9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Toys Diecast car model fans..Come on in., A thread for Toy Car Lovers ~~!!

Ka Ken
post Dec 31 2006, 11:50 AM

Hi all,

I just registered myself here today.I'm Ken and also an avid collector of scale models over the past 10 years.My collection includes scales from 1:64 to 1:18 ranging from Hot Wheels,Auto Art,Maisto,Onyx,Tamiya,BBurago and the list goes on...

I would love to share my experiences and also gain some experience in this forum from all of you since I read that most of the members here are serious collectors of cars..

Happy New Year and happy collecting smile.gif
Ka Ken
post Dec 31 2006, 11:13 PM

Hi Jason & naka7a,

Thanks a lot for your support.Yes I will post my pics but I need to retake my shots again as I just added some new models..Stay tune smile.gif

R33 from Autoart? btw..i havent really come across one but if you guys frequent to SG,you can try and look for one shop called Motorsports inside Meritius Mandarin Hotel(Orchard Rd) They have nice collections and they give discounts from time to time.The guy there is quite helpful and can even order/search for you if you cant find a particular model.

Actually I just ordered the HotWheels Elite Ferrari FXX from that shop tongue.gif Has anyone seen this model here?

Oh yeah..Nikko is still having the 1:43 scale models ( selected ones) promotion at RM100 for 2(for those on tight budget tongue.gif ) Go check out at Atria,DU..as I think they have better selection compared to Avenue K & MV branch.Popular brands include Onyx,Skid and Trofeu.
Ka Ken
post Jan 2 2007, 10:29 AM

Jasonist,

Nice pic of your newly aqquired 'ride' hehe tongue.gif Ok as promised,here are some pics of my collections.

Photo taken using my N70..I dont have the time to clean my models so some of them are a bit dusty tongue.gif hehe

Btw..sure bo the FXX not that nice? hmm i will try for more discounts then smile.gif

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2007

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Ka Ken
post Jan 2 2007, 11:45 AM

Hi Jasonist..

Thanks for your reply and comments tongue.gif hehe... btw the ford focus wrc is 1:24 from BBurago..got it as a gift from my friend who bought it in UK smile.gif

The skyline is actually built by me.It's from the Tamiya 1:24 collections..yep r34 z tune unopened since I bought it in HK during biz trip last yr.. rclxm9.gif

i did a stock count on the eve of new year..i have 231 models and counting ( 100+ from the Hot Wheels 1:64 models) rclxms.gif

sure bo record breaking? hehe i got one colleague who has 90 autoart 1:18 models..i was shocked.. i will intro him to this forum.. smile.gif

Yep,Acura NSX from Kyosho...forgot the price.. tongue.gif

Cabinet is a little custom made and diy (IKEA) @ RM199,model is DETOLF but i modified it to store more..default is 4 layers..i added another 4 layers

happy drooling tongue.gif
Ka Ken
post Jan 2 2007, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jan 2 2007, 12:07 PM)
whaoh ?? 90 AA car ?? tat must be cost thousand ...... shocking.gif btw ur lamborg coutech ( duno how to spell ) & modena is wat company one ??
jacky..the lambo countach 500 is from one co. called Motor Max ..it was selling at toys r us last time for RM30 if i am not mistaken,bought it cos it was quite cheap...The 360 Modena is from Hot Wheels.. smile.gif

jun-z,waiting for your pics tongue.gif RM150 -200? btw where did u get that price? smile.gif
Ka Ken
post Jan 3 2007, 10:49 AM

Seng Kiat,

Nice models at a good price.Btw..any more of this similar deals? I am also currently looking for one AutoArt 1:18 Skyline R34 JGTC...
Ka Ken
post Jan 3 2007, 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jan 2 2007, 11:48 AM)
haha... nice one.. please welcome him to this thread... really cant wait to see his stunning autoart collection!
Jasonist,my colleague is actually already a member in this forum under : gwizardl

He used to post last time..( see page 2) I have asked him to post some of his rare collections tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ka Ken: Jan 3 2007, 12:22 PM
Ka Ken
post Jan 3 2007, 10:36 PM

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jan 3 2007, 07:02 PM)
gosh he has nice collection there... i really like the makinen evo6 wrc!
Hi jasonist... his collections include rare ones like the GT40 Le Mans edition..havent seen it b4 here...i will ask him to be more active in this forum smile.gif
Ka Ken
post Jan 8 2007, 03:35 PM

Jasonist,

Nice nice..btw how much is one of those? Oh yeah..I just bought one 1:18 Maisto AUDI R8 crocodile edition.It was selling at rm49:90 only! tongue.gif Got it at ToyCity..

Gye325: Try Nikko shops for AutoArt models..They are found in MidValley,Atria in D'sara Utama and Avenue K (next to KLCC) smile.gif

P.S Jasonist : Are you a fan of JAWS from 007? hehe..I once saw his figurine for sale online smile.gif
Ka Ken
post Jan 9 2007, 09:36 AM

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jan 8 2007, 05:55 PM)
oh i saw it last time in midvalley... i think they very smart ah... can turn a race car and into a crocodile... very interesting and creative! besides the crocodile really fits into the car le... hehe!  rclxms.gif i wonder wat does the crocodile mean to the team?

well it costs 100 above... i know its very expensive for this kinda quality and this kinda scale model... juz a hobby... hehe!

haha... ermm... not a fan of him lar... juz kinda like his character and style in the movie after i watched the classical bond movies last time... funny yet evil yet unbeatable laugh.gif
true..no idea how they can turn it into a 'racing crocodile' haha but I bought it because it used to be selling at RM129.90 last time..so it's more than 50% discount now..I will post some pictures about this car smile.gif

talking about 007,I once saw in Nikko KLCC (last time) one AA Lotus Esprit Model(mini submarine) used for the 007 show 'The spy who loved me'.Very accurate but $$ hehe.Dont see any now though..regret didnt buy cry.gif

R34: I was told there are some shops selling car models in Berjaya Times Square.There's one called ToyKar and Time Zone if I am not wrong.They sell both AA and Kyosho models.Time Zone has more in Hot Works and D1 drift models.

Ka Ken
post Jan 9 2007, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jan 9 2007, 10:10 AM)
last time i saw this Casino Royale Aston Martin in Amcorp Mall... its a figure hobby shop... unfortunately the shop is closed... i wonder y the shop oways close when i go there... gosh... are they really doing business???
oh izit on the 2nd floor which sells mostly figurines? That shop always close wan..but they do put a notice asking you to go to their main shop in 1Utama (new wing) As for the Amcorp Mall..you really need to know their operating time as I have not been inside that shop before (always close whistling.gif )

There is also a similar shop in Low Yat Plaza selling figures and a small portion of scale models.. smile.gif

Jasonist: Have you done any 3D Dioramas before? My next plan is to make a mini diorama together with my newly built Tamiya Peugeout 405 Paris Dakar rally car with sand,stones and picture background icon_idea.gif
Ka Ken
post Jan 9 2007, 02:09 PM

The hobby shop sells numerous categories of models from figurines,collectables and some small section of scale models.Their main focus is more on figurines and 3D dioramas like the Matrix or the Star Wars Ep3 fight scene..If I am not wrong it is located at either 2 or 3rd floor in New Wing,1Utama (near the entrance to Parkson) but for serious collectors of AA and car models,I wont really recommend that shop cos they have limited models,sometimes none.. mega_shok.gif

actually i am also trying my luck in diorama cos I also have not much experience in making one..so far as I know I will need the below for my paris dakar car:

1)color wallpaper for background use (preferably attached to a stand)
2) rocks,sands for the surface
3) some plasticine & dried twigs/branches
4) figures?
5) some strong cardboard for the background

Jasonist : Have a look at this sample rclxms.gif

and also this website : http://www.tamiya.com/english/pachi_digital/index.htm

R34: I also hope they dont close the shop so fast haha icon_idea.gif

Ka Ken
post Jan 10 2007, 06:04 PM

Jasonist: This is actually a plastic model by Tamiya and I am trying to do one for my paris dakar rally car smile.gif I am not too sure about posting die cast models but you can enquire or try your luck..who knows.. tongue.gif

raptor: There is a Tamiya shop located at the car park level of 1Utama ( They call it Tamiya Underground)It's at the new wing section.Go check it out smile.gif They have a good collection of model kits and R/C cars for sale.This is actually a SG co.Their HQ is in SG..Dont forget to visit ToyCity also..

AutoArt 1:18 R32 white,silver or grey V-Spec II selling in SG for SGD155 if I am not wrong..

Ka Ken
post Jan 11 2007, 05:21 PM

[quote=Jasonist,Jan 11 2007, 11:54 AM]
this is the difference between the newly released autoart R34 V-Spec II and the upgraded version.

nice pic and description Jasonist..so u have any one of them? biggrin.gif

Ka Ken
post Jan 11 2007, 11:08 PM

[quote=Jasonist,Jan 11 2007, 06:01 PM]
Ka Ken: haha i own the nismo z-tune one (early 2001 version)... previously posted in this thread too...

wow..good good..that is actually a masterpiece drool.gif hehe

anyway..i have 3 pictures here.Bought the Audi R8 @ RM49.90 made by Maisto.I like the way they paint the model hehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ka Ken: Jan 11 2007, 11:10 PM
Ka Ken
post Jan 13 2007, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jan 12 2007, 01:02 AM)
whoa...nice work by maisto...any other cars from the similar line?
Naka7a: Well they have other models with different paintwork but unfortunately the rest are sold at RM129:90.Only this model is sold at RM49:90 by ToyCity tongue.gif Last time this model used to sell at RM129:90 also but maybe they had too many stocks that's why they gave such as huge discount..

I think it's quite a worthy buy cos you cant get a similar model at this size with this price smile.gif hehe

Jasonist : I found out that I dont have enough space for my diorama to kick off sad.gif ( all my cabinets are fullly stacked as I recently built another 3 Tamiya models icon_rolleyes.gif hehe ) Most probably I will buy another cabinet from IKEA b4 CNY hopefully and then start my mission!!

Ka Ken
post Jan 15 2007, 12:10 PM

warr jasonist..i'm getting jealous with ur collections now ..haha..

ur evo around RM300 ++ rite? icon_rolleyes.gif

Got the cabinet,DIY soon for the extra mountings and planning the next model to buy!! thumbup.gif

Ka Ken
post Jan 16 2007, 09:47 AM

Ka Ken: haha... btw... u bought ur cabinet from IKEA? how much basically a cabinet for die cast can i get from IKEA? i really hope to get one but my money has run out... sad.gif

[/quote]

Jasonist: Yup bought the cabinet last weekend.It's RM199 but self transport + diy yourself.. tongue.gif The original cabinet comes with 4 layers but I added another 4 layers to it.Cost me about RM45 ( labour + materials).You also need to cut the glass at the shop (RM4 per glass)

Have a look at the picture below.I have the same one.

Ka Ken
post Jan 17 2007, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(^chalaza^ @ Jan 17 2007, 12:53 PM)
yeah how did/where u mold extra supporting metal bars to the side of the cabinet panel so u can add 4 more layers/
chlaza & weiheng: The materials are provided by the shop which I went and enquired (metal rods) I went to one shop in Jalan Chan Sow Lin,off Jalan Sg Besi,KL ( those engineering workshops).The shop is quite near the Volkswagon showroom,2 roads before that showroom. icon_rolleyes.gif

What they do is that they will provide the metal rods (similar color to your cabinet color) and then they will mold it in the existing rod.Last round I did was about RM45.I think the price should be still around there whistling.gif hehe

Ka Ken
post Jan 19 2007, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ Jan 19 2007, 12:06 PM)
ehh ? haha ur post is 888 lah biggrin.gif mine is 889 tongue.gif
both posts also good la can qualify for 4D haha..if kena buy more AA models tongue.gif hehe..dont forget 1 for me whistling.gif

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:48 PM