Hyundai Elantra MD V4, Launching now!

stinger82
post Apr 3 2012, 09:15 PM

288 posts

yes. the rain and light sensor is attached to windscreen.

rain sensor needs to attached to the windscreen for it to work. windscreen with bracket is more expensive compared with windscreen without bracket.

BUT, no one knows for sure, other than Dr Cermin kind of shop.

the black thingy should be auto light and auto rain sensor. its ok, perodua car doesnt come with this.
stinger82
post Apr 3 2012, 10:46 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Apr 3 2012, 10:44 PM)
Bro fluidic trying to say indirectly that a windscreen come oem empty.. Why need bracket?? Just pry out the existing stuff and sensors that's it.. It's a empty glass with black dots nearby the place u stick ur rear view mirror n sensor
not sure about this car, but conventional car with sensor , has a special place for it, usually they have a bracket. not just stick with a tape.

u check 1.6 and 1.8 windscreen, if its totally same, then good, windscreen should be same price. if not, 1.8 windscreen will be more expensive.

just pry out the sensor? i dont want to comment on this, best give dr cermin kind of shop a call.

This post has been edited by stinger82: Apr 3 2012, 10:49 PM
stinger82
post Apr 3 2012, 11:05 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Apr 3 2012, 11:01 PM)
Pry is a hard term I dunno how they take it out but they take out my existing stuff n stick it back even the rear view mirror bracket oso they use gum to stick back
dun worry too much about this, just dont under insured the windscreen. get the price +labor+tinted and insure that amount.

my fren who has replaced a peugeot windscreen, and it costs him a bomb. rm4000 and he only insured rm800.

this wont be a deal breaker anyway.

btw, the test drive for elantra, is available at all branch now?
stinger82
post Apr 4 2012, 08:59 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Apr 4 2012, 08:44 PM)
Ok, regarding the windscreens on the 1.8 Elantra, I found out a few things.

- Light sensors is not stuck to the windscreen, it's located center of the dashboard.

- All the gizmo you see above the rear view mirror are the rain sensor systems + GPS receiver.

- All are stuck on the windscreen using adhesive tapes, no screw no bolts into the windscreen.

- The front windscreen is different from the 1.6, BUT, so does every other pane of glass on the 1.8. Other than the fact that 1.8's glasses are slightly tinted, there's no indication that it's in any way 'special'.
1.8 windscreen is special. if it is not special, then it would be interchangeable. if it is different means it is different.
this time its expensive not because of sensor, but because of tint/UV rating.

Means the 1.6 are using lower grade of glasses and windscreen! wth??

and, no rain sensor in the world is screw or bolt onto the windscreen. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
and conti car rain sensor and light sensor are usually together, check bmw and peugeot.

so, 1.8 buyer need to insure more on windscreen, thats it. not a dealbreaker, not a showstopper.

and, thank you for sharing this with us.

This post has been edited by stinger82: Apr 4 2012, 09:03 PM
stinger82
post Apr 7 2012, 08:16 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 7 2012, 06:37 PM)
My wife and I were waiting for this car since last year. She decided to change her old Honda city to the all new elantra. Went and test drive today the elantra 1.6 high spec. To our surprise, the 1.6 feel very under power. The dashboard quality is bad especially the air con control norb. Feels and looks like a cheap plastic painted silver or something like that. The ride comfortness is no different than the honda city. Even I feel the 1.5 city has better pick up. Overall, the exterial look good. But quality wise for interior, inOkom has made the elantra look very cheap. I was expecting more from this car but it let us down and dissapointment. For the price is deffinately not worth buying.
inokom just assemble, nothing to do with the plastic....

Added on April 7, 2012, 8:20 pm
QUOTE(maverickng @ Apr 7 2012, 07:38 PM)

i am not bashing on elantra,just my 2 sen smile.gif
PS:i ask the SA why so underpowered,he say this test drive car pumped ron95 so will abit underpowered,try put ron97 then will more power shocking.gif
like that FC die la..wan pump ron97...zzzz
want power must go 2.0 forte.

but then, power is not cheap( same like pumping ron97, lol )

This post has been edited by stinger82: Apr 7 2012, 08:20 PM
stinger82
post Apr 7 2012, 10:04 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(cody1508 @ Apr 7 2012, 09:18 PM)
To those that tested drive the 1.6 and commented that it is sluggish, I believe it will get better over time when more mileage is done. Plus I believe most modern cars come with an ecu that will adapt to your driving style. But of cuz for better weight to power ratio, the 1.8 would be better. There's one more thing that I don't understand, for a c segment car, how can they include anything less than a 2.0 engine, in this case the 1.8... Sigh...
if it doesnt? u know, the car is not entirely cheap laugh.gif
stinger82
post Apr 7 2012, 11:02 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 7 2012, 10:22 PM)
Features aside, the ride & handling, refinement, performance and interior quality should be very similar to ours.
US road no pot hole.

US road a lot of straight road(highway). thats why car handling is not a big issue.

but in european the road is very demanding, must need good handling car.
stinger82
post Apr 7 2012, 11:56 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 7 2012, 11:45 PM)
Do Malaysian travel a lot on windy mountain roads? ohmy.gif

Added on April 7, 2012, 11:46 pm
Most of the review of the car were 2011 model year, which did not come with Active Eco. You may refer to those reviews when the car was first launched smile.gif
no, thats why i wonder why ppl so worry about road handling.
but malaysia has a lot of pot hole.

but ppl here are nitpicking. kancil 660 also ppl driving siok siok.

1.6 no power, buy 1.8 la. 1.8 expensive, buy the one you can afford la.

its malaysia, we dont biatch like americans. we simply cant. tak suka, keluar la, apa boleh buat? cry ar ?

0.0438sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:41 PM