Mountain Biking Heaven V26.8, the bestest two-wheel sport

levilau
post Apr 10 2012, 11:32 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 10 2012, 03:19 PM)
ya...thanks for the info...just my current budget for full sus is SCSL... need a bike that can climb well n go down fast...
AM bike will be hard for me to climb as i tested my friend bike...maybe in the future when i got the stamina to climb with AM bike. If you got a better alternative, can post here to share..will go have a test ride when free.  notworthy.gif
bicycle stuff is really sickening... rclxm9.gif
very True....  notworthy.gif
What is wrong with am bike? It's fun to ride a trail or an am bike. I move from Xc to am even my stamina is not achievable. But till the end, I even trained well and Xc is nothing for me while climb hill.
majorsinbad
post Apr 10 2012, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(levilau @ Apr 10 2012, 11:32 PM)
What is wrong with am bike? It's fun to ride a trail or an am bike. I move from Xc to am even my stamina is not achievable. But till the end, I even trained well and Xc is nothing for me while climb hill.
Did anyone say AM bikes are wrong?
levilau
post Apr 10 2012, 11:42 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Apr 10 2012, 11:39 PM)
Did anyone say AM bikes are wrong?
Apologies, I not mean that, I just wonder most ppl can accept 29er although also hard to climb, but am will reconsider about it. Nowadays am bike built light compare to old days.
glamour
post Apr 11 2012, 01:40 AM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Apr 10 2012, 03:48 PM)
So AM and DH is totally out ...therefore Im guessing you ll want a XC/Trail bike ...(dont take my word for it ...do your own research ..you wont regret it)

Just a suggestion, I would consider these bikes:

1. SC Blur LT
2. Giant Trance
3. Trek Fuel Ex8
4. Specialized Stumpjumper FSR
Last but not least
5. ASR5 of course hehehe  cool2.gif

You ll probably be able to build the bike at around 12KG or even 11KG ...making it easy to climb and dream going down...
Thanks for the info bro. Apprecited it.
I might consider trek Fuel Ex
Why you choose Santa Cruz Blur instead of Superlight?
Hope this weekend can go test Trek
RayKazansky
post Apr 11 2012, 01:41 AM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 11 2012, 01:40 AM)
Suspensi
readix
post Apr 11 2012, 01:49 AM

305 posts

trance x with coil rear shock
flex.gif
timothyy
post Apr 11 2012, 09:08 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Boring...
alan8112
post Apr 11 2012, 10:09 AM

is this Mosso X-Fusion good to buy?
2.445kg

timothyy
post Apr 11 2012, 10:27 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Good... buy. Worth it.
snapshots
post Apr 11 2012, 11:04 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 11 2012, 01:40 AM)
where do you ride? are you brand concious? on a budget? superlight is not going to cut it. trance is about one of the best bikes you can get out there. if not go for sclt for the vpp linkage.

26 / 29er almost same.29er rolls better. that is just about it on a 29er.

2012 Trailbike shootout in the process

This post has been edited by snapshots: Apr 11 2012, 11:07 AM
glamour
post Apr 11 2012, 02:38 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Apr 11 2012, 11:04 AM)
where do you ride? are you brand concious? on a budget? superlight is not going to cut it. trance is about one of the best bikes you can get out there. if not go for sclt for the vpp linkage.

26 / 29er almost same.29er rolls better. that is just about it on a 29er.
2012 Trailbike shootout in the process
On week days. I ride on road and a bit off road. Mostly is climb and downhill. Oil palm estate.
Weekends. Mostly off road. Alot of climbing. Downhill with lotsa root and rock. Quite technical track. But not much jump and drop.
I need a bike that can climb. That is why I thinking of getting SC SL. Because in order to go down fast. I need to climb the hill too.
My current group set is shimano XT 2010. 9speed
Fox float. Fuji frame
Wish to maintain my group set and fox. Frame upgrade

This post has been edited by glamour: Apr 11 2012, 02:40 PM
Broadica
post Apr 11 2012, 03:19 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 11 2012, 02:38 PM)
On week days. I ride on road and a bit off road. Mostly is climb and downhill. Oil palm estate.
Weekends. Mostly off road. Alot of climbing. Downhill with lotsa root and rock. Quite technical track. But not much jump and drop.
I need a bike that can climb. That is why I thinking of getting SC SL. Because in order to go down fast. I need to climb the hill too.
My current group set is shimano XT 2010. 9speed
Fox float. Fuji frame
Wish to maintain my group set and fox. Frame upgrade
sound interesting, where do you ride?

imo, SL with single pivot is not a good climber. u need to depend on pedal platform like fox propedal to help reduce pedal bob.

if you like SC as a brand, you should get their VPP suspension frame like SC blur series. VPP are what SC known for.. otherwise is just a waste.

you should seriously consider giant bikes, they are good.. maestro suspension also a form of floating pivot work like magic and value for money.
these bikes can climb very well without switching propedal.

glamour
post Apr 11 2012, 03:43 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

QUOTE(Broadica @ Apr 11 2012, 03:19 PM)
sound interesting, where do you ride?

imo, SL with single pivot is not a good climber. u need to depend on pedal platform like fox propedal to help reduce pedal bob.

if you like SC as a brand, you should get their VPP suspension frame like SC blur series. VPP are what SC known for.. otherwise is just a waste.

you should seriously consider giant bikes, they are good.. maestro suspension also a form of floating pivot work like magic and value for money.
these bikes can climb very well without switching propedal.
I'm Penang mainland. Everyday Tuesday and Thursday after work. Me and friends will meet up for ride. A lil bit on road and off road. Climb alot and down too. Saturday is the best. We ride on day time on bukit mertajam hill. I like Santa Cruz brand. Look humble the bike. Haha. Not much fancy fancy sticker around. But if I choose Blur. I guess my Fox float not able to transfer. SC SL frame rm 3500. Can transfer everything from my old Fuji Tahoe bike. Maybe a wait awhile to forge out more budget. But gotta test ride first. What bike you riding bro?
ESLord
post Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM

54 posts

Had my 3rd ride this morning, w a novice gang of 6.
Good ride as doing abt 10km. Much better than earlier 2 rides which only one loop n nasi lemak next. Today also not feel so tired after the ride.

One fella fren fell, on a very very flat track... He din wanna explain but I guess must be taking pic to FB.

Saw few other groups of riders.... Not sure if they manage to get out before the rain.
chamelion
post Apr 11 2012, 07:39 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Fall on flat trail is very norm.
snapshots
post Apr 11 2012, 07:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 11 2012, 03:43 PM)
I'm Penang mainland. Everyday Tuesday and Thursday after work. Me and friends will meet up for ride. A lil bit on road and off road. Climb alot and down too. Saturday is the best. We ride on day time on bukit mertajam hill. I like Santa Cruz brand. Look humble the bike. Haha. Not much fancy fancy sticker around. But if I choose Blur. I guess my Fox float not able to transfer. SC SL frame rm 3500. Can transfer everything from my old Fuji Tahoe bike. Maybe a wait awhile to forge out more budget. But gotta test ride first. What bike you riding bro?
Oh like that.Try an anthem ,blur xc or trance. Blur xc may not fit in your budget.1 1/8steerer tube needs to be long enough to transfer to your new frame.only reducer is required if the frames are tapered headset.

QUOTE(ESLord @ Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM)
Good ride as doing abt 10km. Much better than earlier 2 rides which only one loop n nasi lemak next. Today also not feel so tired after the ride.

One fella fren fell, on a very very flat track... He din wanna explain but I guess must be taking pic to FB.

Saw few other groups of riders.... Not sure if they manage to get out before the rain.
Sounds like kiara ?

This post has been edited by snapshots: Apr 11 2012, 07:52 PM
adliazaddin
post Apr 11 2012, 08:38 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(ESLord @ Apr 11 2012, 06:59 PM)

tak ajak pun
ESLord
post Apr 11 2012, 09:37 PM

54 posts

Solly solly, last minute plan as fren suppose to work today. This Sunday ride again, wanna join?
Either RRI, or explore bukit Cahaya via Jalan birai, if I can fine the secret entry before Sunday.

Me not yet been to kiara, but from reputation RRI is no where near Kiara. The main trail we explore is quiet flat-beside the downhill ride after meteological station.
RayKazansky
post Apr 11 2012, 10:21 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(readix @ Apr 11 2012, 01:49 AM)
trance x with coil rear shock
flex.gif
majorsinbad
post Apr 11 2012, 10:54 PM

Kiara Trail Damage

I got a new theory ....I dont think the trails were damaged by riders (I hope not).....but I think its the illegal rubber tappers who go in with the motorcycles ....to make it easier for them to pick up the rubbers ....

This post has been edited by majorsinbad: Apr 11 2012, 10:54 PM

213 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:21 AM