Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

joeroxworld
post Oct 31 2016, 06:16 PM

345 posts

Hey guys,

I want to replace my head unit Sony GT522U.

Prefer Pioneer or anything good within the range.

Currently using

- MB Quart component speaker
- MB Quart active bass

- My ride: Mercedes W210
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQ/SQL
- File format/medium used for my source: USB (mp3 etc), CD
- Music genre: All
- Budget: RM 600
- Other requirements (if any): Superb FM radio reception
joeroxworld
post Nov 1 2016, 12:53 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(akallen @ Oct 31 2016, 11:48 PM)
Kenwood highest specification for single din was around 400 I think in brothers kelana jaya.. but don't install there lah... if pioneer sure gonna cost you a bomb tho
After a while reading on this section, should i just save up and go for Pioneer 80 PRS ?

Is it truly worth it ?
joeroxworld
post Nov 1 2016, 12:56 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(akallen @ Nov 1 2016, 09:10 AM)
It's not about buying too expensive player but a lot of factors need to be considered as well... speakers.. wiring and etc.. your cost may go higher then...
Noted.

Thanks a lot for the info.

By the way, any recommendation for Pioneer head unit ?

Range around RM 600.
joeroxworld
post Nov 1 2016, 10:04 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Nov 1 2016, 05:02 PM)
if u step into 80prs, u are into the high end ICE category already, although there are even higher end ones... if u get into this range, be prepare to spend more on other components if u want to make sure there is no bottleneck performance in ur setup. amps, wiring, components need to match the level of the 80prs performance capabilities or else it's not really worth it. using high end HU but entry level components and amps will not do justice for the 80prs. u will of cuz get nice sound using the high end HU, but the HU is unable to unleash it's full potential due to other entry level components. Just my opinion. More experienced sifus can correct me if I'm wrong. I'm still learning here.  notworthy.gif
Im having the same thought too.

Planing to do it one by one.

Just done installing my active sub last month.

So this month either changing the HU or rear door speaker.

Which one u think i should change first ?

This post has been edited by joeroxworld: Nov 1 2016, 10:05 PM
joeroxworld
post Nov 2 2016, 01:22 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Nov 2 2016, 01:06 AM)
drool.gif active sub! boot active sub or underseat sub? envy cars with super big boot space  laugh.gif y the rear door speaker? front should be the first to be upgraded unless u want ur rear passengers to enjoy quality music first  brows.gif if rear vs HU, I'd personally go for HU first. Front wise a better option would be component speakers for better soundstage. Just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif
Underseat sub.

Tried my friend box sub just too much for me.

I'm using MB Quart component speaker at front.

So i will go for HU this month. Haha.
joeroxworld
post Nov 7 2016, 07:21 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Nov 2 2016, 03:22 AM)
well alot of people love boom boom sub  laugh.gif for me quality bass matters more than quantity bass... I think it really depends on the type of subwoofers... high quality subwoofers do produces a really good bass, undistorted while being able to produce deep low bass at high volumes. Usually that type of subwoofer needs a high powered monoblock amp to work. what model of undersub are you using? hmm.gif
MB Quart undersub.

It gives me the feel that i want, a little bit punch of bass instead of flat sound.

Haha.
joeroxworld
post Nov 8 2016, 03:00 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Nov 8 2016, 02:23 AM)
this version? http://www.mudah.my/ORIGINAL+MB+QUART+8+Ac...52-46201683.htm my priority for now is an amp and further sound deaden my doors. underseat sub perhaps later on laugh.gif
Yeah this one.

Should i need an amp to boost the sound ?

I mean the overall sound.

I wonder. Haha.

This post has been edited by joeroxworld: Nov 8 2016, 03:02 PM

0.3774sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:01 PM