 07:55 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(septrain @ May 19 2012, 10:23 PM)
Anyone know of any Branch giving disc on the K5? Went to the Kia Roadshow @ The Curve today and one SA told me he can give me 2k disc if book during the roadshow. Others I ask during the roadshow say no discount. Weird.
Doesn't sound like anything special also
kenso77
post Jun 1 2012, 07:36 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(marcus.ych @ May 31 2012, 11:52 PM)
wat do u think if the monthly instalment is more than 1/3 of ur salary for dis lovely car?
I think it is unwise .... a car is a liability, no matter how pretty
kenso77
post Jun 1 2012, 05:17 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Jun 1 2012, 04:54 PM)
Guys, will this voltage regulator void the warranty?
Definitely not if you could remove it and restore the engine bay to stock look
kenso77
post Jun 2 2012, 07:53 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(booboobear @ Jun 2 2012, 02:28 AM)
Sierra glow is just a wax coating.
Wax? You've got it wrong, bro
kenso77
post Jun 21 2012, 07:43 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Puggy @ Jun 20 2012, 10:53 PM)
I bought optima k5 on Monday 18june silver colour n was told by salesperson that my vehicle is in storage ready but waiting for Govt approval documentation. I was told today that I can have light graphite colour next week but not sure when silver can be ready even though have silver color units in storage ready but no approval letter. I contacted NazaKia but they are useless n customer care cannot even give estimated date when approval will be obtained. Anybody have any news on this approval documentation? First time buying Korean n from Naza n already problem!  rclxub.gif
As I've said before in the Kia FB page, this reminds me of last year's Volkswagen Passat CC fiasco where certain quarters (read: competitors) were making complaints to MOF and Customs that they feel the Passat CC's price is sold too low. Customs then wanted to impose an RM30k duty on the car which was insane, particularly when

1) the stocks are in port/some in dealerships
2) cars were committed to customers with sales orders, brochures and other documents clearly stating the selling price
3) the price increase is not going to the company (heads straight to the government) which means P&L of the model is affected.

In the end, after months of delay, VW had to bow to both government pressure and declare a new price (to the loss of the customer since there is NO INCREASE IN SPEC despite the price being jacked up significantly):

http://paultan.org/2011/05/28/volkswagen-p...ase-in-pricing/

As a customer (an angry one too), we just don't give a sh*t about whatever that transpires between Naza and the government and we just want our cars fast but sometimes, we can't always blame the principal for every crap policy we have in our country. I hope Kia and the government can resolve this issue in a manner that's beneficial to all parties soon (and not go the VW route)
kenso77
post Jun 21 2012, 10:56 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jun 21 2012, 09:19 AM)
So for those customers that booked earlier got affected with the new price?
No idea IF there's going to be an increase or not. Price increase would create the wrong kind of impression (you can expect lots of people blasting Naza for being greedy, dumb, blah blah blah) and is probably the last resort if all else fails. I hope it won't come to that.
kenso77
post Jul 3 2012, 04:26 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 3 2012, 12:36 PM)
Guys, does our Optima come with heated side mirrors? Its standard on all trims overseas. Also, have u guys set up the bluetooth function for handphones? How? Also, is there any test drive report for the Malaysian Optima K5? I dont see any.
I did a K5 test drive review when I won it for a week and took it outstation a few months back:

http://www.kensomuse.com/the-kia-k5-heads-south-2/

though it's pure outstation drive. Didn't have the chance to test FC for pure city drive.

As to the Bluetooth, it's the same for the Sportage and Forte as well. First you need to ensure your car is stationary as it will not allow you to pair when moving. Also, you need to ensure that the paired devices are not already full. Press Set-up -> Pairing -> It would then display a search key '0000'. Turn on Bluetooth on your phone and search for devices. You'll find a new Kia device ... pair it and enter the search key. The head unit will show a message saying pairing is complete once done and with my iPhone/iPod/iPad, I could stream songs and movies through the sound system.

On a side note, I've managed to get my hands on the maintenance costing of the K5. Will update in the article later

This post has been edited by kenso77: Jul 3 2012, 04:29 PM
kenso77
post Jul 4 2012, 11:22 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Stock^K5 @ Jul 4 2012, 10:26 AM)
"tolong lah bang, cuaca panas lah... u dahaga? nak minum kopi i belanja"  kawtim!
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif rclxms.gif

0.0450sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:43 PM