Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

peaceboy97
post Aug 26 2012, 11:52 PM

Hi guys,

I'm a newbies with interest in sound system. I have just bought a whole set system. Any suggestion if taking 12" vented box for ready made or custom made better.? I just like the sound of more heavy music with some punching & tight base.
Currently I'm using for ready made box and feel like it's not that punching enough, I check from internet it state some size dimension and I compare it's difference than the ready made.

My stuff below and I'm using a saloon car;
Kenwood U453
Ameron AMA486D
Ameron AM616 component but not using crossover (x1set only)
Ameron AMA516D
Ameron AM1296 (x1 unit only)

Is this set good enough.?

This post has been edited by peaceboy97: Aug 26 2012, 11:55 PM
peaceboy97
post Aug 28 2012, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(zennn @ Aug 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
peaceboy97 if u can find an installer who knows how to customize vented box accordin to your needs, then yes, if not it could make it sound worse.
Hi Zennn,

So if really go for a custom vented box, for 12" woofer in a saloon car Proton Iswara any idea for the size if I want for a good punching & tight bass.

peaceboy97
post Sep 2 2012, 01:41 PM

Halloo,, Sifu-Sidu sekalian,,

Need some help and advises,,,cox I'm desperate liauuu,, Orely pump in money and dun get what I should have..... sad.gif

- My ride: Iswara Saloon
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL
- Music genre: All

My stuff below (all is new set) and is below set worth for RM3,500 excluding HU Kenwood.?? ;;

Kenwood U453
Ameron AMA486D
Ameron AM616 component but not using crossover (x1set only)
Ameron AMA516D
Ameron AM1296 (x1 unit with Vented box only)

Is this set good enough.? It's recommended by my accessory shop fren which this product he carry. Cause I dun feel punching enough and the vocal sound not that clear (My expectation in on Entry only not too much kuahh ehiehieh). Is it due to the tuning part.? Cox I see he is in difficulty to get the tuning sound for what I want.

This post has been edited by peaceboy97: Sep 2 2012, 01:43 PM
peaceboy97
post Sep 2 2012, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 2 2012, 02:45 PM)
pump in peanuts, get peanuts lo.

ameron, considered chicken brand. look up for reputable brands (search this thread, or that other "brand thread" or even my "ICE journey thread") to get an idea on what kinda brands, and how much they cost smile.gif
So means tat nothing can be done orely arrr?..
peaceboy97
post Sep 3 2012, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 3 2012, 01:14 AM)
can, anything is possible with some money. (id reckon you'd need to pay to get good tuner to help tune your system)

in all seriousness though, i'd save up and/or sell your existing system to get a proper system smile.gif
Yeah,, May be need to find a tuner and see how first. heiehiihe... Any recommendation in Melaka.?
peaceboy97
post Sep 4 2012, 05:24 PM

Hi,, Sifu, Sifu,

Just to check around on some technical thing about front component set. Is it must use the cross-over from the component set for a better sound.? I think my set don't come along and my installer put some condensor (Component looks like resister) at the wire to tweeter. what does this mean.?
Cause the installer tell me not to use the cross-over with component set and by using 4 channel amp to provide 2 channel to bass mid and 2 channel to tweeter will sound more better.? Is it true.?

peaceboy97
post Sep 5 2012, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Sep 4 2012, 05:33 PM)
he is running a semi active bi-amp setup.
2ch to drive tweeter via a simple 6db xover with attenuation(cap n resistor)
2ch to drive mid via either amp xover or HU proc(not sure as u didnt state)

most important the 2ch driving the mid must have a bandpass filter(HP & LP filter).
generally around 70Hz(HP) - 2500Hz(LP) if ur running juz LP and full range throughout without HP filter, then ur drivers will usually damage in the long run.

pro's without having a HP on mids - midbass damn keng!!(one of the way to cheat saying this mids is damn keng!!..hehe)
Yeah,, Got it but abit bluff on the HU "Proc" means what.? My HU is Kenwood U453 arr,, cheap 1. and the Amp have Hp & LP as well on both channel.
peaceboy97
post Sep 7 2012, 03:02 PM

Halloo,,, hallooo,,

I'm a newbie and have join in the ICE club. Can I check out something see whether you guys can help or suggest anything bohhh below..??

My stuff
*6.5" component set w/o passive crossover x1
*4 ch 1200W amp x1
*2ch 2ohm 2000W amp monoblock x1
*12" woofer & vented box x1 (Square box with 85mm diameter & 8" long of tubing hole) should be standard ready made purchase
*Pre-amp 4 band x1 (just bought)

My ride: Proton Iswara
My Prefer: SQ/SQL
File format: CD/Radio/USB
Genre of music: All kind of music

1) I'm using Kenwood U435 HU, what is the default setting on the HU to set if want to tuning the sound from amp.?

2) Is the HU LOUDNESS need to OFF or put it to highers setting when tuning the amp.?

3) Does it really need for a passive crossover for the component set is compulsory.?

4) A pre-amp or Active crossover (E-Crossover) which is better or both needed if want to have a good sound system

5) Can I bridge the amp from 4ch to 2ch to boost the component set (since I already have 4ch and only a single set of component used) and the bridged monoblock to hit the 12" woofer as well.?

6) Will the sound affected if I do fiberglass and put the component set in front door.? and do some anger of 30 degree face up center position. Just to make it nicer look compare to the tweeter original place (left and right of windscreen below)

6) My woofer sound abit weird when listening to normal music/song (means no boom-boom or punching), the woofer seems like some air hohhhh,,hohhhh sound following the music tune. Is it the woofer bass sound not divided enough or really need a E-Crossover to make it better.?

Please correct me if my statement is not clear or wrong...

Cheers,,,

peaceboy97
post Sep 7 2012, 05:54 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 7 2012, 03:49 PM)
1) unless you're using mid/high end HUs, id suggest the EQs/tuning to be kept minimal/none

2) off, you don't want double (or more) amping to introduce noise unnecessarily

3) component sets will include a passive crossover (otherwise it will be called coaxial speakers, NOT component set speakers), it is compulsory in a passive setup to have proper frequency filtering. in an active setup, an additional cross over and/or processor/preamp will do the frequency filtering instead

4) crossover is typically better unless you're buying a really expensive pre-amp. additionally, consider upgrading the other items/components first before even thinking on processors/crossovers/preamp

5) not much point, there is only so much power a component set speakers can take until you fry them. not to mention if your amp isnt efficient/clean, you *may potentially* introduce additional noise into the speakers

6) if you're using cheap component set speakers, not much point. money is better spent upgrading the speakers

7) you need proper low frequency filtering to the woofer. if no bass should be played, the woofer should be kept quiet.
Kam Xiaaa,,, kam Xiaaaaa,,,,,

You really help me alot for deciding the rigth point,, if not I will go more far away and canot reach where I wanted to.. smile.gif

peaceboy97
post May 19 2015, 05:31 PM

Hi All taiko taiko & ICE sifu sifu,

I'm very interest in ICE, so I prefer for SQ & SQL, there are 2 options where the picture show below. so which is the best for SQ or SQL system.?

TQTQTQTQ..

1) with X-over on the component set for Front door only (x-over need or no need better).?
2) carry on to use the 5" Mid-bass rear speaker.?
3) w/o rear speaker better.?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by peaceboy97: May 25 2015, 05:46 PM

peaceboy97
post May 25 2015, 05:48 PM

Hi All taiko taiko & ICE sifu sifu,

I'm very interest in ICE, so I prefer for SQ & SQL, there are 2 options where the picture show below. so which is the best for SQ or SQL system.?

TQTQTQTQ..

peaceboy97
post May 26 2015, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(izso @ May 26 2015, 10:58 AM)
I Personally think that you think too much. And I also personally think that the more devices you introduce to the system, the more "coloured" the sound will be. Less is more.

Don't be thinking too hard on all these things, sometimes it's the tuning that makes the sound, not just the equipment.
HI Izso,

So you mean that I have to choose from which.? base on the draft .?

1) cause my concern now is to use a 3 way Electronic cross over with passive or w/o is better.?
2) rear speaker is it necessary to be use to enhance the performance.?

peaceboy97
post Jun 9 2015, 04:59 PM

Hi,,

Does any one know where can we buy the OEM Proton Saga plastic door panel? i drive an old 8V proton saga and my door panel have rotten out. its time to get a new one. i noticed that the new model of Saga using the plastic door panel, wonder where we can buy it... any one?

0.1049sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:40 PM