►+♠+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V.XXX8-+♠+◄, The Rise of the PE

Cavino
post Apr 18 2012, 10:43 AM

842 posts

Honestly I've high expectation of CFE version of Preve. Did not expect their qc to be even worse than PE. Anyway for me to consider replacing the PE with CFE Preve, I might consider ONLY after their mid-life mod where 2nd improve version of Preve appear. See how much improvement 1st generation Persona and mid-life PE difference.....solved most of initially issue and improve looks and performance on some....so will wait.

For me, actually I'm quite ok with PE. If compare with other conti, jap or even korean (korean is getting very good, almost comparable with Jap tho have not tried the award winning elantra yet, high expectation there), sure lose kaw kaw.

However if compare with other vehicle at same price range, I'm actually like PE especially its superb handling. I'm talking abt H-Line tho with its improved NVH, leather seats, abs, etc vs M-B lines. Without LCP, its really has lousy pickup with the dated gearbox but with LCP, its a different beast (or shoot I say tame animal)..oh....changing air filter every 10K is a must. The last time I change change at 15K....whoo...my PE gained much noticeable renewed power, so I will make it a must to change air filter every 10K. Less than RM20 for that power (abt 5-6 months usage). RM40 a year, worth it since our IAFM effect improve a lot for that replacement.

Now even my wife that keep complaining PE totally no power, commented, PE pickup ok liao but brake not so makan....ya right, just change the FBK branded front pads. Earlier complained abt LCP increased noise, now get used to it liao, so it become part of usual car engine noise....I think why many did not comment on the extra noise produced by LCP. It sounds bassy similar to those changed exhaust noise, some ppl will actually like it. Me...immuned liao. LCP increased low end torque is a MUST for auto PE. Without it, I will call it a shitty car with no pickup. Now I actually enjoyed driving the PE, sometimes more so than City due to the handling (pickup still lose a lot but stability on higher speed, City lose kaw kaw).

NVH is quite good, still lose out to my City but last time I open windows and drive and then close....very big different. Dashboard rattles after 6 months...but even Forte rattles after a year. Rear seat noise solved and if appear again, retape and problem solved. Rear right windows noise issue that irritate me for a few months suddenly disappear liao...rubber got cured?? (I used Xan method and lubricate the door rubber with rubber softening lotion, works a short while, then appear again....but a couple of months, right now, it disappear liao).

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 18 2012, 10:50 AM
Cavino
post Apr 18 2012, 01:25 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Apr 18 2012, 12:47 PM)
haha.. hard to predict but sure lar BN will win again this election. I just read in news paper, government should let youngster to do demonstration because it's their voice to attention for.
then let's having demonstration to abolish NAP lor  whistling.gif
Keep on dreaming abt NAP abolishment. Government WILL NEVER abolish NAP. They are DESPERATE for the income generated from NAP policies. It might cause outflow FDI but they NEED they INCOME now. Government is running out of money since most Government assured incomes like TOLLS are diverting the $$$ into privately connected individuals with some handouts given to government in form of taxes, ya right, what government should earn is the billions of ringgit from tolls that should rightly be theirs (government) rather that millions from taxes.

NAP that triggers high car prices (taxes) is one of the major key income source for the government in these trying times. Abolishing it will be like chicken and egg thingy....no NAP-caused income for government, they will raised taxes thus disposable incomes from public to buy the lowered pricing cars also reduced drastically...If the NAP was abolished earlier on before all the car manufacturers shifted operation to Thailand and Indonesia, we still have hope. Now we're only hoping for some leftovers from those manufacturers....if ever.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 18 2012, 01:26 PM
Cavino
post Apr 18 2012, 01:27 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(VincentChen @ Apr 18 2012, 01:26 PM)
ur spoiler, ur rims, ur brake ur fuel pressure regulator whistling.gif
menang rich fag spotted, all the mod i do also got lower FC one, thats why i do laugh.gif

Added on April 18, 2012, 1:26 pm
extractor consider wear and tear, only got 10k warranty
Tot someone is asking abt projector lamps and HID....you mean installing them will lower FC????
Cavino
post Apr 18 2012, 04:18 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 18 2012, 04:11 PM)
Jazz Hybrid with the VTEC is way sweeter.
Smaller tho...Preve is a sedan and although Jazz Hybrid is good, its still a small car without boot...(I'm bias, car without boot is a big no no to me.
Cavino
post Apr 19 2012, 01:14 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 19 2012, 10:27 AM)
Linear speed increase is boring. I'm sure most of us will agree with this. I don't wanna just get to the top speed of the car, I wanna feel the process of getting there.

Just like sex. Orgasm & the process of getting there is equally important. With premature ejaculation you get to orgasm quicker, but less foreplay & thrusting is needed. What is sex without all that? Might as well fap. What is driving without gearchange? Might as well take the train.

And you won't be satisfied with the CVT not only because of this, but because the gearbox is unable to handle more torque than specified. That said, modifications that increases hp & torque may shorten your CVT's lifespan.
Spoken like what you are and still is, a young chap. I think most older ppl like me prefer smoother and comfortable drive. CVT, once you know how to minimize the rubberband effect, is ultra smooth and a joy to drive. Not the rev-rev joy like what you enjoyed but the smooth cool sailing type of joy that our pained backbone prefered. What is driving without gear change? Mmm....definitely not the type of rev rev high speed ride you prefer but the smooth cool sleepy 90-100km/h that I've always prefer unless I'm in a rush.

Just like sex, when you're young, you prefer the process of getting there.....our older back might not be able to handle too long a process....just get our lust done with, finished the job. Might as well fap right....., errr...well fapping is lonely, sex is not. Of course there are always old pedo and perverts but those are of different category all together.

Torque....I want powerful pickup BUT I do NOT need to feel them. "Unsupported" torque increment do shorten CVT life span thus I never feel the need to do any engine mod to the City. What I mod is to restore original power and improve handling and smoothen flow and ride ie, strut, photo-conductor cable, GC.

Thus is the case of the new Civic. Some lousy review mentioned no feel, too comfort and silent, etc defeating what Civic was initially targeted to be...a driver's car. Now become more and more like accord, a matured, smoother non revy ride. For me, I would have prefer the new Civic silent and non revy ride anytime vs the sportier version. Of course once in a while, we may have a need for speed, that is a different story altogether. Maybe its just me tho...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 19 2012, 01:21 PM
Cavino
post Apr 19 2012, 03:08 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 19 2012, 01:30 PM)
We've had this discussion before, many many threads ago. It's a preference, again I'd say. I'm not denying the CVT is good at providing a smooth ride, but then too smooth makes me.. Err.. Sleepy?

Would you then say that CVT is the best gearbox available out there? smile.gif You may love durians, so do millions of others, but I may be from the minority that doesn't.
Errr....If you read again my cheong hei post, it actually points to what you just summarize....preference. Young chap usually, revy revy ride , older no so active chap, smoothy and sleepy ride....of course older rich b*stard with those sport cars...revy revy wan, car enthusiast is the key word for what you prefered.

I never mentioned anywhere CVT is the best gearbox, it never is and most probably never will but it does has it niche and provide certain other "feel" and efficiency that normal tranny does not have, preference. As a matter of fact, my post was to point to what you post earlier that what you mentioned driving should be (aka similar to sex part, just might contradict what some other ppl might feel towards driving, not everyone can go long foreplay...ouch my back hurts)....

Hope no offense is taken, coz did not mean it as offense...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 19 2012, 03:09 PM
Cavino
post Apr 24 2012, 10:33 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(farcry84 @ Apr 24 2012, 09:26 AM)
Last ATF change was during 20k km major service if im not mistaken..now 34k already...i noticed this fc change after last minor service..no mod..all stock..

as for petrol..most of the time use petronas 95...sometime shell 95..

SC use shell engine oil(the yellow bottle)..good or not?? sweat.gif
any good oil recommended for persona??

maybe i'll wait until next service...then see how d FC change...
im afraid SC not changed engine oil..just guessing bcause i was not there during service...nature call that time.. tongue.gif

yeah...looking for performance pad...original one very soft...almost hit a car when emergency brake..but i heard using performnce one will affect d disc..is it true? what if bed in is not done properly?? just  curious happy.gif
Guess you're not H-Line?

Shell lube somehow does not work well for most of PE forumner here. So no one use Shell lube. If I'm not wrong, yellow bottle Shell should be Shell Helix HX5. Thats a mineral bro. All of us here using semi-syn lube by default. Semi-syn is currently the default lube used officially by Proton for PE.

So definitely degraded performance, not really bias against Shell lube but many PE here not good performance with Shell lube, somemore you're using SHELL and MINERAL at that...

Good oil, depends on your budget. If sticking with budget of abt RM100-RM105 for lube, Castrol Magnatec is recommended at less than RM90. Lots of fake outside tho. Can go for stock Proton Petronas Syntium 800 Semi or the better Caltex Havoline Semi at RM105 at SC and petrol station respectively. If upgraded to Fully Syn, Cusco was recommended by Xan being relative cheap (RM145 or something) with good performance (altho some mentioned louder noise). Some now testing Eneos but no feedback yet.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 24 2012, 10:36 AM
Cavino
post Apr 24 2012, 12:44 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(farcry84 @ Apr 24 2012, 10:58 AM)
mine is H-Line..

so shell one is not good 4 our PE eh?? must remember that.. nod.gif

Cavino..is ur siggy true?? fc 8.5 for h-line?? town or hi-way drive? quite high as 4 me...
mine 8.3 n that already give me headache..usually is abt 8.1 n below...
Thats FC is real world calculation not based on our idiotic fc meter. Real world, km used divided by liter pumped. Avg it out over a few refill, thats the REAL AVG. If based on my car fc meter, I periodically get 7+ to 8 liter per 100km. But when calculate real km used vs liter refill, always goes above 8liter/100km. Avg out to 8.5-8.7. Avg 65/35 city highway ratio.
Cavino
post Apr 24 2012, 02:25 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(que0788 @ Apr 24 2012, 02:19 PM)
Hello ppls!
Right before i changed ma battery..onboard calculator showed 11-12L/100km..i too sked to kira real life one..after tukar battery(reset ecu) meter now showing 8.0-8.3L/100km..calculated over 3xfull tank my real life fc is 8.2++ biggrin.gif
I think the meter tracks d total distance according to the odo over total fuel in the tank over that distance..so its only acurate early on and become less acurate over time because it doesnt take into consideration mods etc..unless u cabut d batt/flash ecu..judt resetting the onboard calculator alone wouldnt b enough to increase its accuracy rate..
Just ma 2 duit smile.gif
I reseted both the mileage AND the fc meter everytime I pump. Same inaccurate figure.
Cavino
post Apr 24 2012, 02:42 PM

842 posts

PE is the only car where the fuel meter can rise slowly up when we drive more FC safely....told my daughter, PE very good wan, can generate fuel. I then drive aggresively at town, needle drop very fast then hit highway and drive a longer distance smoothly (FC wise, good), she see my fuel tank needle moving upward.

I think this is the only car that track our fuel tank not by real tank level BUT actually combined it with predicted fuel usage. Thus when we drive aggresively, it will calc fuel tank level usage based on our current driving style then when change to smooth driving, it will recalculate the new style and raise the fuel tank needle accordingly.

I don't think this is true, which idiot will design the fuel tank needle to do that (those digital reading, maybe.....but this with fuel tank level????)....so I still say maybe my PE really can generate fuel....either that or some fuel was stuck somewhere when we drive aggresively then when smooth driving, it trickle back to the tank and refill it up a bit..
Cavino
post Apr 24 2012, 03:06 PM

842 posts

Also I found out unlike other cars where anything going at 100km/h, sure poorer fc than lets say 80km/h....but I find PE actually feel more torqy at 100km/h and gives better fc at that range. So my FC is better when I drive smoothly at 100km/h rather than 80km/h.
Cavino
post Apr 26 2012, 02:07 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:31 PM)
I always take those fuel saver thingy with a grain of salt. Still can't figure HOW a thingy plug into your power socket will save FC...

Why car manufacturer don't put that in for extra cost of RM 1.2million a year.....if it really can save FC by that much, ANY CAR MANUFACTURER will put that in to boost FC saving claim thats quite a critical selling point especially for budget car. Perodua will make that back in seconds if there is CONFIRMED BENEFIT without CONS. The CONS.....RM200 costing. PRO...placebo effect, might not have really or negligible performance increment (HOW CAN A PLUG AND PLAY POWER THINGY that don't touch the ECU improve FC by that much, go figure.

Take for example the LCP, for me, its an absolute necessity for H-Line PE. Why PROTON don't use that instead of ultra heavy thingy that they used? Durability might be an issue, compromising other components, ie harmonic resonance, etc. Its safer to go for something that compromise a bit on performance and gives longer term durability. Cost saving in long term. I'm risking it all cost I need the early arriving torque that comes with it.
Cavino
post Apr 26 2012, 02:59 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 26 2012, 02:37 PM)
Auto need it more than manual ma..
Yes, thats what I mean. H-Line equal auto tranny. Manual still ok, LCP improves it further but its not a necessity, IMO. PE auto tranny with huge power loss really need it to ensure a satisfactory ride at low end.
Cavino
post Apr 26 2012, 03:53 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(unknownhammie @ Apr 26 2012, 03:28 PM)
Hankook V12 RM320 , 205/55/16

apa macam?
V12 sidewall is a bit soft, so have to pump more than normal. Cornering grip is ok. On par with PP2 but not PS3. Dry grip good, wet grip excellent. Absorb lots of road bump, hump, etc, so pretty confortable. However road noise is a but subjective, some ok like me, some say noisy. Once hit 50%-60% tread balance, quite noisy. Overall I love it for my City probably coz City short and hard suspension did not do well with hard sidewall tyres in terms of comfort.

It supposedly have a tech that minimize unbalance treadwear. It works on mine coz I always wear on side of my tyre on one of my City tyre, using V12 twice, no unbalance wear. At 50% treadwear, grip still good, wet handling is still excellent. However if pump not enuf air due to softwall or something, at times feels unbalance during more sandy road. Adding 2-3psi above norm solved that for me.
Cavino
post Apr 27 2012, 09:04 AM

842 posts

If looking at it, PE mostly sold at M and B line with minority at H line. Thats not even 60K yet for H-Line.

Wondering how many will break dig into their saving trying to bankroll a car beyond their means (for those that going for 50K plus car then force themselves to add 10K for Preve). There's now a glaring market gap for Proton between 53K to 60K car ride.

For me, thats where most ppl that can afford over 50K budget will go for. Over 60K car is a bit too high...DEFINITELY WILL LOSE more market share to Perodua in this primary market price range.
Cavino
post Apr 27 2012, 11:17 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 27 2012, 11:09 AM)
Phased out d lo.. COSE now displaying B line only.. M line pun tarak..
The assembly and build quality of even new Preve still needs to be proven. Until then, they taking a big risk forsaking the their crucial 50K to 60K market to push into 60-70K market. Probably using only Saga top line to cater for 50K+ market. Still think from now on, a bigger market share here will jumped to turtle. Should have at least kept M-Line to cater for mid 50K range to cover all market. Now they're forcing ppl to chuck out at another 5K to 15K extra if they don't like saga or b-line PE. Thats a lot of $$$ for most ppl living at this price range.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 27 2012, 11:18 AM
Cavino
post Apr 30 2012, 02:14 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Apr 30 2012, 02:04 PM)
Don't need appointment lah. If can take off just go early morning walk in. Simple.
Although I never tried, I believe CoSE will cater for "emergencies", not talking abt walk-in unappointed servicing but those that cars developed problems, breakdown, etc. I doubt they will turn you away if your car develop "possible" serious problem. Met a couple once at CoSE at 7:45am, I always choose the earliest appointment time, car breakdown, no appointment, asked by mechanic to come CoSE very early in morning, will get slot in even if no appointment.

Can't garantee for walk-in servicing tho...so make your case like a serious case of possible breakdown, it'll force their hand if your car might possibly breakdown anytime...servicing, they can always delays you for later if they want...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 30 2012, 02:15 PM
Cavino
post May 2 2012, 03:34 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ May 2 2012, 02:41 PM)
Then which tyre is good? in my mind is Yokohama C-Drive 2, Falken 912 , CC5 only. Any good recommend?
C-Drive 2 although initially have good review seems to falter a lot on noise after awhile. Too many ppl complain on the loud noise generated after some usage. 912....I never consider anymore. Performance and noise degrade drastically after some usage. CC5.....also ppl complain degraded performance after some usage.

The only 1 entry level or near entry level tyres at our original size that receive good review at the beginning and even after some usage is Michellin XM2. Dry and wet grip good, of course its not PS3 level. A bit expensive but since i myself can get near dealer price (my uncle do for relatives), I guess unless new tyres appear, I might go for it in the future for my stock PE size. I would have gone for PS3 but no size for our stock PE.
Cavino
post May 2 2012, 05:46 PM

842 posts

CoSE got Petronas ATF XP3 or not? Will be going servicing at the end of May.

0.0492sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:15 AM