Wall next to basin, Wet wall after using basin

TSadrianteo
post Apr 12 2012, 04:34 PM, updated 14y ago

188 posts

I am pretty new in this and i got this problem in my apartment. The basin in the toilet is right next to a wall and every time i wash or uses the basin, the wall will get wet.

And everytime i have to wipe it so that it wouldnt damage the wall in the long run. The wall is not of bricks and most likely be made of some thin wood or something.

Any idea how to curb this? Like getting something to stick on to the wall so that the water will not splash onto the wall?

Sorry im a bit noob. I hope you guys understand what i mean...

Thank you all!
Jo_da48
post Apr 12 2012, 05:25 PM

1,529 posts

I guess it not due to piping issues right? Perhaps with a Photo will ease the member to give comment or advice smile.gif

TSadrianteo
post Apr 12 2012, 05:44 PM

188 posts

Hey
Thanks for the reply. I dont have a photo now, but basically is not piping issue. Just everytime i wash my hands or even just to brush teeth, the water will splash onto the wall next to it coz the wall is just next to the basin.

So everytime i gotta wipe after using the basin.

So just tot if there is anything i can stick onto the wall so that the water will splash onto the thing instead of dirctly at the wall.

I will try to post a photo.....

Thanks!!!!

This post has been edited by adrianteo: Apr 12 2012, 05:44 PM
tehtmc
post Apr 12 2012, 06:40 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

Use glasss or perspex sheet to prevent the wall from coming into contact with water.

phoenix69
post Apr 13 2012, 02:07 AM

1,836 posts

You should have a tiled wall in your toilet.
Toilet walls are supposed to be water proof/ water splash friendly.
Either tile it or get a waterproof layer to cover the wall lah.
Can try getting 2nd grade tiles and tile it yourself if you are on a budget.

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Apr 13 2012, 02:09 AM
stevie8
post Apr 13 2012, 09:34 AM

1,365 posts

Give the wood like wall a 3 coats of acrylic paint. make sure the edges are well covered over many coats. This is where the rot started especially the bottom parts.

0.0163sec    1.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:39 PM