Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V15, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

phoenixxx
post Apr 13 2012, 01:40 PM

Sesquipedalian hittin' the quasihemdemisemiquaver
1,241 posts

Hi all, thinking of buying a super portable notebook, here are my requirements, hope you sifus can help! I already have some idea in my mind (ASUS Zenbook) but want to explore my options further.

1. Preferred Brand : Doesn't matter - reliable and looks nice
2. Budget : <RM5000
3. Usage : MS office, surfing, music, office work-related, carry around.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Small to medium small (want portability)
phoenixxx
post Apr 13 2012, 02:03 PM

1,241 posts

Kinda don't want MacBook... it got stolen recently (house broken into), a bit phobia. Want a nice but not flashy notebook. Maybe Sony Vaio or something? Really noob about these notebook/ultrabook things

Added on April 13, 2012, 2:08 pmActually... Macbook also ok lah.. but is it fully compatible with MS stuff? Can install Windows 7 on it and use like it is a normal laptop? Mainly office work and carry around.

This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Apr 13 2012, 02:08 PM
phoenixxx
post Apr 25 2012, 03:13 PM

1,241 posts

Guys, wanna get a laptop for my dad for his coming birthday. Wanna get him something he could use for his day 2 day surfing and online needs. Probably something small but not too small as he won't be moving it around much.

1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - below 2k
3. Usage - online, surfing, youtube, play shares (no gaming / graphics intensive)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - anything, prefer portable but not too small coz it's for my dad
phoenixxx
post Apr 26 2012, 10:23 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 25 2012, 11:17 PM)
13" thin and light, matte surfaced, more conserved looking brows.gif
Dell Vostro V131, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.82kg], 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), anti-glare, W7HB, colors: silver/red
Thx bro, I will check it out
phoenixxx
post Apr 26 2012, 03:56 PM

1,241 posts

Bro PF TJ, what about this? compared to Dell Vostro 131 which u recommended earlier. in the 1.5k range, what are my options for best value for money?

Samsung NP350U2B
phoenixxx
post Apr 27 2012, 05:13 PM

1,241 posts

Sifus, looking at asus u32u.. Liking the size and weight and slimness but the processor seems a bit weak... Anyone got any input on this model? 1549 bux.
phoenixxx
post Apr 28 2012, 12:02 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 27 2012, 06:12 PM)
not ok  biggrin.gif

Added on April 27, 2012, 6:13 pm
bigger size of netbook
if you can tolerance the performance of netbook, just go for it
I've gotten it. It's for my dad who mainly use for surfing, I tested at the shop with IE and tried and open many tabs, its still quite OK (with Chrome, should be even better)... so I got it @ RM1510 + 2 GB RAM (total 4GB) + cheap mouse + slight discount for wireless mouse
phoenixxx
post Apr 28 2012, 01:36 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 28 2012, 01:21 AM)
means you can tolerance with the low speed CPU  biggrin.gif
Havent' really tested it.. gonna do so in a bit, hope it's not as bad as I think it would be. Should be enough for my dad though.

0.0364sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:16 PM