Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

narkon
post May 20 2013, 10:50 AM

647 posts

Hello everyone...this is my 1st time buying audio for cars....i think ive been long enough experiencing with sound using 2.1 and 5.1 speakers...so im expecting slightly a decent sound...not VERY good sound but decent is enough since my budget is only 1.3k (head unit not included)....Really2 hope u all can guide me...

- My ride: Nissan Almera
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL
- File format/medium used for my source: FLAC/MP3
- Music genre: trance, dubsteb,techno, Rock,and also like to focus on Voice.
- Budget: 1.3K
- Setup type preferences:2 or 4 component set+tweeter,1 amp,1 woofer.
- Other requirements (if any):

got 1 seller in lowyat selling me Sony Brand at this price

1. Sony XS-GTX1622S component - RM299
2. Sony XM-GTX6041 amp - RM329
3. Sony XS-GTX121LB subwoofer - RM219
4. JBL GTO 501EZ monoblock - RM653

Is sony good enough?...and other thing is...what does monoblock do???bcoz the seller said that if without mono block, the sound will distort...

Hope u guys can guide me and answer all my question
narkon
post May 21 2013, 09:58 AM

647 posts

tq for your reply...

regarding hte monob, im not planning to buy them mono block at the 1st place since it is over my budget dy...

but the seller said that without it, my system will cut off the sound (4 channel amp)...is it true?
narkon
post May 21 2013, 01:23 PM

647 posts

he is selling it separately but he recommend to me to buy a mono block to improve sounds..

is his price expensive?
narkon
post May 21 2013, 10:18 PM

647 posts

ooooo...orait then...he did not insist but he encourage me to use moboblock as he said that it will unlock the full potential of the ice system..

hehe...so for entry level, that sony set will be okay for me?

or can u recommend a few more choices?...really need ur expert opinion

narkon
post May 22 2013, 11:07 AM

647 posts

owhhh....thats sounds bad...

would u reccomend me a decent setup then?...the cheapest i can get for a decent sound...
narkon
post May 23 2013, 10:33 AM

647 posts

only front component set without amp and sub?...or do i still need the amp?...

if yes, would u recommend me a specific model that is within my budget...
narkon
post May 23 2013, 10:35 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ May 22 2013, 05:12 PM)
yes, this is the best way to know whether something suit u or not...but in some case, test unit are not available and it's not all shop will let u test....so at this situation recommendation by experience is very important.
yes bro..that is true....im in melaka and there is no shop that i can test the branded speaker....a lot of display speaker but all china one...at Brothers also the same...
narkon
post May 23 2013, 12:05 PM

647 posts

LOL...i know the both brand u said bro....i would like some "specific" recommendation from u which model will suit more on my budget...

will it perform well without any amp?

im sorry to ask a lot of question...im quite new to this ICE stuff..

one more thing, do u know in melaka which shop sells all this stuff?...i go a few audio shop, all china brand..if got some branded one, dont have any demo for me to listen to the quality..
narkon
post May 24 2013, 09:09 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 23 2013, 01:47 PM)
Sorry, not Melaka guy.

You can try GM Concept or Focal Performance(If I get the name correctly).

Most of the speakers will perform better with amplifiers, because it amplifies also because your HU not kuat enough to amplify.

If you are new to ICE, I would tell you to install step by step, instead of putting everything in together.
Both ways will definitely show some improvement, the difference would be you will know what are being improved.

If you are new into ICE, go and listen to it yourself will be easier for you to make a decision. Instead of reading what people is saying in the forum.

But I can honestly tell you, any shop that is really into making business, "Test"/"Try" and listen is something that they will not hesitate to do for the customer.

Melaka definitely have a proper audio shop, since you have a Almera, just drive around and lookout lor...
orait bro...i will search melaka area first to test the german maestro n focal if i can find at the nearby audio shop....but the most important is to try and listen to the speaker itself which i did not have the chance to do it... T_T

maybe u are right, it is better for me to go 1 by one....instead of buying 1 set with a minimum price and later will not satisfied with the performance...right?
narkon
post May 25 2013, 07:53 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ May 24 2013, 10:37 PM)
sometimes i have go to melaka. Maybe u can pm me ur number, so next time i go to melaka can let u try to listen to my car lo  smile.gif
orait..gladly... drool.gif

0.0511sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:32 AM