Is a condominium without a balcony ok?, at floor 30
Apr 10 2012, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(lucerne @ Apr 10 2012, 10:41 AM) better to hv balcony on high floors coz u can plant some tree at balcony to look green, otherwise your view will be oni sky when u sit on the sofa. more soothing, trust me. low floor without balcony is ok coz u can view the tree on ground or landscape, at least some view not too plain
froglai88
Apr 10 2012, 12:40 PM
I personally prefer high floor with balcony. But d question is how many will go out to balcony, esp high flr, except smoking. I previously stay in a 56th flr apartment while on vacation, unrestricted view, but nvr step out of balcony during my 5 days stay.. hehe
katijar
Apr 10 2012, 01:22 PM
and it gets dirty easily and troublesome to wash that area... unless u have water pipe there...
yehlai
Apr 10 2012, 01:27 PM
Self preference. If you don't need it on 30 floor, why need to pay for it?
idoblu
Apr 10 2012, 01:44 PM
got balcony, you will sure put grills if you got kids. another expenditure to consider and might ruin the overall aesthetic of your place.
i guess smokers will love balconies
lucerne
Apr 10 2012, 01:59 PM
it depend what condo. if u live in hi end it is good to hv balcony. eg klcc condo with nice skylight view, neon lights etc
u dun hv rubbish problem in hi end condo. no one hang clothes in hi end condo, they hv designated area (yard) to hang clothes or the condo come with dryer machine.
i personally enjoy to hv balcony, especially when u feel bore and want to makan angin...quite relaxing. i like to see the neon lights u feel good to live in the city centre.
if u stay low or mid cost condo, then better dun hv balcony and waste build up area.
zephyrus9999
Apr 10 2012, 04:36 PM
30 Floors goes wasted without balconies! In fact for my low floor i even thought of setting up a hanging chair that is hooked onto the balcony ceiling (dunno how to describe)  But 30 floors, a very highly dense condo i suppose
davkong
Apr 10 2012, 04:40 PM
If you can be creative and turn the balcony into a place which can intergrate seamlessly with the living area, eg. a mini garden with wooden planking, it will be a nice place to have. If you just want to have it to hang clothes then might as well dont have it, it will be an eyesore.
roger roger
Apr 10 2012, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(iamnew @ Apr 10 2012, 09:55 AM) Can anyone advise? Am planning to buy a unit at floor 30, not much choice left...no balcony level 30 @.@ must be in shah alam, coz shah alam local council don approve for balcony!
vectorian
Apr 10 2012, 05:41 PM
For me high-rise condo or apartment... balcony is a must unless it's like 50th floor or something. My rationale is... why buy high rise and can't enjoy the breeze and view?
I've seen many without balcony and just felt too enclosed for me.
idoblu
Apr 10 2012, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(vectorian @ Apr 10 2012, 05:41 PM) For me high-rise condo or apartment... balcony is a must unless it's like 50th floor or something. My rationale is... why buy high rise and can't enjoy the breeze and view? I've seen many without balcony and just felt too enclosed for me. without balcony doesnt mean there are no windows to view outside or to let breeze in.... a lot of condos have full height windows, just that you cant step out. infact you are enjoying the view and breeze without the trouble of keeping a balcony clean
davkong
Apr 10 2012, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 10 2012, 08:17 PM) without balcony doesnt mean there are no windows to view outside or to let breeze in.... a lot of condos have full height windows, just that you cant step out. infact you are enjoying the view and breeze without the trouble of keeping a balcony clean +1
cranx
Apr 10 2012, 10:36 PM
Balcony is quite nice to have, not a must unless you need to smoke or dry your clothes.
and i do agree cigarette butts and all sorts of other rubbish will accumulate there, that is why it is good to stay at the top floor of a condo. atleast second from the top if you cant afford the penthouse.
clanzkiller
Apr 11 2012, 02:41 AM
My point of view, you will enjoy balcony in the first year of occupied, and after that, you will hardly step on it. Reason: 1. You need to clean it very often, otherwise your feet will be all black. 2. Raining time, got balcony= no balcony. Sometimes will float if something stuck on the water hole example leaf or slipper, etc.
lucerne
Apr 11 2012, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(clanzkiller @ Apr 11 2012, 02:41 AM) 1. You need to clean it very often, otherwise your feet will be all black. what i did is to buy a irobot to clean the balcony regularly (depend on dust, cud be once every 2-3days), the tiles will be very clean
hallas82
Apr 11 2012, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(chulk @ Apr 10 2012, 10:00 AM) why? basically you fall down from 30 floor got not diff with 10 20 floor. got difference, fall from 30, you head will be like watermelon.... fall from 10-20, the chance for head with the body still there..
edyek
Apr 11 2012, 10:50 AM
Its easy, but might need MC approval la.
Get one with balcony. Install full height window at the balcony.
Dont like balcony, close the window, becomes part of the living room, a small office or library.
Like balcony, open the window, and viola...it is still balcony where by you can enjoy your views or breeze as whenever you like it.
youngman28
Apr 11 2012, 11:12 AM

QUOTE(edyek @ Apr 11 2012, 11:50 AM) Get one with balcony. Install full height window at the balcony. Dont like balcony, close the window, becomes part of the living room, a small office or library. Like balcony, open the window, and viola...it is still balcony where by you can enjoy your views or breeze as whenever you like it. +2, easy maintain, practical , based on my own experiences
jasonlim
Apr 11 2012, 11:41 AM
I think balcony is a waste of sq