Proton Preve is not a global car but cut cost car, You must read this before you buy Preve

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 12:47 AM, updated 14y ago

125 posts

Yesterday I went to check out Proton Preve (Premium Spec) in a proton show room.

I got a shock when I noticed Proton Preve has welding joint on the
door side. Please see picture for the location of the welding joint.

A good quality and solid car should not have any cut cost and less safety
welding joint on the door side.

The car in the picture is Proton Gen2 (in China) that does not have any
welding joint on the door side.

The Proton SA and I checked Proton Persona and Proton Saga BLm in the show
room, we did not see any welding joint on Persona and Saga BLM.

My Wira has welding joint on the door side which I do not blame because
I understand Wira is an old model of proton car

Do you think proton Preve is a global car?? sweat.gif
I doubt it... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 01:52 AM

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 12:54 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 15 2012, 12:49 AM)
Just because of that its a lousy car? Wow
At least Persona and Saga BLM are better than Preve in this area in terms of
safety and the solid level of the car body.

But bear in mind Persona and Saga BLM are not global cars; but Preve is a global car..

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:00 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Apr 15 2012, 12:55 AM)
why din take picture ?
I did not expect this welding point on Preve since I knew Persona
had good quality original solid door side that without any cut cost
and less safety welding joint...

Very disappointed on Preve as a global car like this...

You'd better go to proton show room to check it out yourself..

I will check on the reinforcement bars on Preve later, I forgot to bring
my torch light when i was there...

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 01:04 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:08 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(nzh0920 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:05 AM)
now i only knew the safety level of the car can measure by EYE one.....
but how come manufacturer waste so many money to go through NCAP test leh.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
because those judge can use eye to SEE those welding and value the car how many start already...  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Welding joint on door side is weak and not strong enough to absorb the side impact when accident..

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:11 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(hanifw @ Apr 15 2012, 01:06 AM)
Are you working for Toyota (Vios division) or Honda (City division) ?
Then you are working for Proton? tongue.gif

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:21 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(hanifw @ Apr 15 2012, 01:14 AM)
I'm a Malaysian. You must a singaporean. kiasu. lol.
What ever you say lah....

I just want to share what I have found out for this high quality
global car only...

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:26 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 15 2012, 01:11 AM)
dear TS, i have not seen the car, but if you say so i will take not on this, But could you show a clearer picture what you mean by welding Joints.

i noob in metal industry. anyway to find out is to buy one car and crash test it side ways, head on and so on.
Please double click to enlarge the Gen2 picture on my first page to
understand the location of the door welding point on Preve.

My point is very simple:
If you have a choice, do you prefer to have a welding joint or no welding
joint on a "drive it to believe it" global car..?

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:31 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Apr 15 2012, 01:24 AM)
thanks for the sharing, maybe could show us more supportive material?
You'd better go to Proton Show room to see it yourself.

My wira welding joint's workman ship is even better than Preve,

At least my wira's welding joint is welded completely and no
hole; but for Preve, the welding joint is not welded completely
and you can see the hole...very scary quality...

This means my wira is welded 100% and cover the hole (joint) completely;
for Preve, it is only welded 50%, so you can see the hole...

Added on April 15, 2012, 1:31 am
QUOTE(dude14 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:28 AM)
i bet he must be trying so fukken hard searching every inch of the car...
Because I am a serious buyer for Preve...

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 01:36 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:43 AM

125 posts

There are only very few people will notice on this thing....
when they open the door, they will look to the interior only...

The next issue is front and rear reinforcement bars...which
almost nobody will pay attention to this...

Added on April 15, 2012, 1:45 am
QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 15 2012, 01:40 AM)
I am not going to buy Prevé but a Persona or a Wira because it is better and safety, and it is not a global car.

Ok.
It is your money... you can buy any cars you like, this has nothing to do with me..

Added on April 15, 2012, 2:01 am
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 15 2012, 01:40 AM)
guys, TS is only pointing out what he saw on the car, although there are some bashing, but all in all we should thank TS and go see it ourselves.  there are no point arguing it here.  so MOD PLS CLOSE THIS THREAD
This is not what you so called "bashing".

I just pointed it out that nobody will notice this welding joint issue.
And this is the fact happens on Preve as so called "global car".

Please go to Proton show room to check it out yourself.

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 02:01 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 02:13 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Apr 15 2012, 02:06 AM)
are u sure it is a welding or whatever it is.
some panels has been 'welded' together using synthetic glue which is meant to join the panels together.

i believe preve will have a high edge in cost cutting, whihc is normal. but the welding alone wont cost too much. just for the joint itself i might be because of other circumstances it has to be done in this method.

u need to check other makes to prove the point.
Boss, you'd better go to Proton show room and check it with your own eyes.
The Preve's cut cost welding joints and holes are very obvious there.

At the same time, check also Persona and Saga BLM that do not have
welding joints on doors, then you will know the difference..

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 02:17 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(HanzoRacing @ Apr 15 2012, 02:15 AM)
Mind asking does the BMW 3 series has world class welding as well? rolleyes.gif
I know Proton Gen2 exported to China does not have welding joint on door..

Added on April 15, 2012, 2:20 am
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Apr 15 2012, 02:14 AM)
it is if u don't know what the hell u r talking about sweat.gif  no offense
No matter you like it or not, at least you know there are welding joints that have
not welded completely on Preve's door side.

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 02:23 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 02:29 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(HanzoRacing @ Apr 15 2012, 02:15 AM)
Mind asking does the BMW 3 series has world class welding as well? rolleyes.gif
Then what do you think about BMW...???

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 02:33 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 15 2012, 02:32 AM)
mana gambar, pondan.
Go to see it yourself lah...agua...
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 02:59 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Apr 15 2012, 02:50 AM)
WTF? I am certain the Preve will be safer than most Japanese ASEAN spec cars (the Avanza does as bad as the Gen2/Persona). Who cares about the welding joints in the door. To me that's just cosmetic, thus irrelevant. Will the car do well in crash tests? That's what counts. How are the materials they have used? You can't see that.

Of course if you can explain to me WHY visible welding joints are of any importance then I may change my mind. The welding can be of good quality (and how else are you going to connect the parts? You wouldn't want to use the same steel for the whole door, because you'd either use low quality materials which won't withstand anything or you'd use high quality steel, which probably has other problems, such as costs or weight. It seems like they have added a side impact bar to protect the passengers).

Seriously, chill and wait for ANCAP results. Then we shall see if what Proton promises is true. smile.gif
Very simple mah...

If this welding joint is acceptable for you, then this Preve is ok for you loh...

But I am a bit worried small cockroach can go in to build their house there..

Added on April 15, 2012, 3:01 am
QUOTE(punkLOL @ Apr 15 2012, 02:53 AM)
Bro, u trying to say there is a spot weld on the door that is weaken the door rigidity??
Please go to check Persona or new Saga first, then you will know the difference...
you will know which one you prefer..

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 03:01 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 03:04 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(punkLOL @ Apr 15 2012, 02:53 AM)
Bro, u trying to say there is a spot weld on the door that is weaken the door rigidity??
Very simple mah...

2 pieces of short broken steel bars welded and joined together, versus
one original no broken steel bar, which one is more solid?

Added on April 15, 2012, 3:07 am
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 15 2012, 03:04 AM)
Hahahahhaha so takut welded parts kah?

if you strip down the car and look at how many parts of your chassis are welded together, you will probably never want to sit in a car ever again.
I expect Preve is like Persona, but not like wira...understand...???

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 03:07 AM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 03:16 AM

125 posts

This is the reason why Australian can get 6 air bags;
while Malaysian can get only maximum 4 air bags....

Because Malaysian are not demanding for high quality products...

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 03:23 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 15 2012, 03:16 AM)

Just for your info, the Waja had the stiffest chassis in proton's line of products, more than a volvo S40. The preve chassis is specced to be even stiffer than the waja.
I hope so... biggrin.gif

TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:31 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 15 2012, 06:36 AM)
lol...those are safety features la..even the mitsubishi lancer has it. it is the part where 2 different metal strength are used.

Added on April 15, 2012, 6:45 amfrom inspira

Added on April 15, 2012, 6:46 amuser posted image
Your picture did not show the welding joints..

This is not the ugly welding joints I am talking about on Preve..

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 01:49 PM
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:36 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 15 2012, 08:28 AM)
this answers everything and everyone learns something new today.

say thank you to mitsubishi for having this in user manual, and yes, proton is bad because they never include this in their manual, thus making TS very very concerned and confused.
This is not the welding joints I am talking about on Preve.
Please go to Proton showroom to check it out..
TSDiamondBar
post Apr 15 2012, 01:53 PM

125 posts

Please only comment here after you see the proton Preve...

If you do not see the car, all your comments here are nonsense..

I found out there are many personal attack here...very rude people..

This post has been edited by DiamondBar: Apr 15 2012, 01:54 PM

0.0252sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:51 PM