6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

DT1
post Oct 1 2013, 05:54 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(silentpang @ Oct 1 2013, 04:11 PM)
Thanks for the advise.
im doing HITT Training every morning for 30minutes 5days a week is it enough?
can i need to add in weight training like 3 days a week for faster fat lost? Is It too much? 30minutes on weight lifting is it enough?

Very depressed, coz my waist line didn't seems to getting smaller... duno am i doing wrong things... or am i losing muscle not FAT~  cry.gif
Why go the hard way when you can just consume a proper balanced diet in line with your TDEE, and exercise lesser days.
DT1
post Oct 1 2013, 06:42 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(silentpang @ Oct 1 2013, 06:21 PM)
hmm... mayb i didnt see any result, so im so depress, thinking that is it i'm working out too little? or my diet got problem...
So are you advise me keep my diet below mt TDEE and working out like usual is enough? The rest depends to TIME?
Emphasis is on a balanced, natural diet with minimal refined foods. Next comes going slightly below the TDEE.
Then there's weightlifting and sprinting to maintain your fitness levels and muscle mass, in addition to your overall health.
And you're depressed because you didn't see results? How did you expect to see results without a proper end goal in mind and a solid plan to achieve that goal? So by such inference you are probably depressed about your own mental weakness and failure to garner the willpower to work hard towards a goal, as opposed to getting depressed due to not seeing results. Anyhow, conclusion would be, to come up with a proper and achievable plan, and follow through with it.

This post has been edited by DT1: Oct 1 2013, 08:55 PM
DT1
post Nov 6 2013, 02:55 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 6 2013, 12:19 PM)
I do think of the consequences. Unfortunately it can never triumph over my urges. I just feel like eating something yummy all the time. Self discipline so lacking.  cry.gif
I don't think about weight problems actually. For me it's others things like insulin sensitivity which leads to diabetes, heart disease, diminished gut performance leading to poor digestive health and nutrition absorption, potential development of cancer, etc. These factors are enough to deter me from touching most unhealthy food.
DT1
post Nov 7 2013, 06:56 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 7 2013, 08:42 AM)
I think nothing can save me now. Even I think of that kind of consequence, it still cannot deter me from eating. Trying my very best to control. Used to eat quite heavy for 3 meals. Now cut down quite alot-but still insufficient. Still feel hungry, itchy mouth, urge to be glutton all the time.
Hmm, it doesn't mean you can't eat though. Just make the right choices. E.g. roasted chicken breast over ice cream, green salad over a milkshake, tofu over ais kacang. The ability to just stick with the choice ensures success. Just like how you deal with work stress - either swim or sink - those that are resilient eventually rise to the top - those that are weak just remain where they are.
DT1
post Nov 8 2013, 09:42 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(LoveMeNot @ Nov 8 2013, 08:51 AM)
I know I can eat. Unfortunately it's so hard for me to resist those unhealthy yummy food. but I'm trying really hard now to replace it with good ones e.g. salad. If only I can just switch off the urge. Is there medication or something to suppress the appetite huh?  rclxub.gif
Hmm, it's a mental game. Notwithstanding that, you're probably addicted to sugar (yes there is such a thing). It's just like cigarettes, you'll probably feel bad trying to remove it. How I dealt with it: changed my taste buds to love healthy foods such as greens, salads, roasted chicken, sour yogurt, etc.

How it works:
1. Once you start eating these first (just take the first mental leap!), you won't have much space or appetite for extras anyway.
2. Knowing that sugar is bad stuff, it'll slowly set in mentally to try to avoid it. In the medium term, once your taste buds have become accustomed to blander, more natural taste of foodstuff, any sweet things that touches your tongue will be quite pronounced (you'll feel a slight dislike).

I wished I had your appetite though! Having good appetite is a very good thing. Use it to your advantage!
DT1
post Nov 8 2013, 09:51 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Ghost_XIII @ Nov 8 2013, 09:45 AM)
good morning to all the sifus here..i got a question...im trying to lose some weights (fat of course)..i've eat less and do some exercise(cardio and some weights)...so the question is,how far should i push myself?i mean i've read in some article too much exercise can be bad..so at what point should i stop and give myself a rest day or two?
Learn to love exercise due to how good it makes you feel.

For a beginner, probably three times a week is good.
Monday: intense
Wedn: medium intensity
Fri: medium-slightly relaxed intensity.

Sat and Sun relax, get a massage, read a book, take a stroll in the park - go barefoot and touch some trees at some point. Get recharged for Monday.

Don't eat less. Just eat right.
DT1
post Nov 8 2013, 01:43 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Ghost_XIII @ Nov 8 2013, 09:56 AM)
yup..loving it..
getting up in the morning for a jog is kinda hard(im lazy lol) but when i finished my usual course it felt really good...but today the area around my shin feel quite sore when im running so that kinda raise an alarm..
I'll leave it to the other members to give you a suggestion on rest or training.

Personally, if I feel pain, I will not even touch that part. Will allow it to rest and heal completely, maybe add in some gentle stretching and massage to aid its healing and recovery.
DT1
post Nov 9 2013, 12:58 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Ghost_XIII @ Nov 9 2013, 04:27 AM)
hehe..exact opposite of me...if i feel pain in the area,i would keep touching it..the sudden jolt of pain feels kinda good..makes me wonder if im turning into a masochist lol...
Then you have a problem. Lack of self control.

You'll see much safer and better progress with self control.
DT1
post Nov 9 2013, 06:29 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Ghost_XIII @ Nov 9 2013, 03:38 PM)
Hehehe..really?
Anyway,did run again this morning..the pain is still there but not as bad as yesterday..well,it wasnt that bad to begin with...gonna take a rest day tommorow.
Really.
DT1
post Nov 13 2013, 06:05 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(luckystar55 @ Nov 12 2013, 12:17 AM)
i wanted to slim down since 2006, but i end up put on more weight, just can not resist the nice food around. don;t know how to be more discipline. Any want have any idea how?
Ideas? Plenty. It's written all over this thread and the ones before. Re-read.

QUOTE(slimey @ Nov 12 2013, 01:09 AM)
go get the nice food. it is ridiculous to have an extremely strict/clean diet and have strong cravings for certain food.
the diet plan is bound to fail.

so go get the nice food. include it in the diet. but control the portion and frequency of the nice food.
Don't bother, they have not reached their "Harajuku moment" yet, meaning the point in time that they are mentally fixated on change due to the occurence of certain circumstances, usually negative. I can't understand why "nice foods" can't be a Caesar salad, roasted chicken, grilled portabella mushrooms, spinach and cottage cheese, etc. and why dieting is usually seen as forgoing nice foods. blink.gif
DT1
post Nov 13 2013, 07:22 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(tuan birch @ Nov 13 2013, 07:05 PM)
impossible. i see his activity all day. he never do anything.

my theory is he have natural high metabolism rate. many people are like this.

my gf eats alot too, very lazy girl, but she never gets fat.
There's still the BMR. And since we're on the topic of coming up with theories, I'd theorize that a high metabolism rate would probably contribute to a difference of one meal averaging 400 calories.
DT1
post Nov 17 2013, 12:42 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(rikusakurai @ Nov 15 2013, 05:34 PM)
Well guys, i been trying to lose weight around 5 month and i did lose from 103kg to 78kg... I see my body still chubby a bit... So wanna ask sifus here, what is least exercise do you do per day to shape your body? FYI, i will walk bout 3km everyday... Is it enough?
You could do HIIT runs about 3 times a week, on allternate days. http://www.marksdailyapple.com/what-are-ta.../#axzz2kpLpWOYM

Or using the stationary bike. http://www.fitocracy.com/knowledge/dr-layn...-in-15-minutes/

Yes, three times a week is all you need. What's more important would actually be your diet.

Higher healthy fats and protein, moderate levels of complex carbs, lots of mixed vegetables, mushrooms, and some fruits here and there, and zero sugar and refined carbs. All that, while maintaining about 10% below your TDEE.

This post has been edited by DT1: Nov 17 2013, 12:45 AM
DT1
post Nov 18 2013, 01:39 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Nov 18 2013, 11:48 AM)
The key challenge sweat.gif still working on it.
Really? Comes easy to me though. Exercise consistency in terms of intensity is the tougher one.

Allow me to give a diet example, maybe it can give you extra ideas.

Morning: Half boiled eggs, olive/coconut oil, oats, black coffee/green tea. < filling, convenient, and fast.
Lunch (assuming you're working): Green smoothie, roasted chicken, some boiled potatoes, ice lemon tea (without sugar).
Dinner (assuming eating out): Plain nasi lemak with fried egg and some sambal / alternative: rice + dhaal + multiple veg types. Upon reaching home: one 500g tub of plain yoghurt, a bowl of blanched spinach and white mushrooms without dressing.

Above is similar to what I eat on a daily basis. I believe it's gonna be within your TDEE, most likely even giving a deficit. Can't be any faster either.

This post has been edited by DT1: Nov 18 2013, 01:48 PM
DT1
post Nov 18 2013, 02:58 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Nov 18 2013, 02:33 PM)
Thanks for the idea! I'm cutting down on carbs and that's where my struggle is. I'm a bread and sugar lover (which is bad) and being an asian, so used to growing up with noodles and rice (which I'm taking brown rice at the moment). Besides on weekends and some weekdays, I would eat with my friends. The menu are all carb-loaded. Friends love desserts just as much as I do and sometimes we'd binge on it after workout. Finding ways to tweak my meals at the moment and how I could still hang out with my friends without giving in to temptation doh.gif

I get hungry pretty easily/ fast as well. Always need to find some fruits or snacks (nuts etc) to fill myself in. Hope to drink/ eat something that could control my appetite. My body is like a biological clock - come tea time, I'd be craving for something whether I'm really hungry or not.
I think you have some form of addiction to sugar there. Just like caffeine. Many Malaysians are. I wasn't used to coffee/tea/ice-lemon-tea and the likes without sugar too. After a few weeks of persistence, you automatically switch and will start to dislike those with added sugar. Of course, this must go along with the proper understanding that sugar is bad for your health and will lead to increased medical costs and lowered quality of life in the future.
DT1
post Nov 29 2013, 12:22 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 29 2013, 11:28 AM)
Trust me when i say i know my Shit. Like I.said, my sis and i don't do cardio, we eat pancakes, chocolate chip cookies and waffles on weekends, no fat burners. No starving. And my sis is more ripped than me. You can do it. Flexible dieting, calorie counting and weight training is the key.

I was 45kg iny teens, then overweight at 93 kg, dropped to 70kg and maintaining single digit bodyfat year round. So i had a skinny phase, a fat phase. I know how you all feel. Been there done that. If i can do it so can you! Have faith.
With regards to weight and physique yes totally agree that you can pull it off as a key part is total calories expended.

But how about upcoming research on sugar and refined "empty" carbs and their link to long term brain health (e.g. from mental focus, to bigger issues such as Alzheimers), and also gut health and cancer risks? It's too striking to just ignore.

Take for example,..

From a psychiatrist's perspective:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daniel-amen-..._b_2868392.html
http://saddleback.com/mc/ms/75aea/

From an endocrinologist's perspective, there's Dr Lustig from UCSF.

Also Dr Natasha Campbell, a neurologist.. on gut health

An of course our dear Dr Mercola's site with some sources quoted there as well.

Not questioning your credentials as a great doctor, just getting your opinion on this with relation to long term health.

This post has been edited by DT1: Nov 29 2013, 12:33 PM
DT1
post Dec 3 2013, 06:00 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 29 2013, 03:51 PM)
Science exclusively no. Science and experience, yes.
Sorry don't understand your reply..
DT1
post Dec 3 2013, 10:22 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 3 2013, 09:16 PM)
It's in English.
So you're saying the science behind those articles are questionable? Or what? And what experience? It's the context of your reply that I can't grasp man.
DT1
post Dec 4 2013, 11:15 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Dec 4 2013, 01:48 AM)
Then don't try to grasp it.
How supportive. sweat.gif
DT1
post Mar 4 2014, 01:57 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Mar 4 2014, 11:49 AM)
My main concern is to burn fat and maintain/tone my muscle and not planning on building massive muscle over the period of time, just moderate toning will do.
Define building massive muscle over time. If only things were so easy, everyone would be looking good.

Anyway, one scoop before and after workout is fine.

In the future, save your cash for something else.
DT1
post Mar 4 2014, 02:07 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Mar 4 2014, 02:01 PM)
i mean i'm not planning to train bulk muscles, just moderate toning, taking supplement because i notice a significant drop in my lean muscle during diet, and things is certainly easy if discipline are been followed from time to time.
If lean muscle mass dropping, probably means too large a calorie deficit, not enough protein, and lack of resistance training. Fix your diet first before looking to supplements.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0306sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:54 PM