Mountain Biking Heaven V26.8, the bestest two-wheel sport

biatch0
post Apr 3 2012, 09:38 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Hey guys, just wondering... starting to face trouble with my rear brakes after flying with the bike a couple of times. Already replaced my disc once (shouldn't have put disc facing out), but now it's impossible to properly calibrate the disc rotor/caliper. Looking from the side, even the rotor doesn't seem to be center anymore! Not sure if I should change the rim, brakes, or both. DH shop already tried replacing disc and it doesn't seem to be the issue - might have to go back this weekend and ask the boss to have a look at it instead of the machai.
biatch0
post Apr 4 2012, 12:07 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Err... the disc is swaying side to side (which can be "adjusted") and also seems to slightly out of the center position from the axis (but very minor).

My main annoyance is that despite putting a lot of time into correcting the side sway... I can't seem to get it perfect sleep.gif Still got slight touching at some spots. Quite anal about this kind of thing that's why now my head is thinking about replacing the entire brake system, or possibly the rim.
biatch0
post Apr 4 2012, 12:45 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

I'll swing by Uptown and see what the boss has to say. They don't have much selection of discs though... anywhere else to recommend? I'm thinking of having a look at Rodalink Bangsar as well...
biatch0
post Apr 4 2012, 05:20 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Roadlink RM700 for hydraulic Shimano Deore. Ouch... going to check out the other shops soon...
biatch0
post Apr 4 2012, 05:41 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

BikePro and KSH tomorrow for window shopping... or else just tahan with my current bising brakes...
biatch0
post Apr 4 2012, 05:53 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Sorry, not very familiar with shops... any recommendations? I'm just looking for something cheap actually sleep.gif

0.1166sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:19 AM