saga blm
- only need to replace the music player
- usb or sd card slot
- able to play mp3
what is the cheapest option ?
Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)
Jan 7 2016, 08:21 PM
2,725 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
saga blm
- only need to replace the music player - usb or sd card slot - able to play mp3 what is the cheapest option ? |
Jan 10 2016, 05:41 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2016 |
Hi All,
Planning to get a 3rd party player. Appreciate your thoughts: - Ride: Mitsubishi ASX 2WD GL 2015 - Prefer SQ/SPL/SQL: Ideally SQL - File format/medium used in your source: Not too particular, but the more the better - Genre of music you listen to: Not particular - Other requirements (if any): Mirroring function (wireless mirroring even better), better if I could install apps (e.g. Waze) on the unit itself, interface that is easy on the eyes Thanks! |
Jan 11 2016, 02:13 PM
104 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Jan 7 2016, 08:21 PM) saga blm Jvc will be good cod around 198 - only need to replace the music player - usb or sd card slot - able to play mp3 what is the cheapest option ? Unless u dun mind china made hu which coat u 1xx plus installation depending on shop but super not recommended Very bad radio reception |
Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM
1,282 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Appreciate suggestion to improve the audio of my ride My ride: Mitsubishi Triton VGT GS (4x4) File format/medium used for my source: Played through bluetooth of my iphone 6... mostly ALAC file type Music genre: Anything from heavy metal to old malay music. All type of musics those have nice rythm that match my ears... Budget: RM1000-2000 Setup type preferences: Looking for speaker recommendation. Currently, I have Kenwood DNX7330BTM but all speakers are mitsubishi standard speakers ( 4 speakers and 2 tweeters setup). I'm looking for better speakers setup and a subwoofer. I'm a bit of audiophile type of guy but always on the road. Currently my music listening gear is only my iPhone 6s with Audio Technica ATH-MSR7 earphone paired with Sony DAC PHA-1A In the future, I will be improving the soundproof of my beloved Triton... to improve the music listening... Thanks guys |
Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM
38 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Hi all, i wanted to replace my car HU which my original unit are faulty. I do have 2 choice ATM, can someone advice which would be better choice?
1) Pioneer DEH-X3750UI 2) Clarion CZ302 Or there are any other choice which price around RM400-600. Better sound quality would be first priority and with bluetooth are bonus. Thank you. |
Jan 16 2016, 02:12 AM
291 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Hi recommend me good front speaker..
- My ride: Persona SV - Budget: RM 300 - Other requirements (if any): speaker with good bass currently looking at Alpine SPS-610C Sony XS-N1620C Pioneer TS-G1605C Pioneer TS-A1605C JBL GTO-609C do i need extra equipment like amp if add this speaker or modify my wiring? This post has been edited by peja5081: Jan 16 2016, 02:17 AM |
Jan 16 2016, 11:30 AM
260 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Kerteh & Banting |
Hi fellow ICErs, I am currently finding HU for my car. I would like to retain the factory-fitted speakers as I am not really an audiophile and satisfied with the sound quality.
My ride: Proton Gen.2 CPS Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: Maintain standard speakers File format/medium used for my source: MP3 Music genre: all genres Budget: RM1000 Setup type preferences: Double DIN Other requirements (if any): Able to stream smartphone display to HU (planning to use phone's GPS navigation), able to use the steering control, leading brands (JVC/Sony/Kenwood etc.) Thank you! |
Jan 20 2016, 12:30 AM
49 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Hi everyone , Im currently looking for better speaker for my Vios 08 , 6 inch for front speakers and 6x9 for rear .
My ride: Toyota Vios 08 Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL File format/medium used for my source: AUX cable link to my phone Music genre: all genres Budget: Below 500 if possible and without amplifier as im still a student This post has been edited by arcdex: Jan 20 2016, 05:02 PM |
Jan 23 2016, 02:55 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,248 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Corsair0418 @ Dec 20 2015, 10:09 PM) - My ride: myvi 2015 haha also looking for ICE that can connect spotify 2 my 2009 city with 1k budget - Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL,good sound quality with some basssss - File format/medium used for my source: i prefer use spotify on my phone so a usb cable will do - Music genre: no specific genre ? normally i do listen some EDM/club songs and some hitz songs - Budget: budget should be RM 600 included headunit and speakers ? - Setup type preferences: no idea what is this ? as long as rear side and front side can listen clear music with some boomb bomb bomb - Other requirements (if any): im thinking to get an amplifier and underseat subwoofer as well. does it improve ur audio a lot ? |
Jan 25 2016, 10:36 PM
1,057 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Got a Pioneer 10" dvc sub rated at 350rms... thinking of stuffing it in a sealed enclosure & hooking it up to a 5-channel d-class amp whose sub channel puts out 280w at 2 ohms.
Is the amp too underpowered for SQ enjoyment? I listen mostly to latin music with lots of percussions. Not the headbanging fengtau type.... too old for that stuff. This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jan 25 2016, 10:38 PM |
Jan 26 2016, 06:18 PM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Masculine @ Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM) Hi, get a focal ps165 and an underseat sub will doAppreciate suggestion to improve the audio of my ride My ride: Mitsubishi Triton VGT GS (4x4) File format/medium used for my source: Played through bluetooth of my iphone 6... mostly ALAC file type Music genre: Anything from heavy metal to old malay music. All type of musics those have nice rythm that match my ears... Budget: RM1000-2000 Setup type preferences: Looking for speaker recommendation. Currently, I have Kenwood DNX7330BTM but all speakers are mitsubishi standard speakers ( 4 speakers and 2 tweeters setup). I'm looking for better speakers setup and a subwoofer. I'm a bit of audiophile type of guy but always on the road. Currently my music listening gear is only my iPhone 6s with Audio Technica ATH-MSR7 earphone paired with Sony DAC PHA-1A In the future, I will be improving the soundproof of my beloved Triton... to improve the music listening... Thanks guys |
Jan 26 2016, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 25 2016, 10:36 PM) Got a Pioneer 10" dvc sub rated at 350rms... thinking of stuffing it in a sealed enclosure & hooking it up to a 5-channel d-class amp whose sub channel puts out 280w at 2 ohms. dun worry, when the sub are feed with 350rms it's already blown...the 250w from ur amp is okIs the amp too underpowered for SQ enjoyment? I listen mostly to latin music with lots of percussions. Not the headbanging fengtau type.... too old for that stuff. |
Jan 26 2016, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(arcdex @ Jan 20 2016, 12:30 AM) Hi everyone , Im currently looking for better speaker for my Vios 08 , 6 inch for front speakers and 6x9 for rear . bro, top up to rm550. i get you something very goodMy ride: Toyota Vios 08 Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL File format/medium used for my source: AUX cable link to my phone Music genre: all genres Budget: Below 500 if possible and without amplifier as im still a student |
Jan 26 2016, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(hd935 @ Jan 10 2016, 05:41 PM) Hi All, for easy to use, get a pioneer. ur 2.5k budget is good to have a pioneerPlanning to get a 3rd party player. Appreciate your thoughts: - Ride: Mitsubishi ASX 2WD GL 2015 - Prefer SQ/SPL/SQL: Ideally SQL - File format/medium used in your source: Not too particular, but the more the better - Genre of music you listen to: Not particular - Other requirements (if any): Mirroring function (wireless mirroring even better), better if I could install apps (e.g. Waze) on the unit itself, interface that is easy on the eyes Thanks! |
Jan 27 2016, 11:34 AM
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 25 2016, 10:36 PM) Got a Pioneer 10" dvc sub rated at 350rms... thinking of stuffing it in a sealed enclosure & hooking it up to a 5-channel d-class amp whose sub channel puts out 280w at 2 ohms. Nothing wrong with underpowering the sub, but it's pointless to do so since you'll be severely under utilizing the sub. Percussions has a lot of tapping and snares I would assume and with a weak sub you won't be able to get that feel.Is the amp too underpowered for SQ enjoyment? I listen mostly to latin music with lots of percussions. Not the headbanging fengtau type.... too old for that stuff. |
Jan 27 2016, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 26 2016, 10:19 PM) Thanks Howie. But I don't understand... how can a sub rated at 350W RMS blow when fed with 350W of power? QUOTE(izso @ Jan 27 2016, 03:34 PM) Nothing wrong with underpowering the sub, but it's pointless to do so since you'll be severely under utilizing the sub. Percussions has a lot of tapping and snares I would assume and with a weak sub you won't be able to get that feel. Thanks. Got a question - how underpowered is underpowered? 25% below the sub's RMS output? 30% blow?I hear underpowering a sub will feed it with distortion which will kill the sub over time. Trouble is there's no rule of thumb on how low you can go when underpowering a sub before creating problems. I don't think most of us are rich enough to buy superduper powderful monoblocks, so I think my concern is shared by many. This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Jan 27 2016, 12:10 PM |
Jan 31 2016, 02:00 AM
49 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Feb 4 2016, 07:45 AM
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 27 2016, 12:04 PM) Thanks Howie. You're not going to 'blow' the sub la, on the amp you'll get to fiddle with the gain and as long as you're not tweaking it to the absolute maximum, you're not going to blow the sub with 350w if you had that much to begin with. And generally speaking that's the RMS handling power of the sub, not necessarily the max. Personally I like to feed the sub more power than the RMS power for a few reasons. I like my amps to run less utilized so in future any upgrades the amp can handle. Possible also hoping the amp runs cooler with less gain turned up. The other thing is I personally have tried underpowering a sub before and it just didn't sound right. But I don't understand... how can a sub rated at 350W RMS blow when fed with 350W of power? Thanks. Got a question - how underpowered is underpowered? 25% below the sub's RMS output? 30% blow? I hear underpowering a sub will feed it with distortion which will kill the sub over time. Trouble is there's no rule of thumb on how low you can go when underpowering a sub before creating problems. I don't think most of us are rich enough to buy superduper powderful monoblocks, so I think my concern is shared by many. Your sub RMS is 350w (I assume), you don't need a super duper amp to give you 350w. Most bridgeable amps can give that sort of power and most monoblocks minimally provide 500w. So you don't have to be rich to buy a decent amp. The only thing is you need to know what you're buying. In a lot of cases, amps over-rate themselves and produce less than advertised or something along those lines. Just stick with reputable brands and reputable sellers and you'll be fine. This post has been edited by izso: Feb 4 2016, 07:46 AM |
Feb 4 2016, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(izso @ Feb 4 2016, 11:45 AM) Your sub RMS is 350w (I assume), you don't need a super duper amp to give you 350w. Most bridgeable amps can give that sort of power and most monoblocks minimally provide 500w. So you don't have to be rich to buy a decent amp. The only thing is you need to know what you're buying. In a lot of cases, amps over-rate themselves and produce less than advertised or something along those lines. Just stick with reputable brands and reputable sellers and you'll be fine. Thee sub that I have is the Pioneer TS-W259D4 DVC rated at 350W RMS at 2ohm. There's a pair of Pioneer TS-A1605C components up front rated at 50W RMS at 4ohm and another pair of Pioneer TS-G1644R coax in the rear rated at 40W RMS at 4 Ohm.Late last week I found into an Alpine MRX-V70 5-channel amp on the cheap that can do 60W x4 at 4ohm and 350W at 2ohm for the sub channel. The numbers seem to match well with the budget speakers I have... so I bought it. Funny these Alpine amps - they come with a 'birth cert', which is an individual certificate that shows how that particular unit was tested and how much power it actually outputs in real life during the test just before it left the factory. My Alpine's birth cert numbers are actually higher than the advertised output! |
| Change to: | 0.0425sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:37 AM |