8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hyundai Elantra MD V4, Launching now!

BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 02:44 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Mar 31 2012, 02:27 PM)
Yes just test drove. Stop the car first, toggle to econmode screen, press n hold  trip button. It will toggle between on/off
QUOTE(harpyboy @ Mar 31 2012, 02:38 PM)
so got any difference between on and off?
Devil is right...

On n off.... no different... floor the paddle, still rav over 5.5k rpm... almost 6k rpm n a bit more touching red line dy..
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 02:58 PM

8,407 posts

There is no diff btwn on n off... just letting u know u driving style is eco or not when u on.... 1.6 r slower than a vios/city on pick up....

The seat leather for 1.6 is on par...... on par with ....

Myvi....
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 03:41 PM

8,407 posts

Both 1.6 give very similar feeling...

Confirm forte 1.6sx n 2.0 c/w touch screen navigation..
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 05:03 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(JC999 @ Mar 31 2012, 04:41 PM)
Just came back from the test drive this morning, tested both 1.6 HS and 1.8.

Some thoughts

Build quality is quite decent
Engine performance really lacking especially when you take 4 ppl in the car, 2 person is still alright.
Interior space is generous and good looking exterior
Handling is a bit on the soft side, good while going over bumps and normal driving. But there is no chance to hit a corner during the test drive, too many cars on the road.

Same build
Way better engine performance compare to the 1.6, but i still feel the altis/civic has better torque
Same interior, better leather
Same handling

Conclusion.
Overall is an ok car but I would go for the 1.6 low spec the only difference is the panaromic steering adjustment that most ppl do not need. But do note the VSC, its a good safety feature but not compulsory, been driving without 1 for years.

*Leather is shit, the 1.6 leather feels like plastic and cheap. The 1.8 supposedly nappa leather doesn't feel like it but its better than 1.6. I think the inspira 2.0 leather is way better than them.

Bad decision by SD, they should omit the leather or make it optional and slash 2k of the price.
Decent comment... kind of agree....

Yes, the 1.8 leather ar mix wt high n low quality... not like inspira full nappa...

Do have a look on those plastic use outside the car.... u comment urself... i dowan to talk too much...

And again.. yes, i very much prefer they use fabric instead of the plastic like leather in the 1.6...

If i drive the 1.6.. i think i will floor the paddle every time...

Added on March 31, 2012, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(kenso77 @ Mar 31 2012, 05:01 PM)
On the Sonata, there IS a difference .... since it was a company that was rented, 3 of my staffs tested with and without ECO Mode and the engine response is indeed different (even though the rev line remains similar). Do try to test it
with ECO on and off to confirm if this trait is also present in the Elantra
Tested both... i cant feel shit diff sorry captain..

Added on March 31, 2012, 5:12 pmThe roof line of this car... in the seat next to drive... since the seat cannot adjust up or down, head to roof space are less than my punch size. Probably less than 2inche... back sit... i sit straight... my palm put flat cannot go in.. i pull my neck a bit.. touxhing roof...

The front seat of this car is very slim hence make the back leg room decent...

This post has been edited by BuFung: Mar 31 2012, 05:12 PM
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 06:58 PM

8,407 posts

Devil... lol... no .. no decision... some addition.. the forte test car i think is 1 yr old... start to feel loosing here n there.. korean car quality? Donno..
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 07:41 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Mar 31 2012, 07:35 PM)
on paper elantra shud be slightly better but better ask her to try out the Elantra first.. smile.gif

Added on March 31, 2012, 7:36 pm
Too bad then. Personally i can't find another car within 100k to have similar quality as elantra biggrin.gif
I found it... Sit in it... U feel 1 class higher...
BuFung
post Mar 31 2012, 07:51 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 31 2012, 07:46 PM)
hahahah, but sit outside u might feel different/opposite wor
chabutzzz tongue.gif
Eh.. The 308 is rm99k mah... tongue.gif
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 03:17 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Apr 1 2012, 03:10 PM)
Honestly, before I test this Hyundai Elantra, I have a very high hope on it, but after yesterday test-drive, everything seem totally opposite. When sitting inside, the head room is the most obvious bad design, I'm 6ft something, no matter how low I adjust the seat, when entering I have to becareful  my head not to hit the roofline. Second, the dashboard layout is very weird, especially the center air cond vent. About performance, I only tested the 1.8 and I found the power isn't there, I can feel the sluggishness and I have to push harder to get the run faster a bit, and the NVH is bad, tires noise and engine noise is quite obvious, and the engine not as smooth as I expected. When comparing to sylphy, the riding and driving quality is like  heaven and hell, totally opposite, the sylphy is so much smoother than the Elantra and quietness is also very obvious. So does this New Elantra worth the money?  My answer is totally not worth, and pls don't bash me, It is just my own view and opinion.
6' guy cannot fit into an Elantra lo.... I m 3" shorter than u but I m hitting the roof @ the back... Front, I can't clear wt my 1 punch size... lol...

Don't bash too much here... Owner r building up... Although I agree with most what u said... laugh.gif
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 03:30 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 1 2012, 03:23 PM)
Yeah tats why jetta selling so poor...
U have to see how many ppl have that kind of money for a jetta... Next, most ppl prefer a golf...

3rd, jetta is c segment, but that price flooded with all kind of d segment...

The reasons can continue....... A lot longer...

BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 03:36 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 1 2012, 03:33 PM)
Golf also c seg but seems like more popular also. And we are a sedan oriented market so it is quite a special case. Why ppl wan golf but not jetta?
smile.gif. Why ppl buy mazda3 hatch back more than sedan? Why ppl buy fiesta hatch than sedan? Why mazda2 hatch back than sedan...?

List continue again......
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 03:53 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 1 2012, 03:48 PM)
Coz their sedan look uglier compared to their hatch.

Added on April 1, 2012, 3:52 pm
I am perfectly fine with forte so elantra should not be a problem. I dont see why i need so much power coz i dun like to accel tat fast. In normal driving i think those excess power reserve is a waste for me. Just like forte i will say it is adequate rather than sluggish. So far only exora cps cant meet my requirement Lolz...
i will test next week.
U got the answer than....
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 06:50 PM

8,407 posts

Ng hai gua... U guys say Cadillac use 96k to buy a kancil ah? Lol
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 06:53 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Apr 1 2012, 06:52 PM)
The biggest problem is that most people never drive a newer gen 1.6 C-seg car. In our market only Forte and Altis are C-seg with 1.6 engine and it is quite difficult to see a 1.6 Altis otr sweat.gif
N the most popular b segment wt 1.5 engine out perform most 1.6 car....

Cannot deny, both 1.5 engine r really brilliant.. Compact n powerful....
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 07:32 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 1 2012, 07:18 PM)
you are right.

feel fast and actually IS fast, is different.

in kancil we can feel fast.

if a test drive at 60 you also feel fast, how to take it to 160?

since u guys are all racer (lol) , i suggest you guys take the car to higher speed during test drive to give a fair comment.

at low speed, myvi/kancil/kelisa will feel faster than 2.0 civic.
real life? laugh.gif

and 0-100 means nothing.

if u wanna race on highway, ppl are talking about beyond legal limit, and its all about ingear acceleration.

but, seriously, u guys bought 1.6 car to race? ....... shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Acceleration is very important... Is doesn't mean for race...

1.6 car not for race? Soon u see a lot of race car later... The cfe 1.6... Sure "pawn" a lot of car... Lol...
BuFung
post Apr 1 2012, 11:07 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Apr 1 2012, 09:41 PM)
Alot ppl comment car sluggish so I don't think they are lying to themself ... I myself feel the same too.. Maybe I should put to manual mode then every gear change should artificially make the blow off sound *pishhhhh* to make me feel the car mOre powerful 😱
Comparing wt a Scooby keh? laugh.gif
BuFung
post Apr 2 2012, 09:49 AM

8,407 posts

Veloster 130k who buying? Might as well buy golf or k5...
BuFung
post Apr 2 2012, 10:17 AM

8,407 posts

Do u guys notice/feel the center aircond blower position are pretty bad? It going to blow ur hand most of the time... =.="
BuFung
post Apr 2 2012, 12:26 PM

8,407 posts

I guess there is 1 questions a lot of us ask and it definitely answered... by think easily more than 10 answer...

1.6 -- lack of acceleration power... <-- conclusive...

and to me.. the car tune to save fuel is like.. .. hmm.. .. ?.. the Altis not save fuel? the Syphy not save fuel?

Added on April 2, 2012, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 2 2012, 12:22 PM)
if you bought myvi,kancil or even vios to race, i feel sad for your daddy.
Wiravolution ROCK!! flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BuFung: Apr 2 2012, 12:27 PM
BuFung
post Apr 2 2012, 12:33 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(kudi @ Apr 2 2012, 12:29 PM)
Personally, I really really like the Elantra design. Its such a sexy and beautiful car to look at.
In fact, I like the look of the Sonata and also the Tucson. All having the fluidic element in it.

But to be honest, after a while it gets boring. Now I dont make 2nd look at the Sonatas and Tucson.
The latest looks now are the KIA's K5, Sportage, Koup. In fact, the Forte' look is more lasting to my opinion.

Even my wife says so. She suggested that the Civic will have a longer lasting look than the Elantra. No doubt that the Elantra looks awesome now.
But its the evergreen look that is of better purchase.

my 2 cents
u r right.. the modern design after a while.. u will feel.... ... ..

The Civic after 5 years now still .. wow... that is why the latest gen ppl complaining.. in fact.. if there is no current gen Civic.. the latest Gen definitely won't get so much negative comments..

Added on April 2, 2012, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(ivn79 @ Apr 2 2012, 12:31 PM)
Went for test drive yesterday. Both 1.6 & 1.8 too.

Stil the price come into my mind 1st place whether the car worth it or not with the features.

U know what, Lame Darby oredy came out a memo saying the they will review the price again, not lower but higher! Claiming that IF the response is good on these few days. I read the official memo given by SA.

So what u all guys think? If this is so true, Lame Darby is really really a greedy company that don't really care about the market needs right now, value for money!
and u have to understand 1 more thing... this Darby having soo many other brands....

This post has been edited by BuFung: Apr 2 2012, 12:35 PM
BuFung
post Apr 2 2012, 12:44 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Apr 2 2012, 12:40 PM)
seems like the 1.8 doesnt live up to its performance figure.....or is the car still new?
not yet put in a K&N, Remap and BoT I think... nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:59 PM