STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION 118, Yat Yat Fatt - Apple Free

skiddtrader
post Apr 20 2012, 09:05 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Apr 20 2012, 08:08 PM)
I still not sure how call warrant works. Sifu please teach me. Thank you!!  notworthy.gif

Take the same example in Bursa website for case study.
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/pr...ts/basic_3.html

Call warrant case.

Bought the warrant at 0.30
Exercise price is 11.00
Conversion ratio 5:1

From this case study, the break even share price is 12.50.

My question is, what will happen when the warrant expired?
Say, I spend RM300 to buy 1000 warrants at 0.30

if last traded mother share price is 12.50. After expiry date, the issued bank will pay me back 1000*0.30 = RM300? (meaning, I break even)
If last traded price is 10.00,  the issued bank will not do anything? (meaning, I will loss my RM300 capital)
If last traded price is 14.00, the issued bank will pay me 1000*0.60 = RM600? (meaning, I earn RM300)

Please correct my mistake. Thank you warrant sifus!  notworthy.gif
Yup, you got it right. Though I'm not sure if there is further admin costs or not for the conversion at the expiry of the warrants.

skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 03:22 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Apr 26 2012, 03:18 PM)
How do you define handsome dividend payout? dividend yield > 10%?
Dividend yield is dependent on investors buying price. I believe handsome dividned is based more on how much of their EPS are they gonna give out to shareholders.
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 03:51 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Apr 26 2012, 03:29 PM)
i think dy 10% kena buy, hold wait company profit grow. your classic case should be tdm from <rm2 .  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Yeah, I still remember buying it based on 6% yield at that time. Over time already >10% yield. All thanks to the forummers here for advice. smile.gif
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 03:55 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Apr 26 2012, 03:53 PM)
LOLOL...
so ... is it possible that companies will end up reducing allowance and increasing basic ?? that can sum up to 1.5k - 2.0k as well..
then minimum wages doesnt make an impact at all.. only sounds good.. like another political gimmick
Companies rather increse allowances, so overtime calculation won't be affected.

Minimum wage is based on gross salary instead of basic. As long as your take home pay is above the minimum, no reason why the salary earner should remain in the "hardcore poor" category.
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 04:00 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 26 2012, 03:54 PM)
DY is calculated on yearly basis. If you bought a stock 3 years ago, do you compute DY based on your buying price?
Yes. I always calculate based on my initial capital commitment. Every year the dividends received is considered my capital repayment, so every year my actual capital invested is reduced. This means over time, the dividends will ultimately pay for the share itself.

The DY you see in the newspapers or research reports are always based on current prices.

skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 04:13 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 26 2012, 04:08 PM)
So far, what I read in news, and heard is about basic, not gross.
If gross, many industries and company has no fear about it, as those capable and hardworking one, most should be way above those range of wages already.
What I meant was fixed gross. Like lets say Basic 400, but fixed allowances like transport allowance, site allowance, makan allowance all add up to meet the minimum wage. This does not include overtime which is not fixed.

This way overtime or additional production does not cost extra from before. And fixed costs are easier to manage, where the company has a fixed objective and can concentrate on other cost cutting measures like medical benefits, cheaper insurers, less uniforms etc.

If basic = minimum wage, overtime of staff to meet production deadlines will have an impact on production costs. And these costs can vary according to the amount of production needed, public holiday overtime, different payscale of employees etc.

Edit:

Because employees didn't suddenly improved, there is a justification not to pay the basic = minimum wage if the delta is high.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Apr 26 2012, 04:16 PM
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 04:48 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 26 2012, 04:33 PM)
Skid,
Based on the news, Min wages is on basic only, so OT rate also will be affected.

http://www.nst.com.my/opinion/letters-to-t...-salary-1.56880
Yeah, the employers will suffer as adjustments will be more complicated. And employees will not benefit unless there is overtime. I guess the work harder, get paid more mantra is the philosophy.
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 04:58 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 26 2012, 04:52 PM)
The outcome can be inflation, which is highly possibly, which in the end of the day, nobody gain, but lose-lose situation.

No productivity gain, with wages increment, is factor for inflation to hit.

In fact, even the employee getting payrise, but inflation looming and serious hit, all payrise is back to square one, and life can become more difficult due to inflation instead better.
Employers will probably cut other benefits like allowances and incorporate them into the basic pay. Overtime will probably also controlled to control costs.

I still think the gross = minimum wage is better option. At the end is how much coming into the bank for the employee, regardless of basic or allowance. EPF is match by gross anyway, right? Touching the basic pay will only cut the other benefits in kind, if the governments objective is to increase quality of life, it's better to do so when the adjustments are easier to manage.

Talking about inflation, ever wondered how the talk about GST completely vanished since election is coming?
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 05:26 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 26 2012, 05:25 PM)
NCB : A Single Tier Special Interim Dividend 56.0 Sen

Current price 3.90, eq to > 14% yield

Share price appreciation not much. Another purely makan divvy counter.
Mmmmm yummy. nod.gif

But special dividend, so might not repeat.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Apr 26 2012, 05:29 PM
skiddtrader
post Apr 26 2012, 05:32 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Apr 26 2012, 05:30 PM)
Skid you have NCB share? Over the long run is lucrative.

Last year they give 59c. Even more.
sad.gif No ler, was in my watchlist last time, but never follow for very long already.

Edit:
Dividends won't last for long, that's what I thought last year when they declared the special ><. Because their EPS is much lesser, they're just paying off the shareholders now which is quite good. But if buy now for the current special, will it come again next year?

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Apr 26 2012, 05:42 PM

0.0194sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:28 AM