Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)
biatch0
Jan 9 2014, 10:30 PM
Tem Que Valer
Current Alpine CDA-9857 HU is still working perfectly... but the iPod interface is getting out of date (and it's a pain to scroll thru). Thinking about an upgrade on only the HU - should ideally have iPod/Bluetooth (and similar output power to the CDA-9857 so the rest of the components don't need to be changed I guess).
Any recommendations? Cheaper is better (as long as it's from reputable brands) but since the HU has served me well for almost 8 years I guess I don't mind spending a bit more if I can get similar years of service from something a bit more pricey.
biatch0
Jan 12 2014, 07:21 AM
Tem Que Valer
QUOTE(izso @ Jan 11 2014, 11:19 PM) Get any of the new Alpines la. All Ipod compatible and no need scrolling nonsense. All the new Alpines come with BT? And what do you mean by no more scrolling... they figured out some new UI thing? QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 12 2014, 12:46 AM) if ur car can fit in a double din, get a dvd unit..the screen can display a lot more info than any single din..and price now is cheap enuff I prefer single DIN because there's a space below the HU where I keep the iPod... if I get the double DIN I'll have nowhere to keep the iPod (maybe can let it Tarzan). If can just expand my CDA 9857 to include BT it'll be better  Anyone got a rough estimate for pricing for a HU that fits my requirements? This post has been edited by biatch0: Jan 12 2014, 08:26 AM
biatch0
Aug 17 2014, 12:51 PM
Tem Que Valer
Thinking about upgrading my HU (currently using an Alpine CDA-9857). Requirements are BT AND iPod input (preferably both). Optional, but would be nice - prefer display comparable to the CDA-9857 (not calculator display type). I can live without this, but I think the scrolling to read song names/album names/etc. would be really annoying with the calculator displays.  Obviously, because I am a proud Malaysian, I want cheap also  so this is the third priority. Does anyone have recommendations?
biatch0
Aug 20 2014, 01:17 AM
Tem Que Valer
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 19 2014, 08:03 PM) Wah... looks very nice... but price also very nice  That's why I said "optional" for nice display haha... Seems like all the HU with non calculator display are ~RM1k+++. I was thinking about ~RM500 budget for the HU only (pokai lah now)... Any recommendations? Not too picky with brand (just hope to get something reputable). * Also, rear USB for iPod connection would be nice so nothing is sticking out of the front. This post has been edited by biatch0: Aug 20 2014, 10:24 PM
biatch0
Sep 16 2014, 02:46 PM
Tem Que Valer
Anyone using a USB HU to play Spotify (iOS) via the USB only? Is this even possible or does AUX cable kung fu have to come out?
biatch0
Sep 17 2014, 09:41 AM
Tem Que Valer
Budget is low as possible  I'm using my mothers car for the next month (or two) while I replace my own car... so no point spending here... I already have a BT HU in mind for my own wheels when I get them. Not really interested in multiple pieces of hardware just to get Spotify working. I'm looking for iPhone -> USB -> HU -> speakers. Our resident expert howiechoo has recommended the Blaupunkt 130 but can't confirm that the setup I'm interested in will work... that's why I'm asking here in case anyone has tested before.
biatch0
Sep 17 2014, 02:19 PM
Tem Que Valer
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Sep 17 2014, 01:31 PM) the easiest way is to get a bt hu....99% it work with ur sportify. BT HU I will definitely buy from you for my own car later... but temporary car also buy BT HU meh?  Sorry boss... pokai oh