STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION 118, Yat Yat Fatt - Apple Free

SUSwankongyew
post Apr 26 2012, 12:45 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 11:56 AM)
Eh? How did the question of market timing arise? I no nuts about market timing. Small question: 'market timing' and 'price timing' any difference?

Some have promoted the 'no sell button' strategy.  I only asked 'When crisis come, can you afford to not 'touch' the shares you hold?' because if one needs money during the crisis, could one afford not to 'touch' the shares they hold?
Ah, you meant crisis as in personal crisis and emergency as opposed to a general economic crisis that affects everyone. Sorry then. But like others have said, this then becomes a personal financial management issue, not a stock hold/buy/sell issue.
Icehart
post Apr 26 2012, 12:47 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Apr 26 2012, 12:38 PM)
Agreed. Financial freedom  thumbup.gif
How do you define financial freedom?
cherroy
post Apr 26 2012, 12:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 12:03 PM)
This is the very issue one have to address. Many say buy this and that. All also buy and 'no sell'. Unlimited funds? What about emergency money? Have one made adequate allocation for emergency money? What if allocation not enough?
Everyone is different, and has different strategy.

Just I/we are sharing our own taught and experience, and not mean other must follow, or what had been done must be correct as well.
Just read for pleasure, knowing others taught, experience which only can widen our focus and widening the perspective.
This forum is not meant for recommendation what stock to buy.
That's why those topic "recommend what stock to buy or good" is generally closed by mod, and generally not welcomed.

But for stock market investment money, only invest the money that are not going to be used upon, aka all other expenses, emergency money/portion has been well allocated.
One side working daily job to earn income, paid expenses, accumulated emergency money, long term future money,
while on one side the saved, unused extra money, is put into stock market to earn passive income, so that can have exponential effect on wealth accumulation.
Stock market is advisable for one idle money, which is not expected be called upon in most circumstance.

panasonic88
post Apr 26 2012, 01:08 PM

37,028 posts

Mr Dali's "Why I Like ...." is back.

But seems like no magic power anymore.

http://www.malaysiafinance.blogspot.com/
SKY 1809
post Apr 26 2012, 01:19 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Apr 26 2012, 12:45 PM)
Ah, you meant crisis as in personal crisis and emergency as opposed to a general economic crisis that affects everyone. Sorry then. But like others have said, this then becomes a personal financial management issue, not a stock hold/buy/sell issue.
Preaching Financial Management in main investment thread is kinda interesting to me.

Just like some BN VIPs set up Canopies for campaigning ( couple of days ) right in the middle of the road in Penang hmm.gif

Banyak Power. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 26 2012, 01:20 PM
tanch78
post Apr 26 2012, 01:38 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 12:03 PM)
This is the very issue one have to address. Many say buy this and that. All also buy and 'no sell'. Unlimited funds? What about emergency money? Have one made adequate allocation for emergency money? What if allocation not enough?
Just realised my posting (re. no sell button) this morning has trigger so many comments from forummers.

Let me clarify my position. Basically I am getting more "kian si + kian su" since 2010 as upgraded to old uncle status liao.

I invest mostly in fundamental stock (my own definition and I hope I am right) like Maxis, PBB, BKAWAN, Calberg, Nestle, etc and REITs counters. So far, they give constant dividend every year and capital appreciation as of today is significantly high! blush.gif These counters made up around 90-95% of my total stock portfolio. My previous experience was that I can sold these counters for a very good capital gain; but I will never able to find alternative investment that will give me the same constant dividend or similiar ROI.

But of course, my hand get itchy sometime. Therefore, I have bought some stock recommended by lyn forummer previously for medium term holding (6 - 18 holdings). Example like DRBHCOM, Tambun, Ivory, Smartag and a few more. Some I still suffered paper losses as of today! cry.gif

@ Boon, I have separate emergency fund in FD and A1SM/ASW funds. I only invest my extra / idle cash in shares and also reinvest using dividend receive every quarter. I have fully settled my housing loan at one go previously using my hard earn money saved while working oversea cry.gif , therefore now I have huge extra cash for investment every month (not limited to shares).

My plan is to review my stok counters performance (and other investment) every quarter. But to be honest, I am lazy most of the time and merely update the latest market price. I hardly follow and read every single post in this thread anymore. Just come here to chit chat once a while. I think I frequent kopitiam much more whenever I am free. Haha tongue.gif

I appreciate the contribution from some sifu like Cheorry, Sky, Moneymonkey, Pana and more people for their sharing. thumbup.gif
Boon3
post Apr 26 2012, 01:45 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 26 2012, 12:54 PM)
Everyone is different, and has different strategy.

Just I/we are sharing our own taught and experience, and not mean other must follow, or what had been done must be correct as well.
Just read for pleasure, knowing others taught, experience which only can widen our focus and widening the perspective.
This forum is not meant for recommendation what stock to buy.
That's why those topic "recommend what stock to buy or good" is generally closed by mod, and generally not welcomed. 

Forum policies meh? hmm.gif

But for stock market investment money, only invest the money that are not going to be used upon, aka all other expenses, emergency money/portion has been well allocated.
One side working daily job to earn income, paid expenses, accumulated emergency money, long term future money,
while on one side the saved, unused extra money, is put into stock market to earn passive income, so that can have exponential effect on wealth accumulation.

Do we assume that everyone who invests in shares have allocated their money wisely?

Stock market is advisable for one idle money, which is not expected be called upon in most circumstance.
hmm.gif Everyone here only invest with their idle money?

As much as I believe in holding stocks for the long time, I strongly believe in selling, if and when required.

flamestudio
post Apr 26 2012, 01:46 PM

1,758 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Apr 26 2012, 12:10 PM)
Najib will announce minimum pay for private sector on Monday
PUTRAJAYA: The highly anticipated minimum wage for the private sector will be unveiled on the eve of Labour Day by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

benefit consumer sector again ?  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
Wahhhhhh.....

Way to go........ To earn 3 more extra votes.......... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Chiew...
SKY 1809
post Apr 26 2012, 01:47 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:38 PM)
Just realised my posting (re. no sell button) this morning has trigger so many comments from forummers.

Let me clarify my position. Basically I am getting more "kian si + kian su" since 2010 as upgraded to old uncle status liao.

I invest mostly in fundamental stock (my own definition and I hope I am right) like Maxis, PBB, BKAWAN, Calberg, Nestle, etc and REITs counters. So far, they give constant dividend every year and capital appreciation as of today is significantly high! blush.gif  These counters made up around 90-95% of my total stock portfolio. My previous experience was that I can sold these counters for a very good capital gain; but I will never able to find alternative investment that will give me the same constant dividend or similiar ROI.

But of course, my hand get itchy sometime. Therefore, I have bought some stock recommended by lyn forummer previously for medium term holding (6 - 18 holdings). Example like DRBHCOM, Tambun, Ivory, Smartag and a few more. Some I still suffered paper losses as of today!  cry.gif

@ Boon, I have separate emergency fund in FD and A1SM/ASW funds. I only invest my extra / idle cash in shares and also reinvest using dividend receive every quarter. I have fully settled my housing loan at one go previously using my hard earn money saved while working oversea  cry.gif , therefore now I have huge extra cash for investment every month (not limited to shares). 

My plan is to review my stok counters performance (and other investment) every quarter. But to be honest, I am lazy most of the time and merely update the latest market price. I hardly follow and read every single post in this thread anymore. Just come here to chit chat once a while. I think I frequent kopitiam much more whenever I am free. Haha  tongue.gif

I appreciate the contribution from some sifu like Cheorry, Sky, Moneymonkey, Pana and more people for their sharing.    thumbup.gif
Never heard of 99% no sell button. hmm.gif

But 1% Golden in Bolehland cold be damn powerful.

Even in MAS, 1 Golden share is more powerful than the rest.

BTW, for REITS , prices could be trading at top of the mountain too.

Boon3
post Apr 26 2012, 01:52 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:38 PM)

I invest mostly in fundamental stock (my own definition and I hope I am right) like Maxis, PBB, BKAWAN, Calberg, Nestle, etc and REITs counters. So far, they give constant dividend every year and capital appreciation as of today is significantly high! blush.gif  These counters made up around 90-95% of my total stock portfolio. My previous experience was that I can sold these counters for a very good capital gain; but I will never able to find alternative investment that will give me the same constant dividend or similiar ROI.

But of course, my hand get itchy sometime. Therefore, I have bought some stock recommended by lyn forummer previously for medium term holding (6 - 18 holdings). Example like DRBHCOM, Tambun, Ivory, Smartag and a few more. Some I still suffered paper losses as of today!  cry.gif

@ Boon, I have separate emergency fund in FD and A1SM/ASW funds. I only invest my extra / idle cash in shares and also reinvest using dividend receive every quarter. I have fully settled my housing loan at one go previously using my hard earn money saved while working oversea  cry.gif , therefore now I have huge extra cash for investment every month (not limited to shares). 

My plan is to review my stok counters performance (and other investment) every quarter. But to be honest, I am lazy most of the time and merely update the latest market price. I hardly follow and read every single post in this thread anymore. Just come here to chit chat once a while. I think I frequent kopitiam much more whenever I am free. Haha  tongue.gif

I appreciate the contribution from some sifu like Cheorry, Sky, Moneymonkey, Pana and more people for their sharing.    thumbup.gif
I am rather sorry but please understand that my comments were not directed at you. I believe a 'no sell' strategy is risky. There are times where the only logical decision is to sell.
SKY 1809
post Apr 26 2012, 01:56 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:52 PM)
I am rather sorry but please understand that my comments were not directed at you. I believe a 'no sell' strategy is risky. There are times where the only logical decision is to sell.
That reminds me of Public Mutual Funds investing into China.

First few China Funds are wondering, then people think of only of buy buttons , forgetting the sell buttons.

I do not think PM buy China penny stocks, but in deep longkang too.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Apr 26 2012, 02:00 PM
tanch78
post Apr 26 2012, 01:58 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:47 PM)
Never heard of 99% no sell button.  hmm.gif 

But 1% Golden in Bolehland  cold be damn powerful.

Even in MAS, 1 Golden share is more powerful than the rest.

BTW, for REITS , prices could be trading at top of the mountain too.
Hello Sky - my problem is that if I sell off these counter for one off huge gain, I don't know what other counters/alternative investment to go for. And if they can give me the same ROI. Also you need lots of time/effort to analyse and monitor the stock counter. First I am lazy, second is I hardly have time to check out the stock during working hours most of the time.

I am now more on dividend play. Getting excited to see the dividend payment shows up in my bank account almost every month.

Oh, do you still hold Tambun??? Thanks to you recommendation last time, I got quite good profit from AFG + AFFIN! rclxm9.gif

Added on April 26, 2012, 2:01 pm
No worries. Forum is place for sharing of info/advice as long as it is constructive posting.

But how do you know when is the right time to sell? Personally I don't monitor the stock every day due to my work commitment. I supposed to review all my investment status on a quarterly basis, BUT..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tanch78: Apr 26 2012, 02:01 PM
cherroy
post Apr 26 2012, 02:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:45 PM)
Do we assume that everyone who invests in shares have allocated their money wisely?

hmm.gif  Everyone here only invest with their idle money?

As much as I believe in holding stocks for the long time, I strongly believe in selling, if and when required.
Nobody can comment on this part, it is individual issue.

Even one wants to leverage 50x of money own, also it is about individual issue, nobody has the right to comment. smile.gif

It is understandable, especially there is significant chance of fundamental issue,
just some forumers and I as well posted past experience that making "wrong choice" of selling, therefore refrain selling in most circumstance unless really required, because I am bad in timing the market.

SKY 1809
post Apr 26 2012, 02:01 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:58 PM)
Hello Sky - my problem is that if I sell off these counter for one off huge gain, I don't know what other counters/alternative investment to go for. And if they can give me the same ROI. Also you need lots of time/effort to analyse and monitor the stock counter. First I am lazy, second is I hardly have time to check out the stock during working hours most of the time.

I am now more on dividend play. Getting excited to see the dividend payment shows up in my bank account almost every month.

Oh, do you still hold Tambun??? Thanks to you recommendation last time, I got quite good profit from AFG + AFFIN!  rclxm9.gif
Congratulations.

Tambun is like another Samsung to me if u give enough time to them.
Boon3
post Apr 26 2012, 02:03 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 26 2012, 02:01 PM)
Nobody can comment on this part, it is individual issue.

Even one wants to leverage 50x of money own, also it is about individual issue, nobody has the right to comment.  smile.gif

It is understandable, especially there is significant chance of fundamental issue,
just some forumers and I as well posted past experience that making "wrong choice" of selling, therefore refrain selling in most circumstance unless really required, because I am bad in timing the market.
Eh? Market timing again? Is market timing the reason one sell a stock?
Bonescythe
post Apr 26 2012, 02:03 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Some got 10 million as fund. Hence 50k might not be painful. So no need to sell. As long as got dividend, continue the cash cow milking process.

Some got 10k as fund, and that 10k means everything. Hence, need to sell. As long as, it doesn't go lower and lower, capital become a goner.

Different people, different status, different level of thinking.

cherroy
post Apr 26 2012, 02:04 PM

25,802 posts

Yes & no.

May be other is good, I am not.
I don't know when to sell.
Just like BAT was Rm50.00, time to sell? I don't know
Just like Panamy was Rm20 time, logic to sell, I don't know.
or
Apple was USD500, time to sell, I also don't know.

I wish one can share the taught of "logical decision to sell". smile.gif
It will be valuable input and sharing taught as well, which can make all of us a better investor. smile.gif

Added on April 26, 2012, 2:08 pm
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 26 2012, 02:03 PM)
Eh? Market timing again? Is market timing the reason one sell a stock?
Apart the company fundamental change drastically, turn good to bad, others than that, I don't know.

I don't know when the market is high, nor low, as said I am poor in this area.

Last time people said 1500 is high, now 1600.
So for me, only can hold stock and watch only, so no sell for couple of years already.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 26 2012, 02:08 PM
SmuffyJ
post Apr 26 2012, 02:35 PM

1,742 posts

my counters are RED....
foofoosasa
post Apr 26 2012, 02:36 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:56 PM)
That reminds me of Public Mutual Funds investing into China.

First few China FundsĀ  are wondering, then people think of only of buy buttons , forgetting the sell buttons.

I do not think PM buy China penny stocks, but in deep longkang too.
People like to buy overvalue things mahh icon_idea.gif
During pre 2008, so many uncle aunty go sapu those fund, buy and buy believe stupid story like Shanghai index will go up exceed 10000 points (watever)..

Now still in 2xxx point, scare already..many of them loss 50% of principal. Reluctant to buy more.

But I truly believe it is golden time to buy China stocks now especially those blue chips ( H shares) listed in HKSE. drool.gif

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Apr 26 2012, 02:39 PM
Icehart
post Apr 26 2012, 02:48 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 26 2012, 02:36 PM)
But I truly believe it is golden time to buy China stocks now especially those blue chips ( H shares) listed in HKSE. drool.gif
Bursa here got. Check out 5155. PE 2.34 only. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:48 PM