㊕ ㊕(≧◡≦) ♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V3♠ ♠ ♠(≧◡≦) ㊕ ㊕, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé

Nightstalker1993
post Apr 7 2012, 05:40 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 7 2012, 05:00 PM)
Anybody noticed this spec sheet and the one on the preve website is different? On the preve site it says even the exec spec cvt will get the esc, push start button and all the other bells and whistles while here it says it doesn't. rclxub.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 7 2012, 11:55 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 7 2012, 07:10 PM)
off topic, also sharing thought. After reading all the reviews on preve by media, i think that i notice, all saying the iafm+ cvt variant really loud in term of engine sound.

If u follow closely, they mentioned it loud when pedal to metal@at 5k rpm. Not only the engine sound but cvt whining also contribute to that.

The question is, do u need to pedal to metal to overtake driving cvt or even driving uphill or driving up to speed 140-160kmh?

The answer that i gain from my source, is no. Malaysian still new with cvt gbox even its already been around long time ago.

Driving a cvt is not the same as driving twin clutch, conv at n manual where to extract all the power and torque by pedal to metal.

By pedal to metal cvt, the full cvt mode change to 'slow sat mode' where u can see the rev counter climbing slowly to redline(not too slow, it like u r driving only 1 speed gbox, u can see the rev climbing), while in full cvt, the rev can jump to any rpm, depend on input from throttle.

When it reach highest rev, it will static, n of course, u will hear the sound really loud, like driving manual, first gear, rev to redline n never change to next gear.

Pedal to metal only apply in cvt if u need to reach its top most speed(km/h) which is rarely unless u want to test up what is the top speed of ur car or just suka suka.

For example, those who are driving iafm+ cvt, only need to rev around 2k rpm and below for town driving, n 2.5k-3k rpm highway driving, depend on speed u want to reach. If only u want to overtake@needed all the torque available, just pedal up to 4k rpm where the max torque available in engine. Max 85% of throttle input is needed coz beyond 85%,its enter the slow sat mode.

So, in daily or normal driving, balik kampung driving, conquer hilly route, climbing high places n etc,no need to rev beyond 4k rpm. Need better power, just slotted to L mode, it rev 20% higher than normal D mode, n throttle will be crispier n engine braking will be apparent.

Then, if u drive cvt like what it supposed to, then, the engine sound wont be bugging u too much.

Even if u want to gauge the century sprint timing, no need pedal to metal. Just rev up to 4k rpm only coz all torque is there. If u want to get faster timing, slot to L, then rev 4k rpm. While the others keep pedal to metal to reach century sprint n stress the engine to get there(means other 1.6 na with conv auto@manual), u just relaxing cruising at 4k without any jerk due to gear shifting.

Erm, it seems they really used 90kmh control env data for fc in cvt iafm+1.6,rather than target fc @90kmh as in flx 1.3. Coz the real data for flx 1.3 iafm+ cvt is 5.65 L/100km@90kmh, but they publish 6 L/100km based on target fc@90kmh. While mixed fc around 7.68L+-/100km

So, i think combine fc for iafm+1.6 cvt is around 8L+-/100km.

For cfe cvt, no need to comment coz all torque available at 2k rpm, n at 1.5k rpm, already has better torque than iafm+. Just my advice for cfe cvt owners,, try to control ur right foot, dont drive reaching 2k rpm in town driving if u want to extract to most fc for cfe.
Hearing from my friends who are driving turbocharged cars, they said there is not much difference between half throttle and full throttle once the boost kicks in. But those are high performance SR20s with huge turbos. In the case of the Preve, is it the same?

QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 7 2012, 07:16 PM)
and for stopping distance, why preve out brake all its benchmark competitors, look at preve disc size front n rear, it 15 inch disc, n check the others in b@c segments. Try to compare the size, evem for focus
the disc itself is 15"? you sure bro? The rims 15" i faham la but the disc? sweat.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 01:02 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Jane's @ Apr 16 2012, 12:56 AM)
Wonder if anyone noticed in the video where Jean Alesi tested the car, all the while it was on the move, the so-called DRLs weren't turned on as a DRL should be. Gues those LEDs are in fact there to complement the look, as well as used as the parking/position lights only, not like those DRLs that turn on in the day automatically.
already discussed many times in the thread. Those are positioning lights, not Daylight Running Lights smile.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:03 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

the making video is nice
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:07 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

mat79 is a better speaker than the current fella. listening to this fella can sleep sleep.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:09 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

maknanya apa lagi saya boleh cakap pada malam ini. maknanya tiada banyak lagi yang saya boleh cakap pada malam ini doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:11 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

price coming up....
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:12 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

he announce the price like jeremy clarkson announce the celebrity timing lol.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:16 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

finally its officially launched
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 16 2012, 10:16 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

epic music playing lol
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 02:58 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

gonna test drive the car tomorrow. hope can go highway. hehe
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 03:01 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Apr 17 2012, 02:59 AM)
i'm going at saturday, scare need to queue for test drive haha xD
i went to showroom nearby just now ask him need to pre-book for test drive anot. he just gave me his card and ask me to call him before coming, anytime then can test drive rclxms.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 01:48 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 17 2012, 11:42 AM)
Everyone test driving: PLEASE BANTAI CUKUP CUKUP. Then we'll get better feedback then any online "car site" review lol.
actually those online 'car site' review they test memang bantai until cannot bantai edi wan.

i still remember last time when i was working for volkswagen polo gti launch event as a test drive host, i was the host for one of Paultan's website punya writer. fak man the guy drive bloody scary. small road behind sepang circuit can go 160, corner also like crazy rclxub.gif

and i remember paultan or fantasticko said they tested the Preve's top speed on GPS 205kmh which should show 215-220 on the speedo lol.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:02 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 17 2012, 02:28 PM)
dafuq u wan to drive at 160 for
Thats what you call real highway cruising tongue.gif

QUOTE(dinwaja @ Apr 17 2012, 02:35 PM)
don't rev more than 4k rpm?why?is it because of it just a test drive car?my current car @ waja can easily rev to redline...what will happen with preve if more than 4k rpm?turbo cannot tahan?easily lag due to heat or what?make me curious.gonna visit showroom this weekend and will ask for a test drive...
The RPM actually will only max out around 5~5.5k rpm even in manual mode.

Anyway, just test drove the car. heres my review and a few things most of you might miss when checking the car tongue.gif

Rear child door lock have to use key(or screwdriver) to turn instead of the usual slide button. Not that i ever use it, but those that might will have to take note

rear speakers damn cute if compared to my waja's speakers but its made by Blaupunkt laugh.gif

Front interior lights using the same set from the Waja until now

lastly, some were wondering how the hell is the passenger airbag gonna deploy since theres no visible 'square' or airbag deployment cover or anything that resembles that. If you look closely, you can see the airbag hole is actually pre-cut. You'd have to really pay attention to notice it. Nice, very subtle indeed.

and some internal salesman card laugh.gif wondering why they didn't compare the Premium spec though

Finally, my test drive review. SA don't let me go highway but managed to test mixed housing area and main road with some hard corners.

I asked the SA how do i open the door if the remote malfunctioned since the handle have no visible keyhole, he said the keyhole is actually hidden behind the cover with the key logo and you'd have to remove it. Subtle. After entering the car, inserting(prefer to call it plugging in though tongue.gif ) lights up the display and pressing the push-start button once starts up the car. You don't have to hold the button to crank the engine, but the engine will crank itself once you press the button. First time playing with push start button so it may not be new to others but its definitely new to me

Brakes are good. very good in fact. Better than my Waja stock braking system and more bite eventhough i'm using RS brake pads. tested at housing area first with max acceleration and hard braking. even on yellow lines the brakes performed nicely eventhough can hear the tires starting to skid. Went to the long stretch of road between SS14 and SS18 and managed to hit 140 before slowing down due to the traffic light up front and took the left corner around 70~80 hard enough to activate the ESC. Can see the ESC light blinking while i was cornering laugh.gif Overall the car feels very undramatic and controlled eventhough i was cornering hard. Acceleration can't really feel much but once you look at the speedo suddenly it reads 100 sweat.gif S mode also not much feel. dissapointed with the pedal shifters though. not much feel when changing 'gears' and it will automatically change for me before i hit my desired RPM. too used to manual i guess sweat.gif

overall it was a nice test drive session. managed to test hard cornering and braking and was not dissapointed. Can't imagine how it'll handle if the tires were changed to Michelin PS3 instead drool.gif SA said he was scared when i was driving sweat.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:14 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Apr 17 2012, 04:09 PM)
Wah.. NS laju giler dah test drive and review! Nice write up man, looks like our local automotive industry is going in the right direction!

You planning to get it? Might as well get the manual.. paddle shifters also no feel.
nola sticking with my Waja. Waja with adjustable coilovers can corner harder than the Preve tongue.gif

but the Preve handles it in a very 'undramatic' way to put simple. if corner at the same speed, my Waja feels more... sensitive while the Preve is very composed. didn't push the car as hard as i'd like to though due to traffic. sad.gif

the stock tires should be good enough to most people. I'd put the tires as almost the same level as the Hankook V12 in terms of dry grip. maybe slightly lower, but just slightly.
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:16 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 17 2012, 04:14 PM)
Auto-shift without over-revving in manual shift mode. My SC Manager was right... hmm.gif

Watch the CVT mantainace costs guys. It might be quite "interesting" as there's a CVT oil filter to change too.
your rara won't auto-shift? your CVT also no filter ka? or you're using manual? hmm.gif

but still prefer manual in the end. last time i test drove the VW Polo GTi also same case. before i hit the rpm that i want, it auto shifts up doh.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:21 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

the steering weight is just nice though. Not as heavy as my Waja but heavier than a Vios/City
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:34 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Apr 17 2012, 04:24 PM)
Looks like we tested at the same place .... my session was around 3.20pm and used the same route as you did. Compared against the Waja, the Preve certainly scores better. But at low rpm (say like moving off from a traffic light), the weight of the car is very obvious. I think changing to light weight JDM rims would definitely help in this area.

Otherwise, it's a pretty nice car to drive .... I was also surprised that I didn't feel I was going so fast. The good NVH certainly creates the illusion that we're moving slower than actual.
mine was at 3pm. the dude before you was wearing uniform and the SA is the indian fella? laugh.gif

should try hard cornering though. thats where the fun starts laugh.gif left turn at the traffic light can hantam if you know the right line. Now itchy hand to test highway pulak. which SA allows to test highway? hmm.gif

i think in terms of acceleration about the same as my Waja manual. but my waja is lighter and its a manual la so... sweat.gif

spirited driving is OK. Normal drive the engine is quiet but once you put it into S mode, the engine starts to come alive and the CVT starts to whine laugh.gif

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Apr 17 2012, 04:30 PM)
LOL, it's not easy to be salesmen, their lives are in jeopardy whenever accompany customers for test drive laugh.gif
well, i still remember last time when i was host for the VW Polo GTi event, a girl total loss the only Scirocco 2.0 available for test drive at the back roads at Sepang SIC. masuk gaung sial rclxub.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:41 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 17 2012, 04:37 PM)
Damn, I sure hope she ended up bought a VW lol. Otherwise WTH?

Exotic supercar test drives sure more sakit lol.
i heard the girl was a mat salleh though. not much info after that. All i know is that all of them were safe and the host continued working the next day sweat.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 17 2012, 04:49 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Apr 17 2012, 04:46 PM)
Yeah, man .... I remember the Scirocco total loss case .... a friend reserved that pre-reg unit .... in the end couldn't buy coz total loss already. Fate.

No, I didn't get the Indian SA ... was a chinese guy. Nice fella. Very knowledgeable.
ouch. that hurts. oh well, best not to get test drive units as those test-drivers all really hantam the car 99 sweat.gif

You were there with a couple of friends right? I mean the guy test driving the car before you was a chinese guy wearing uniform while his SA is the Indian fella? If yes then that was me laugh.gif

the indian fella not really that knowledgeable. asked him how to change to radio as it was in GPS mode and he doesn't know doh.gif asked him how to open the boot via the remote and he said theres no such feature doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif should've asked the girl to serve me instead laugh.gif

so what you think of the car after the short drive? laugh.gif

0.0426sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:54 AM