Samsung Galaxy S III Thread V1, Available May 29th

river.sand
post Apr 17 2012, 11:15 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(vxv @ Apr 16 2012, 11:04 PM)
i saw that superbuy got the advertisement for s3. will de price of s2 drop on the announcement of s3 or just drop when s3 arrive at malaysia?
The S2 price just dropped last month. I think it will be a few more months before it drops further; or maybe Samsung will discontinue it.
But the price of Nexus - currently at RM2,099 - is likely to drop.

If you are planning to grab an S2, I advise you not to wait...

This post has been edited by river.sand: Apr 17 2012, 11:15 AM
river.sand
post Apr 17 2012, 03:33 PM

3,806 posts

Just want to know: Do you prefer the physical Home button of S2 or the soft button of Nexus?

There are rumors which say that S3 will retain the physical button.
river.sand
post Apr 17 2012, 04:14 PM

3,806 posts

Rumors from BGR...

Lastly, we have heard from a trusted source that the Galaxy S III will feature a physical home button in the middle of the device under the display, and it won’t use the on-screen navigation buttons Google introduced in Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich.

http://www.bgr.com/2012/04/16/samsung-gala...al-home-button/

river.sand
post Apr 17 2012, 09:45 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Apr 17 2012, 07:34 PM)
It doesn't matter who launch first but who optimize it better. And i believe Samsung will optimize Exynos better since it's their own built processor.
Meizu is guinea pig mah brows.gif
river.sand
post Apr 18 2012, 04:11 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 18 2012, 03:01 PM)
i thought s2 price already dropped?

even if its a minor update s2 is still going to drop because s3 still considered new product

and there's GNote
I think S3 will be priced at RM2,099 or RM2,199; list price, that is. Street price would be lower.
List price of S2 is now RM1,699.
river.sand
post Apr 19 2012, 10:34 AM

3,806 posts

There are two threads for SGS3. Can the moderator merge them?
river.sand
post Apr 19 2012, 03:48 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Apr 18 2012, 08:02 PM)
Another Rumor for Samsung S3

i hope the news is not true.. !! Pray that the coming S3 is as amazing as S2 at that time!  rclxms.gif
I'm sure S3 is going to be a major upgrade over S2, but a minor upgrade over Nexus.

S2 - Ginger Bread; S3 - ICS; but Nexus runs on ICS too!
S2 - WVGA; S3 - 720p HD; but Nexus also has 720p HD!
S2 - Super AMOLED Plus; Nexus - Super AMOLED (no Plus); S3 - Super AMOLED Plus???

So I don't expect surprises from S3. Nonetheless it's still going to be a good phone.

river.sand
post Apr 20 2012, 10:30 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Apr 20 2012, 10:10 AM)
US$899.99 sweat.gif
river.sand
post Apr 20 2012, 04:57 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 20 2012, 04:50 PM)
using micro sim also ??

http://www.theverge.com/2012/4/20/2961981/...-test-case-leak

*same as previous link, got extra 1 more picture only
Not Super AMOLED Plus? sad.gif
river.sand
post Apr 25 2012, 05:16 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Apr 25 2012, 03:54 PM)
that one is definitely fake one, all samsung phones only have 3 buttons
US version 4 buttons...
river.sand
post Apr 26 2012, 05:14 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Apr 26 2012, 04:57 PM)
32nm quad core processor. Way to go.  rclxm9.gif
+1
I am not so concerned with processor. More important to me is ease of use and 'fluidity'.

One thing I notice on my S2 is that when I change the orientation from vertical to horizontal (and vice versa), it takes a few seconds for the display to re-orientate. I hope S3 will be faster in this area.
river.sand
post Apr 27 2012, 09:12 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Apr 26 2012, 10:08 PM)
The sketch shows physical Home button wor... I thought the leaked video indicates on-screen buttons rclxub.gif
river.sand
post Apr 27 2012, 12:42 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Apr 27 2012, 11:39 AM)
"In Korea, Samsung will use its own solution that will allow the phone to have 3G and LTE connectivity"
what kind of own solution? no details sharing... US customer will butthurt  biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
In the US, LTE operates at 800MHz, and in Korea, maybe 2.6GHz as in Malaysia.
I suspect Samsung chip only supports LTE @ 2.6GHz, while Qualcomm supports LTE @ 800MHz.

So, if we can an S3 in Malaysia, we can't use it in the US sad.gif
river.sand
post Apr 27 2012, 02:10 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Apr 27 2012, 02:08 PM)
When did he became Samsung's exec?  shakehead.gif
Maybe Samsung exec visited Penang, happened to bump into him.

But, does Samsung have a factory in Penang!??
river.sand
post Apr 27 2012, 04:00 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 27 2012, 03:25 PM)
Should have done your homework before buying, haha. It's okay, though. S2 is still a very very capable phone. It won't be obsolete for another year, I reckon.
I did my homework before buying S2 - I waited until its price dropped rclxms.gif
Poor people - has to be like that lor biggrin.gif

river.sand
post Apr 27 2012, 04:38 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 27 2012, 04:35 PM)
me always prefer white than black
in short, 2 of them also boring already
hope to see new colour, like blue, purple, green, lol
blue is the colour that got higher chance to release than purple and green
so far didn't see the phone using green and purple colour
Actually, they can make replaceable back covers, with various colors...
river.sand
post May 4 2012, 08:35 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ May 4 2012, 08:08 AM)
honestly, i'm impressed by some of the software features like

Pop up play
It lets you do two things at once: watch HD videos as you email or text.

Smart stay
It waits till you’re asleep: so long as you look at the phone, it maintains a bright display.

dun see why Samsung can't just let other Samsung phones have the same thing... smile.gif
This is how Samsung forces us to spend money mah...

river.sand
post May 4 2012, 08:39 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ May 4 2012, 07:53 AM)
Pentile vs non Pentile will make quite a big difference, especially during a prolong usage like web browsing or gaming. For pentile matrix, you will see a burning marking on a long usage which is the downside of it. I'm quite surprise that Samsung didn't equip it with a "plus" screen like S2
Maybe the Plus (non-Pentile) display is not ready for HD yet cry.gif

river.sand
post May 4 2012, 08:46 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ May 4 2012, 08:41 AM)
Spend more money? Meaning? Is it by subscription or something? Did I miss anything?
I mean, if Samsung's cheaper phones, e.g. Galaxy Y has all those extra features, who want to buy S III?

river.sand
post May 4 2012, 08:56 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ May 4 2012, 08:54 AM)
anyone knows when will it be available in bolehland?
The subtitle of this thread says 'Available May 29th'.

0.0234sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:40 PM