Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

xproc
post Apr 14 2012, 12:32 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Apr 13 2012, 11:20 PM)
Saw Asus A43SM-VX102V in PC Fair (JB) as well.

i5 2450
2GB DDR (+ another 2GB free upgrade)
500GB
GeForce GT630 1GB

@RM1999

Is this a good catch?

i am looking for;

1. Preferred Brand : non Acer/Dell
2. Budget : ~RM2000k
3. Usage : Online (40%) , some gaming like Dota/HoN/MMORPG (20%) , download drama/movie -40% (connect to my TV to play those drama/movie)
4. Preferred laptop/screen siz : 14inch or 15inch

p/s : Personally quite interested with HP DM4-3001tx @RM2499 ... but kinda out of budget and the Radeon 7470 seems to be far behind GT630

So sifu-sifu, are there any better choice than A43SM at my budget?
budget RM 2000k = RM 2 000 000, need gold plated ka

Added on April 14, 2012, 12:35 pmwhat different between hp pavillion dm4 v3001 and hp probook, elitebook etc...

hp pavillion dm4 v3001 got usb 3?

This post has been edited by xproc: Apr 14 2012, 12:35 PM
xproc
post Apr 14 2012, 03:40 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(markypcs @ Apr 14 2012, 03:26 PM)
Hey guys,

My gf wants to buy an ultrabook in Australia.
Req:
Thin and light
14" minimum
Can play the latest games like Guild Wars 2 and Diablo 3
Decent battery life
Does not heat up too much
Good speakers (not a top priority)
Budget: Less than a MBP

No Dell.
14" Ultrabook, you want the new Acer Ulreabook???
xproc
post Apr 26 2012, 03:48 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

any new ivy bridge laptop when comes to malaysia?
xproc
post May 9 2012, 03:37 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

when only have i5 for IB? all i7 IB pops out...
xproc
post May 23 2012, 04:36 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

best ivy bridge in the market malaysia now for 14" is Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2999[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional?

am i right? any info other core i5 ivy coming out... scare heating problem

Y480 lenovo heat easily goes to 90-95 celcius, dell / asus with nvidia 640 is it the same?
xproc
post May 24 2012, 11:03 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(muazfaris @ May 24 2012, 10:27 AM)
still thinking about acer s3.. dont know if this is the best for me or not.
wait a few more weeks more is coming!
xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 12:00 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any brand with ivy bridge core i5 or above will do (avoid acer/asus)
2. Budget - RM2.5-3k
3. Usage - this laptop going to be surf net,do homework and basic usage. I just want a smooth laptop
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"

xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 12:05 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

how about new inspiron 14z RM2599

3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i5-3317U Processor (3MB cache, up to 2.6 GHz) - For Discrete
AMD Radeonâ„¢ HD 7570M with 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drive 500GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive with 32G mSATA Hard Drive
xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 12:34 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 5 2012, 12:10 PM)
Where did you get this? Mind sharing the link?  notworthy.gif
Based on the specs you've provided, its running on a ULV processor... and the GPU is weaker as well..
The 14z is more geared towards portability and battery life..
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14z-5423...spiron-14z-5423

new inspiron ivy bridge in coming in.... got others 14R core i5 at 2199 or 2299

ivy bridge core i5 only 5-10% of sandy bridge
http://www.notebookcheck.net/In-Review-Int...Us.75342.0.html

Added on June 5, 2012, 12:42 pmhttp://www.dell.com/my/p/laptops.aspx?c=my...-TD9KQ-VAE5L-v1

Inspiron 14R Special Edition RM2199
3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3210M Processor (3MB cache, up to 2.9 GHz)
NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M DDR3 2GB

Added on June 5, 2012, 12:44 pmand latitude laptops all ivys coming also... any news for lenovo / toshiba etc?

This post has been edited by xproc: Jun 5 2012, 12:44 PM
xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 05:06 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 5 2012, 02:23 PM)
They published wrongly, so faster buy and sell  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
i think is legit price... today inside the stars flyers same spec but GPU nvidia 630M, core i5 3210M, 4GB DDR3 ram = RM 2099 the E-value code V510501MY

http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...c=&oc=V510501MY

i5 3210M with GPU 630m = RM1999 (price check on internet)

Added on June 5, 2012, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(garywind @ Jun 5 2012, 03:25 PM)
if i use this budget but go for ultrabook, isnt possible?
insprion 14z (almost ultrabook with dvd rom at 2599) no ssd only

This post has been edited by xproc: Jun 5 2012, 05:25 PM
xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 05:57 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 5 2012, 05:41 PM)
I'm not sure about that laugh.gif
Nvidia GT640M is no cheap GPU yo~
Yeah, looks like Dell has finished updating the new 14R and 14z laptops, thanks for the heads-up!  notworthy.gif
what 640cpu ranked... in terms of old nvdia 9600, 240, 260 etc?
xproc
post Jun 5 2012, 06:22 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

so how about new Inspiron 14z RM 2599 - 500GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive with 32G mSATA Hard Drive , AMD Radeonâ„¢ HD 7570M with 1GB GDDR5

compare with
Inspiron 14R Special Edition RM2199 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3210M Processor (3MB cache, up to 2.9 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M DDR3 2GB

if do not consider the money factor...

the 1st one is more pretty, right?
xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 11:25 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(JessCC @ Jun 6 2012, 10:57 AM)
whistling.gif Ooops... Sorry ler... You're dealing with a n00b here. Netbooks are usually 10.1" and above anyway, right?  blush.gif Then, up to a certain point, it becomes laptop range di, right? That's my very basic understanding lah.  hmm.gif

But, yeah, I'm looking for a netbook. I already have a desktop and it does all my stuff, so, the netbook is more for portability outside of home, where there's wifi. If I were to get a tablet, I'd be playing games only and then, it kinda defeats the purpose of my getting something that I can use to "work" on at times. I'm currently offered the choice of Toshiba NB520-1065 for around RM1.2k. It seems that the speakers would be a plus for music/video playback, so, that's bonus for me. I'm just looking for something economical that can do office work coupled with internet browsing.

I'm keen to try out your suggestions too. Hope you can help narrow down a little for me, oh wise one...  rclxms.gif
with ipad you can do all things you mention above...

best suits for on the go which i can say include working and business

if just for word/excel/ powerpoint, they have pages, numbers, and keynotes.

if for internet browsing, email, blogging, writing, no ploblem

photo editing apps is alot also

if you plan do 3D rendering / CAD then your desktop can do better

plus ipad have 10 hours battery

what you plan to do on your 1.2k netbook where ipad cannot do?

if you have already had a desktop at home... go for ipad, imo (ipad 2 at 1199 also, 10 hours battery life)

xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 12:23 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(JessCC @ Jun 6 2012, 11:29 AM)
Thanks for your input, but iPad can only do one process at a time, right? I am a "multiple tabs" kinda person. I don't plan on doing graphics much except for minor photo editing and I would need ease of typing also. Furthermore, if I get an iPad, for sure I'll be putting games on it rather than do "work" stuff, so, it's a little no-no for me. And I need USB ports for my external HDDs.

Added on June 6, 2012, 11:41 amOoh, I see. I don't strictly have to have 10.1" per se, just not too heavy will do because I'll be lugging it around a lot. And trying to keep cost down by around RM1.2k-RM1.5k.

So, my options right now would be the Asus 1215B / HP Pavilion DM1 for the "sub-notebooks" and Lenovo IdeaPad S110 / Toshiba NB520-1065 for 10.1"...

Now the hard part, choosing one.  rclxub.gif

Thanks so much for taking the time to input into my 'dilemma'...
ipad is another form factor that worth your money... you have a desktop the netbook might will be redundent to you...

if your serious with your works... your ipad will be a business ipad... else it will be a entertainment device... from the apps you installs will reflects what the person are you

i would advice you because i have a netbook (pass down from my family after i lost my laptop) with me.... TJ is correct, if you plan get a netbook, get a more powderful one, mine even cannot play 720p movie... screen size is limited that you need scroll top and bottom, left and right( 10" screen the pixel is less than 1024x768 right?) correct me if i wrong...

now my netbook is collecting dust at home at normal days, its too bulky to carry around and you might need look for powerplug at some times

i only will open it to connect my ipad with the netbook to sync songs from it... else it will still collecting dust there

you not owning it you wouldnt know how convenient and useful it is

Added on June 6, 2012, 12:27 pmstill... i will very keen to get back a laptop, but certainly not now... maybe wait until my this netbook break down, i will go for macbook air (ligther than my this netbook, even that i wont carry it around)...

This post has been edited by xproc: Jun 6 2012, 12:27 PM
xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 12:43 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 6 2012, 12:30 PM)
I have to disagree, tablets are still more geared towards entertainment usage at the moment (there was an entire thread debating on whether tablets will eventually replace netbooks) hmm.gif
The efficiency with tablets are still not as good as netbooks/notebooks i.e. typing, software incompatibilities, problems with transferring files, connecting to projectors etc.

As for playing 720p movies, all the ones recommended above are capable of playing 720p videos already nod.gif
i know... i just express my opinion, no need to say who is right who is wrong, he can judge himself, having one more opinion is better than have a single sources right?

i not saying tablets replace notebook, because he have desktop at home, i just give my view based on that his home got desktop, all things he need to do he can do at there... the tablet will open the another world to him

for example my friend brought it because she work with her ipad when she is outside, for the works she cannot do in her ipad, she will do it at home when she refer to her laptop, but with the tablet she can view and reply instantly even on the car or anyplace which most important to her.

if with netbook you still need wait it startup, connects to internet etc... you can work on the go but efficiency and flexibility is not there...

just my 2 cent... dont shoot me

Added on June 6, 2012, 12:48 pm
QUOTE(JessCC @ Jun 6 2012, 12:31 PM)
You speak my language: "powderful"...  thumbup.gif

I'm serious with wanting to do more than play games, but the iPad/tablet options are too much of a "gaming" temptation for me. And besides, I'm not TOO brand conscious, so, I am actually OK with the China-brand "chaplang" tablet with ICS somewhere down the line as long as it can play Angry Birds. HA HA... Kidding.

So, if "powderful netbook" is better, what would be your suggestion, then? TJ suggested:

Asus 1215B
HP Pavilion DM1
Asus U32U-RX015v, AMD E-450 + AMD HD6320@RM1649[1.70kg], 8-cell battery, 2 years international warranty
Lenovo Ideapad Z370, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 750GB (5400rpm), colors: Blue/Pink/Black
Samsung 3 series NP350U2B, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB, W7HP

But these are all a bit too much for my pocket ler.. (except the first two)... My max is only RM1.5k wor...
you would not regret topping out abit for that, but after ivy bridge out... i suspect more sandy bridge laptop will drop price...

if you really looking for value... sandy bridge Inspiron 13z really sell at crazy price... RM1349

http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/pri...wleadtime=False

This post has been edited by xproc: Jun 6 2012, 12:48 PM
xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 01:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(JessCC @ Jun 6 2012, 01:49 PM)
Paiseh... Paiseh... Don't "fight" boys... hehe... For the record, I'm a "SHE". HA HA... Anyway, I understand the flexibility of the iPad/Tablet. I will "invest" in that somewhere down the line.  biggrin.gif

I think I'm pretty set between Asus 1215B or Toshiba NB520-1065. Can Toshiba play 720p movies also ah?

T.J, any final recommendations? Both are between 1.2k - 1.3k... My max is still RM1.5k...  hmm.gif
go see the actual unit first... on paper how great also no use if bo feeling when used
xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 01:59 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

then early buy early use, late buy late use, no buy no need use...

a few bucks doesnt make any difference, go for the unit you like most and most value and buy it... price you can always check from TJ
xproc
post Jun 6 2012, 02:23 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 6 2012, 02:17 PM)
Disagreeing with you doesn't mean you're wrong, no worries laugh.gif
Different people have different expectations and usage of their tablets.. its just that for the time being, most feel that tablets are not ready to replace netbooks/laptops yet..

I have an Asus TF Prime, even with the keyboard dock I still feel that its not suitable for me laugh.gif

So far the only thing that impresses me about tablet is  those that are stylus-enabled... drawing on them is fun haha  sweat.gif
luckily i dont into android tablet... my friend samsung tab collecting dust after buy... used less than 10 times... but he like ipad very much...

xproc
post Jun 7 2012, 09:26 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

Anyone review new Inspiron 14z ?

http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14z-5423...c=my&l=en&s=dhs
xproc
post Jun 7 2012, 09:42 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

Is it good for student?