12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

alien9
post Jun 28 2012, 03:28 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jun 28 2012, 03:23 PM)
oic.

so i should cut down on carbs even more and hit the gym after work daily?

there's no danger in losing too much weight too soon right? I've lost close to 8 kilos in about 5 weeks.
8 kilos in 5 weeks is good but not healthy. Our body are made up from water, muscles and fats and etc. When we lose weight, the one that we want to lose is fat because fat is bad. Losing weight just like what you've done is bad because you are losing fat+muscle at the same time due tu very low calorie intake. Muscle is very good. Why? It makes you to be able to eat more without getting fat fast. Do read on one of my link below about BMR.
alien9
post Jun 29 2012, 01:08 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jun 29 2012, 12:37 AM)
totally cut rice for 2 week.

feel like in hell. but the best part :

manage to cut 1kg! yeah. Let get healthy friends!
Congrats on the weight loss. Just asking, do you do any exercises?
alien9
post Jun 30 2012, 06:43 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jun 30 2012, 02:36 PM)
hi bro  biggrin.gif

i dont know if im doing this right or not, but this is my meal plan and exercise :

breakfast : oat with milk 1 bowl

lunch : salad and steam chicken, sometimes change chicken with fish

dinner : before 8 pm, nesvita 1 cup

and yes, first 3 day feel very starving , but to wait for my lunch and dinner im eating various of nut

exercise :

1 week only 4 day because pack of classes in university.

if i go jog, will aim for 3 round around 2 km.

before jog i eat 2 pcs of banana.
please help me if im wrong. now this routine had been do for 2 week .
The thing here is that, you have a very low calorie intake. Probably around 1200++ kcal excluding the nuts. Your goal is lose weight and this diet obviously work with you so far but you have to remember this, very low calorie intake is not healthy because you will lose fat+muscle. We want to keep the muscle as much as possible, because muscle is the main source of metabolism; the calorie burning source be it from food or fat. If you have low metabolism, you will have low capability to burn calorie thus your weight loss result will start to diminished.

So, what is the proper way to lose weight? You need to consume at least 80% of your calorie maintenance. No lesser than that. Eat more protein, reduce carb intake and do exercises be it aerobic or anerobic exercises.

This post has been edited by alien9: Jun 30 2012, 08:18 PM
alien9
post Jul 1 2012, 07:26 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Jul 1 2012, 02:43 AM)
thx for your advice. im seriously need to loss my weight. 4 years ago i was 60kg and very active with rugby tournament.

and this year i feel so ashamed with myself gaining weight until 120 kg because my life style was changing.

and last 3 week i feel very pain at my chest so i go to doctor and check my cholesterol, bp and the doctor say that i need to slim down.

hurm. thinking to go to kevin zahri seminar for advice.
bro can i use harris-benedict theory in calories?

so my basic calories is 2421.4076 so i need to cut it until 1937.12 calories (80%) ? icon_question.gif
Harris-Benedict equation is a good way to know your TDEE@calorie maintenance. But how did you get your BMR? For me, the equation that I've used is the equation that calculate together with your body fat percentage.
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 12:18 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 3 2012, 11:35 AM)
gardenia wholegrain bread 2 slices (57g) 124kcal.

what exactly does this mean? is it a high carb item that should be avoided?

thanks nutrition gurus.
That would mean that, the two bread slices weight 57g and it have 124kcal.
These are the main nutrition info for 2 slices of gardenia wholegrain:

Calories 145kcal
Total Carbs 29 g
Total Fat 1 g
Protein 7 g

To count your calorie, you just need to include these number into your diet. As easy as that.
About the carb, it depends on your goal. You can eat anything as long as it suits your macro and it is healthy.
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 01:59 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 3 2012, 12:53 PM)
http://www.fitnessfrog.com/calculators/tdee-calculator.html

TDEE calculator?

Mine says 2965. That's in calories right?

If 2 pieces of bread = 124kilo calories then i am doomed? one piece of bread already over? or did i get my conversions wrong, i.e 124kcal = 124 calories?
Nope. That calculator is wrong. Mine should be 2500ish kcal but it stated that I have 3263 kcal.
kcal is kilo calories which is what all the foods are using and our metabolism value.

To make it simple, my TDEE would be 2500kcal and 2 pieces of bread is 124kcal.
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 02:48 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 3 2012, 02:39 PM)
Oh, so lets just assume that the calculator is off by the same %, hence mine should be around 2300kcal. 80% would then be 1840kcal, which is like 14 pieces of bread?

So approximately how many kcal would a plate of chap fan (1/4 portion of normal rice) + 2 greens and a small piece of meat be?
I don't think that it is correct that way. You must know your real TDEE as it will ensure that you will lose weight or not.
This is a way to find about TDEE by DT1:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=52659636

2 pieces of bread would be 124kcal. So, to meet the 1840kcal, you would need 30 pieces of bread (1 bread would be 62kcal) but I don't think that someone would just eat 30 pieces of bread a day no?
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 04:05 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(aliqueamyrei @ Jul 3 2012, 04:01 PM)
Hi all,

Wanna ask is Ketogenic Diet good? I heard it is the most effective way to reduce weight for those who seldom do any exercise. I am a programmer with 80kg weight and 167cm height. I know I am obese and currently taking medicine to control my HB pressure and cholestrol level. I hardly do any exercise. Work all the time. Reaching home around 9PM everyday and also do some work on weekend. So I did some Google and found out Ketogenic Diet is the best way for people like me? Any idea?
My answer would be no. Keto is not for someone who are not doing any exercise. Why? Before entering the ketosis state, you must depleted first your glycogen store both from muscle and liver. It is hard to do that without doing any exercises. And to fully utilize the fat burning effect, you have to do exercises to use the energy, if not, the effect would be too slow.

My take would be just do the low carb diet. Lower your carb intake, less rice, less bread take no rice at all.
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 04:51 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(aliqueamyrei @ Jul 3 2012, 04:10 PM)
Like Atkins Diet? But Atkins still got carb intake. So my fat will depleted slower than Keto Diet since carb intake in Keto Diet is lower than Low-Carb diet. Right?
The purpose of very low carb in Keto diet (less than 40g) is to change the 'fuel' usage for the body. Instead of using glucose that comes from carb, our body will use ketones that comes from fat.

Basically, it is all about calorie in vs calorie out. The purpose of lowering carb so that you will have lower calorie in hence creating a calorie deficit. Keto diet is not so easy, you need to count precise calorie, hold out from not be able to eat most carb food such as rice, pasta, bread, roti canai etc.

And you need to do it continuously without taking a break once; by break would mean eating carb. Once you consume carb that makes your carb intake more than 50g (more or less depends on the person), you will get out from the keto state and you need to restart the keto diet. To reenter the keto diet, you need about 2-4 days depending on the person.

The protocol itself is quiet 'troublesome' and to follow it requires great discipline and I would rate it as a quite hard diet to follow. Why? Because I'm doing it currently, just start back yesterday. Even after a one day of intense exercise, I'm still not in the keto state.

There are more easy diet such as atkins etc2. If you are in an unexpected dinner etc, you can skip your diet but keto? Once you are out, it takes days to get in the keto state.
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 07:32 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jul 3 2012, 06:55 PM)
I'm still stuck at work  icon_question.gif  mad.gif not been to gym for a week now
Relax man. Been off from gym for a month, just started back again yesterday. Consider that your week off from gym as a resting week. Your body need to rest to you know, ridding all the accumulated fatigue. If you manage to go to the gym, you would feel like refresh and more energize. biggrin.gif
alien9
post Jul 3 2012, 10:56 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 3 2012, 10:49 PM)
Ok, my TDEE should be around 2517.
So conventional wisdom says that i should be eating around 2000 calories a day.

But how much food exactly is this, in terms of rice, bread etc? Can someone share their experience? Much appreciated.
Good work there man. Now, you just need to know about your macro nutrition. If you are bulking, the usual ratio for carb/protein/fat would be 40/40/20. So, 40% of your calorie should comes from carb, 40% of your calorie should comes from protein and another 20% of your calorie should comes from fat. 1g of carb and protein is 4kcal, 1g of fat is 9kcal.

About nutritional info, you can always see http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ or http://cekodok.com/ for Malaysia food database.

For example, let say that you need to consume 200g of protein. 100g of cooked chicken breast provide 31g of protein so you need to consume at least 640g of chicken breast. Of course it just an example. You can always mix your protein/carb/fat intake. 200g of chicken breast, 10 eggs, 2 serving of whey etc.

alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 01:10 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jul 4 2012, 01:01 AM)
I did Atkins diet few years back (Atkins + 5 days a week workout in the gym). It lasts for 7 months. I lost 10 kgs. But friends said that I look tired and dry (skin). Now, I still go to gym buy I don't do Atkins. Trainer friend told me that low carbs diet makes us tired and dry. I do eat carbs nowadays but not much.
Well, if your workout in the gym is weightlifting, low carb is quite troublesome as you need the energy from carbs to do the workout. Maybe you are going too low? 10kg in 7 months is quite slow IMO. Do you calculate your calorie intake etc2?
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 01:42 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jul 4 2012, 01:22 AM)
My main target is to lose weight. I didn't do a lot of weight but 1 hour of cardio and 1 hour of weight (light ones for toning).

I lost 10kgs in the 1st month. And plateu after losing -10 kgs and my weight increase. I gain back 3 kgs with total lost of -7kgs instead. I did the same regime. Never increase or decrease.

Currently, My trainer gave me a lot of cardio exercises. He told me to increase and decrease my speed from time to time instead of fast pace throughout 20-30 min of jog. That is to prevent muscle burning instead of fat. And he told me to use dumbells or body weight for toning instead of machines.
I would say that your 10kg of weight loss is a total loss * Ba dum tss

This is my take on your weight loss result. You can only lose that much weight in a month when you lose your body water, your body fat and the invaluable muscle. Those muscle is the thing that dictates whether you will continue to lose your weight or just hit a plateau and gain back all the weight you've loss.

I hope that you can read the importance of muscle on my link; BMR and fat loss explained.

Another thing, your PT seems didn't grasp the best way to lose weight and dumbbell and bodyweight for toning instead of machine? That is just funny biggrin.gif
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 11:28 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 4 2012, 10:12 AM)
A word of caution though, I've been doing sit ups, push ups and morning walks/walking the dog and eating 'less' for months. never had any real tangible effect.

About one and a half months ago, decided to finally use the gym in my clubhouse. I alternate between 30 minutes of cardio workout on the threadmill and a weight training regime everyday. At most i'll skip a day in between if my work schedule is too tight. I usually combine both (i.e. double up) on Saturdays and on Sundays I play badminton or basketball as well.

I eat slightly less than the usual 'less' before.

Unlike before, I have actually lost over 9 kilos of weight (as of this morning) which is nearly 10% of my fat arse body weight.

Morale of the story would be if you are serious about losing weight, simple sit ups and exercises just doesn't work methinks.
Sometimes the exercises that we've done is not enough. We keep thinking that these 'exercises' can you lost your weight. For health purpose, maybe it is enough; better than be a potato couch but to lose weight, more intensity and volume is needed, and a well balance diet.

Props for the weight loss result rclxms.gif . How much do you need to lose?

QUOTE(futuredarthvader @ Jul 4 2012, 10:36 AM)
Yeah, booked Sat for morning to afternoon workout session. Gym trainer calling me hahaha, ffk too many times liao! thanks bro, i think i rested too much..hardwork last last week went down the drain.
Sometimes less is more. When you've been working out every day for every weeks, you body do get tired eventhough you do have alternate rest day. Some people take a week break every 8 weeks of heavy intense training, and they will come back stronger. In fact, one of the tip to break plateau is to take a week off. Kinda defeat the purpose if you want to get stronger right? brows.gif

QUOTE(gannicholas @ Jul 4 2012, 10:52 AM)
Lower and side belly fats, so hard to get rid off  doh.gif
That is the main primary fat storage for man. You need to have a low single digit body fat percentage to lose them. And some people, although they have less fat around the love handles, the obliques still didn't show up. Bad genetics. Haha
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 11:40 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Salmah @ Jul 4 2012, 11:21 AM)
Do more exercie that requires your belly strength.
Like sit-ups.
You can do thousands of sit-ups, crunches, reverse crunches, planks, side planks but still the fat won't go away.
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 11:51 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Salmah @ Jul 4 2012, 11:40 AM)
I think it also helps to prevent your belly fats from "sagging" further.
What kind of fats burning workouts would you recommend?
Cos some workouts are for certain parts of our body (legs, arms).
If you have a huge layer of fat in front of your belly, by doing more abs work, your abs muscle will grow thus pushing the layer of fat further hence you will see that you are more fatter than before. Trust me, I've been there biggrin.gif
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 11:56 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 4 2012, 11:51 AM)
@gannicholas well i've set myself a target of 85kg at the end of the year... that's another 5 kilos to go. but am secretly hoping to drop back to at least my uni days weight of ~75kgs eventually.
Loooooong way to go nod.gif
Weight doesn't matter much but physical appearance does. You won't putting a sign telling other people how much is your weight just like Herba**** consumers do right? Hahaha.

My current weight is at 92.6kg and I want to reach 80kg before September. That would be 13kg of fat (not muscle) in two months time. sweat.gif Maybe the time period is too short but drastic measure must be done biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 4 2012, 11:56 AM
alien9
post Jul 4 2012, 05:38 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Salmah @ Jul 4 2012, 02:00 PM)
Then do you have any suggestion to get rid of belly fats?
I am currently having troubles on that.
Do exercises either anerobic or aerobic exercise. Eat a healthy diet.
alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 01:28 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Sutan Tuah @ Jul 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
Sorry for asking.
What's anerobic exercise?
Anerobic exercises are the kind of exercise that you only can do for a short time (around 30 seconds before you need to stop). A very good example is weightlifting. You cannot do 25 reps of heavy squatting without stopping because you will be very tired and your body won't allow you to do that; that is why comes the 5X5 which is 5 sets of 5 reps. Every 5 reps is one set, and you rest between sets.

Compared to aerobic exercises, it can be done for a long period such as slow pace jogging, marathon etc2.

QUOTE(vksheilds @ Jul 5 2012, 06:52 PM)
Losing weight is not few day task it’s like ongoing process and all tummy are not same so everyone need instructor for doing exercise without instructions your blindly exercise may demoralize you but one think is really true that everyone need exercise for loosing fat
This is the key word there. I won't know what exercises that I need to do if I don't do my research. In this IT era, almost all people have access to internet. If they can't google what is the best exercises, how to do them, diet etc, then it's their fault.

I didn't need any instructors at all. My gym PT cost me RM 18.00 per session where I can get all info on the Internet and it's free.

This post has been edited by alien9: Jul 6 2012, 01:29 AM
alien9
post Jul 6 2012, 03:06 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Jul 6 2012, 03:03 PM)
So what should I do? What kind of machine should I use and how?
At the moment, read the pinned thread in the bodybuilding section. There is a thread about diet, training for beginner. Read them thoroughly and twice, and pm me if you got any questions or you can just post it here

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:44 PM