125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

little
post Jan 28 2013, 01:39 PM

50 posts

Increase ur exercise / work out frequency n duration could increase metabolism rate. Thus, fat will be burned faster, but at the same time, u will feel hunger faster too! Then u need to control on ur food.. Eat less oily food n sugary food. U can eat as much as u want as long as u able to burn it.
kennethyap1021
post Jan 28 2013, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 28 2013, 01:01 PM)
Cannot do that mang, have to cope with study and later no energy during workout. Planning to change rice to oat or 100% Whole Grain bread. nod.gif
oat is good enough, the advantage is can help reduce blood cholesterol and may help with weight control.. but only can fullfil ur stomach a short while ...
little
post Jan 28 2013, 11:15 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(kennethyap1021 @ Jan 28 2013, 02:40 PM)
oat is good enough, the advantage is can help reduce blood cholesterol and may help with weight control.. but only can fullfil ur stomach a short while ...
agree, especially on morning, sometimes i take oat (Nestum) as breakfast. It lasts for 2 hours only.. >.<
ended up consume more, biscuit... the easiest food to grab at work place.
darklight79
post Jan 29 2013, 11:08 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 28 2013, 12:59 PM)
- Since I aim to loss fat , deswai low carbs sweat.gif Should I replace those rice with oat or 100% Whole Grain bread?

- Micronutrients = multivitamin right? Calcium Zinc Sodium and vitamins? What food I have to take for these nutrients? I tot fruits and veges have this.
Low carbs may or may not work for you. I grow fat if I take too much protein, believe it or not. Search up Zone Diet or Isocaloric Diet. You might try upping your fat intake while decreasing carbs.

QUOTE(little @ Jan 28 2013, 01:39 PM)
Increase ur exercise / work out frequency n duration could increase metabolism rate. Thus, fat will be burned faster, but at the same time, u will feel hunger faster too! Then u need to control on ur food.. Eat less oily food n sugary food. U can eat as much as u want as long as u able to burn it.
No, it only works to a certain extent. Excessive cardio is treated by the body the same way as it treats an excessive caloric deficit. You actually cause slowdown of fat burning. Slow and steady, a loss of 1.5-2lbs per week with a 10-20% caloric deficit is the key here.
habibz84
post Jan 30 2013, 11:34 AM

68 posts

hi, need some advise from sifu. correct me if im wrong ya. this is sumting i just learned.

my bodyfat
(264lbs x 1.082) + 94.42 = 380
380 - (40inch x 4.15) = 214
[(264lbs - 214)] x 100 / 264 = 18.93%

my BMR
66 + (13.7 x 120kg) + (5 x 185cm) - (6.8 x 29yrs) = 2437.8

my total calorie needs (active 6days a week)
= BMR x 1.725
= 2437.8 x 1.725
= 4205.2

if my goal is to loss weight and build muscle at the same time, i need to reduce my calorie intake to 15%-20% with good diet/meal ?
StarCandy
post Jan 30 2013, 08:45 PM

131 posts

Hi all, this is my daily diet routine..
I'm trying to lose some weight here ( I'm a student and I walk around a lot )

This is my eating routine (weekdays)

Breakfast:
Bread ( chocolate cream) or 1-2 packet of oat biscuits
Milo

Lunch:

Small portion of white rice + some vegetable + 1 stick of hot dog

Dinner:

Same with breakfast

**I usually exercise around 4-5 time a week, mostly jogging only since it is easiest way ( for 30-45 minutes)
** I also always drink plenty of water
** For weekend, I eat at home and usually eat bigger portion than in weekdays

Can anyone drop some comment regarding my diet whether it is suitable to lose weight?

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by StarCandy: Jan 30 2013, 11:42 PM
little
post Jan 30 2013, 11:22 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Jan 30 2013, 08:45 PM)
Hi all, this is my daily diet routine..
I'm trying to lose some weight here ( I'm a student and I walk around a lot )
This is my eating routine (weekdays)

Breakfast:
Bread ( chocolate cream) or 1-2 packet of oat biscuits
Milo

Lunch:

Small portion of white rice + some vegetable + 1 stick of hot dog

Dinner:

Same with breakfast
**I usually exercise around 4-5 time a week, mostly jogging only since it ie easiet way ( for 30-45 minutes)
** I also always drink plenty of water
** For weekend, I eat at home and usually eat bigger portion than in weekdays
Can anyone drop some comment regarding my diet whether it is suitable?

Thanks smile.gif
remember to eat more fruits. To increase ur vitamins and mineral intake.
U need more carbohydrate too.
Say no no to hotdog. It is heavy in artificial stuff - u know what i mean. Replace it with other protein - white meat, eg: egg, fish and chicken.
StarCandy
post Jan 30 2013, 11:41 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(little @ Jan 30 2013, 11:22 PM)
remember to eat more fruits. To increase ur vitamins and mineral intake.
U need more carbohydrate too.
Say no no to hotdog. It is heavy in artificial stuff - u know what i mean. Replace it with other protein - white meat, eg: egg, fish and chicken.
Thanks you for your comment smile.gif
But, what do mean that I need more carbohydrate?
Do I need to increase my rice portion ?
What should I do?

Besides that, it is ok to take eggs? Because the eggs sold in the cafe is fried and oily...

Sry if ask too much...newbie here...>_<
little
post Jan 31 2013, 12:08 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Jan 30 2013, 11:41 PM)
Thanks you for your comment smile.gif
But, what do mean that I need more carbohydrate?
Do I need to increase my rice portion ?
What should I do?

Besides that, it is ok to take eggs? Because the eggs sold in the cafe is fried and oily...

Sry if ask too much...newbie here...>_<
u exercise so often, u definitely need more carbohydrate... Nutrient needs to be balance in our body, else u will become malnutrition.
u take telur rebus sure healthy... Or make ur own telur mata kerbau.

By the way, beans are also another source of protein. smile.gif
sick_baby
post Jan 31 2013, 12:09 AM

62 posts

Hi I want to ask..

This week I felt really fatigue which I don't really understand why.. my body all sore after training and I need at least 3-4days to recover. Is it normal? Seriously pain all over body when reach midnight or wake up in the morning. Right after exercise usually dont fell anything instead feeling fresh.

My diet routine as following:
Morning -
7am
Smoothies (2fruits which usually apple or orange, 1tbsp apple cider, 2tbsp yogurt, 1tsp lecithin and 1tbsp honey )

10am (before workout )
1fruit

Lunch
Grilled chicken and salad. 1tbsp thousand island and a cup of gravy mushroom

5pm (before workout )
A cup of non fat milk and fruit

Dinner
Smoothies again same like morning or garden salad 1bowl
**I try my very best to consume more protein instead carbs but it is not easy to find protein source at my place unless I cooked myself. Even I cooked, how many I can tapao to office. Another problem sweat.gif
**My cheat day is on weekend blush.gif

Workout routine:
Lunch
15 minutes cardio jumping jet 1000
weight lifting 1hour

Night
HIIT 30minutes or cycling/cross training 45 minutes
1hour weight lifting

Weight lifting usually I do Lunging with weight -10kgx15x5, squat with weight -10kgx15x3, triceps -35lbsx20x5, biceps -20lbsx20x3, chest press metal bar dunno what weightx10x3 or machine weight20lbsx15x5, and etc which I dont know the name

**For weight lifting I don't lift so heavy weight, I focus more on reps and if got strength try to do HIIT for 15 minutes
**I dont usually do twice per day unless I got time, strenght and mood. =p
**I go to gym 5times per day (weekdays as my gym is at my office. weekend I rest at home)

I do consume co enzyme q10 50mg per day

Do I do it correctly? Aim to lose weight. Age 27. Female.

Thank you smile.gif

This post has been edited by sick_baby: Jan 31 2013, 02:27 PM
sweet_pez
post Jan 31 2013, 03:23 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 26 2013, 06:40 PM)

skycrawler>> your aim should be to lose fat and eating fried chicken for both breakfast and lunch is excessive (especially if you do this everyday!). Regardless of it being chicken breast, taking too much fried food is bad because of the oil content. And I hope you don't eat the skin.

Secondly, Daging Masak Merah is also oily (because of the chili oil - sambal) used in the cooking. If I'm not mistaken, the meat is also fried before cooking in gravy?

Your "large spoon" of rice refers to a 'tablespoon' or the 'rice spoon' to scoop rice? there's a big difference.

What I think:
- you need to stop taking so much fried chicken! replace it with steamed chicken breast or baked chicken breast. If not, then grilled chicken breast (with very little oil)
- you can still take your favourite fried chicken or daging masak merah but limit yourself (eg. only take them once every 2-3 weeks)
- if you take the diced fruit - guava - i assume you bought it at a restaurant/ fruit stall. avoid eating the guava with asam. Only guava alone is not sufficient. go for papaya, apples, oranges, watermelon and other variety of fruits
- For breakfast, instead a heavier meal (rice, meat, vege and coffee) try to go for something more plain at times - eg. oats with milk/ raisins/nuts, bread with boiled eggs, porridge etc. TBH, it should be plain for most of the days but at times you can "cheat" a little (like I do - once a month!) and go for nasi lemak if you really want to - although it's best if you can help it.

So all in all, in terms of your food - increase your vege & fruits intake while cutting off fried and oily food. With this, I believe you'll start to see good results and healthier body.

QUOTE(little @ Jan 28 2013, 11:15 PM)
agree, especially on morning, sometimes i take oat (Nestum) as breakfast. It lasts for 2 hours only.. >.<
ended up consume more, biscuit... the easiest food to grab at work place.
Nestum is cereal, not oats. They are different. In fact, here's some quote from another topic on LYN:

"Nestum is a refined junk food. Don't believe that, get a diabetic to eat this junk everyday and his sugar level will shoot up. Or ask an obese guy to eat it everyday and his weight will shoot up."

"Nestum is generally not a good idea as it is heavily processed and mixed with high amount of sugar whereas muesli sugar is mainly from its fruits which is far easier to burn or process compared to Nestum."

NESTUM vs OATS full thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/674727/all

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Jan 30 2013, 08:45 PM)

For your breakfast - I think you're consuming too much sugar. And can you elaborate what you mean by "walking around a lot"?

1. Chocolate cream bread - the cream is fattening and full with sugar. Replace this with white bread or oats+milo or boiled eggs+milo. If you can, take your milo plain.
2. Oat biscuits - instead of taking this, why not take oats instead? Oats biscuits are nothing more than commercial cookies/ biscuits where they add a couple of oats and market it as "oats biscuit". It's excessively sweet, unhealthy (processed) and oily. Avoid biscuits/ cookies if you're planning to lose fat.

It seems that you're consuming sugar and fats (with the same food for dinner as breakfast) double in a day. Doesn't seem so good, does it?

Lunch
1. Hot dog? Aiyo~ any idea how hot dog is made? they blend meat, fats and some other parts (possibly internal organs - which is edible of course) together and insert them in a 'skin'. Yes they taste good but absolutely bad for health, especially since it's processed meat.
2. Recommendation - instead of eating hot dog, take steam or oven-baked chicken. Or, just tofu + vege & rice if you're okay with it. Throw in an apple if it's still not enough.

Bottom line, you're not eating enough yet each choice of your food are high in calories. In fact just eating few biscuits and 1 bread each for breakfast and dinner, you're somewhat "starving" your body from vege, fruits and protein - all the other nutrients necessary for a balanced body. Trust me when I say your current diet is bound to fail and instead of losing weight, you might even put on some weight.

What I think/ recommend:
Breakfast- milk + eggs/ milk + oats/ cornflakes + milk or eggs / bread+eggs etc (you get the idea, do whatever combo you want) if bread + jam is too plain, you can always toast your bread to make it tastier

Tea break - a piece of bread/ an apple/ a banana

Lunch - brown rice or white rice/ noodles, vege, meat/chicken/tofu/ egg (protein)

Tea break - a piece of bread/ an apple/ a banana or simple a cup of oats. Sometimes I take a small cup of cornflakes + plain milo

Dinner - brown rice or white rice, vege, meat/chicken/tofu/ egg (protein)

Supper - (if you must) 1-2 slice of fruits

And that should do nicely. Reason? You've got carbs, protein, fiber and even sugar all covered in a balanced manner. This is just an idea for you to kick start, feel free to improvise or replace some of the items as it suits you. Have fun and throw in chapatti & tandoori chicken at times. Pizza? Why not! But just 1 slice laugh.gif Anyway different people have different eating habits. On days I plan to go to the gym, I actually have 2 tea breaks in the evening. One would be around 3+ to 4pm and another time at around 7pm - before I hit the gym. It's because I need energy to keep me going when I workout.

Also, on days I want KFC - I go for it. Just that I limit the number of times I eat it (eg. only once a month) and watch what I eat - chicken breast with no skin. Yet i'll make sure that I can only cheat if I'm going to the gym that day. Suppressing your appetite is not going to help in long run. I've tried that and it bounces each time. So eat what you want but plan ahead.

QUOTE(sick_baby @ Jan 31 2013, 12:09 AM)

I think you're eating too little and yet using pretty high level of energy when you workout. Errr basically I don't see any carb in your meals? Where is it? You need to eat carbohydrates, don't cut them off your diet completely. 1-2 slices of bread, some potatoes and 2-3 tablespoon of rice is alright. Since you're pretty active (about 5 workouts in a week) you have got to eat more or else your body won't be able to take it.

I'd recommend you take rice + vege + protein (chicken etc, lean meat) for dinner. If you're not comfortable with the idea of rice, then by all means eat more vege and protein for dinner. At least some form of carbs for lunch or tea breaks.

Might wanna cut down on your cheat days (if weekend meaning 8 times a month? haha) to once every 2 weeks. What do you eat on your cheat days? Not ice creams and junk food right?

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jan 31 2013, 03:35 PM
sick_baby
post Jan 31 2013, 03:52 PM

62 posts

I'd recommend you take rice + vege + protein (chicken etc, lean meat) for dinner. If you're not comfortable with the idea of rice, then by all means eat more vege and protein for dinner. At least some form of carbs for lunch or tea breaks.

Might wanna cut down on your cheat days (if weekend meaning 8 times a month? haha) to once every 2 weeks. What do you eat on your cheat days? Not ice creams and junk food right?

[/quote]

Thank you for your reply.
Sometimes I do not know what I can eat. I admit I am a avoiding carbo. Thought to replace the carbo in rice with fresh salad with carrot, tomatoes, brocoli and lettuce. And the fruits I eaten also carbo already.
Additional question, would it be wise if I replace my carbo with protein?
At my office area, the side dish menu for rice is usually oily food. That's the way that makcik cooked. mostly everything fried even the chicken soup very oily.That is the reason I choose western food.
Perhaps, next time instead of having 2serving size of salad, I change 1serving size to spegatti. Not comfortable to potates and rice. Huhu...

During my cheat day, my bf would be white bread sandwich with cheese and salad. I love to toast bread with sadwich and too bad I prefer white bread than whole meal. So I enjoy them during my cheat day. Lunch, I eat rice about size of my penumbuk, and then normal dish.
Yes I do enjoy ice cream but not every week. usually once or twice a month.
At night, depends. Basicly I try my best to curb the calorie amount to 2000 - 2500.
Also not to be too rigid as I am afraid will "binging" when lost control.

sweet_pez
post Jan 31 2013, 05:34 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(sick_baby @ Jan 31 2013, 03:52 PM)
Thank you for your reply.
Sometimes I do not know what I can eat. I admit I am a avoiding carbo. Thought to replace the carbo in rice with fresh salad with carrot, tomatoes, brocoli and lettuce. And the fruits I eaten also carbo already.
Additional question, would it be wise if I replace my carbo with protein?
Hey, I can tell you from my personal experience on what happens after I avoided taking carbs - strong cravings. And these cravings can "kill" in many ways, especially your diet. That's when it crashes.

Fruits contain 'good carbs' (as what the sites say : http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...09111246AAsZ0Sr and http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/whattoeat/a/whatfruit.htm) and it's very nutritious. Don't be afraid to take a little excessive fruits (eg. eat more than 2 apples a day or extra slices) and vege.

It's definitely beneficial to eat more fresh salad with veges but as Asians I believe you'll somehow get bored of it after awhile and would want to eat rice or other carbs. Take brown rice of quinoa instead of white rice, it will help to keep you filled and nutritious.

Yes you can replace your carb with protein but not completely. A mix of everything is necessary for a balanced diet. Carbohydrates are good and they give you the much needed energy for your daily activities and workout.

At my office area, the side dish menu for rice is usually oily food. That's the way that makcik cooked. mostly everything fried even the chicken soup very oily.That is the reason I choose western food.
Perhaps, next time instead of having 2serving size of salad, I change 1serving size to spegatti. Not comfortable to potates and rice. Huhu...
Is there no other option of store/ cafe/ restaurant other than the one the makcik opens?

Spaghetti is alright, as long as it's red sauce based with little cheese biggrin.gif if the portion of the spaghetti is big, you can bring a container and pack home half of it for dinner. Not comfortable with rice? 2-3 tablespoon of rice won't make your waist grow sideways, don't worry. Excessive eating of rice with no exercise will.

During my cheat day, my bf would be white bread sandwich with cheese and salad. I love to toast bread with sadwich and too bad I prefer white bread than whole meal. So I enjoy them during my cheat day. Lunch, I eat rice about size of my penumbuk, and then normal dish.
Yes I do enjoy ice cream but not every week. usually once or twice a month.
At night, depends. Basicly I try my best to curb the calorie amount to 2000 - 2500.
Also not to be too rigid as I am afraid will "binging" when lost control.
You're in check of what you eat, that's good wink.gif

And yes, very true about 'binge eating' it's dangerous when you lose control. CNY is coming and my mum bakes biscuits and cookies almost everyday, imagine the torture. Another thing I do is "guilt check". When I have the tendency to cheat, I'll ask myself "will I be guilt-ridden after consuming this?" if the answer is yes, I'll just skip it and replace with something more guilt-free. Doesn't work all the time (in times it doesn't work, I'll just eat half of the whole) but at least it helps me manage at times laugh.gif

skycrawler
post Jan 31 2013, 07:02 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jan 31 2013, 03:23 PM)
skycrawler>> your aim should be to lose fat and eating fried chicken for both breakfast and lunch is excessive (especially if you do this everyday!). Regardless of it being chicken breast, taking too much fried food is bad because of the oil content. And I hope you don't eat the skin.

Secondly, Daging Masak Merah is also oily (because of the chili oil - sambal) used in the cooking. If I'm not mistaken, the meat is also fried before cooking in gravy?

Your "large spoon" of rice refers to a 'tablespoon' or the 'rice spoon' to scoop rice? there's a big difference.

What I think:
- you need to stop taking so much fried chicken! replace it with steamed chicken breast or baked chicken breast. If not, then grilled chicken breast (with very little oil)
- you can still take your favourite fried chicken or daging masak merah but limit yourself (eg. only take them once every 2-3 weeks)
- if you take the diced fruit - guava - i assume you bought it at a restaurant/ fruit stall. avoid eating the guava with asam. Only guava alone is not sufficient. go for papaya, apples, oranges, watermelon and other variety of fruits
- For breakfast, instead a heavier meal (rice, meat, vege and coffee) try to go for something more plain at times - eg. oats with milk/ raisins/nuts, bread with boiled eggs, porridge etc. TBH, it should be plain for most of the days but at times you can "cheat" a little (like I do - once a month!) and go for nasi lemak if you really want to - although it's best if you can help it.

ohmai, i do skipped the skin nod.gif

I ate the meat and veges (carrot & onion) only. I didnt sip the whole sauce. Meat is fried during in the making. So, it is not fried before put into the dish, its raw.

tablespoon nod.gif

Yes, I didnt take the asam. Just ate it plain, I do eat various of fruits such as honey dew, papaya after workout laugh.gif

Thanks for the infos and suggestion. I eat quite heavy to provide energy during workout session and my study sweat.gif
StarCandy
post Jan 31 2013, 11:20 PM

131 posts

For your breakfast - I think you're consuming too much sugar. And can you elaborate what you mean by "walking around a lot"?

1. Chocolate cream bread - the cream is fattening and full with sugar. Replace this with white bread or oats+milo or boiled eggs+milo. If you can, take your milo plain.
2. Oat biscuits - instead of taking this, why not take oats instead? Oats biscuits are nothing more than commercial cookies/ biscuits where they add a couple of oats and market it as "oats biscuit". It's excessively sweet, unhealthy (processed) and oily. Avoid biscuits/ cookies if you're planning to lose fat.

It seems that you're consuming sugar and fats (with the same food for dinner as breakfast) double in a day. Doesn't seem so good, does it?

Lunch
1. Hot dog? Aiyo~ any idea how hot dog is made? they blend meat, fats and some other parts (possibly internal organs - which is edible of course) together and insert them in a 'skin'. Yes they taste good but absolutely bad for health, especially since it's processed meat.
2. Recommendation - instead of eating hot dog, take steam or oven-baked chicken. Or, just tofu + vege & rice if you're okay with it. Throw in an apple if it's still not enough.

Bottom line, you're not eating enough yet each choice of your food are high in calories. In fact just eating few biscuits and 1 bread each for breakfast and dinner, you're somewhat "starving" your body from vege, fruits and protein - all the other nutrients necessary for a balanced body. Trust me when I say your current diet is bound to fail and instead of losing weight, you might even put on some weight.

What I think/ recommend:
Breakfast- milk + eggs/ milk + oats/ cornflakes + milk or eggs / bread+eggs etc (you get the idea, do whatever combo you want) if bread + jam is too plain, you can always toast your bread to make it tastier

Tea break - a piece of bread/ an apple/ a banana

Lunch - brown rice or white rice/ noodles, vege, meat/chicken/tofu/ egg (protein)

Tea break - a piece of bread/ an apple/ a banana or simple a cup of oats. Sometimes I take a small cup of cornflakes + plain milo

Dinner - brown rice or white rice, vege, meat/chicken/tofu/ egg (protein)

Supper - (if you must) 1-2 slice of fruits

And that should do nicely. Reason? You've got carbs, protein, fiber and even sugar all covered in a balanced manner. This is just an idea for you to kick start, feel free to improvise or replace some of the items as it suits you. Have fun and throw in chapatti & tandoori chicken at times. Pizza? Why not! But just 1 slice  Anyway different people have different eating habits. On days I plan to go to the gym, I actually have 2 tea breaks in the evening. One would be around 3+ to 4pm and another time at around 7pm - before I hit the gym. It's because I need energy to keep me going when I workout.

Also, on days I want KFC - I go for it. Just that I limit the number of times I eat it (eg. only once a month) and watch what I eat - chicken breast with no skin. Yet i'll make sure that I can only cheat if I'm going to the gym that day. Suppressing your appetite is not going to help in long run. I've tried that and it bounces each time. So eat what you want but plan ahead.

Thank you so much for the reply...
I really do appreciate and will take your recommendations to improve my daily diet..smile.gif
The term of 'I walk around a lot' means that I usually walk to my campus from hostel everyday.

1) But, for morning, I couldn't take milk as I have some sort of allergic to it..@_@
It is ok to take the milo + oats only?

2) Does tea break is optional?
Since I'm still a student and our break is quite short, I usually just skipped tea break or buy yogurt / vitagen

3) and, for lunch, since I only have the option of eating the foods that in cafe and they always cook oily types of food such as chicken curry, fried egg etc....
It is ok if I take : white rice + vege + fried egg/chicken ?
I cant make in my room since I only have water heater in my room and I have class again in the afternoon....

This is my newest daily plan, please help me correct it if it is not suitable

Breakfast : Milo + 3 tablespoons of oat OR 1 slice of whole grain bread + jam + milo (instant)
Lunch : 2 1/2 scoop of rice + large portion of vegetable + fried egg or meat
Dinner : same with breakfast ( + fruits that is easier to keep such as apple,orange )

sweet_pez
post Feb 1 2013, 11:07 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Jan 31 2013, 07:02 PM)
ohmai, i do skipped the skin nod.gif

I ate the meat and veges (carrot & onion) only. I didnt sip the whole sauce. Meat is fried during in the making. So, it is not fried before put into the dish, its raw.

tablespoon nod.gif

Yes, I didnt take the asam. Just ate it plain, I do eat various of fruits such as honey dew, papaya after workout laugh.gif

Thanks for the infos and suggestion. I eat quite heavy to provide energy during workout session and my study sweat.gif
There is a difference between eating "heavy" and eating unhealthily. If you need more energy for workouts, you can take some coffee and energy drinks. You can eat more chicken (increase your portion) but as long as they are not fried (as recommended - steam, broiled, baked etc). Eating heavy could also mean you double your vege portion and have eggs (or other protein) along with your rice and chicken.

I believe you know that fried chicken contains a lot of calories and oil, even if you don't eat the skin. Just my 2 cents worth of advice.

QUOTE(StarCandy @ Jan 31 2013, 11:20 PM)

From campus to hostel... very far? is it a 5min walk or 20min run? "Walking a lot" doesn't really count as workout in my terms ^^ unless you're walking few km each day.

1. Yes it sure is fine to take milo + oats. Try to take your milo plain if possible (with no sugar). Sometimes you can have milo + bread or boiled eggs + bread, or even boiled eggs + a cup of milo. To have a little variety, at times you might want to take cornflakes with milo or other breakfast drink (eg. tea, coffee, horlicks) but minimize on the sugar.

2. Yup tea break is optional but since breakfast is light, you will get hungry in 1.5 hours to 2 hours' time and it's probably still far from lunch. Reason for tea break is so that you don't starve yourself out before lunch. When you force yourself to hold in hunger, your body goes into starvation mode and subsequently it slows down your metabolism (experts, please correct me if I'm wrong). For working people like me, breakfast at 8am and at 10.30am i'm already hungry so I'll need to take something since lunch is 12.30pm or sometimes 1pm.

3. <It is ok if I take : white rice + vege + fried egg/chicken ?>

White rice + vege is okay but no other option than fried egg/ chicken ka? Fried stuffs - don't take it too often. In my opinion, eating fried chicken twice a week is bad enough but if you really must/ want, then go with chicken breast and don't take the skin. If you can help it, go for some other food option (tofu, egg tofu, boiled or steamed eggs etc if it's available).

In fact you can eat chicken rice if you want. Substitute the chicken 'rice' with white rice (since chicken rice is cooked with butter, chicken fats and oil) and again, go for skinless breast meat. Also note the portion/ serving size that you're eating. If it's pretty big portion of rice, I go for half plate of rice or less - lunch. Dinner I'll take much less (usually 2-3 table spoon of brown rice).

<<Breakfast : Milo + 3 tablespoons of oat OR 1 slice of whole grain bread + jam + milo (instant)
Lunch : 2 1/2 scoop of rice + large portion of vegetable + fried egg or meat
Dinner : same with breakfast ( + fruits that is easier to keep such as apple,orange )>>

Seems okay to me but 3 tablespoon of oats enough ka? you can take more oats, it has fiber (which will keep you full for a longer period) and nutritious. I take at least 5 tablespoon of oats in the morning. Then again, it's different for everyone - go with whatever works for you.

Your 'instant' milo is 3-in-1? As I mentioned, if you can - once your pack is finished - try to go for plain milo or just add a little sugar for taste.

Is your dinner enough to keep you full till you go to bed? Don't be afraid to eat vege, rice and meat/ chicken for dinner. If you do not want to take carbs at night, you can go for vege + chicken, and fruits. Or, optionally - some oats + vege + chicken.

Hope it helps thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 1 2013, 11:16 AM
skycrawler
post Feb 1 2013, 11:18 AM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 1 2013, 11:07 AM)
There is a difference between eating "heavy" and eating unhealthily. If you need more energy for workouts, you can take some coffee and energy drinks. You can eat more chicken (increase your portion) but as long as they are not fried (as recommended - steam, broiled, baked etc). Eating heavy could also mean you double your vege portion and have eggs (or other protein) along with your rice and chicken.

I believe you know that fried chicken contains a lot of calories and oil, even if you don't eat the skin. Just my 2 cents worth of advice.
Thanks for the advice. notworthy.gif

Problem here is , im a student , so always eat outside, any malay dishes that you recommend ?
sweet_pez
post Feb 1 2013, 11:22 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

skycrawler>> check the link below, it can be a good guide to you~

http://thestar.com.my/health/story.asp?fil...0460&sec=health

Make smart choices and plan your meals ahead.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 1 2013, 11:24 AM
DT1
post Feb 1 2013, 01:07 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Feb 1 2013, 11:18 AM)
Thanks for the advice. notworthy.gif

Problem here is , im a student , so always eat outside, any malay dishes that you recommend ?
Ulam.
skycrawler
post Feb 1 2013, 01:14 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Feb 1 2013, 01:07 PM)
Ulam.
I know la dat one,what I mean is for protein intake. to subtitute fried chicken.

This post has been edited by skycrawler: Feb 1 2013, 01:15 PM

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:00 AM