DOTA2 V4, Open Beta soon?

Barack Obama
post May 8 2012, 03:22 AM

22 posts

Hi guys new to dota 2 here.
Ive been playing dota for years and now would like to try dota 2 cuz everyones talking about it.
So where to start? What do I have to download? Is this "steam" something like garenaa we have to download?
Dota need start with warcraft3 ,but dota2 use wat program?
I heard need to receive cd keys to play this, any other ways?

This post has been edited by Barack Obama: May 8 2012, 03:30 AM
Barack Obama
post May 8 2012, 09:32 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ May 8 2012, 03:48 AM)
to start, u need steam client, beta keys.

just 1 time dl, no need use wc3 already, its a different thing already.

no beta keys, wait until its open beta
QUOTE(xiaopuyo @ May 8 2012, 08:29 AM)
What you need to know is .

DotA = Map Modded = Warcraft III Custom Game = Icefrog = Blizzard Entertainment

DotA 2 = Real game itself = Valve Icefrog = Valve

For the Beta key you need to ask around those good guy who would willing to give you smile.gif good luck on that .

Welcome to Dota 2 smile.gif

Added on May 8, 2012, 8:33 am
wait , what kinda shyt need to buy to use ultimate anyway ? who put more money in means who get to be badasses ?

lol.
so the beta keys only need use once for 1 account? Like let's say I dota2 at cc,got steam Liao, I just need to make account and use beta keys once and then next time come back to cc also can play on my account without keys again rite?
And how big is the steam game file? Couple Gigabits?
So both 1 and 2 are from same icefrog?
Barack Obama
post May 8 2012, 01:44 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(am3rr @ May 8 2012, 09:39 AM)
beta keys 1 time use. yup.

the file current 2.7gb plus i guess.

same icefrog
Wah 2.7 gb...download how long ar...my broadband only limit 3 gb. If download then finish Liao Lolz

QUOTE(Agito666 @ May 8 2012, 09:41 AM)
yes.
dota2 is few GBs. and it is GIGABYTES. XD
and know the difference betweend bits and bytes  sweat.gif  whistling.gif

dota 2 is from one of the same developer from dota1. dota 1 developed from few teams so i m not sure which one is the main one for current, i know it is same team from dota1.
oh I didn't know bit and bytes is different haha...
If anyone got extra key pls spare one for me thanks smile.gif
Btw what's with everyone complaining lag and delays? Game got problem?
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 02:56 AM

22 posts

Hey guys I downloaded the steam program yesterday and registered an account but I couldn't find where to download dota 2?
2.7 gb is so huge,how long gonna take to finish....
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 12:35 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(gtboy2 @ May 10 2012, 03:03 AM)
did u get invited?
only invited player able to dl
Oh and how do I get invited?
They sent randomly to emails?
If your invited, then it also come with the beta keys?

QUOTE(raxrax @ May 10 2012, 11:38 AM)
I have 2 extra beta keys for dota2, but I look forward to trade or sell them. PM me if interested
I'm open for donation tq smile.gif

This post has been edited by Barack Obama: May 10 2012, 12:36 PM
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 08:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 10 2012, 12:55 PM)
do the survey here.
http://www.dota2.com/survey/experience/
then wait for invite.
I clicked the link on the website but say cannot open...do u need to open steam program first?
I really excited to try dota 2 cuz the videos I saw online looks very fun, I feel left out sad.gif
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 09:07 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 10 2012, 08:28 PM)
yep, u have to login to steam first.
if u don't have steam, you can download from the steam website.

friendly advice: the key is not for sale. you can ask someone here if they have any spare key.
but don't buy the keys wink.gif
Oh I see thanks.
Btw what's the reason they dun release the game to everyone yet? Y must be selected people to be able to play? I think a lot of ppl is saying have a lot of problems and not stable yet?
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 09:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 10 2012, 09:09 PM)
it's still beta, many things need to be added and tested before final release.
this game going to be F2P soon, so don't worry.
Sry but what's f2p?

QUOTE(sai86 @ May 10 2012, 09:10 PM)
they want to fix the bug and when go live, hopefully not much annoying bug that will hinder the gameplay.
It is not selected actually, nowdays you can easily get a beta key. i.e. If you went to TBUN CC, you can get a free dota2 key and bind it to your account. they got tons of beta key laugh.gif

problems is there but not much and so far, gameplay is stable unless u means bugs.
I heard some guys here say got high pings?
Hmm...I wonder if can go cc ask them copy the file to cd so I can straight install cuz 2.7 gb is gonna use up my 3gb quota Lolz
Barack Obama
post May 10 2012, 09:35 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 10 2012, 09:28 PM)
F2P = Free to Play
about the copy, yes you can copy the game and put it in your steam folder.
Sounds great smile.gif

QUOTE(am3rr @ May 10 2012, 09:29 PM)
ur location?
Ipoh, but the cc I go to got people play dota 2 so hopefully they can let me copy the file hehe
Barack Obama
post May 11 2012, 02:53 AM

22 posts

Wah I have no clue about all the teams u guys mention are....navi dts m5 clg.....only player I know is grubby from warcraft3 original building games Lol
So guys someone mention no got techie in dota2? What other heroes not there?
Is their skills the same as dota 1?
Any hero got major change?
Barack Obama
post May 11 2012, 03:07 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ May 11 2012, 02:55 AM)
http://www.dota-two.com/dota2-heroes

Almost the same as DOTA. Well..new graphic too.
Wow can't wait to play yurnero and invoker
Gotta get familiar with everything first.
Is therE AI version?
Barack Obama
post May 11 2012, 09:02 PM

22 posts

I just did the survey today and was laffing at it.
They ask me choose 1-10 how pro I am in dota.
Then I though everyone who did this survey sure put 10 and same with other questions. But I was honest cuz I'm not perfect 10 pro so I put 9 LOL
Barack Obama
post May 12 2012, 05:29 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 12 2012, 03:44 PM)
since valve send massive invites and the F2P announcement, the value has gone down.
so if you wanna trade, better do it quick. i already trade out all my 10 dota 2 pass.
Wahh how u guys get so many?
If got spare pls donut me one smile.gif
Barack Obama
post May 12 2012, 06:06 PM

22 posts

^^^
why steam give u so many keys?
Did u do a lot of surveys?
Barack Obama
post May 12 2012, 06:34 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ May 12 2012, 06:10 PM)
the survey only need once.
i myself got 9 keys. dunno why.
kinda random
Hmm..maybe computer system randomly send them?
How did u answer the survey.
For me
1-10 pro level I put 9
Average gold I pit 15000
Average kill I put 7
Did u guys answer everything highest?

QUOTE(infrasonic @ May 12 2012, 06:14 PM)
still got ppl want it now? i tot got lots of ppl have it dy..
I dun have sad.gif
Barack Obama
post May 13 2012, 02:56 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ May 13 2012, 02:25 AM)
open beta i m wonderin how dota 2 makes money...lol..i mean making buy-able hero is not an option...alot of ppl will rage and flip table..other than that i dunno..

btw i hv 6 keys...if anybody wan pm me yo...
Omg I found a donor!
I want I want!! smile.gif
Barack Obama
post May 13 2012, 12:46 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ May 13 2012, 12:10 PM)
well ok then since some of them are not replying me offline lulz..last one...pm me their email then..
Thanks man ur awesome wink.gif
Barack Obama
post May 13 2012, 05:40 PM

22 posts

What year did dota first came out?
I think I started playing at 2004 when my friends invited me to cc and bully me...Zzz
Other than dota I think footman was popular back then
Barack Obama
post May 15 2012, 01:06 AM

22 posts

anyone tried play dota2 with laptop?
scared my laptop not powerful enough for this game...
Barack Obama
post May 15 2012, 02:54 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(AbdullahCheng @ May 15 2012, 01:19 AM)
lowest setting.

Lenovo G475 here
im not a computer guy but im guessing u got a very powerful laptop? flex.gif
im using an Asus A43s with intel icore i5-24 10m,2.3 ghz and memory 2gb can ar? i hope wont be laggin....

0.0519sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:20 AM