Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V15, Free Installation / Super Speed ME promo
Spiritedaway
Jun 19 2012, 08:05 PM
Hi sifus,
I just have my unifi installed 5mbps line. I have been trying to run torrent to download movies but my pc keeps giving blue screen of death after 5 mins running the torrent and nothing else.
I haven't had this problem before as my pc is quite top in specs.
I fear it is the old wifi USB adapter I have been using. It is a 802.11G adapter from Aztech. Driver has never been updated since 2006 and there are no new drivers for it since.
Can some one help me out? I run out of ideas how to solve this issue.
Thanks!
Spiritedaway
Jun 20 2012, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:19 AM) Why not verify your USB adapter whether it is the culprit by replacing it with wired connection and see if you have problem. Better still, uninstall it's the driver as well. If no more BSOD then you found your gremlin. Thanks for the suggestion. My pc is too far away from the modem to have a wired connection. Will try see if the problem still persist. The 802.11G adapter is sufficient for unifi speeds? I have been recommended to get 802.11N.. Any one can confirm?
Spiritedaway
Jun 20 2012, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(toh2020 @ Jun 20 2012, 08:55 AM) not exactly true. what most importantly is % signal strength on receiving end. like for example with 90% strength on 802.11G. u get 52Mbps instead of 54Mbps. u note minor differences with speedtest. Thanks for your feedback, my signal strength on the usb dongle is about 80% (Strong signal). So this rules out the usb dongle as a cause of the crash and BSOD?